-   Applied Mathematics (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-ii/applied-mathematics/)
-   -   Guideline for Applied Mathematics (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-ii/applied-mathematics/35825-guideline-applied-mathematics.html)

r.i.p Thursday, July 01, 2010 03:21 PM

Guideline for Applied Mathematics

Aoa,

I got 174 in Applied Mathematics CE-2009

1. I attempted Paper-A of 80 marks and got 79. It was because i could not revise the curvilinear portion and a complete question was given in paper from it.
2. I attempted Paper-B of 100 marks and got 95.

So now it should be pretty clear that you can score even above 190 in Applied Mathematics provided you have attempted the paper properly.

My Preparation of Paper-A:
1. Mechanics by Q.K.Ghori
2. Vector and Tensor Analysis by Dr. Nawazish Ali Shah
3. Schaum's Outlines Series ---- Vector Analysis with an Introduction to Tensor Analysis

My Preparation of Paper-B:
A. Differential & Partial Differential Equations
1. Advanced Engineering Mathematics by Erwin Kreyszig
2. Mathematical Methods by SM Yusuf
3. Mathematical Techniques (Carvan Publishers)
4. Schaum's Outlines Series ---- Differential Equations
5. Schaum's Outlines Series ---- Partial Differential Equations
6. Advanced Engineering Mathematics by N. Bali

B. Tensor Analysis
1. Vector and Tensor Analysis by Dr. Nawazish Ali Shah
2. Schaum's Outlines Series ---- Vector Analysis with an Introduction to Tensor
Analysis

C. Numerical Analysis
1. Numerical Analysis by Amjad Pervez
2. An introduction to Numerical Analysis by Dr. Muhammad Iqbal
3. Advanced Engineering Mathematics by Erwin Kreyszig

I studied all these books and it took me around 2 months to go through the course thoroughly. So it is time consuming but gives you good marks.
For further details you can contact me through e-mail option available at the forum or directly meet me.

I hope it alleviates all the misconceptions about this subject. It is a risk but worth-taking.

striver Thursday, July 22, 2010 12:05 AM

I would really love to discuss with you about how you attempted your paper which is, in my opinion, very important. I see you donot have any details on your profile, I would appreciate if I can discuss with you these things atleast on telephone if not in person. I can also benefit from your strategy for preparation which we can discuss during the course of our discussion.

I look forward to positive response from your side.

All the Best~

r.i.p Friday, July 23, 2010 01:36 PM

@Striver

dear peruse your email.

Purab Sarhan Friday, July 23, 2010 05:36 PM

@ r.i.p

Dear r.i.p
I couldn't find your DMS here. Can you please share?

zubair rana Friday, July 23, 2010 10:42 PM

[QUOTE=r.i.p;201681]@Striver

dear peruse your email.

regards[/QUOTE]
Aoa someone has told me that you are an electrical engineer from your uet and you had taken css during your engineering studies and you prepared with two more engineers one of them obtained 8th position and other got 38th position. is it right plz answer my query

r.i.p Friday, July 23, 2010 11:29 PM

@Purab
My Dms is posted here
[URL="http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-datesheets-results/css-result-datesheet/css-2009-exam/36318-dms-top-5-candidaters.html"]http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-datesheets-results/css-result-datesheet/css-2009-exam/36318-dms-top-5-candidaters.html[/URL]

W/S.
We took CSS after completing our engineering and not during it.
The rest is true.

Purab Sarhan Saturday, July 24, 2010 11:24 PM

@ r.i.p

That’s just great man. Just a few more things I need to inquire from you. Please bear it for me; this is going to take some of your time. And do not reply now if you are in a rush.

This happens in all Mathematics papers with me that when I come out of the examination hall I have this disappointment that I could have done better. I must confess, for such papers I only attend the classes and prepare myself in one sitting, just the night before exam. Only clearing and preparing for concepts and never practice much of the problems.

In the morning I find myself really struggling to solve the paper but I do solve it. In the end, marks are well worth for me considering one night’s preparation.

