-   Screening Test (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/screening-test-css/screening-test/)
-   -   Screening Testfor CSS Competitive Examination – 2014 (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/screening-test-css/screening-test/80416-screening-testfor-css-competitive-examination-2014-a.html)

VetDoctor Friday, June 07, 2013 04:17 PM

Screening Testfor CSS Competitive Examination – 2014

It is notified for information of intending candidatesthat FPSC will hold a Screening test to sift candidates for CSS written examination‐2014. The screening test will be of 3 hours duration comprising MCQs of 200 marks and will beheld on 15‐09‐2013. The contents of screening test are based on English, General Abilities, General Knowledge(Everyday Science, Current Affairs, Pakistan Affairs) and Islamiat. The contents of thesyllabus are the same as already prescribed for Competitive Examination and have been placed on FPSC website ([url]www.fpsc.gov.pk[/url]).
2. The candidates declared qualified in screening test according to the criteria given in the Rulesfor CSS Competitive Examination, 2014 would be eligible for written examination which will be held in February, 2014. Therefore, the candidates intending to apply for CSS Competitive Examination‐2014, may apply online for the screening test during the period 15th July to 15th August, 2013 to FPSC,through website ([url]www.fpsc.gov.pk[/url]).
Fatima Zehra
Secretary

Syllabi for the screening test is available on the following link.
[url]http://fpsc.gov.pk/icms/admin/file/CE-2014%20screening%20test%20Syllabi.pdf[/url]

All the best to the aspirants of CE-2014

rose_pak Friday, June 07, 2013 04:34 PM

So, now the FPSC wants the candidates to go through their books, notes and relevant materials three times for three years.

1. Screening out test in September of first year
2. Written Exam in Feb of second year
3. Interview in Jan - May of third year.

They should have managed it in a better way. Learn something from India, at least.

mohsinali303 Friday, June 07, 2013 04:48 PM

whats this?

Now its means that FPSC will Exclude objective portion from final written exam?

What would be cut off line to sit in final exam?

FPSC will now take a paper like AD IB fisrt from all students then,it will allows all candidates to sit in final exam.

[QUOTE=VetDoctor;609661]2. [COLOR="blue"]The candidates declared qualified in screening test according to the criteria given in the Rulesfor CSS Competitive Examination[/COLOR], 2014 would be eligible for written examination which will be held in February, 2014. Therefore, the candidates intending to apply for CSS Competitive Examination‐2014, may apply online for the screening test during the period 15th July to 15th August, 2013 to FPSC,through website ([url]www.fpsc.gov.pk[/url]).
Fatima Zehra
Secretary[/QUOTE]

What is qualifying criteria of screening test madam??

hadeed Friday, June 07, 2013 04:56 PM

[QUOTE=rose_pak;609666]So, now the FPSC wants the candidates to go through their books, notes and relevant materials three times for three years.

1. Screening out test in September of first year
2. Written Exam in Feb of second year
3. Interview in Jan - May of third year.

They should have managed it in a better way. Learn something from India, at least.[/QUOTE]
well....what they want to do is not clear to them at all in my point of view...
anyhow this seems to be a good step....at least some like me will get serious in their studies well before the time....i dnt know this will help or not in the written part...but at least it will make me open the books once again....

[B]and is it of just compulsory subjects na???[/B]

zeeshan marwat Friday, June 07, 2013 05:14 PM

relax guys,this test does not mean that very limited number of candidate will be called for written examination.i think fpsc will probably select 10 thousand candidate for written part.in order to become a csp,one must be capable to fall in 10 thousand candidates :)

marxpakistani Friday, June 07, 2013 05:28 PM

This is test for eligibility to make the Recruitment process fast. Now on 15 august 2014 the persons will be allocated.

for example if we will take our written exam in feb 2014 then in the end of april 2014 the written result will be announced and on 15 august 2014 the allocated candidates list will be displayed :) ....... total span from written to allocation will be one year...................

usman khalid Friday, June 07, 2013 05:30 PM

This was expected. FPSC also sent the proposal to DMG campus for feedback of probationers. But I think FPSC should have employed this method from CSS 2015 onwards.

This method is also used in india for recruitment to IAS. They call this screening test, the preliminary exam.

drvalentino Friday, June 07, 2013 05:31 PM

New policy has its own merits and demerits. New burden on CSS candidates.Let me find its background details.Will upload soon.Wish u best of luck guys.

asif_ijaz78 Friday, June 07, 2013 05:35 PM

What about Islamiat MCQs ? it will be in both languages urdu and Engsish ?

versatile_bhutto Friday, June 07, 2013 05:37 PM

Zabardast yaar, pehle har koi mun udha ke css ke paper dene aa jata tha, aur potential candidates ko often buray marks is liay bhi milte thay ke, paper checker check ker ker ke exhaust ho jata tha, 200 radi paper hote thay aur aik do potential

Hoodwink Friday, June 07, 2013 05:43 PM

Bravo FPCS !

in fact, this is one more good instance by new chairman. in india and in other countries this test is being taken since a long time.
some good decisions by chairman

1-optional subjects will not be the sole determiner of allocation.interview marks ranging between 100 -250 will surely decide the final outcome.

