-   Accounting & Auditing (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-i/accounting-auditing/)
-   -   accounting questions to be done first (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-i/accounting-auditing/43212-accounting-questions-done-first.html)

mussaa Friday, January 07, 2011 12:15 AM

accounting questions to be done first

[FONT=&quot]ye lo Xaara
[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot][/FONT]
[FONT=&quot][U]ACCOUNTING AND AUDITING[/U][/FONT]
[B][U][FONT=&quot]AUDITING:[/FONT][/U][/B]
[FONT=&quot]1) [/FONT][FONT=&quot]Audit program, its contents, advantages and disadvantages, how disadvantages can be removed.[/FONT][FONT=&quot][/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]2) [/FONT][FONT=&quot]Discuss in detail rights and liabilities of an auditor of Public Ltd Co. with reference to Co. Ord.1984[/FONT][FONT=&quot][/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]3) [/FONT][FONT=&quot]Contents of Annual Audit Report of a Listed public Ltd company under the Co. Ord. 1984[/FONT][FONT=&quot][/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]4) [/FONT][FONT=&quot]Write note on Internal Control, Internal Check[/FONT][FONT=&quot][/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]5) [/FONT][FONT=&quot]Define and Explain the advantages and disadvantages of : [/FONT][B][FONT=&quot]a)[/FONT][/B][FONT=&quot] Continuous Audit [/FONT][FONT=&quot][/FONT]
[FONT=&quot] [/FONT][B][FONT=&quot]b)[/FONT][/B][FONT=&quot] Final Audit [/FONT][B][FONT=&quot]c)[/FONT][/B][FONT=&quot] Internal Audit [/FONT][B][FONT=&quot]d)[/FONT][/B][FONT=&quot] External Audit [/FONT][B][FONT=&quot]e)[/FONT][/B][FONT=&quot] Statutory Audit[/FONT]
[B][U][FONT=&quot]TAXATION:[/FONT][/U][/B]
[FONT=&quot]1) [/FONT][FONT=&quot]Numerical. [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]2) [/FONT][FONT=&quot]What are various sources of income chargeable to Tax under the head” Income from other sources”.[/FONT]
[U][FONT=&quot]BUSINESS PORTION:[/FONT][/U]
[FONT=&quot]1) [/FONT][FONT=&quot]Detail Note on: Cooperative Societies, Joint Stock Company.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]2) [/FONT][FONT=&quot]Business Combinations and its causes.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]3) [/FONT][FONT=&quot]Differentiate between Unlisted Co., Listed Co. and Private Co.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]4) [/FONT][FONT=&quot]Financial Institutions and importance of finance in the growth and development of a Business.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]5) [/FONT][FONT=&quot]Legal Procedure of Establishment of a Public Co.[/FONT]
[U][FONT=&quot]FINANCIAL ACCOUNTING:[/FONT][/U]
[FONT=&quot]1) [/FONT][FONT=&quot]Accounting Ratios 2[/FONT][FONT=&quot])[/FONT][FONT=&quot] Final Accounts [/FONT][FONT=&quot]3)[/FONT][FONT=&quot] Cash Budget [/FONT][FONT=&quot]4)[/FONT][FONT=&quot] Accounting for Non-profit Org.[/FONT][FONT=&quot] [/FONT]
[U][FONT=&quot]COST ACCOUNTING:[/FONT][/U]
[FONT=&quot]1) [/FONT][FONT=&quot] [/FONT][FONT=&quot]Statement of Goods manufactured and sold[/FONT][FONT=&quot][/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]2) [/FONT][FONT=&quot] [/FONT][FONT=&quot]Process costing [/FONT][FONT=&quot][/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]3) [/FONT][FONT=&quot]Standard costing[/FONT][FONT=&quot][/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]4) [/FONT][FONT=&quot]Job order costing[/FONT][FONT=&quot][/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]5) [/FONT][FONT=&quot]Stock management[/FONT][FONT=&quot][/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]6) [/FONT][FONT=&quot]Define Cost accounting and how it contributes in efficient management of resources[/FONT][FONT=&quot][/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]7) [/FONT][FONT=&quot]Explain Direct cost, indirect Cost, Product cost, period cost, Prime cost, controllable cost and non controllable cost[/FONT][FONT=&quot] [/FONT]