Whereas the papers (mathematics’) for which I have prepared well and have got firm grip (This usually I do by teaching the topics to my classmates) I clear them with marks above 90%.

Now the real question I want to ask is, did this ever happen with you in your academics (considering you must have attempted math papers multiple times more than me) that you prepared only concepts and the paper gave you real frustration? Did any paper of Applied Mathematics in this exam give you frustration?

Question two, just before you were going into examination hall, could you say you had a firm grip over the problems and concepts?

Finally dear, the questions you attempted, how did you attempt them? I mean did you bypass steps which you thought are obvious for examiner to get? Did you attempt questions neat and clean? Or were you even precise?

Dear I know these are a lot of questions but you must consider that this huge success puts a liability on your shoulders to help those who require your guidance.. lol.

I am looking forward to your respond, thanks in advance dear.

breerah Fatima Sunday, August 01, 2010 06:56 PM

i had exactly the same combination as yours,i did not get any timely guideline as you posted.I have attempted CSS 2010 on my own living at home.Even many professors i asked for guideline they discouraged me only.

Anyways i m refueling.

Thanks once again

Ali Naqvi Saturday, September 18, 2010 10:54 PM

@ Mr.Afzaal Sb.

aoa !
sir ! i m also an electrical engineer , just passed out , and i have opted the same subjects as u !
-- my query is about paper (I) in case of mechanics and QK Ghauri looks not sufficient for this.guide in me this regard .
--- and next prob about indo-pak , plz guide me all that buks and links necessary for this subject and not only for generel preparation rather for position demanding !
wsalaam !
Ali Naqvi

r.i.p Sunday, September 19, 2010 02:04 AM

@ALI NAQVI

Ya the latest edition of Q.K. Ghori lacks only one topic, that is , inertia and moment of inertia. You can do it from any good book of physics (Halliday & Resnick). For vectors study: Vector and Tensor Analysis by Dr. Nawazish Ali Shah

Dear for Indo-Pak history i studied books of K.ALI, Bhatti and Faridi. But i ain't satisfied with my score in that subject. You better opt for some other high scoring subject like psychology, sociology, international law, public admn. (Its my view)

I would like to know ur alma mater. If u still need assisstance contact me through email as forum has certain restrictions.

Muhammad Afzal

Ali Naqvi Sunday, September 19, 2010 12:39 PM

thanxx sir !
mine alma mater is BZU multan ! and i m little familiar with u from UET frnds..
sir ! indo pak sub is one of my intrest and i have no time to change my mind and sub.
in QK Ghori the topic of centre of mass and gravity also seemd unsatisfactory ! isnt it ?? wht do u suggest in this regard !
and sir give me ur mailing id !
mine is
[email]******@gmail.com[/email]
wslaam !

r.i.p Tuesday, September 21, 2010 01:58 PM

@Ali Naqvi

Ok then u shd go ahead with it...the faridi's book deals with paper 1 and is really good...Best of luck

@Center of mass and gravity....if u can't grasp it from Q.K.Ghori then i would recommend to conult some good physics book (Halliday & Resnick or else) ..... Best of luck

it is prohibited to give email id in msgs on forum yaar.....anyhow u can take it from admin directly i think...

Muhammad Afzal

Ali Naqvi Tuesday, September 21, 2010 04:06 PM

@r.i.p

thnxx sir !
main prob is maths and its looking prety tough job ! i wanna know that all paper ques are taken from Q K Ghori ??
that i listen from someone !
wasalam

liaqat ali j Monday, November 08, 2010 03:21 PM

@r.i.p
please sir also suggest the books for physics..........................

r.i.p Monday, November 08, 2010 05:42 PM

@liaqat_ali_j

Aoa,

Fundamentals of Physics (5TH Edition: Volume 1 & 2) by Halliday & Resnick is the best text book for CSS Physics Course. It is also recommended in FPSC course outline. You can use any good helping book (Ilmi, Musaddiq's Books or Majeed Sons) of B.Sc/M.Sc for detailed derivations. But theory must be covered from the text book. You can also use 7th Edition as it is equally good.

