10:32 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Interview & Psychological Tests > Interview

Interview The objective of the Interview is to assess one's personality and leadership skills.The knowledge has already been tested in the written phase.Candidates can Post all related queries here

Old Saturday, November 21, 2009

asaeedkhan is on a distinguished road
Default What is mode of communication in interview?

I want to know about the language, used by both sides(Panel and candidate) during css Interview.Is English mandatory.

Ahmad Saeed Khan
The Following User Says Thank You to asaeedkhan For This Useful Post:
ASAD SOHAIL MUFTI (Tuesday, May 18, 2010)
38th CTP (PG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit 288

imama is on a distinguished road
Default yeah

of course its english...u must be fluent n communicative.
The Following User Says Thank You to imama For This Useful Post:
ASAD SOHAIL MUFTI (Tuesday, May 18, 2010)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason:

AmBrosiaL EloQuence will become famous soon enoughAmBrosiaL EloQuence will become famous soon enough
Default @ asaeed

aoa

english is very very important no doubt but u, ur personality, the wieght ur argumentative logic carries and ur presentation/communication style is wut makes a complete and better package. only english cannot earn u apex score.

u don have to b "robotically english" during the interview. instead u shud be proactive in respondin. agr koi bara appropriate shair urdu mein yaad a gaya hy ya faiz sahab ki baat chl nikli hy for instance tou is nt it nice to show k u possess a firm grip on ur mother tongue as well? wut do u say?

n wut i learnt in the light ov m experience is that they r no doubt into ur spoken english skillz but they r not english freakz.

plus i believe that answer shud b given in the same language as in which the question is being asked form u . mostly the panel members adopt english as a mode ov interaction wid the candidate but if suppose they ask u sumfin in urdu and u keep on clingin to english then it also loox kind ov .. errr... kiddish!

although um not an authority in interview skillz or mode ov communications to b adopted in different interactional situationz but being a humble gold medalist in communication stuides and a candidate who happened to secure 183 marx in interview (mashallah) where only a handful ov ppl managed to get 180+ in css 2008 interview session, i have shared wut i believed is true n correct accordin to ma experience in due context.

hope i have been ov some help.

regardz
ambrosial eloquence
Andrew Dufresne (Saturday, November 21, 2009), ASAD SOHAIL MUFTI (Tuesday, May 18, 2010), Kashif Jamil (Saturday, November 21, 2009), mudusra mustafa (Thursday, October 24, 2013), subhasaadiq (Sunday, November 22, 2009)
Old Monday, November 23, 2009
38th CTP (DMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit  31

Abdullah Nayyar will become famous soon enoughAbdullah Nayyar will become famous soon enough
Default @AmBrosiaL EloQuence

Your resume is pretty impressive....Gold does glitter

So bottom line is:
Reply in the same language in which they ask the question!

I know the thread is about the language but could you please come up with a rough percentage of how much we should/(you did) focus on general questions and current affairs and how much on our optional subjects?
Just a rough idea so while preparing whether I should start digging all those books again or just focus on the bigger picture?
The Following User Says Thank You to Abdullah Nayyar For This Useful Post:
AmBrosiaL EloQuence (Monday, November 23, 2009)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason:

AmBrosiaL EloQuence will become famous soon enoughAmBrosiaL EloQuence will become famous soon enough
Default @ abdullahkhan5

aoa

hope u r doin gud abdullah.

um not an authority on the subject but very honestly i will jot down ma interview strategy so as to prove ov maximum help.

I divided ma prep for interview in three protionz

1) Me
2) current affairz
3) optionalz

i put most ov ma effort in preparin ME. becuz i believed if u fail to produce brillaint answers bout urself then it does not matter a single bit how brillaint u cum up wid current affairz or optionalz. becuz interview is basically bout u and ur confidence. it had ma interests, ma fav personalities etc.. or u can say the psychological portionz explanationz were perepared by me in the "me" protion ov interview.

then for current affairz i did nufin special but kept up wid ma routine. um a "die-heart" fan ov hamid mir, kamran khan iftikhar sahab ov jawab de, shahid masood sahab and a long long list goes on. similarly i used to read the columns of ayaz amir sahab, haroon sahab, irfan siddiqui sahab.. reports by ansar abbasi, mohammad malic.. and here again the lists goes on ..so i have enuff to talk bout on ne current issue. ma interview was on 29 nov and on 26th nov mumbai attack thingee happened ..so ma major issue was dat. howeva i also got a look at static details like sir creek issue etc.

and last but not the least i jus scanned through the major headingz ov da optionalz. and das yt!

and as per ma observation their (panel members) general classification ov interview questionz is also more and less like dat. they r primarily interested in u , then in current affairs and then in optionalz.

i have conveyed this info to the best ov ma knowledge wid staunch hope of provin ov maximum help to ma dear friend.

hope i have been ov some help.

regardz
ambrosial eloquence
Abdullah Nayyar (Monday, November 23, 2009), Andrew Dufresne (Monday, November 23, 2009), Kashif Jamil (Monday, November 23, 2009), maliasghar (Thursday, September 02, 2010), mudusra mustafa (Thursday, October 24, 2013), sehrishkhan123 (Friday, February 12, 2010)
38th CTP (DMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit  31

Abdullah Nayyar will become famous soon enoughAbdullah Nayyar will become famous soon enough
Default @AmBrosiaL EloQuence

Thanks alot!!!!

I think you found your balance which I am so earnestly looking for in my preparation. Your answer clarifies my doubts.

Remember us in your prayers!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Abdullah Nayyar For This Useful Post:
AmBrosiaL EloQuence (Monday, November 23, 2009), mudusra mustafa (Thursday, October 24, 2013)