Sunday, May 05, 2024
06:07 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Off Topic Section > Degree Programs and Courses

Old Tuesday, March 01, 2011

CrashMe is on a distinguished road
Unhappy Can anyone prepare GAT-General in 3 weeks ?

AoA brothers and sisters,

I am here to ask you people a question you may find funny and stupid

Anyways, I am doing B.E Engineering and am in my final semester. FFC (Fauji Fertilizer Company) recently released a notice that they will hire engineers who has given a GAT-General...My first response was 'What the !@#$ '...GAT for job ?

Anyways the test is on 10th April. I have a full week commitment (at least!) this month and so I am left with 3 weeks approx....

Here is my situation...I took a sample test...math was fine..no problem..analytical was fine as well...however that english thing...those words...what should I do with them in such a short time ? Someone tell me how to crack english in this time...Just those words thing which require ratta...I am good at general english like understanding etc...But subsitution etc is a real pain apparently...Remember : I am not a BA or MA English...just the normal vocabulary..so please base your suggestions based on this...

Remember, I am not looking at a target score...just the best that I can squeeze out of myself in my situation.

And yeah...need help in organizing time as well....How many hours a day ? Cuz I have my studies to cater for as well.

The only book I have right now is Barron's GRE..what else do I need ?

Sorry for the long post

H-E-L-P !!
The Following User Says Thank You to CrashMe For This Useful Post:
faaizaa (Thursday, August 01, 2013)

J.Zaib will become famous soon enoughJ.Zaib will become famous soon enough

This is not so difficult as it is being seen from above. You have much time to prepare for this but you have to work hard.

atifmasood is on a distinguished road
Post Just get yourself registered and go for it

Brother Just get yourself registered and go for it. GAT General is not a big Issue. 3 weeks are more than enough even 1 week is more than enough for its Preparation.

No special Preparation required for it. Just check out the Pattern and basic methods of Solving Analytical and Maths Portion.

Vocabulary building requires a long period of time so try to get words through Newspaper and Magazines with their usage. GRE Word list can be seen also but after building up some basic vocabulary.
The Following User Says Thank You to atifmasood For This Useful Post:
Old Monday, March 14, 2011

fkzm is on a distinguished road

I think Atif has the right idea...

I want to know what other purposes is this GAT-General test useful as i'll be giving it next month; April 10th to be exact.
The Following User Says Thank You to fkzm For This Useful Post:
faaizaa (Friday, August 23, 2013)
Old Thursday, June 02, 2011

qasmalli is on a distinguished road

assalam-o-alaikum

Could anybody guide me what kind of questions are asked in Interviews for M.Phil. I am going to apply in management sciences with majors in management within couple of months. There is no written test just interview. I heard that questions pertaining to research, your related field (management) is asked? Does job experience count in admission criteria?

don't worry if you don't clear in first attempt. i was failed by one mark 49 and appeared again. i will suggest to purchase gre big book available in urdu bazar or in good stationary shop. generally the easiest portion is English then mathematics and then analytical. in fact analytical is not much difficult as people think but it is time consuming. do a lots of practice for analytical and find the strategy that suits you to crack that portion.
first you should attempt english portion within maximum 20 minutes. because vocabulary doesn't need understanding like mathematical its just memorization. so prepare as much as you can and don't waste time on thinking just attempt those which you know and make guess for the rest. paragraph reading is usually very easy.

then come to math portion. again go through the section and in first attempt, attempt those which you can. you can make guess for the rest or leave to solve later. for analytical there are normally 7 type of questions. excell yourself in 2 or 3 specific types and first attempt those. for the rest you can guess or even solve if time is left.

Last edited by Predator; Friday, June 24, 2011 at 11:07 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to qasmalli For This Useful Post:
Old Friday, June 24, 2011
40th CTP (IRS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 96

sajjad sadique is on a distinguished road

dear
plz consider following suggestions.
Do chapter 14 of barron's for mathematics.
in the beggining of barron's there are 5 tests each of synonyms,antonyms and analogy,do them for english.
For analytical plz purchase GRE big book,it has 27 sample test,you only solve analytical of atleast 5 tests.

I am sure that this will help you greatly.

Old Wednesday, June 29, 2011

greensea is on a distinguished road

ok i'll also prepare my test is at 10th of july
The Following User Says Thank You to greensea For This Useful Post:
Old Saturday, August 20, 2011

emransarwar is on a distinguished road

Guys is there any attempts limitation in GAT? like one of my friend told me i can only appear thrice in GAT. i have taken admission in mphil without gat test so i am worried what if i wont be able to clear this in 3 attempts. Like i am hell weak at maths.
Old Wednesday, December 28, 2011

maria riaz is on a distinguished road

plz senior member send me some link for gat general prepration my test held on 8th january
The Following User Says Thank You to maria riaz For This Useful Post:
Old Thursday, December 29, 2011

sumair shah is on a distinguished road

3 days are enuf..
The Following User Says Thank You to sumair shah For This Useful Post:

gat