For command on vectors study first 5 chapters of "Vector and Tensor Analysis" by Dr. Nawazish Ali Shah.

Ayesha Mahmood Tuesday, November 09, 2010 11:45 AM

[QUOTE=r.i.p;235979]
Fundamentals of Physics (5TH Edition: Volume 1 & 2) by Halliday & Resnick is the best text book for CSS Physics Course.You can also use 7th Edition as it is equally good.
[/QUOTE]

I've 8th edition. What is the difference between these editions. Can you tell me.

r.i.p Tuesday, November 09, 2010 03:32 PM

@Ayesha Mahmood

There is no difference except that some more advanced topics are included in latter editions. And ofcourse numericals vary in their numerical values. All the editions after 5th edition are equally good. [B]I mentioned 5th edition because it is being used as a text book in many universities of Pakistan for B.Sc courses. [/B] No other particular reason :) .

sajjadali350 Tuesday, November 09, 2010 03:48 PM

[QUOTE=r.i.p;236239]@Ayesha Mahmood

There is no difference except that some more advanced topics are included in latter editions. And ofcourse numericals vary in their numerical values. All the editions after 5th edition are equally good. [B]I mentioned 5th edition because it is being used as a text book in many universities of Pakistan for B.Sc courses. [/B] No other particular reason :) .

Regards,[/QUOTE]

sir can you tell me if there is any teacher of physics and maths in Lahore.i want to give tests to him.

i got failed in islamiat in this attempt.

my score in physics isn't so good.i scored only 128 marks.i am having problem with paper 2 of physics.
i was expecting 80-85 in paper 2 but got just 61 marks.

i think problem lies with the atomic portion of my source of preparation.
does the question of writing notes have any effect on ur score.

and please if possible can you elaborate the books for paper 2.

r.i.p Tuesday, November 09, 2010 04:03 PM

@Sajjadali350

I don't know about the teachers as I studied it myself. Physics is much easier for cadidates with engineering background especially electrical & mechanical engineers. If you scored 128 in 2010 papers then its a serious concern and you need to work much harder. [B]Study the text book i have mentioned above.Both the papers are covered in the two volumes of that book. And attempt questions requiring mathematical / quantitative treatment. You must use calculus based mathematics not the simple one.[/B] The course is quite lengthy and one should develop sound concepts. As far as attempting question of notes is concerned then my advice would be that you should avoid it if you can attempt any other question.

Good luck!

sajjadali350 Tuesday, November 09, 2010 04:28 PM

[QUOTE=r.i.p;236249]@Sajjadali350

I don't know about the teachers as I studied it myself. Physics is much easier for cadidates with engineering background especially electrical & mechanical engineers. If you scored 128 in 2010 papers then its a serious concern and you need to work much harder. [B]Study the text book i have mentioned above.Both the papers are covered in the two volumes of that book. And attempt questions requiring mathematical / quantitative treatment. You must use calculus based mathematics not the simple one.[/B] The course is quite lengthy and one should develop sound concepts. As far as attempting question of notes is concerned then my advice would be that you should avoid it if you can attempt any other question.

Good luck!

Regards,[/QUOTE]

thanks for your guidance.

and i am too an electrical engineer.

i attempted 3questions from atomic and all these question have small portion of derivation. i think thats the major cause of my low score.

i have two more questions.

what book should i consult for numerical.are musadiq and helliday enough?

and

can i get the soultion manual for kryezic 7th edition for maths from any where i mean internet,a photocopy shop or uet.

sajjadali350 Tuesday, November 09, 2010 04:34 PM

@r.i.p

i have 4th edition of resnick halliday volume1.

should i go for 5th edition for both volumes?

r.i.p Tuesday, November 09, 2010 10:15 PM

@Sajjadali350

You can use any good helping book with Halliday. Yes, u must buy 5th Edition. Musaddiq's books are good. But for Waves Portion and Atomic Physics portion use Majeed sons books and for rest use Musaddiq. Being an electrical engineer i still wonder y didnt u attempt questions of electromagnetics and electronics????

