02:37 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group VII > Arabic

Old Saturday, June 16, 2012

sonu87 is on a distinguished road
Post Please guide me regarding arabic subject

salam seniors and dear friends!!
please guide me regarding arabic subject.i have zero knowledge about arabic but i m much more interested to study it,thats why i opted it for exam..but first of all i want to know from where to start??second,can i give arabic paper in english?? third,which books are the best which covers the whole syllabus course of arabic paper I and paper II???but i want to give paper in english,so do tell me about which book(s) will cover the whole syllabus course?? finally,is arabic a scoring subject,i mean one can take how much marks in arabic???

plzzzzz seniors and dear friends do let me know about it,so that i utilize my time in the best possible way..

Fassi is a glorious beacon of lightFassi is a glorious beacon of lightFassi is a glorious beacon of lightFassi is a glorious beacon of lightFassi is a glorious beacon of lightFassi is a glorious beacon of light

Originally Posted by sonu87 View Post
Salam seniors and dear friends!!
please guide me regarding Arabic subject.i have zero knowledge about Arabic but i m much more interested to study it,thats why i opted it for exam.
Walikummusalam....

Yes dear dear you can do it as you've mentioned that you've interest in it... It's not that much tough and lengthy as compared to other optional subjects furthermore it's quite scoring as well.

First of all i want to know from where to start??[/B]second,can i give arabic paper in english??.
Start from the Life Trends of Arab People in Jahiliya and after that move to different genres (Poetry, Prose) of Arabic Literature in Jahiliya.... means to say start from period of Jahiliya

Second,can i give Arabic paper in English??

Yes you can, no doubt in it, it's entirely upto u either u wanna opt it in Urdu or English....

Third, which books are the best which covers the whole syllabus course of arabic paper I and paper II

In urdu the best book of Arabic is

Tareekh e Arbi Adab - Dr. Hassan Ziyaat

In English I haven't found any good book in market but I can mail you Arabic PDF books I've collected from internet

History of Arabic Literature -Celemnt Huart
An Introduction to Arabic literature - Roger Allen
Arabic Literature To The End Of The UMAYYAD - A.F.L.Beeston, T.M.Johnstone, R.B.Serjeant
A Literary History of Arabs - Reynold A. Nicholson
Islamic Art, Literature and Culture - Kathleen Kuiper

The Seven Odes The First Chapter - A.J. Arberry

Plus, if you may have access to Hafiz Arshid notes in Lahore or Dr. Inam ul Haq Raazi (IIUI professor of Arabic Dept.) notes in Islamabad. And if you have any problem to access these notes contact me I'll provide you... mine contact information is in my profile.

Finally,is Arabic a scoring subject,i mean one can take how much marks in Arabic???
And there is no doubt in it that Arabic is among some of the highest scoring subjects... It's average score is round about 120 and with a little bit more effort you may cross the verge of 150+ marks.

Muhammad Faisal ul Islam Advocate

Last edited by Shooting Star; Saturday, June 16, 2012 at 04:28 PM. Reason: do not use red color.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Fassi For This Useful Post:
oxon (Wednesday, November 28, 2012), pakdolly (Monday, November 05, 2012), sonu87 (Saturday, June 16, 2012)

Post @fassi bhai

thank you fassi bhai,.thanks for ur guidance..
can u tell me that hafiz arshads notes are in urdu or english?? and i live in peshawar therefore, its not accessible for me due to limitation of resources..
@fassi bhai: somebody told me that give arabic paper in english, becoz it will prove to be high scoring subject for you if u give paper in english...but i think urdu is easy for me,and somebody told me that if u attempt arabic in urdu, u cant go beyond 120 marks??? please do suggest me any one of the best book in english or two books,..and wat sort of notes u have in pdf format??does it fulfill the requirements of syllabus???

please let me know that to learn basics of arabic which book or notes i will use???coz i think from all over KPK not more than 15 students would have been appeared in history, so there is no one to guide me properly...

waiting for reply!!!

Fassi is a glorious beacon of lightFassi is a glorious beacon of lightFassi is a glorious beacon of lightFassi is a glorious beacon of lightFassi is a glorious beacon of lightFassi is a glorious beacon of light

thank you fassi bhai,.thanks for ur guidance..
can u tell me that hafiz arshads notes are in urdu or english?? and i live in peshawar therefore, its not accessible for me due to limitation of resources..

Dear Hafiz Arshad's notes are in Urdu (translation part and objective) and in English (subjective part). Hafiz Arshid's notes are avilable in Punjab University, STC, Lahore

@fassi bhai: somebody told me that give arabic paper in english, becoz it will prove to be high scoring subject for you if u give paper in english...but i think urdu is easy for me,and somebody told me that if u attempt arabic in urdu, u cant go beyond 120 marks???!
It's ur choice to go with Urdu or English.... If your English is good you must opt it in English

please do suggest me any one of the best book in english or two books,..and wat sort of notes u have in pdf format??does it fulfill the requirements of syllabus???

Study these two books and get a glimpse of the syllabus and past papers after that prepare the relevant portions from these PDF books

Arabic Literature To The End Of The UMAYYAD - A.F.L.Beeston, T.M.Johnstone, R.B.Serjeant
History of Arabic Literature -Celemnt Huart

and below is the link of the notes.. These are also extracted from Hafiz Arshad's Notes but do keep in mind these notes are not complete notes of Hafiz Arshid's notes... Some most important topics are extracted....

http://www.scribd.com/doc/97139832/Arabic-Notes-for-CSS

please let me know that to learn basics of arabic which book or notes i will use??? waiting for reply!!!
I've an Arabic Grammar book just go through it [118 pages only].. It's too in PDF form

Arabic Grammar Lecture Notes

Last edited by Shooting Star; Saturday, June 16, 2012 at 04:28 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Fassi For This Useful Post:
pakdolly (Monday, November 05, 2012), sonu87 (Saturday, June 16, 2012)

Post grammar???

@fassi bhai: u havent sent me arabic grammar book in pdf from???shall i contact at ur email adress??
and tell me one another thing , can i learn basics of arabic without any tuition??coz there is no specific teacher in peshawar who teaches arabic...
Old Sunday, June 17, 2012

@fassi bhai: u havent sent me arabic grammar book in pdf from???shall i contact at ur email adress??
Yes, you can contact me on my Email Address

tell me one another thing ,can i learn basics of arabic without any tuition??coz there is no specific teacher in peshawar who teaches arabic...[/B]
Yep it's not that much tough and you don't need to go in deep of basics of Arabic and technicalities as 75% papers is in Urdu/English. And Arabic Grammar can be learnt without a teacher but if u feel any difficulty go to youtube and search for Arabic Grammar tutorials....
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Fassi For This Useful Post:
Faheem Ahmed Akhtar (Monday, June 25, 2012), oxon (Wednesday, November 28, 2012), pakdolly (Monday, November 05, 2012)