Sunday, May 05, 2024
01:18 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group VII > Geography

Old Saturday, January 05, 2013
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,879 Times in 593 Posts
Naveed_Bhuutto is a jewel in the roughNaveed_Bhuutto is a jewel in the roughNaveed_Bhuutto is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by SYEDA SABAHAT View Post
TIPS AND GUIDENCE FOR GEOGRAPHY

Before starting tips lets have a look at the books which i consulted for geography.

BOOKS FOR PHYSICAL GEOGRAPHY

*Physical Geography by strahler

*Physical Geography by sarfaraz bajwa( though poorly written and have some mistakes but its a kind of ready made notes for css students).

*Physical Geography by deblij

* Physical Geography by Mian Muhammad Anwar

* Physical Geo. by sanpal

BOOKS FOR HUMAN GEOGRAPHY

*Human Geography by Deblij

*Fundamental of Human Geography by Mian Muhammad Anwar

BOOKS FOR ECONOMIC GEOGRAPHY

* Economic Geography by Fazal Karim Khan (for b.com students)

*BOOKS FOR REGIONAL GEOGRAPHY

* For pakistan (Geography of pakistan by fazal karim khan (for o level students new edition)

* Geography of SouthAsia by Bushra afzal abbasi.

BOOKS FOR GEOGRAPHY OBJECTIVES

*Jhangir books for geography objectives

* book for preparation of geo. lecturership( it contain numerous geo. objectives of FPSC)

TIPS AND GUIDENCE

* First of all make a clear decision about the choice of book bcoz changing book again and agin will waste your precious time.

* once you have decided books for both papers, now the next step is to make a list of important topics for both papers.

For example

*In physical Geo. you have choice from 5 section to prepare any 4
*Atmosphere
*Climate
*Geology( rocks,volcanoes e.t.c)
*Hydrology
*Maps

*After completion of your list, start preaparation from Physical Geography because it need less time to understand basics and just learn the art to describe a diagram in your own words.

* once you learn the art you will complete it in 3 weeks.

*Remember if you will prepare 4 section from above mentioned sections then plz preaprare other throughly for objectives.

* For Human Geo. which is a very easy subject, you just need to learn

* Theories (enviromentalism and determinism)

*Population( Growth,structure, distribution, density,malthus theory of population and prepare data from pakistani perspective)

*Migration

* Settlements

* Urbanization(very important)

* For Economic Geo. data is very important

*important topics are Economic activities

* Industrial revolution ( all important question related to this revolution)

* Industrail location theories

* Major industrail zones and industries

* Major crops ( factors for thier growth, production and distribution)

* Agriculture( types, problems, causes, solutions e.t.c)

*Power and natural resources

* important current events related to economic geo. must be prepared.

*For pakistn geo. now you can easily prepared it because it is totally related to current events.

I hope these tips will sort your confusion but still if you guys have any question then plz write i will try my level best to help you out.

best of luck

regards sabahat.

i have just seen the query of solving the paper i will post your answer soon.
May Allah Almighty bless U for your sincere efforts to help aspirants in this subject.
SYEDA SABAHAT (Tuesday, January 08, 2013)
Old Tuesday, January 08, 2013

Prince of Duhmp has a spectacular aura aboutPrince of Duhmp has a spectacular aura aboutPrince of Duhmp has a spectacular aura about

AoA, can we draw colourful diagrams in geography papers.?
Old Thursday, January 10, 2013
43rd CTP (IRS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 199

khankhajjak is on a distinguished road

@ prince of duhmp

dear brother as per i know you can not make colour diagram,however, you can use a combination of black and blue colour pen to make your diagram look attractive....
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to khankhajjak For This Useful Post:
Prince of Duhmp (Thursday, January 10, 2013), SYEDA SABAHAT (Friday, January 11, 2013)
Old Friday, February 15, 2013

mashkoor is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by SYEDA SABAHAT View Post
TIPS AND GUIDENCE FOR GEOGRAPHY

Before starting tips lets have a look at the books which i consulted for geography.

BOOKS FOR PHYSICAL GEOGRAPHY

*Physical Geography by strahler

*Physical Geography by sarfaraz bajwa( though poorly written and have some mistakes but its a kind of ready made notes for css students).

*Physical Geography by deblij

* Physical Geography by Mian Muhammad Anwar

* Physical Geo. by sanpal

BOOKS FOR HUMAN GEOGRAPHY

*Human Geography by Deblij

*Fundamental of Human Geography by Mian Muhammad Anwar

BOOKS FOR ECONOMIC GEOGRAPHY

* Economic Geography by Fazal Karim Khan (for b.com students)

*BOOKS FOR REGIONAL GEOGRAPHY

* For pakistan (Geography of pakistan by fazal karim khan (for o level students new edition)

* Geography of SouthAsia by Bushra afzal abbasi.

BOOKS FOR GEOGRAPHY OBJECTIVES

*Jhangir books for geography objectives

* book for preparation of geo. lecturership( it contain numerous geo. objectives of FPSC)

TIPS AND GUIDENCE

* First of all make a clear decision about the choice of book bcoz changing book again and agin will waste your precious time.

* once you have decided books for both papers, now the next step is to make a list of important topics for both papers.

