03:16 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Off Topic Section > Degree Programs and Courses

Old Sunday, September 05, 2010

tahreem is on a distinguished road
Default Need guidance regarding MA english external from numl

is there any numlian or any other who can guide me regarding m.a english external frm numl! The proces of admision n salybus etc plz
The Following User Says Thank You to tahreem For This Useful Post:
faaizaa (Tuesday, September 04, 2012)

siddd is on a distinguished road

@tahreem

yeah i am NUMLIAN....i can guide and even help u out regarding ma eng.... u wanna appear as a private candidate??...yes u can!...go Numl...in admin block n buy sylabus 4 xternal students.there they will guide u properly tht how to appear in xamz etc......their xamz held twice in a year(4 xternals)...u can appear with even 2 sem together. its up to u whether u want to appear in a single sem with 5 course code or two sem with 10 course code....fee is round about 4 xternals i guess 5000(bt im nt sure as i was regular student so its totally differnt).n nxt up coming xamz will b held 4 xternal in april 2011.buks r avaliable in uni book bank...u simply buy em from there or u can buy outside as well....abt sylabus its language n literature based...totally diff from PU uni....keep this thing in mind...anyother help u need it ...i am here 4 u :-)
tc
The Following User Says Thank You to siddd For This Useful Post:

thanx alot. . . Ya i hav salybus there are 10 courses lit n lang ya i certainly need ur help regarding preparation if u could! I want to opt linguistics subjects mostly. Plz tel me when to send admision n 10 paperz in 1 semester would be easy? Is the marking criterion fair i mean p.u isnt fair n what abt answring material

@tahreem
u r welcum dear....yeah i am here to help u out...i will let u knw the admision date tomorrow inshallah....yup till april i guess u have pretty much time...n u can do it...bt again i will suggest u to go through the syllabus n then decide cz in literature subjects u need time as they are containing many buks...ok its nt big issue to opt mostly linguistics subjects(as v r regular so v dnt have such kinda option :-( ).abt marking criterion....i would say...its nt like p.u....u can say as a bit fair...yeah..while writing answers u have to write to the point.....mstly here teachers dnt like even in lit subjects to write no ov sheets....just understand the question n write short n to the point...remember...they read properly...n one mst imp thing is dnt use p.u buks like kitaab mahal etc....here it is totally discouraged
bst ov luck
Old Monday, September 06, 2010

thanx alot ur answerz r realy helping n ya do infrm me da details regarding admision. I vl try to use other resourses nt NKM.i have gone through the salybus i feel i wud do it. As u said the appreciate to the point so tats quite satisfactory. Nwadays m preparing short stories if u have any guidline then 1000 times
Old Tuesday, September 07, 2010

well welcum dear...they will announce the date after few days 4 xternal candidates.....so ll inform u...n ok dear go wd ten course codes....4 short stories..."an anthology of short stories compliled by dr rubina kamran n syed furrukh zad" is the buk which is covered almost entire sylabus....i guess there r 6 s.stories writes with their work...regarding this... have a detail luk on the history ov s.stories(which is also in the buk) n writer's personlty n main works, themes,plot, motive.... q can come... xplain the story wd the help ov figure ov speech, hw writer has used...etc..n try to jutify ur ans wd the help ov quotes frm original text...if u cant remember the entire lines by writer...just pick up the phrases and xplain them...in such kind ov q try to write at least 3 quotes 4 xplanation n c all the possible q which can come related to story.....u can take help 4rm net...there r many gud sites related to eng lit...like sparknotes.com....it will helpful 4 u.
gud luck
Old Tuesday, September 07, 2010

kindly explain me the q relatd to fig ov speech
Old Wednesday, September 08, 2010

as in poetry there r fig ov speech...which v have to xplain while xplanang it...so same the case wth prose specially in s.stories that if writer has used em in story u have to xplan em...e.g in s.story "the last leaf"...if u read ths ...u can easily find out personification.alliteration,etc...evn that...symbolsm,pictorial qualitiesz etc...
Old Tuesday, September 21, 2010
44th CTP (PAAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2015 - Merit 160Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason: Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,161 Times in 660 Posts
courageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to behold
Hi there,

I am also an ex-student of NUML. I did my Masters in English Language and Literature. Siddd has already been an important contributer, however, I just hopped in to say that I shall be pleased if I be of some help.

I had my TEFL-B presentation on Figures of Speech, I am attaching that file here, maybe it proves of some help. It might be very simple ('coz we'd to teach Secondary School level) but still you can have something good from it, I am sure.

Linguistics subjects yield more marks than Literature. Subjects like General Linguistics, Socio-Psycho Linguistics etc are like science. You might be able to get good marks there. I was much interested in Literature, I managed to get a lot of marks there. In Drama, Prose, Poetry, and Novel, my marks were 841 out of 1200. So you can have an idea about NUML's markings.

I agree with siddd that Teachers might not like the number of sheets, on the contrary, they like the stuff that is brief and comprehensive, and delivers all that is required, not more no less. For example, you may write a set of ten leaves on Reference to the context, but you must know the basic difference between Referene to the Context and summary writing. So if you are to-the-point you get more chances of 'impressing' the paper checker.

Linguistics is not a 'Productive' field. Means you are less expected to use 'your own hypothesis' which you may use, successfully, in Literature.

Best of Luck for your M.A. English,

Attached Files
File Type: zip Figures of Speech.zip (320.0 KB, 398 views)
Old Tuesday, September 21, 2010

thanx alot yes its going to help me alot. U r doing tefl frm aiou?