Saturday, May 04, 2024
07:18 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > CSS Competitive Examination

CSS Competitive Examination The Central Superior Services Examination is conducted every year for induction to Group 17 of the Civil Services

Old Friday, March 04, 2016

Zainab S is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by lovereflector View Post
The eds question you are talking about is from quantitative section. It is the easiest portion of math.
Ahhh ok. I checked GRE quantitative section and sure enough there is a question regarding mean and median. I take back my point. I wish there was an edit option for my first post. I would have corrected it. Thank you for clearing this up.

Thank you innocent heart, Mrkhansaab, Zealot, Abbass Khan 119, hassanib and Meme for stopping by. I think the last years mentality of doing optional(s) in 10 days or in a month is gone. This is serious business. Thank you for re-affirming this.
for 2017 folks, things are serious, more than ever.

Is there anything you would like to suggest for us to watch out for?

And Faiza Shams thank you for stopping bye as well but please don't ask for notes here. Go to relevant subject(s) forum and check there. Thanks.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Zainab S For This Useful Post:
Innocent Heart (Sunday, March 06, 2016), Mrkhansaab (Saturday, March 05, 2016)
Old Saturday, March 05, 2016

Mrkhansaab is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Zainab S View Post
Ahhh ok. I checked GRE quantitative section and sure enough there is a question regarding mean and median. I take back my point. I wish there was an edit option for my first post. I would have corrected it. Thank you for clearing this up.

Thank you innocent heart, Mrkhansaab, Zealot, Abbass Khan 119, hassanib and Meme for stopping by. I think the last years mentality of doing optional(s) in 10 days or in a month is gone. This is serious business. Thank you for re-affirming this.
for 2017 folks, things are serious, more than ever.

Is there anything you would like to suggest for us to watch out for?

And Faiza Shams thank you for stopping bye as well but please don't ask for notes here. Go to relevant subject(s) forum and check there. Thanks.
I would personally suggest that you should rely not only on bookish concepts of topics, but also their real world application and consequently your own opinion (balanced and intelligent) regarding them, in an equal ratio for all 3.

I personally expect to score well in the new subjects - so everything I stated might be valuable information. HOWEVER it could be the exact opposite. Time and marks will tell!

yasirisrar is on a distinguished road

I enjoyed the papers under the new syllabus. Though my first attempt but my suggestion to all aspirants of 2017 , just go for it . No need to be scared of the subjects and instead of craming the stuff go for conceptual study especially IR. Baqi seniors zayda acha guide kar sakty hai
The Following User Says Thank You to yasirisrar For This Useful Post:
Zainab S (Sunday, March 06, 2016)

Tanzeel 567 is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Innocent Heart View Post
Out of syllabus papers :P you know syllabus = boiled rice and question demanded biryani :P
Zoology paper was hell really but because of my masters in relevant subject I managed it..
Overall it was nice attempt as my first attempt was also good but essay killed me now I am hopeful remember me in prayers
AoaInnocent Heart,
I am student of Biological science.
I had done BS (hons) in Molecular Biology and Biotechnology. I m still confuse in all subjects selection of css except zoology. Could you plz share your subjects, which you had opt?
Innocent Heart (Sunday, March 06, 2016)
Old Sunday, March 06, 2016
44th CTP (PAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2015 - Merit 4

mujtaba arfat is on a distinguished road

This year's trend in all the papers shows that CSS has become more generalized in nature. Instead of relying on ready made notes and locally compiled books,one needs to read extensively with open and analytical mind to handle such questions. As most people are able to attempt such generalized questions to some extent, the content and quality of material along with written expression is going to create a difference this time, which will be reflected in the writings of people with solid background and adequate intellect and writing ability.
Though i didnt appear in CE 2016 but as an observer i believe that now CSS is all about " Reading extensively,analysing it and then writing extensively". Select a combination of subjects which are inter-related e.g IR/Political Science + US/European/Indopak history + Int law/Const law etc and then correlate the topics with each other. Internet is now your best companion; dont rely on 20/20 type books and cover each topic from all possible angles with broad understanding. Your command over English language and local and international issues will decide your fate in CSS. Best of luck
7asif (Sunday, November 20, 2016), aadil786 (Monday, August 29, 2016), Adeel Afzal (Monday, May 16, 2016)