About Kreyszig.... i dont have any info regarding its solutions available in UET. You should check out thr. Btw when r u taking CSS, in 2011 or 2012??

sajjadali350 Tuesday, November 09, 2010 10:37 PM

[QUOTE=r.i.p;236349]@Sajjadali350

You can use any good helping book with Halliday. Yes, u must buy 5th Edition. Musaddiq's books are good. But for Waves Portion and Atomic Physics portion use Majeed sons books and for rest use Musaddiq. Being an electrical engineer i still wonder y didnt u attempt questions of electromagnetics and electronics????

About Kreyszig.... i dont have any info regarding its solutions available in UET. You should check out thr. Btw when r u taking CSS, in 2011 or 2012??

Regards,[/QUOTE]

sir i am taking css exams in 2012.

and regarding your question about electricity and electromagnetic.

actually m brother is a csp as well as an electrical engineer.

he is customs and from 29th common.

he also opted physics .

so he told us not to prepare that portion(electricity) otherwise you wont be able to revise it.during exams.

so i prepared it from objective point of view.

but know i have realized it as mistake on my part.

next time i will prepare it as well.i prepared electronics and there was only one question from that part.

thanks for your guidance.

white leopard Tuesday, November 09, 2010 10:50 PM

@ rip
i did not get ur email id from ur profile. i m doing BE in comp from uet. i need some guidance. will u please give me ur email id?

r.i.p Wednesday, November 10, 2010 12:17 AM

Aoa,

[B]I have sent both of u emails[/B]:)

@Sajjadali350
Contact me i shall give u full guidance on both the subjects as soon as possible. 2012 is far away and u have enough time to go all out.

@Whiteleopard
When r u taking the exam??

liaqat ali j Wednesday, November 10, 2010 09:54 AM

@r.i.p
Thanx sir for the previous information.Sir we also want to know about the numericals part of the physics paper.Is there any specific book from which numericals come in the paper like the mechancis of Q.K.Ghori for app maths 4rm which exactly same qstns are given in the paper .Plz sir suggest such a book also for physics numericals.
Sir i m also electrical engr 4rm UET pesh and going 2 appear in 2012 and have listen abt the chang in policy.Would this chang leav any impact on the syllabus of physics or app maths.?

sajjadali350 Wednesday, November 10, 2010 12:50 PM

[QUOTE=liaqat ali j;236449]@r.i.p
Thanx sir for the previous information.Sir we also want to know about the numericals part of the physics paper.Is there any specific book from which numericals come in the paper like the mechancis of Q.K.Ghori for app maths 4rm which exactly same qstns are given in the paper .Plz sir suggest such a book also for physics numericals.
Sir i m also electrical engr 4rm UET pesh and going 2 appear in 2012 and have listen abt the chang in policy.Would this chang leav any impact on the syllabus of physics or app maths.?[/QUOTE]

whats the change in policy?

if possible please share here.

liaqat ali j Wednesday, November 10, 2010 01:13 PM

@sajjadali350
chang in age limit and instead of bachlor now only candidates having master could appear and i also hav listen that sociology and public add may be included in the compulsory subjects bt this policy is proposed for 2012 not for 2011.

r.i.p Wednesday, November 10, 2010 01:17 PM

@ liaqat_ali_j & sajjadali350

The numericals of text book are more than enough and include all possible forms. So do them. If your concepts are sound you wont feel any difficulty in solving numericals.

Please would you like to elaborate what change in policy are you talking about. Unless there is some change in the CSS Physics course you dont need to alter the scheme of study. Just stick to it and avoid listening to rumours. Whenever there is change in course it would be made public. It is a competitive examination and people spread a lot of rumours to distract the attention of others. Just concentrate on studies. :)

[B]@liaqat_ali_j[/B]

Until there is such a policy published by FPSC dont believe it. These are all gossips.