xaara~hussain Friday, January 07, 2011 12:20 AM

[QUOTE=mussaa;253219][FONT=&quot]ye lo Xaara
[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot][/FONT]
[FONT=&quot][U]ACCOUNTING AND AUDITING[/U][/FONT]
[B][U][FONT=&quot]AUDITING:[/FONT][/U][/B]
[FONT=&quot]1) [/FONT][FONT=&quot]Audit program, its contents, advantages and disadvantages, how disadvantages can be removed.[/FONT][FONT=&quot][/FONT]
...[/QUOTE]
shld i start with auditing? i knw nothing about auditing n taxation

mussaa Friday, January 07, 2011 12:37 AM

[QUOTE=xaara~hussain;253226]shld i start with auditing? i knw nothing about auditing n taxation[/QUOTE]
yap. if you wanna start with auditing then use book of Sardar Abdul Hameed for B.com part 2
leave the question 2 in auditing given in the list on choice.

xaara~hussain Friday, January 07, 2011 12:43 AM

[QUOTE=mussaa;253242]yap. if you wanna start with auditing then use book of Sardar Abdul Hameed for B.com part 2
leave the question 2 in auditing given in the list on choice.[/QUOTE]
can i start auditing without accounting's prep?

mussaa Friday, January 07, 2011 12:51 AM

[QUOTE=xaara~hussain;253246]can i start auditing without accounting's prep?[/QUOTE]
pehle accounting kr lo ziada behter hai. warna auditing bhi shuru kr skti ho. easy sa subject hai. jb shuru kro to question wise mujhe btana main apko guide krun ga.

xaara~hussain Friday, January 07, 2011 12:57 AM

[QUOTE=mussaa;253252]pehle accounting kr lo ziada behter hai. warna auditing bhi shuru kr skti ho. easy sa subject hai. jb shuru kro to question wise mujhe btana main apko guide krun ga.[/QUOTE]
ok accounting se shuru krti hoon. i will tell u:)

[QUOTE=mussaa;253252]pehle accounting kr lo ziada behter hai. warna auditing bhi shuru kr skti ho. easy sa subject hai. jb shuru kro to question wise mujhe btana main apko guide krun ga.[/QUOTE]
Mussaa, ap ne auditing k btaye hain. accounting k bhi is tarha questions btayen!

Omer Friday, January 07, 2011 03:13 PM

[I]Financial Accounting:[/I]
If you could master accounting ratios and cash budget, you will be on safe side. But prepare for final accounts (income statement and balance sheet) as well.

Accounting questions at css level are very simple and straight forward. You can master it by practising some exercises.

WickedCh Friday, March 04, 2011 07:40 PM

Help needed mr Musa or raz

aoa bro,
do u think the topics u detailed r enough for accounting and auditing papers? pls reply fast

regards,

game awan Friday, March 04, 2011 09:54 PM

[QUOTE=WickedCh;273914]aoa bro,
do u think the topics u detailed r enough for accounting and auditing papers? pls reply fast

regards,[/QUOTE]

for first paper
final a/c
ratio
cash budget
parnership
income & exp a/c

for cost portion standard costing,job order,process costing ,cost of goods sold statment (their flow through T a/c)

Danish Khan Bhurgri Friday, March 18, 2011 10:41 AM

salam friends!
I need help in accounts audit & stats.plz guide n help me!

Ali Ahmad Syed Friday, March 18, 2011 11:39 AM

@ Danish

Dear Danish
I suggest you to go through all relevan threads in Accounting and Auditings tab, you will finad InshaAllah required guidance regarding Curriculum, Books, Study material, methodology, past papers and much more. Once you have gone through, please then ask specifically.