2-difficulty level of all papers increased manifolds.securing 90 marks in Arabic , Persian , and philosophy and such other subjects will not be an easy task.

3- screening test will lessen the burden on management staff of exam and paper checkers thus resulting in good quality in minimum possible time.

Bhagwan Das, Hazar khan khoso and Fakhruddin g Ibraheem all were good judges, and there integrity was beyond question but their competence level was below mark..

hope we will see some more good changes in coming years.a time will come when no any deserving candidate will be complaining the flawed examination system.

Aimen Tahir Alam Friday, June 07, 2013 06:04 PM

?

This is crazy for younger candidates. One has to be eligible before the screening this means and most degree results come out in august to september. That technically means a delay of an entire year minimum for all younger candidates. Or does the fpsc allow ''results awaiting'' for those who've ended their degrees but not received the final results as yet?

saba hasan Friday, June 07, 2013 06:19 PM

screening test

the concept of screening test seems right bt the content for this test is quite rotted.....fpsc should give more weightage to analytical questions to test the mental strenght of the candidate.......rather than asking mcqs of isl,pa,ca n vocabulary.....they are simply promoting crammers

futuristic Friday, June 07, 2013 06:27 PM

screening test Css 2014 .

Fpsc has taken an excellent decision to sort out candidates eligible for this mighty exam but question arises for candidates of css2013 .They would be dubious whether to go for screening and they have to prepare from a very different perspective.what u guys say?

Ahmed Faisal Friday, June 07, 2013 06:35 PM

What is this yar... Hum logon pey already itna burden hota hia study ka ab screen test k lia alag se mind set karo. they are making things complicated day by day. Is say behtar hai online test ya phir direct interviews ley lain. Itni tension to nahi ho gi.

hamzaamanullah Friday, June 07, 2013 06:56 PM

What about people who turn 21 after the application deadline for the Screening test? Also, what about people who have not received the degree by the deadline for the Screening Test?

Aeqan Friday, June 07, 2013 07:00 PM

Screening Test for CSS

it means degree completion necessary b4 screening test?????

Descendant of Saul Friday, June 07, 2013 07:02 PM

Lots of questions are yet to be answered, but the screening test is going to be quite difficult! Because looking at objective portions of CSS papers, I dont think they can be called as easy!
But the real thing will open up once FPSC come up with the passing criteria for the test. Lets see what they have in the Pandora box!

Saba 2128 Friday, June 07, 2013 07:02 PM

Good.If are not able to be CSP we will come to know at start rather than after 1 and half year

Descendant of Saul Friday, June 07, 2013 07:04 PM

[QUOTE]Good.If are not able to be CSP we will come to know at start rather than after 1 and half year
[/QUOTE]

Another good point is that your attempt will not be counted either, because I think screening test will not be counted as an attempt!

Gotam Friday, June 07, 2013 07:46 PM

One probable advantage of this step will be early announcement of the final results as number of candidates would shrink to a few thousands (or even may be hundreds) after screening test and this consequently will help fpsc to be quick in finalizing the final results of the selection process.

Good luck everyone.

Rida Malik Friday, June 07, 2013 08:05 PM

Can students awaiting results can apply for the screening test. My results are probable between August and september.

ajawad Friday, June 07, 2013 08:11 PM

[QUOTE=Rida Malik;609786]Canstudents awaiting results can apply for the screening test. My results are probable between August and september.[/QUOTE]
It wouldn't make sense to require a degree certificate at the time of registration for the screening test. However, at this point we can merely speculate. It would be wise to wait for an official word regarding all such questions.

nowsherwan Friday, June 07, 2013 08:13 PM

a bad decision

FPSC has been lethargic when it comes to declaring results, and now this new screening test will add more time in the conduct of CSS exam, add to this the anxiety of candidates coupled with extra burden it is going to put on the exam cell , a preliminary exam on the lines of UPSC of India is a bad choice for us. UPSC has a fine track record of conducting exams and declaring results with in a reasonable period of time.

After the legendary Faislabad Scandal and the ludicrous way FPSC has dealt with it, only puts question mark on the sagacity of this new decision.

Irum Siddiqui Friday, June 07, 2013 08:22 PM

one more query
What will be the Language for Islamiyat MCQs, English/Urdu or both? :waiting:waiting

Chauhdary Ali Friday, June 07, 2013 08:38 PM

[QUOTE=zeeshan marwat;609691]relax guys,this test does not mean that very limited number of candidate will be called for written examination.i think fpsc will probably select 10 thousand candidate for written part.in order to become a csp,one must be capable to fall in 10 thousand candidates :)[/QUOTE]

Around top 3000 candidate will be selected for written exam.....

uroooj hayat Friday, June 07, 2013 09:04 PM

[QUOTE=Rida Malik;609786]Yep i forgot to quote the original message, my question was if students awaiting results can apply for the screening test. My results are probable between August and september.[/QUOTE]

Im on the same boat. I, too, recently have taken my BA examination from PU. Kindly tell me too when you get the answer. thanks

khan00734 Friday, June 07, 2013 09:04 PM

Is this is compulsory to attend the test suppose if somebody dont give this test what would be the result ?

