02:42 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group IV > History of USA

Old Saturday, November 16, 2013

sajida11 is on a distinguished road
Default progressivism

please tell me from where you people have prepared progressivism as it is very confusing in majumdar book.

sadafnoorelahi will become famous soon enough

notes. i have a hard copy of kips notes.
you can request naveed bhutto sahib, he has a soft copy of NOA notes.

ADIL KHESHGI will become famous soon enoughADIL KHESHGI will become famous soon enough

Majumdar's book is the easiest book available in the market, don't be confused just make a frame in your mind of district, state and national level and then thoroughly study the services of 3 presidents i.e. Theodore Roosevelt, William H. Taft and Wilson. You would find it more easy this way, for removing confusion read as many time as you could, changing books would bring more confusion.
Old Monday, November 18, 2013
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,879 Times in 593 Posts
Naveed_Bhuutto is a jewel in the roughNaveed_Bhuutto is a jewel in the roughNaveed_Bhuutto is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by sajida11 View Post
please tell me from where you people have prepared progressivism as it is very confusing in majumdar book.
Progressivism

Origin

1901-1917

WHO? “Progressives”
urban middle-class: managers & professionals; women

WHY? Address the problems arising from:
industrialization (big business, labor strife)
urbanization (slums, political machines, corruption)
immigration (ethnic diversity)
inequality & social injustice (women & racism)

WHAT are their goals?
Democracy – government accountable to the people
Regulation of corporations & monopolies
Social justice – workers, poor, minorities
Environmental protection

HOW?
Government (laws, regulations, programs)
Efficiency
value experts, use of scientific study to determine the best solution

Progressives Presidents
Theodore Roosevelt (1901 – 1909)
Howard Taft (1909 – 1913)
Woodrow Wilson (1913 – 1917)

Motives and Demands of Progressives
  •  Increasing gap between the rich and poor
  •  Violent conflict between labor and capital
  •  Dominance of corrupt politicians
  •  Racism
  •  Women suffrage
  •  Greater Democracy

A. Political Reforms
  •  Tried to put more power into the hands of the people
  •  Innovative changes in city government
  •  Direct Election of Senators
  •  the Vote for Women

B. Social Reforms
  •  Child labor laws
  •  Ten-hour work days
  •  Minimum safety standards on the job
  •  Immigration Restriction
  •  Little Help for Blacks NAACP (1909)

Progressive Amendments to the Constitution
  • 16th Amendment (1913)—federal income tax
  • 17th Amendment (1913)—direct election of senators
  • 18th Amendment (1919)—prohibition of Alcohol
  • 19th Amendment (1920)—vote for women

Acts Passed During Progressive Era
  • 1. Pure Food And Drug Act (inspection of meat)
  • 2. Hep Burn Act (Uniform System of Railroads)
  • 3. Antiquates Act (placed certain lands under federal control)
  • 4. Clayton Anti Trust Act (Removed deficiencies in Sherman Anti Trust Act)
  • 5. Federal Reserve Act (Federal Bank joined Federal Reserved System)
  • 6. New York State Tenement House Act (Ban on Construction of dark and airless buildings)
  • 7. Folleters Sea man‟s Act (improved condition of labors on sea ships)
  • 8. Worker men Compensation Act (for benefit of Federal civil servants)
  • 9. Federal Aid Road Act (Construction of road from federal funds
Husnain Qaiser (Monday, December 16, 2013)
Old Sunday, December 08, 2013

sadafnoorelahi will become famous soon enough

why no question from progressivism in past 5 years? is it not an important topic? not even a single note has been asked from it.
Old Thursday, December 12, 2013
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Naveed_Bhuutto is a jewel in the roughNaveed_Bhuutto is a jewel in the roughNaveed_Bhuutto is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by sadafnoorelahi View Post
why no question from progressivism in past 5 years? is it not an important topic? not even a single note has been asked from it.
I am sorry for replying late, but its not actually like that. Progressivism it self is so huge and historical that its often asked in bits and pieces every year. For example women sufferage, greater democracy, end to corruption, labours working hours, child abuse and etc; all these are a part ov progressivsm. sometime there is a lucky year when an entire question is aked on progressism and students are given free hand to write anything and every thng regarding this movement because this is not just a single event/movement and many important changes took place during this progressive era.
Old Thursday, December 12, 2013

IRRAJ is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Naveed_Bhuutto View Post
I am sorry for replying late, but its not actually like that. Progressivism it self is so huge and historical that its often asked in bits and pieces every year. For example women sufferage, greater democracy, end to corruption, labours working hours, child abuse and etc; all these are a part ov progressivsm. sometime there is a lucky year when an entire question is aked on progressism and students are given free hand to write anything and every thng regarding this movement because this is not just a single event/movement and many important changes took place during this progressive era.
naveed bhai i have a confusion in this because roosevelt, wilson etc are the main pillars of progressivism but while i study the rule of Hazrat Umar R.A, this is itself removed and please for ones divert a critical eye on the above said presidents and in this regard study just for ones the book " karzo'n ki jang" urdu translation of " Money Masters"
Old Saturday, December 14, 2013

Originally Posted by IRRAJ View Post
naveed bhai i have a confusion in this because roosevelt, wilson etc are the main pillars of progressivism but while i study the rule of Hazrat Umar R.A, this is itself removed and please for ones divert a critical eye on the above said presidents and in this regard study just for ones the book " karzo'n ki jang" urdu translation of " Money Masters"
IRRAJ..... i am sorry as i didn't undertand your question. But if u're trying to compare Hazrat Umer with Progressive Presidents ov USA tau yaara Hazrat Umer ka Muqabala tu Alexander The Great bhi nahi karsaka. Alexqndar ko samjha jata hai k us ne dunia fatah ki (1.7million miles of land) lekin Hazrat Umer Farooq ne us se bhi zyada area conquer kiya tha apnai (2.2million miles).

Simply no comparision between Hazrat Umer e Farooque The Great and The Progressive Presidents of USA