liaqat ali j Thursday, November 11, 2010 11:42 AM

@r.i.p
Sir i hav listen from my teacher at kips acadmy that chang in
1.age limit
2.instead of bachlor only masters can now appear in the css exam
3.and socilolgy and public add are proposed to be included in the compulsory subjects
These are sugestions given to the fpsc and i do nt know abt the recomendation and application of these proposed suggestions.
Sir plz also give some tips abt the preparation of islamyat as in 2010 more than 50% candidates are failed in the islamyat.From where we shd cover the mcq portion of islamyat and shd v listen the lectures of Dr.Zakir Naik and Dr.Israr or we shd focus on the book.

liaqat ali j Thursday, November 11, 2010 11:52 AM

@sajjadali350
what abt the solution of kryzig.?
Have u checked the solutions there in uet.?
When u found the sol then plz share it.
i m also seaching for it.

white leopard Thursday, November 11, 2010 11:20 PM

[QUOTE=r.i.p;236394]Aoa,

[B]I have sent both of u emails[/B]:)

@Whiteleopard
When r u taking the exam??

Regards,[/QUOTE]

I'll take exam in 2012 INSHALLAH.

Danish Maqsood Friday, November 12, 2010 10:29 AM

Congratz Dear Afzal; Needs some advice

Dear Afzal

I am also anengineering graduate and intending to appear in CSS-2011 Exam with Physics and as one of the optionals:

Could you please advice me the following

1 Which Books should i refer for Physics?
2 What is the way to score high in Physics?

Please be in touch as I'll need your p\recious advices consistently.

Danish

r.i.p Friday, November 12, 2010 12:45 PM

@Danish Maqsood

Aoa,

Fundamentals of Physics (5TH Edition: Volume 1 & 2) by Halliday & Resnick is the best text book for CSS Physics Course. It is also recommended in FPSC course outline. You can use any good helping book (Ilmi, Musaddiq's Books or Majeed Sons) of B.Sc/M.Sc for detailed derivations. But theory must be covered from the text book. You can also use 7th Edition as it is equally good.

For command on vectors study first 5 chapters of "Vector and Tensor Analysis" by Dr. Nawazish Ali Shah.

For good marks: Attempt questions requiring mathematical / quantitative treatment. You must use calculus based mathematics not the simple one. Avoid writing notes if you can attempt any other question. No selective study.

ShahzebImran Friday, November 26, 2010 04:15 PM

A.o.a

Sir, i have opted applied mathmatics, i need your help with it. can i plese have your email address for proper communication infact i wana to talk to you regarding the course? how should i prepare\practic it? and you mentioned around 10 or more books for App. Math. are there some specific chapters in the books that ones should practice?

your assistance will be highly appriciated.

Best regards,
Shahzeb Imran

zubair rana Thursday, December 09, 2010 03:41 PM

good book for partial differential equation

i had studied many books of partial differential equations but nothing seems to me appropriate according to exam i am making this request especiallyto rip. what was the book used by you in regard to partial differential portion plz reply

ShahzebImran Sunday, December 12, 2010 06:56 PM

Aoa

hey, how do u gays pracatice AQ Ghoris Mechanics. is there any tutor availabe for this book or notes which can help to understand it.

Dolokhov Tuesday, December 14, 2010 12:15 PM

my experience
buy a key book from the shop and memorise all the examples and exercise questions. there is no other formula if any please tell me i am also waiting for some useful method instead of cramming.

r.i.p Thursday, December 16, 2010 02:40 AM

@Shahzeb Imran:
You have to go through some of them completely and cover only the relevant material from other books.

@Zubair_rana
1. Advanced Engineering Mathematics by N. Bali
2. Mathematical Techniques (Carvan Publishers)

very special 1 Monday, December 27, 2010 03:58 PM

help seniors specially r i p

plz guide me a little about paper and topic
in syllabus some of the topic r mentioned so we only cover that topics or its applications r also necessary to cover. and other topic involving that topic must also be cover. As in mechanics G K ghorri, 2 chp, topic, component of force is in syllabus so we only do this topic or we do also composition of concurent forces and varigons theorm etc also.
my second question is plz tell me the pattern of paper 2 as it is not clear in privious papers.
plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz rply soon

04:01 PM (GMT +5)