07:08 AM (GMT +5)

Old Wednesday, December 23, 2009

fahadeng is on a distinguished road
Default Hints for Group Discussions and Interviews

Due to request from many members, I am creating a separate thread for hints regarding the group discussions and interviews. I cleared the whole SBOTS-15 process of SBP! The topic I received was "Role of internet and its influence on our society". My friend appeared in another group, his topic was "Taxes and their importance in an economy". Moreover, the group that immediately followed my group received the topic "Brain drain in Pakistan".

TIPS FOR OUTSTANDING PERFORMANCE IN ANY GROUP DISCUSSION:
(All of the following points are my personal experiences. ALHAMDULILAH, I've aced all the group discussions I've been through.)
  • A group discussion is a polite and formal conversation with other candidates. Recall any moment in your life when you had to talk to totally unknown people (say, at any party or during bus/train/airplane travel). Its very much how you can interact with different people while handling your nerves.
  • Group discussions are monitored / observed. In SBP's case, a panel of 4-5 members monitors them.
  • Please stay calm! That's the key point to success in any group discussion.
  • You'll be provided with a pencil and writing pad and approx. 5-10 minutes will be given to your group (usually comprises of 5-6 candidates) to jot down points.
  • Make the most of given time by noting down the most important points, try to give reference to any recent development related to the topic.
  • Try to take the lead once the observer(s) give you the signal to start. Taking the lead gives a clue to the observers/monitors that you have leadership skills.
  • Please be precise and refrain from using complex sentences. Simple sentences will help you in conveying your idea.
  • Please refrain from political and religious comments; they usually result in "conflict" instead of "healthy discussion" amongst candidates.
  • Don’t interrupt any candidate. Let them complete and then continue.
  • Be polite! If you want to disagree with someone's viewpoint, try to figure out some polite refusal statements.
  • Last but not the least, there's no shortcut to success. Practice as much as you can by trying to discuss various issues amongst your friends.

If anyone needs any kind of help regarding group discussion and interviews, please contact me at stufahad@homail.com

Muhammad Fahad Khan
DeneshMBA-09 (Wednesday, December 23, 2009), hailian_boy (Tuesday, February 23, 2010), israrahmed (Wednesday, December 23, 2009), jadoon khan (Wednesday, December 23, 2009), Junaid Kamal (Wednesday, December 23, 2009), khalid mahsid (Sunday, January 03, 2010), s malik (Saturday, April 23, 2011), Shikva (Wednesday, December 23, 2009), yoyo123 (Tuesday, June 01, 2010)

Coming up...Hints and tips related to interviews!
Shikva (Wednesday, December 23, 2009)

SHAHZAD14185 is on a distinguished road
Default Thanx

Thanx for this useful info,
Plz also post guideline for Interviews and share ur experience at SBP

Junaid Kamal is on a distinguished road
Default thnx bro.

very helpful information provided for G.D
Can u share ur Experience about interview as well?

Junaid Kamal.
Old Thursday, December 24, 2009

haseeb69 is on a distinguished road

Me Recently cleared my G.D & Interview for A.F.O (OG II)...in NBP...All the selection steps are conducted by IBP ( Institute of Bankers Pakistan)..I have appointed as AFO...going 4 training on 4 Jan 2010......

the above shared info abt GD is realistic.....the panel observe ur personality, way of talking, points u shared abt topic,, your content as well as context..behaviour,, temprament,, ur attention to other members, ur confidence,, group manners..

Kamiyab Insan Aur Nakam Aadmi Main Sirf 'Hosle' Ka Farq Hota hai
The Following User Says Thank You to haseeb69 For This Useful Post:
yoyo123 (Tuesday, June 01, 2010)
Old Thursday, December 24, 2009

Originally Posted by haseeb69 View Post
Me Recently cleared my G.D & Interview for A.F.O (OG II)...in NBP...All the selection steps are conducted by IBP ( Institute of Bankers Pakistan)..I have appointed as AFO...going 4 training on 4 Jan 2010......

the above shared info abt GD is realistic.....the panel observe ur personality, way of talking, points u shared abt topic,, your content as well as context..behaviour,, temprament,, ur attention to other members, ur confidence,, group manners..
During my interview session, they showed me the writing pad on which I jotted down then points and asked me the meaning of a circled word! Since I knew all that I expressed during the GD, I easily described the meaning.

So expect the unexpected!
Old Thursday, January 07, 2010

DeneshMBA-09 is on a distinguished road
Default @fahandeng

Dear fahadeng,

Thank u for sharing Realistic GD Hints, kindly put some light on ur & Other's P.Interview session.

Thanks,
Old Wednesday, January 13, 2010

khalid mahsid is on a distinguished road
Default sbots 16

karachi candidates please share youre expereience of gd and pi held today and tomorrow at state bank
Old Thursday, January 14, 2010

Junaid Kamal is on a distinguished road
Default hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii.........

Anyone from islmbd got the G.D letter ?? if yes, whats the Date???
Old Saturday, February 06, 2010

naeemabbas is on a distinguished road

Can you tell me that how much time period nbp takes for final selection results,as i had cleared my group discussion for nbp mto -audit and appeared in interview ,now waiting for final result.