01:02 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Past Papers > CSS Papers (1971-2017) > CSS 2012 Papers

Old Saturday, October 13, 2012

anum2011 is on a distinguished road

Please can someone check my sentences :

Despite of being a close relative,her sympathy to me was nothing more than cold comfort.
she is waking on thin ice considering her reckless decision of marrying a complete stranger .
She was always a queer fish and hence ended up having no friends at all.
The doctor groaned when he was disturbed at an unearthly hour.
Dating so many random rich men;she ended up being recognized as a gold digger among her friends.
The Following User Says Thank You to anum2011 For This Useful Post:
eshaaladan (Monday, May 20, 2013)
Old Monday, October 15, 2012

J Hussain will become famous soon enough

redmax isn't precis of 25 marks?
Old Wednesday, November 14, 2012

imranyaseen is on a distinguished road
Default Necessary Corrections in Sentences

A ten feet long snake made people run here and there.
We are going to the concert and so are they.
A signed Affidavit and a carbon copy of his request to our main office was Enclosed with this letter.
Fear of God.
Pakistan has will to support the Kashmiris.
He came yesterday.
Arshad's downfall was nothing else than pride.
Do not avoid consulting a doctor.
Old Sunday, November 18, 2012

I love Hussain Bin Ali is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Wali Ahad View Post
the objective part was quite an unpleasant surprise...choice hoti tu full marks aatay now i will only get 15 or 16 seriously who comes up with words like "egress" and "versimilitude"..last part was easy though; knowledge comes from perennial springs, right?...and that eagle, carried off or carried up the er small thing...i felt it in my bones to tick "carried off" but alas, the stupid git that i am, i reasoned itni dair se koi "a" option encircle nai ki

corrections n direct, indirect were easy...but can anyone plz convert this
they said, "Bravo, Imran! what a shot".....i tried n tried but remained stuck at "they exclaimed with admiration #facepalm#
Could it be simply....They admired Imran for his shot!!!!!!!
Doesn't the word "Applauded/Admired" completely describe the "Bravo" sense in place of "exclaimed with admiration"????
Old Wednesday, February 20, 2013
40th CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit no 130

waqarm44 is on a distinguished road
Default precise 2012

The charm to make an egalitarian society has compelled the sociologists to ignore the problem of demographic imbalance which is due in case of ending the role of natural selection. In this case population rise indifferent to resources. To guard their life standards elite will reduce its number of births while the lower socioeconomic class will maintain its abnormal birth rate. In result the no. of bad citizens will exceed than that of good citizens. But politicians and employers are deaf to this situation because former is only interested in votes and the later in cheap labour. The insurgents and rebellions will rather support it by the divine scriptures because every new born will increase their strength. It proves that socialistic aim of revolution does not come fit in the dialect of needs of modern society.
Old Thursday, February 21, 2013

LonelyEngineer is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by xaara~hussain View Post
They exclaimed with admiration to Imran that it was a great/very good shot.
"to imran" doesn't suit here
it shld be lyk...
they praised imran for such a good/great shot.
Old Sunday, February 24, 2013

Muhammad Hamayun is on a distinguished road
Default ENGLISH (Précis and Composition) 2013

FEDERAL PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

COMPETITIVE EXAMINATION FOR
RECRUITMENT TO POSTS IN BPS-17 UNDER
THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT, 2013

ENGLISH (Précis and Composition)

PART I - COMPULSORY

Q.1 Choose the word that is near most similar in meaning to the Capitalized words. (1 Mark each) (20)

1. BRISTLE:
a) Regulate
b) Flare up
c) Frail
d) Exhilarate
e) None of These

2. DELUGE
a). Immerse
b) Rescue
c) Drown
d) Overflow
e) None of These

3. TIRADE
a) Argument
b) Procession
c) Angry Speech
d) Torture
e) None of These

4. QUASI
a) Secret
b) Improper
c) Seeming
d) Whole
e) None of These

5. VILIFY
a) To Prove
b) Boast
c) Defraud
d) Defame
e) None of These

6. RIGMAROLE
a) Unnecessary
b) Disorder
c) Confused Talk
d) Game
e) None of These

7. DEIGN
a) Condescend
b) Pretend
c) Disparage
d) Refuse
e) None of These

8. PROLETARIAT
a) Trade Agreement
b) Government Secretariat
c) Labouring Class
d) Wealthy Class
e) None of These

9. LUDICROUS
a) Liberal
b) Fearful
c) Comic
d) Praise Worthy
e) None of These

10. MALEFIC
a) Baleful
b) Belonging to a male person
c) Social
d) Fighting by Nature
e) None of These

Choose the word that is nearly most opposite in meaning to the Capitalized words.