AliRehman5 Friday, June 07, 2013 09:22 PM

i could not understand the part 2 given in the syllabi:huh:. what to do with maths? it made me tensed as im in learnin process and time is short!

Syeda Bukhari Friday, June 07, 2013 09:28 PM

[QUOTE=khan00734;609819]Is this is compulsory to attend the test suppose if somebody dont give this test what would be the result ?[/QUOTE]

It will be mandatory.
Regards!

usman khalid Friday, June 07, 2013 09:30 PM

[QUOTE=uroooj hayat;609823]I've recently taken my B.A examination from PU & I shall get my result card after August 2013. Am I eligible to take this screening test?
Kindly reply me. I'm so really worried. (([/QUOTE]

Most probably you will be eligible for this test because documents will be required for next stage.

momo rami Friday, June 07, 2013 09:31 PM

[QUOTE=AliRehman5;609824]i could not understand the part 2 given in the syllabi:huh:. what to do with maths? it made me tensed as im in learnin process and time is short![/QUOTE]

FOR math you need to consult SSC book and GAT book if u have otherwise SSC book would be enough for it.

AliRehman5 Friday, June 07, 2013 09:41 PM

[QUOTE=usman khalid;609828]Most probably you will be eligible for this test because documents will be required for next stage.[/QUOTE]

are you sure Sir? as i have not got my domicile till now?

VetDoctor Friday, June 07, 2013 09:41 PM

There is only one test and that will be based on mcqs. total 200 mcqs and it will be answered on OMR sheet which will be marked by computer software. It will ensure transparency as well as timely announcement of result.
This test seems a combination of GAT-GENERAL and CSS exam(only mcqs portion). So it might be a difficult ask for those who have no experience of NTS/GAT type tests. If FPSC issue a sample paper of the said test, it can make the things easy for aspirants.

AyazArif Friday, June 07, 2013 09:45 PM

Details of the recently announced Screening Test?

Perhaps FPSC should have provided the potential candidates with enough details.
The following are the questions that many candidates are seeking answers to.
1. What will be the passing criteria?
2. Is the rule of negative-marking going to be applied?
3. Are those students who are awaiting their results eligible for appearing in the screening test?
4. If, for instance, 70% candidates qualify the test, will all of them be allowed to appear in the Exam or will it be a specific number of candidates?

AliRehman5 Friday, June 07, 2013 09:50 PM

[QUOTE=momo rami;609830]FOR math you need to consult SSC book and GAT book if u have otherwise SSC book would be enough for it.[/QUOTE]

I have maths book of 10th class not 9th would it be enough? i have no experience of GAT/NTS. what should i do?
please suggest me.

momo rami Friday, June 07, 2013 09:57 PM

[QUOTE=AliRehman5;609851]I have maths book of 10th class not 9th would it be enough? i have no experience of GAT/NTS. what should i do?
please suggest me.[/QUOTE]

I can't say anything SSC 1,have basic things but According to syllabi, you have to consult both books. don't take risk. it's better to clear every minor thing because it's totally based on MCQ's . these books are enough don't worry if you are unfamilar with GAT.

urfa khan Friday, June 07, 2013 10:02 PM

Confusion!!!!

I have a question in my mind what would be the age limit for this screening test? previously in forms the age should be 28 on 1st December? So for those whose age will be 28 on 1st july 2014 so are those candidates are eligible for that screening ?

Chintoo2010 Friday, June 07, 2013 10:08 PM

FPSC has practically become defunct as far as its ability of conducting Whole Competitive Exam is concerned and it is in pursuit of short cuts like Screening Test now.

[SIZE="5"][B]Steps of FPSC to shrink the number of candidates:-[/B][/SIZE]

[SIZE="4"][COLOR="Green"]
1 Increase in the Fee from Rs 1000/- to Rs 1500/-

2 Stunt of Screening Test
[/COLOR][/SIZE]

[B][SIZE="5"]Proof of Poor Performance of FPSC in CE-2013[/SIZE][/B]

[COLOR="green"][SIZE="4"][B]1 Non-Delivery of Roll Number Slips

2 Anomalies in the Allocation of the Examination Center

3 Faisalabad Scandal

4 Confused decision of Re-Take of CSS-2013 for Faisalabad.[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR]

usman khalid Friday, June 07, 2013 10:19 PM

[QUOTE=maligondal;609868]this screening test has generated a lot of questions. I have the following queries regarding the screening test.

1. what will be pass marks?
2. will there be negative marking?
3. If a candidate fails to qualify/pass the screening test, will his/her attempt count?
4. Will the score of screening test accumulate in overall score?

If you have any information regarding these questions, kindly share[/QUOTE]

1- Not communicated by FPSC (may be 50% or cut-off may be increased if large no. of candidates score high)
2- Most probably there will be no negative marking.
3- Attempt will not be considered.
4- No

04:40 AM (GMT +5)