02:06 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group II > Physics

Old Wednesday, September 11, 2013

waqas izhar will become famous soon enough
Post best physics book

serway jewett physics for scientists and engineers with modern physics... covers all the topics
paper a and b both
Old Monday, September 30, 2013
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no  3633, CE 2011 - Roll no  5573

Bilal Salim is on a distinguished road

Very good book indeed. Recommended by Sir Hammad as well .. But it is a bit difficult for the beginners
Old Wednesday, October 02, 2013

Originally Posted by Bilal Salim View Post
Very good book indeed. Recommended by Sir Hammad as well .. But it is a bit difficult for the beginners
sir allow me to disagree... it is easier than halliday and resnick atleast...
Old Wednesday, October 02, 2013
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no  3633, CE 2011 - Roll no  5573

Bilal Salim is on a distinguished road

well i found it difficult .. but its definately more comprehensive

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk -
Old Saturday, October 19, 2013

Inam Niazi is on a distinguished road

I have serway jewett physics for scientists and engineers with modern physics 8th edition
is it enough?

Niazi
Old Friday, March 07, 2014

ezio is on a distinguished road

waqar brother ive been following your posts and they have been quite helpfull....

could you share your experience regarding physics in 2014......

please could you also guide about the strategy of preparation....

JAZAKALLAH...

P.S sorry if ive posted it at the wrong place...
Old Friday, March 07, 2014

Originally Posted by ezio View Post
waqar brother ive been following your posts and they have been quite helpfull....

could you share your experience regarding physics in 2014......

please could you also guide about the strategy of preparation....

JAZAKALLAH...

P.S sorry if ive posted it at the wrong place...
I am always keeping an eye on physics and applied maths forum, so no problems.

my experience for 2014 wasn't that wholesome. paper a was very good but not paper b. not because the paper was difficult, it was just that I wasn't prepared thoroughly.

so how to prepare for physics?

1. get the syllabus. and here it is.

PAPER - I (Marks-100)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mechanics

Vectors - Dots, Cross and triple products, Gradient, divergence and applications.

Newtonian laws of motion; conservation law of energy; conservation of linear and angular momentum; Dynamics of rigid body; spin and pie-cession; gyroscope; Gravitation; planetary motion including satellite.

Special theory of relativity. Mischelson - Morely experiment and Einstein's postulates; Lorentz transformation; time dilation and length con traction; equivalence of mass and energy.

Fluid Mechanics

Surface tension; Viscosity; Elasticity; fluid motion and Bernoullie's theorem.

Waves and Oscillation

Free oscillation with one and two degrees of freedom; forced and damped oscillations and phenomenon of resonance. Travelling waves and transmission of energy; Phase and Group velocity; standing waves.

Reflection, Refraction, Interference, Diffraction and Polarization of waves; interfero-meter and Newton's rings; Diffraction Gratings and their resolving power; spectro-meters. Electromagnetic wave equation: normal and anamolous dispersion; coherence, laser and its application.

Heat and Thermodynamics

Perfect gas and Van der Waals equation; Three Laws of Thermodynamics, Thermal properties of Simple system production and measurement of low temperatures; kinetic theory of gases; Maxwellian distribution of molecular velocities; Brownian motion: Transport phenomena. Classical Maxwell -Boltzmann Statistics and its application: Quantum Bose - Einstein and Fermi-Dirac Statistics.

PAPER - II (Marks-100)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Electricity and Magnetism

Electric field due to point charges, Gauss' law Electric potential and poisson and Laplace's equation Dielectric medium and Polarization:

Capacitance; Moving charges and magnetic field Ampere's law; Vector potential; Magnetic properties of matter; Transient current: Faraday's law of electromagnetic induction; Alternating current and LRO circuit. Maxwell's equations; Poynting theorem and Poynting Vector.

Electronics

Thermionic emission; Space charge: Diode. Triode Tetrode; Pentode and their static and dynamic characteristics; Amplitude modulation and demodulation or detection. Various basic circuits for rectification, amplification modulation and detection connected with radio receivers and transmission; n and p type semiconductors; Biased function; Transistors; Common base and common emitter configurations.

Atomic Physics

Bohr theory and quantum numbers including electron spin; Pauli's exclusion principle; Spectra of simple systems with one or two valence electrons. Photo electric effect Compton scattering; pair production; Lande's g factor and Zeeman effect. Rainan effect; Waves and particles and De Broglie's Hypothesis; Shrodinger wave equation and its application to one dimensional harmic oscillator. Heisen berg's uncertainly principle.

Nuclear Physics

Structure of Nuclei; Radioactivity infinity, beta and decay. Methods of detection, Mass Sepectrometer. Accelerators. Phenomenon of fission; reactor and nuclear power, nuclear fusion and its application. Elementary particles and their properties.

2. the main headings have been colored above.
3. write the first main heading on a separate sheet i.e. mechanics. below this main heading write all the questions from the past papers pertaining to this heading. and do the same for all other headings.
4. this is just the groundwork and it is time consuming but it is required.
5. once you have done it for both paper a and b, keep all these pages in a file and keep them aside. now we are going to prepare it.

preparation can have two strategies.
1. you just solve the past paper questions from the file that you have made.
2. watch these lectures:
a. for paper a http://oyc.yale.edu/physics/phys-200#sessions
b. for paper b http://oyc.yale.edu/physics/phys-201#sessions
3. I would suggest that you go through the lectures and solve the papers, the instructor is excellent and you will enjoy physics. but to make notes you will require a book. you can either use serway and jewett or halliday resnick.
the semiconductor portion you will need to do from internet or you can get a book.
4. in either case, whether you solve past papers with the help of a book or you watch lectures, it will take you two months to go through the syllabus thoroughly.
5. the wonderful thing about physics is that it is difficult to forget or at least easier to revise.
6. if you want to go for selective study, then you can leave electricity and magnetism from paper b and waves and oscillation from paper a.
7. whichever topic you attempt, must have diagrams and formulas.
8. derivations are to be done from graduate level and not from fsc level. e.g. work kinetic energy theorem.
9. serway and jewett is the better book as it covers more topics.

one more thing papers in 2014 were easy even if I did not do good in paper b and the only thing that was added was that they were asking for applications so must learn applications. your topic shoud have the following headings:

1. definition
2. mathematical expression
3. diagram
4. explanation with help of diagram
5. applications

and the more the diagrams the better

if there is anything else I will be here to help inshallah.

Last edited by Sabir Basheer; Tuesday, April 15, 2014 at 09:34 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to waqas izhar For This Useful Post:
Bookaholic (Saturday, March 05, 2016), mjk66 (Wednesday, February 11, 2015)
Old Saturday, March 08, 2014

EngrAbdul is on a distinguished road
Default Physics book for SPSC

kindly recommend book for physics for SPSC's combined competitive exam
Old Monday, March 10, 2014

alberta is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up Books for CSS

Bhai. I am Electrical Engineer and I have opted physics as my optional during my CE-2014 attempt. I would like to suggest that Just follow three books of Physics for BSc. course of Punjab University . These books are written by Muhammad Kaleem Akhtar and Prof. Muhammad Yousaf. These books are named as

Book for Paper -A-
Book for Paper -B- (Thermodynamics, Electricity and Magnetism).
Book for Paper -C-

Books are written in easy language with complete derivations, diagrams, explanation, numericals and to the point topic according to the CSS Course. You will get each question from these books.
I prepared whole course from these books and prepared my own notes and Alhamdulillah attempted the whole paper without any difficulty.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to alberta For This Useful Post:
Bookaholic (Saturday, March 05, 2016), Roshnain Swati (Thursday, May 29, 2014)