Alipk009 Sunday, June 17, 2012 12:38 PM

MUSSA bhai ye topic to ap ne bot kam mention kiye hen.... ye kafi to nai hen na...

anum S Thursday, July 05, 2012 01:21 AM

A.A anyone of seniors please help me. i am MBA in finance n having good grip on all these subjects i see all papers alhamdulilah i find that good.. firstly i opted geography c0z ma friend opt that . now i want to leave that coz i v not good aptitude of geography. suggest me should i go for my specialization subjects? thanks in advance

Abdul Q Thursday, July 05, 2012 11:30 AM

Go for it

[QUOTE=anum S;450150]A.A anyone of seniors please help me. i am MBA in finance n having good grip on all these subjects i see all papers alhamdulilah i find that good.. firstly i opted geography c0z ma friend opt that . now i want to leave that coz i v not good aptitude of geography. suggest me should i go for my specialization subjects? thanks in advance[/QUOTE]

Yes you should opt Accounting because it is rewarding one and as you said you have got good grip over the syllabus so it would be convenient to opt this subject.

Best of luck

anum S Thursday, July 05, 2012 02:19 PM

thanks a lot.. i am going to opt this n inshaa Allah will do well

mohsincima Thursday, July 05, 2012 03:54 PM

I have opted for 2013.... except in 2010......it remained good scoring but its high scoring but lengthy syllabus......i am CMA

junaid mohamand Sunday, July 29, 2012 02:30 AM

awan bhai accounting tho athi hay par audinting or cost accounting may masla hay plz guide kry kaha say shore karo ya konsi book asan hogi

xepan Sunday, September 23, 2012 06:10 PM

Income Tax

What about Income Tax portion? What is its syllabus and what are the recommended books?

sabamerium Monday, September 24, 2012 10:31 AM

Mr Moshsin can you please gude how CMA shuld go for prepration of Islaimatiat,Gk,English part for various recrutiments of public sector organisation??
Also some good books for revision of accounts/Finance

Mushgaan ahmed Tuesday, September 25, 2012 07:22 AM

Xepan.... Candidatex wil b required to hv a sound grasp of the pr0visi0nx of sec 10 of the inc0me tax act and a workng kn0wledge only of secti0nx 4,11,12,13,14,15,16,18,19,39,39(3) and (4),40,72,87,92,93,98a,98b,98c,101,114(1), 114(3) and (4), 120,122,123,124,147,176, first schedule 2nd schedule of inc0me tax ordinance 2001 as amended upto date and the c0nnectd rules c0ntained in inc0me tax rulex 2002........

alicsp Friday, November 02, 2012 03:25 AM

please anyone tell me about the taxation year of the business taxation if we are going to attempt in CE-2013. (guess would be tax year 2011-12)

decent baloch Friday, November 23, 2012 04:25 PM

Tax year 2012-13

atifdada Friday, November 23, 2012 05:06 PM

[QUOTE=decent baloch;516082]Tax year 2012-13[/QUOTE]
decent baloch yr BUSINESS ORGANISATION SECTION k liye kon c book parhay banda ?

alicsp Friday, November 23, 2012 07:45 PM

plz anybody tell me about the tax year of taxation if i will appear in css 2013 exams. what will be the taxation slab will we use tax year 2011-12 or something else

game awan Friday, November 23, 2012 09:07 PM

[QUOTE=alicsp;504241]please anyone tell me about the taxation year of the business taxation if we are going to attempt in CE-2013. (guess would be tax year 2011-12)[/QUOTE]

[QUOTE=decent baloch;516082]Tax year 2012-13[/QUOTE]

[QUOTE=atifdada;516094]decent baloch yr BUSINESS ORGANISATION SECTION k liye kon c book parhay banda ?[/QUOTE]

[QUOTE=alicsp;516185]plz anybody tell me about the tax year of taxation if i will appear in css 2013 exams. what will be the taxation slab will we use tax year 2011-12 or something else[/QUOTE]

the answer to tax related question is quite simple
observe the past papers
e.g if the exam is in 2008 tax question refers to tax year ending june 2007
that means for css 2008 he asked tax year 2007

Tax year is denoted by year in which the ending date falls
so for css 2013 you have to study Tax year 2012 and to be on safe side study changes for Tax year 2013 too
slabs will be available in any good tax book available

seher bano Sunday, December 30, 2012 10:57 PM

Seniors, please solve my problem regarding adjusting entries...
i am expert in making adjusting entries, but i through out my academic career studied meigs and meigs. adjusting entries in meigs and meigs and that of M.A Ghani ( in final accounts is different).