For example

*In physical Geo. you have choice from 5 section to prepare any 4
*Atmosphere
*Climate
*Geology( rocks,volcanoes e.t.c)
*Hydrology
*Maps

*After completion of your list, start preaparation from Physical Geography because it need less time to understand basics and just learn the art to describe a diagram in your own words.

* once you learn the art you will complete it in 3 weeks.

*Remember if you will prepare 4 section from above mentioned sections then plz preaprare other throughly for objectives.

* For Human Geo. which is a very easy subject, you just need to learn

* Theories (enviromentalism and determinism)

*Population( Growth,structure, distribution, density,malthus theory of population and prepare data from pakistani perspective)

*Migration

* Settlements

* Urbanization(very important)

* For Economic Geo. data is very important

*important topics are Economic activities

* Industrial revolution ( all important question related to this revolution)

* Industrail location theories

* Major industrail zones and industries

* Major crops ( factors for thier growth, production and distribution)

* Agriculture( types, problems, causes, solutions e.t.c)

*Power and natural resources

* important current events related to economic geo. must be prepared.

*For pakistn geo. now you can easily prepared it because it is totally related to current events.

I hope these tips will sort your confusion but still if you guys have any question then plz write i will try my level best to help you out.

best of luck

regards sabahat.

i have just seen the query of solving the paper i will post your answer soon.
i am an electrical engineer , and know very less about geography.
i want to ask u about maps in geo . should we practice maps on blank sheet for css ?
will we be provided by separate sheets for drawing maps ? And i am not very good in drawing , so what should i do ?
please guide me.
Old Saturday, February 16, 2013
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,879 Times in 593 Posts
Naveed_Bhuutto is a jewel in the roughNaveed_Bhuutto is a jewel in the roughNaveed_Bhuutto is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by mashkoor View Post
i want to ask u about maps in geo . should we practice maps on blank sheet for css ?
will we be provided by separate sheets for drawing maps ? And i am not very good in drawing , so what should i do ?
please guide me.
Yes Maps are very important.

try and practice maps, specially Sub continent, South Asia and world map
mashkoor (Saturday, February 16, 2013), SYEDA SABAHAT (Saturday, February 16, 2013)
Old Saturday, February 16, 2013

Thanked 1,387 Times in 547 Posts
SYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to behold

Originally Posted by mashkoor View Post
please guide me.
yes maps are as important in paper 2 as diagrams in paper 1, no we will not be provided separate sheet,you have to draw map on the same sheet with your answer.

practice makes a man perfect keep practicing, at last you will be able to draw a good map

INSHALLAH.

regards syeda sabahat

Maza deti han zindagi ki thokerin unko,jinhen NAAM-E-KHUDA le kar sanbhal janey ki adat ho.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to SYEDA SABAHAT For This Useful Post:
mashkoor (Saturday, February 16, 2013), Naveed_Bhuutto (Saturday, February 16, 2013)
Old Tuesday, March 12, 2013

mashkoor is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by syeda sabahat View Post
yes maps are as important in paper 2 as diagrams in paper 1, no we will not be provided separate sheet,you have to draw map on the same sheet with your answer.

Practice makes a man perfect keep practicing, at last you will be able to draw a good map

inshallah.

Regards syeda sabahat
i want to buy
1) physical and human geography by de blij
2) physical geo by strahler
3) human geo by fellman gettis
where can i get these books as they are not avaiable in faisalabad
in lahore where can i buy them and tell me whether edition does matter or not ?????????
Old Thursday, March 14, 2013

Pearl013 is on a distinguished road

SYEDA SABAHAT first of all i would say u r doing a great job and jazak Allah.
sabahat i have decided to opt geography for my upcoming attempt.i have decided to prepare it without the help of any teacher except cssforum but problem is, a guy(qualified css written exam) who discouraged me by saying that its impossible to prepare geography especially paper1 without consulating any teacher. so what would u suggest???
The Following User Says Thank You to Pearl013 For This Useful Post:
SYEDA SABAHAT (Saturday, March 16, 2013)
Old Thursday, March 14, 2013

Arooje Nasir is on a distinguished road

yes I also want to know from where we can get these books... easily
Old Saturday, March 16, 2013

Thanked 1,387 Times in 547 Posts
SYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to behold

aoa. @mashkoor and Arooje Nasir mane kabi books buy nahi ke ma to library ja ker read ker lete thi but i hope k pindi ma jo urdu bazar ha wahan se tamam books easily mil jate han or agar na hon to ap shop wale ko keh den wo mangwa dete han. ma apko shop ka name apne bhai se pata ker k btatae hun.

@Pearl013 jab apne CSS forum se tyari kerne ka soch he lea ha to phir "NO IF and NO BUT" apko aisa teacher duniya ma kahen nhi milay ga.
bilkul ap CSS forum pe easily paper 1 prepare ker sktay ho yahan hum sab han apki help kerne k lea.

koi bhi question ho to yahan post ker dena apko detail answer milay ga.

Best of luck

regards Syeda Sabahat

Maza deti han zindagi ki thokerin unko,jinhen NAAM-E-KHUDA le kar sanbhal janey ki adat ho.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to SYEDA SABAHAT For This Useful Post:
Lonely birdx (Thursday, April 18, 2013), mashkoor (Saturday, March 16, 2013)