Wednesday, May 15, 2024
10:36 AM (GMT +5)

Old Monday, October 12, 2015

Farrukh Aziz will become famous soon enough
Arrow Open Letter To The Prime Minister

Open Letter To The Prime Minister:

Mian Sahib, kindly allow me without letting your feathers be ruffled, to have the audacity of accosting you, in my capacity as the national of the realm you have intermittently been ruling over, for a period longer than my birth. Furthermore, there are some questions, very serious questions, the answer to which, everyone of my ilk, necessarily seek from you, by exercising their right codified in the mother law of the land. But before going on with that, I may add here that whenever I see you speaking or addressing, the glimpses of your uncompleted tenure in 1999 flash through my mind reminding me of the same contents of the rhetoric hyperbole, mudslinging, and tall commitments of the nature of Greek calends, as your style of governance today is based upon. A minor, I used to hear you on PTV on my black and white TV; years passed since then. I have grown young, but no manifest difference is in sight between 1998's/1999's Mian and 2015's Mian, except for a few hairs grown on your head. Please, no offence!

1) Mr. Prime Minister, in a video clip widely circulated on net, you are seen singing "Qaseeda" of General Zia Ul Haq, and honoring him with the posthumous title of "Mard e Mujahid", who you contend in it sought to make the country the citadel of Islam. In the next breath, you are seen heaping damn and obscenities upon Zulifqar Ali Bhutto calling him an alcoholic ( Sharabi ).
Now the questions: A) haven't you ever taken the draught from liquor? I am afraid; it may be your choice wine. B) How is it that a person like you claiming to have had democratic values stamped on his forehead takes one general, that is, Gen. Zia for the apple of his eye, while decrying the other, that is, Gen. Musharraf, as sabotaging democracy by overthrowing the popular government through the coup d’état? This stand of yours may best entail the implications to render you disqualified, as under the articles 6 and 63 of the law, for aiding and abetting, and encouraging as in your case, for subverting the constitution. But contrarily, you are ruling over us as the prime minister, strange heaps!

2) You always chatter about how PMl-N of yours has consolidated and respected the sanctity of the institutions. Sir, was the Supreme Court, the supreme institution with the highest sanctity, stormed into by aliens, if not by goons of PML-N? I am afraid; you would never have got away with the exemplary punishment, no less than being sent to gallows, had you been the national of some civilized state.

3) Not long ago, Hamza Shahbaz, your beloved nephew, while addressing a jalsa lost his composure, and went on 'to swear to the heavens' that not a tip of the iceberg in whatever resources the sharif family has amassed, is of corruption. Really? Champa Rani always insists on our believing her saying, "I am a prostitute, and a virgin."

Dear Mian Sahib, whilst you have been in power every now and again, you still lack for the sound understanding as to the indicators of good governance, and socio-economic upliftment of the people. The yardstick, to you, for the progress is metro buses, and metro trains grand projects. No Sir, you are terribly mistaken. I remember your fixing up the veritable banquet in honor of Asif Zardari, where over seventy dishes were served last year. The daily expenses of yours and your family's meal manifold what may make up food expenditure of thousands of the ordinary Pakistanis. I also remember your family's lunch being transported to the hills of Murre by a helicopter. While you are living lavishly in majestic palaces in Raiwind, you do not empathises as to how a common Pakistani struggles to make both ends meet.

Sir, you speak, you pontificate on your ways of governance, and admonish the subversive Khan and others of his ilk not to hamper the process of economic growth the country has been made to achieve, resorting to what may possibly derail the democracy. Dear Mian Sahib, neither the economic growth in terms of mass upliftment nor the democratization seems to be in pipeline except oligarchy behind the facade of democracy.

Sir, justice delayed is justice denied; the souls of guiltless people including a passerby pregnant lady, and onlookers shot in broad daylight at Model Town, are writhing in anguish, and waiting for the justice to be done.

Mr. Prime Minister, what you seem to have learnt from the history is that you have learnt nothing from it; your wooing Modi and India at large, for the sake of your thriving economic stake out there, at the expense of national honor, your businessman approach, and style of governance, the unmitigated haughty posturing of your ministers, anti-public policies of your government, turning of the government into 'Sharifcracy', and what not, are affording in themselves the enough grounds to bring about the collapse of your government.

Sir, democracy, you always seem obsessed with, is not under the siege. It is as safe as it deserves, so is the grand edifice of the parliament. Yes, the men in power are in impending danger. The people, the so called representatives of the people, are at stake. Yes, the leader of opposition Mr Khursheed Shah, and such a breed of MNA's and Ministers are at risk, including the plutocrats of Punjab and feudal lords of Sindh. Likewise, contrary to what you and your team project, Pakistan is in unprecedented quagmire, with power dearth quandary, the dilemma of unemployment, growing rate of mortals living below the poverty line, deteriorating law and order, enormous IMF debt, rampant corruption and nepotism, the scourge of terrorism, and sectarianism and religious extremism getting the country on the verge of disintegration. Never confuse the overthrow of a mediocre government with the wrapping up of the democratic order. King is Dead, Long live the kingdom…!

Moreover, it is equally important to make ourselves at home with the point that the franchise alone is not the only thing; masses being given the right to vote, which they use only once in elections, and that too are not that much credible, is not where democracy begins and ends. No Sir. Democracy is something beyond this. If there is a democracy at all, there must be economic democracy, there must be socio-religious and cultural democracy with pure and transparent political democracy in place. You must cherish democracy only when its fruit is enjoyed by a common man of Pakistan. Justice must be at the doorstep of every ordinary national of Pakistan, with the doctrine of rule of law, being practiced in letter and spirit.

Mr. Prime Minister, if you fail to mend your ways, letting the points pinpointed above, go unheeded, this time, to say the least, you might not have the outlet Jeddah, at your disposal, to be exiled to.
Dear Mian Sahib, even the most charismatic and one of the most powerful Prime Ministers, Zulifqar Ali Bhutto, could not save his skin. You therefore would not at all be a force to be reckoned with...!

Very Truly Yours
An ordinary Sindhi, Pakistani
Old Monday, October 12, 2015

Rana G is on a distinguished road

@Farrukh Aziz

Fakhru bhai, very good expression of views based on ground realities. May i ask, has this letter been published in any newspaper?