I am confused about the entries of both of these books.

e.g... we have paid rent in advance(as per meigs and meigs) at the time of financial statments, our entries would be this:

Rent expence(dr)................... Rs. 1000
Prepaid Rent(cr).................................Rs. 1000.

However, as per M.A ghani( in final accouts) our entries would be this:

Prepaid Rent A/c(dr)......................Rs. 1000
To Rent A/c(cr).............................Rs. 1000
Please guide in this regard. There are many other entries of the same kind.

mohsincima Friday, January 04, 2013 12:48 AM

[QUOTE=seher bano;534875]Seniors, please solve my problem regarding adjusting entries...
i am expert in making adjusting entries, but i through out my academic career studied meigs and meigs. adjusting entries in meigs and meigs and that of M.A Ghani ( in final accounts is different).

I am confused about the entries of both of these books.

e.g... we have paid rent in advance(as per meigs and meigs) at the time of financial statments, our entries would be this:

Rent expence(dr)................... Rs. 1000
Prepaid Rent(cr).................................Rs. 1000.

However, as per M.A ghani( in final accouts) our entries would be this:

Prepaid Rent A/c(dr)......................Rs. 1000
To Rent A/c(cr).............................Rs. 1000
Please guide in this regard. There are many other entries of the same kind.[/QUOTE]

when prepaid rent was paid last year ..entry was

Prepaid Rent ..............Rs 1000
........Cash .........................Rs 1000

This Year adjustment entry would be

Rent A/C ..................Rs 1000
.........Prepaid rent...................Rs 1000

Rent A/c is Rent expense for this year, which will go in income statement...and Prepaid rent was assets of last year, which would be Zero this year....

seher bano Friday, January 04, 2013 04:03 AM

[QUOTE=mohsincima;536733]when prepaid rent was paid last year ..entry was[/QUOTE]

Can you solve this question??? (M.A Ghani, Chapter 12., Q. No. 5, P/243)

On 1st January,1990, the Bad Debts Reserve appeared in the books of a firm at a figure of Rs.500. During the year Bad Debts amounted to Rs. 400 and Sundry Debtors to Rs. 15000. On 31st December 1990 a 5 per cent reserve for doubtful debts was maintained on sundry debtors. During the year 1991 Bad Debts amounted to Rs. 1000 and Sundry Debtors to Rs..20000.[B] On 31st December, 1991, the Reserve for Doubtful Debts on Sundry Debtors was increased by 5 per cent and a 2.5 per cent reserve was maintained for discount on Debtors.
[/B]
[B]Required: Give necessary Journal Entries.[/B]

I am just confused about the bold statement and its entry.

Rohail Khan Saturday, January 05, 2013 12:34 AM

Year 1990

the Bad Debts Reserve appeared in the books of a firm at a figure of Rs.500
at the end the sundary debtors were 15000.

So 5% of 15000 is 750.

Means at the year end, dec 1990.. the bad debt reserve ko 500 se 750 tak leke aana hai. So entry ye bane gi

Dr profit and loss a/c 250
Cr bad debt reserve a/c 250

Ab bad debt reserve year end balance 750 hogaya.. jo next yea ka opening balance hoga.

Ab jan 1991

at the end the sundary debtors were 20000

so 5 % of 20000 is 1000

Means at the year end, dec 1991.. the bad debt reserve ko 750 se 1000 tak leke aana hai. So entry ye bane gi

Aur ab is year me 2.5% ka discount b hai so discount jo hai wo debtors me se bad debt reserve minus kar k phr nikalna hoga ..

Sundary debtors – bad debt reserve = amount * discount % = reserves for discount
20000 - 1000 = 19000 * 2.5% = 475

So entry is

Dr profit and loss a/c 475
Cr reserves for discount a/c 475

Jo ap k bold letters me words hain un k lie ye kahonga k

The bad debt reserves needed to be increased. This was because the provision was kept at 5%, but debtors had risen to 20000 (in year 1991) from 15000 (in year 1990). A provision of 1000( i.e. 5% of 20000). All that is now needed is a provision for extra 250.