Innocent Heart is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Tanzeel 567 View Post
AoaInnocent Heart,
I am student of Biological science.
I had done BS (hons) in Molecular Biology and Biotechnology. I m still confuse in all subjects selection of css except zoology. Could you plz share your subjects, which you had opt?
Assalam o Alaikum
Sure
1st attempt:2015
Indopak history
Psychology
Zoology

2nd attempt: 2016
International relations
Indopak History
Psychology
Zoology
Town planning and urban management.

If You can manage papers then go for science subjects they are not easy :/
They (FPSC) demand research study :>
I opt IR but I did a lot of hard work... I studied from a teacher who charged 3000/hour but he was a brilliant teacher , he has been css examiner and paper setter. he has great experience.I am thankful to him for IR and essay...
so it is totally upon you
if you can do it by yourself then go ahead
If you need a teacher (coaching) then get ready for investment of money and time.In the end you will get desire result In Sha ALLAH Tala
rayma qaiser (Tuesday, March 08, 2016), Tanzeel 567 (Wednesday, March 16, 2016), urooj gd (Sunday, March 13, 2016), Zainab S (Sunday, March 06, 2016)

zealot is on a distinguished road

Any best book that covers everything of pak ind history and int law
45th CTP (IRS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2016 - Merit 135

Meme is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by zealot View Post
Any best book that covers everything of pak ind history and int law
Hey,

I want to really emphasize that in my personal experience I was unable to find one single book per subject that covered the syllabus completely. Sure in EDS and lslamic studies I was able to rely on one book but not for my optionals. So, browse through books select the one that suits you and you feel is comprehensive enough. For indo pak history the pre partition period specifically the mughals, the Delhi sultanate etc I think James wynbrandt's book is good. For the contemporary political scenario hamid khan's constitutional history of Pakistan is suitable. For the Pakistan Movement I read Farooq nawaz bajwa's book on indo pak history and Ishtiaq Qureshi's the struggle for Pakistan. I was unable to rely on one book for this subject because each author emphasized a certain aspect of Indo Pak history.

For international law, I started off with J G Starke's book. Unfortuately I was unable to get what International law was about while reading this book. So I shifted to S K Kapoor and Tandon's book. Again it didn't suit me, no offence to the authors but giving 10 definitions just for what International law is made me feel as if this subject is unduly difficult.
In the end, I decided to read Malcolm Shaw and finally got a book which helped me in understanding what International law is really about.

And if I am being completely honest, I found these 2 optionals the hardest to study for in comparison to my other optionals; IR, sociology and Gender studies. Frankly, for I law I only prepared 3 chapters and I got lucky that the examiner gave 3 questions on the topics I had prepared. What I am trying to say is just like my experience with these subjects was unique you have to be prepared that selecting a book is going to take time and will be unique for you.

Bookaholic (Monday, March 07, 2016), Zainab S (Sunday, March 06, 2016)

zealot is on a distinguished road

That mean I.L and indo pak history is hard ? One subject is confirmed that is IR and 2nd is either geo or socio.but tell me about gender studies is it okay to opt or not tell me other two that are easy 200 confirmed.tell me about rest ....please
45th CTP (IRS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2016 - Merit 135

Meme is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by zealot View Post
That mean I.L and indo pak history is hard ? One subject is confirmed that is IR and 2nd is either geo or socio.but tell me about gender studies is it okay to opt or not tell me other two that are easy 200 confirmed.tell me about rest ....please
Hey,
No I found them difficult but majority of the people find them easy to prepare. What I wanted to say was that no one person has a similar experience in every subject. Go through the books of the subjects you select read a few chapters, if you enjoy it and feel that it is do able then go for it.
The same goes with gender studies or any other subject. You have to decide for yourself if the subject is easy/hard. I honestly can't give a fixed judgement.

Css is really a personal journey. I found the forum very helpful for subject selection etc but I also realized that my experience was different to that of others. So, keep an open mind and give it your best.