06:38 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group II > Pure Mathematics

Old Sunday, January 15, 2023

sara Amja is on a distinguished road
Post Help needed regarding pure maths as optional

Assalam-u-alaikum fellow aspirants,
I want to know whether pure maths is doable.
I've done eulers theorem, echelon Jacob and all other reduction methods and other matrix related topics. However, I haven't studied topics like homomorphism and groups and don't know about the theorems that usually make up Q1 and Q2 of the exam.
Please please guide me topic and question wise. JazakAllah. 🙏🙏
Old Sunday, January 15, 2023

hammadtahir is on a distinguished road

Pure Mathematics is tricky to handle because it's syllabus is very lengthy. Why don't you go for Applied Mathematics and Statistics which are pretty much doable and can fetch good marks.

Sent from my MYA-L22 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to hammadtahir For This Useful Post:
sara Amja (Monday, January 16, 2023)
Old Monday, January 16, 2023

Originally Posted by hammadtahir View Post
Pure Mathematics is tricky to handle because it's syllabus is very lengthy. Why don't you go for Applied Mathematics and Statistics which are pretty much doable and can fetch good marks.

Applied maths has lot of mechanics involved and I think it's easier to answer straight questions like solve this or solve that. I Will be going for stats as well InshAllah. However, I'm confused between pure and applied maths. I've studied some parts of pure maths as well as applied maths. What do you suggest? It's just applied needs good 5 minutes to understand the question itself.
Old Tuesday, January 17, 2023

Applied has five sections
Vector, Mechanics, ODE, PDE, and Numerical Methods

40 marks from Numerical Question.
40 marks from ODE
20 marks from PDE

You can skip vectors and mechanics.

Paper is complete but for extra choice. If you opt mechanics. You can bifurcate mechanics into two sections of 20 marks each.
One is Statics (20 marks) and other is dynamics (20 marks)

Q.K. Ghori is best book for preparation of Mechanics.

Pure would be suicide for you. It's a very difficult and vast subject. If you're still looking forward to opt it. Just attempt past papers. You'll get the gist of what I am trying to convey to you.

If you're still adamant on choosing pure mathematics. Then Godspeed!

sara Amja (Tuesday, January 17, 2023)
Old Tuesday, January 17, 2023

Thankyou so much for taking out time and getting back, JazakAllah. Will you be opting Applied maths for your next attempt as well or have you opted it before, in case you have can you share your experience?
Old Wednesday, January 18, 2023

I had already opted applied with statistics in 2022 attempt. What do you wanna know? Will try to answer your queries to the best of my ability.

sara Amja (Wednesday, January 18, 2023)
Old Wednesday, January 18, 2023

Can you kindly share your scores and studying strategy along with books? JazakAllah.
Old Sunday, January 22, 2023

I had 47 in applied and 69 in Statistics.

For Statistics:
Introduction to Statistical Theory Part 1 & Part 2

For Applied:
Mechanics: Introduction to Mechanics by Q.K. Ghori
ODE: Mathematical Methods by S.M. Yousaf
PDE: Practice Fourier and Separable Equations Method for Laplace, Heat and Wave Equation
Numerical Analysis: Do topics of Syllabus

sara Amja (Sunday, January 22, 2023)

css 2024, guidance needed, mathematics, optional subjects 2024, seniors please help