Summary of entries..

Year 1990

Year 1991

3. entry for discount reserve.

Dr profit and loss a/c 475
Cr reserves for discount a/c 475.

Aur jo har saal me bad debts incure horahi hain na wo sedha profit and loss account me jaingi. Agr entry banani ho tou wo ye bani gi.

Dr. profit and loss a/c
Cr. Bad dets A/c.

agar koi galti ho tou seniors plz correct me.

regards..

seher bano Saturday, January 05, 2013 02:44 AM

[QUOTE=Rohail Khan;537173]Year 1990

Summary of entries..

Year 1990

Dr profit and loss a/c 500
Cr bad debt reserve a/c 500

Year 1991

Dr profit and loss a/c 400
Cr bad debt reserve a/c 400

3. entry for discount reserve.

Dr profit and loss a/c 650
Cr reserves for discount a/c 650.

Provision for B/D A/c....1000
to Bad debt A/c........................1000

and final entry is...
Profit and loss account........1250
Provision for bad debts.........................1250
[B](ye entry mein provision+ discount add kia gaya hai. or yahi mujhe samaj nahi araha ku.[/B]

regards..[/QUOTE]

Now these are the right entries as per guide.

Rohail Khan Saturday, January 05, 2013 08:10 PM

mere pass book nh tou me apko proper guide nh kr pa rha.. aur mene ye books parhe b nh..

During the year 1991 Bad Debts amounted to Rs. 1000 and Sundry Debtors to Rs..20000. On 31st December, 1991, the Reserve for Doubtful Debts on Sundry Debtors was increased by 5 per cent and a 2.5 per cent reserve was maintained for discount on Debtors.

ye jo ap ne entry batai hai iska amount kaise aai?
jab k question me keh rha hai debtors ka 2.5%.
lets suppose agr hum reserve minus nh krte .direct 20000 pe 2.5% lagain tou b 500 horha hai.. tou 650 ka discount reserve kaise aya?

ye 650 amount tab aaega jab humare debtors 26000 honge aur 26000 ki 2.5%=650 hoti h.
aur humare debtor 26000 nh arhe.. shyd koi aur tareeka hoa..

if ap dono book ki soft copy share krain tou aur b help mil jaegi..

seher bano Saturday, January 05, 2013 09:52 PM

[QUOTE=Rohail Khan;537472]mere pass book nh tou me apko proper guide nh kr pa rha.. aur mene ye books parhe b nh..

During the year 1991 Bad Debts amounted to Rs. 1000 and Sundry Debtors to Rs..20000. On 31st December, 1991, the Reserve for Doubtful Debts on Sundry Debtors was increased by 5 per cent and a 2.5 per cent reserve was maintained for discount on Debtors.

ye jo ap ne entry batai hai iska amount kaise aai?
jab k question me keh rha hai debtors ka 2.5%.
lets suppose agr hum reserve minus nh krte .direct 20000 pe 2.5% lagain tou b 500 horha hai.. tou 650 ka discount reserve kaise aya?

ye 650 amount tab aaega jab humare debtors 26000 honge aur 26000 ki 2.5%=650 hoti h.
aur humare debtor 26000 nh arhe.. shyd koi aur tareeka hoa..

if ap dono book ki soft copy share krain tou aur b help mil jaegi..[/QUOTE]

I wish i could share soft copy, but can not. In fact, discount and final reserves have been combined in one entry.

Rohail Khan Saturday, January 05, 2013 10:44 PM

ok ok .. i will purchase soon.. apki tayari tou complete hone wali hogi na?

seher bano Saturday, January 05, 2013 11:52 PM

[QUOTE=Rohail Khan;537560]ok ok .. i will purchase soon.. apki tayari tou complete hone wali hogi na?[/QUOTE]

No, I have very short time for other subjects too, so i am just giving 3 hours to this subject a day. and now preparing paper 1st.