11. LANGUID
a) Feeble
b) Dull
c) Vigorous
d) Weak
e) None of these

12. HIGH-STRUNG
a) Nervous
b) Tense
c) Costly
d) Calm
e) None of these

13. METTLE
a) Courage
b) Boldness
c) Cowardice
d) Spirit
e) None of these

14. ABRIDGMENT
a) Epitome
b) Dissect
c) Abstract
d) Synopsis
e) None of these

15. CAJOLE
a) Flaunt
b) Coax
c) Beguile
d) Flatter
e) None of these

16. CELIBACY
a ) Virginity
b)Wedlock
c) Chastity
d) Single
e) None of these

17. INCLEMENT
a) Rough
b) Unpleasant
c) Unfavorable
d) Genial
e) None of these

18. IRRESOLUTE
a) Ineffective
b) Without resolution
c) Yielding
d) Sturdy
e) None of these

19. ANNEXATION
a) Supplement
b) Augmentation
c) Appendix
d) Contraction
e) None of these

20. INCUR
a) Shun
b) Run
c) Blamed
d) Meet
e) None of these

Solve this...
Old Monday, May 20, 2013

comp Engr will become famous soon enough

Salam..Please kindly explain me how to do precise ,i can't do precise..I will appear in 2014 insha allah.Please direct me how to precise a paragraph.i don't have any idea how to do it.

Zohaib Khan Babar
Old Monday, May 20, 2013

khuwajaramiz@hotmail.com is on a distinguished road
Default Precis

AOa,
please see the precis section,
refer Sadaat Ali Shah and Wren and Martin,
practice, practice, and practice, and get it checked from
the competent english teacher/csp near you, if possible.
Old Friday, December 13, 2013
44th CTP (PAAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2015 - Merit 86

KHANSHAHRUKH is on a distinguished road
Default Qs 10

Originally Posted by abdul.rauf View Post
Objective Questions

Q1(a) - Synonyms

(1) Breach
a. Secret b. Reinforcement c. Difficulty d. Opening

(2) Gelid
a. Hot b. Soft c. Icy cold d. Hard

(3) Opulent
a. Corrupt b. Poor c. Proud d. Luxuriant

(4) Verisimilitude
a. Large number b. Variety c. Shades of colurs d. Being true

(5) Iota
a. Agreement b. Coin c. Column d. Small amount

Q1(b) - Antonyms

(6) Despise
a. Abhor b. Disdain c. Demolish d. Admire

(7) Lackey
a. Strange b. Poor c. Master d. Ignorant

(8) Egress
a. Decline b. Entrance c. Rude d. Angry

(9) Amalgamate
a. Punish b. Study c. Separate d. Reduce

(10) Insipid
a. Silly b. Tasty c. Active d. Thin

Q1(c) Complete the sentences

(11) Knowledge is like a deep well fed by _________ springs, and your mind is a little bucket that you drop in it.
a. External b. Perennial c. Immortal d. Lovely

(12) The unruly behaviour of children _________ their parents
a. Aggrieved b. Impeached c. Incensed d. Tempered

(13) He suggests that the meeting _______ postponed
a. Is b. Be c. Must d. Would be

(14) The landscape was truly_____, so arid that even the Hardest Plant could not survive
a. Lurid b. Parched c. Verdant d. Variegated

(15) His statement was so________ that everyone was left in doubt
a. Equitable b. Innocuous c. Dogmatic d. Equivocal

(16) I certainly do not______ your driving your car over the speed limit
a. Approve in b. Approve with c. Approve of d. Approve for

(17) The Eagle swooped and ______ a sleeping lizard
a. Carried down b. Carried up c. Carried off d. Carried in

(18) A young officer was _______ the task of taking prisoners to the rear
a. Charged by b. Charged in c. Charged for d. Charged with

(19) It seemed he was going to _____ him but he controlled himself
a. Lash out at *b. Lash out in *c. Lash out to *d. Lash out on

(20) I am not going to _____ this book at any cost
a. Part from b. Part up c. Part for d. Part with

Source: Original paper which invigilators forgot to collect back.

1. d
2. c
3. d
4. d
5. d
6. d
7. c
8. b
9. c
10. c
11. b
12. c
13. b
14. b
15. d
16. c
17. c
18. d
19. a
20. d
Qs 10 answer is (b). Antonym of "insipid" is tasty.
The Following User Says Thank You to KHANSHAHRUKH For This Useful Post:
Juan T (Friday, June 26, 2020)