12:57 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group IV > History of Pakistan & India

Old Tuesday, November 10, 2009

Thanked 1,143 Times in 374 Posts
DEADLYDOCTOR is just really niceDEADLYDOCTOR is just really niceDEADLYDOCTOR is just really niceDEADLYDOCTOR is just really nice

what about pak affairs or paper 2 quotes,references?

@ umarabbas
janab ap book k contents btaye so it make some sense about book
quotations are from which people ,i will try to find it and upload it
why is it so you always tell things so near to requirement but still unclear so it comes to no use.please make things clear ,no doubt your posts are helpful.
42nd CTP (PSP)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2013 - Merit 62

umarabbas has a spectacular aura aboutumarabbas has a spectacular aura aboutumarabbas has a spectacular aura about

hhaha..Doctor Sahib!!! Akalmand ko ishara hi kafi hota hay.

Well the book contains quotations from different authors like "Ishwari Prasad, Dr Habib Ullah, Elpinstone, Hawell " etc etc.

in it goes like this....for example let us discuss Mahmud Ghaznavi . and the author would quote all the available list of authors by saying Habib Ullah in his book so and so said this and in quotation marks would write whatever Habib Ullah said about him....

Its a pitty i couldnot get it's name but it seems a really really old edition from lahore.

Umm for Paper 2 i am being very selective:

Just Kazmi's "Concise History of Pakistan" And "ikram Rabbani"

& doctor sahib one more thing

let us analyze the difference between paper 1 and 2::: Paper 1 would demand for your concept, analysis, evaluation etc etc.. now we being at the level that we are, cannot pass a judgement about Muhammad Tughluq can we???....for that matter we need to build up our case and present our ideas coupled up with some of the most prestigeous authors' comments and observations...

however, on the other hand, Paper 2 does not give us any room for stating any opinion that is not in line with our ideology..so you do not necessarily need to present quotations or something although it would be better if you do ...for example no matter what you personally take of congress's inception and everything you have to write that Congress has an anti-muslim approach and stuff...so you need to be more cautious in paper 2 because that deals directly with the ideology of pakistan...

so it would be helpful if you get some good comments from different authors about the greatness of Quaid or the poor state of Muslims but it is not compulsory.

Last edited by Princess Royal; Tuesday, November 10, 2009 at 03:16 PM.

Thanked 1,143 Times in 374 Posts
DEADLYDOCTOR is just really niceDEADLYDOCTOR is just really niceDEADLYDOCTOR is just really niceDEADLYDOCTOR is just really nice
Default @umarabbas

aqalmand ho,umeed he clear raho ge
i am not opting indo-pak history anyway
but i have studied indo-pak in detail, i think that quotations with good detail bring you good marks,but detail with correct reference and history cannot be ignored
detail is not enough ,book is by local or foreign publisher ?
i have a many books on indo-pak.
well what difference it makes
geography k barey me btao kub upload kr rahey ho
let me tell you geography paper 2 has very different aspects and i think (others may differ from it)requires good study
42nd CTP (PSP)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2013 - Merit 62

umarabbas has a spectacular aura aboutumarabbas has a spectacular aura aboutumarabbas has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by DEADLYDOCTOR View Post
aqalmand ho,umeed he clear raho ge
i am not opting indo-pak history anyway
but i have studied indo-pak in detail, i think that quotations with good detail bring you good marks,but detail with correct reference and history cannot be ignored
detail is not enough ,book is by local or foreign publisher ?
i have a many books on indo-pak.
well what difference it makes
geography k barey me btao kub upload kr rahey ho
let me tell you geography paper 2 has very different aspects and i think (others may differ from it)requires good study
Doctor Sahib Guess what...

I went to the local Urdu Bazar in Karachi last wekk and the baba gee who owned the shop recommended a book for me ... the best thing about the book is that it deals with Human Geography in regional formats... Forexample South Asia, South East Asia. so it suits the paper 2 style whereby they ask you to write about so and so regions..

am in the office right now...so the first thing that i am going to do is post its name once i am back to my place inshallah!!!

Originally Posted by umarabbas View Post
Doctor Sahib Guess what...

I went to the local Urdu Bazar in Karachi last wekk and the baba gee who owned the shop recommended a book for me ... the best thing about the book is that it deals with Human Geography in regional formats... Forexample South Asia, South East Asia. so it suits the paper 2 style whereby they ask you to write about so and so regions..

am in the office right now...so the first thing that i am going to do is post its name once i am back to my place inshallah!!!
yara am worried about paper 1 hehe...time itna kam hay n i need to cover alot....plus i am using a single book by lake :P

Last edited by Princess Royal; Tuesday, November 10, 2009 at 03:17 PM.
Old Wednesday, November 11, 2009

bunko is on a distinguished road

@ UmarAbbas;

let us analyze the difference between paper 1 and 2::: Paper 1 would demand for your concept, analysis, evaluation etc etc.. now we being at the level that we are, cannot pass a judgement about Muhammad Tughluq can we???....for that matter we need to build up our case and present our ideas coupled up with some of the most prestigeous authors' comments and observations...
Tu is masley ka kia haal hona chahey ? Like exam mein sawal ata hey MB.Tughlaq was a man of dual personallity, So app ke lehaz seh isko kese ghmauyien taqey achey marks aheien ?

Ab Isharon mein baat na kerna Aur ghuzarish hey na he net mein gota marne ko keh dehna..

Old Thursday, November 12, 2009
42nd CTP (PSP)

Originally Posted by bunko View Post
@ UmarAbbas;

Tu is masley ka kia haal hona chahey ? Like exam mein sawal ata hey MB.Tughlaq was a man of dual personallity, So app ke lehaz seh isko kese ghmauyien taqey achey marks aheien ?

Ab Isharon mein baat na kerna Aur ghuzarish hey na he net mein gota marne ko keh dehna..

Bunko Miya!

Add more questions to them:

1) Mahmud of Ghazni
2) Conquest of Sind

They are difficult to answer. Try to avoid them if possible. If not be a little diplomatic and remember these are essay questions. so you need to present pros and cons anways. But at the end of the day don't be a final judge and be a little biased and inclined towards the common perception.

Example:

1) Mahmud's motives were financial gains::: all historical evidence points at that. but that would make our folk hero, a Mujahid into a ZERO. wouldnt it. So try to avoid taking this point of view .

2) Mahmud's motives were religious and he wanted to spread Islam::: No historical evidence points at that. he employed hindus in his army, he had hindu generals and he was very kind towards them. So what does it prove? can you take out this religious element out of his personality or actions? Never because in those days you could not just bifurcate politics and religion ..

Correct approach would be present both the opinions with quotes from well established historians and then in the conclusion part always be polite and diplomatic for example by saying:

"Although religious zeal prevailed in Mahmud's ranks, spreading Islam by force was never his aim. Caravans of riches were taken back to Ghazni but he was not attracted solely by the glitter of gold. Yet his expeditions involved both the elements at one time or the other and were politically inspired rather than economical or religious reasons".

Something like that..!! i mean don't be definite !! after all you are not an historian :P
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to umarabbas For This Useful Post:
bunko (Thursday, November 12, 2009), Saad Khan (Thursday, November 12, 2009)