Rohail Khan Sunday, January 06, 2013 12:05 AM

best of luck.. me not preparing yet because i will go for 2014 attempt.

Sana Satti Sunday, February 17, 2013 01:52 PM

AOA........EM A NEW MEMBER HERE.......I WANT 2 APPEAR IN CSS EXAMZ 2014.........EM IN MBA 4TH SEMESTR........I HAVE B.COM BCKGROUND......I HAVE Done FSC PRE MEDICAL..........NOW I DUN KNOW WHCH SUBJCTS I SHOULD CHOOSE..........EM GUD IN ACCOUNTS......ND 2NDLY MJY SAMAJH NAI AA RA K MAIN MBA K 7 PREPAR KRUN CSS YA WA8 KRUN MBA K CMPLT HONY KA???? PLZ GVE UR VALUABLE SUGESTIONZ...........

atifdada Sunday, February 17, 2013 04:46 PM

[QUOTE=Sana Satti;558744]AOA........EM A NEW MEMBER HERE.......I WANT 2 APPEAR IN CSS EXAMZ 2014.........EM IN MBA 4TH SEMESTR........I HAVE B.COM BCKGROUND......I HAVE Done FSC PRE MEDICAL..........NOW I DUN KNOW WHCH SUBJCTS I SHOULD CHOOSE..........EM GUD IN ACCOUNTS......ND 2NDLY MJY SAMAJH NAI AA RA K MAIN MBA K 7 PREPAR KRUN CSS YA WA8 KRUN MBA K CMPLT HONY KA???? PLZ GVE UR VALUABLE SUGESTIONZ...........[/QUOTE]
as far as CSS syllabus is concerned you will find no hesitation and problem for the syllabus , because you have already studied it in Bcom level or to some extent MBA 2 semesters ..
so no issue for CSS ACCOUNTING AND AUDITING paper of you want to opt it . rest you can prepare CSS in 6 months with continuous time-table and study !!
it upto you now to choose or wait , but i would recommend you to go through and appear in 2014 year ... just consult with seniors and chose your optional set of papers ... you have enough time .. !!

Sana Satti Tuesday, February 19, 2013 12:23 PM

Thanx atif 4 ur encouragment.........seniorzzzzzzzzz plz sugst me good combo ov sbjcts accordng 2 ma past recrd...........

Farah Zaidi Tuesday, February 19, 2013 09:02 PM

can you tell any book that can cover the questions of accounting & auditing papers?

Shooting Star Saturday, March 23, 2013 12:20 AM

[QUOTE=Sana Satti;558744]AOA........EM A NEW MEMBER HERE.......I WANT 2 APPEAR IN CSS EXAMZ 2014.........EM IN MBA 4TH SEMESTR........I HAVE B.COM BCKGROUND......I HAVE Done FSC PRE MEDICAL..........NOW I DUN KNOW WHCH SUBJCTS I SHOULD CHOOSE..........EM GUD IN ACCOUNTS......ND 2NDLY MJY SAMAJH NAI AA RA K MAIN MBA K 7 PREPAR KRUN CSS YA WA8 KRUN MBA K CMPLT HONY KA???? PLZ GVE UR VALUABLE SUGESTIONZ...........[/QUOTE]

[QUOTE=Sana Satti;559872]Thanx atif 4 ur encouragment.........seniorzzzzzzzzz plz sugst me good combo ov sbjcts accordng 2 ma past recrd...........[/QUOTE]
[FONT=Verdana][COLOR=Black][SIZE=2]
Do not write in eLiTe LeTtErS, or in very large or hard to read fonts or colors.[/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][FONT=Verdana][COLOR=Black][SIZE=2]
Avoid r[/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][FONT=Verdana][COLOR=Black][SIZE=2]egular use of "Netspeak" or other "cute" grammar or spelling (For example: writing "R U a woman?" instead of "Are You a woman?"). [/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT]

Read [B][URL="http://www.cssforum.com.pk/general/forum-policies-rules-regulations/4443-forum-rules-policies.html"]Forum rules and policies [/URL][/B]and Abide by them. In future, all such posts will get deleted without prior warning.

01:48 PM (GMT +5)