Wednesday, May 01, 2024
07:52 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions Please read the posts before posting the queries.

Old Sunday, May 17, 2015
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2017 - Merit 103

wasxxm will become famous soon enough
Exclamation Is the General Knowledge Group still intact?

Aoa. Can anyone kindly elaborate if the general knowledge group comprising Pakistan Affairs, Current Affairs and General Science & Ability, is still intact? If not, then what are the implications of it on the grading scheme which I assume is that one needs to score 120 marks out of 300 combined to pass this amalgam.

Thanks in anticipation.
Old Sunday, May 17, 2015

IslamabadKid is on a distinguished road
Post Query

Implications will be drastic for those who were relying only upon General science(erstwhile Everyday science) and 40% of Pakistan Affairs to get through. Now they have to study current affairs and Pakistan affairs to their extremes so as to get good marks.

Passing marks of 40 in each subject are mandatory now.

Only one way is left to express oneself and that is:
Tu teer aazmaa (FPSC),
Hum jigger aazmayein.

The Following User Says Thank You to IslamabadKid For This Useful Post:
wasxxm (Sunday, May 17, 2015)
Old Sunday, May 17, 2015
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2017 - Merit 103

Thanks for your kind reply. While I do trust it, but just out of curiosity asking if this policy is somewhere mentioned on FPSC web site? Or just a deduction from the fact that the group no longer exists so as the old marking scheme.
Old Sunday, May 17, 2015

ZainJanjua is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by wasxxm View Post
Thanks for your kind reply. While I do trust it, but just out of curiosity asking if this policy is somewhere mentioned on FPSC web site? Or just a deduction from the fact that the group no longer exists so as the old marking scheme.
I have same query
Old Sunday, May 17, 2015

Monk will become famous soon enoughMonk will become famous soon enough

Rules and regulations will soon be announced on the official website, it's better to wait for that before jumping into any conclusion
The Following User Says Thank You to Monk For This Useful Post:
wasxxm (Sunday, May 17, 2015)
Old Sunday, May 17, 2015

Or even better let us assume that we have to score 40 marks in each subject.
Old Sunday, May 17, 2015

Doctor Sadia is on a distinguished road

According to World Times Academy, its 40 for each subject.
haroon malik (Wednesday, May 27, 2015)
Old Wednesday, May 20, 2015

musmanhussain will become famous soon enough

There are so many other misconception regarding marks and paper pattern which surely, fpsc announced properly.
According to most of people's suggestions that general ability 40% part will be comprised on mcq base. so wait official notification.
Old Wednesday, May 20, 2015
The TechGeek
Moderator: Ribbon awarded to moderators of the forum - Issue reason: Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,178 Times in 888 Posts
incounternable is a jewel in the roughincounternable is a jewel in the roughincounternable is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by ZainJanjua View Post
I have same query
Originally Posted by Monk View Post
Rules and regulations will soon be announced on the official website, it's better to wait for that before jumping into any conclusion
Or even better let us assume that we have to score 40 marks in each subject.
Originally Posted by musmanhussain View Post
There are so many other misconception regarding marks and paper pattern which surely, fpsc announced properly.
According to most of people's suggestions that general ability 40% part will be comprised on mcq base. so wait official notification.
The syllabus published for CE-16 on FPSC's website clearly mention three different subjects and not one (i.e General Knowledge). So consider it done. Now you have to pass each of the three subjects separately.

The syllabus and the public notice for CE-16 mentions all three subjects under different heading unlike the previous ones which showed General Knowledge as of 300 and comprising of three sub-heading of EDS, P.A, C.A.

I. COMPULSORY SUBJECTS (600 marks)

English Essay 100 Marks
English (Precis and Composition) 100 Marks
General Science & Ability 100 Marks
Current Affairs 100 Marks
Pakistan Affairs 100 Marks
Islamic Studies
OR Comparative Study of Major Religions (For Non Muslims) 100 Marks

Unlike this one

COMPULSORY SUBJECTS (600 MARKS)
(1) Essay 100
(2) English (Precis and Composition) 100
(3) General Knowledge : 300
Paper - I Every Day Science 100} *(MCQs=50 Marks+Subjective=50 Marks)
Paper - II Current Affairs 100}
Paper - III Pakistan Affairs 100}
(4) Islamiat 100

So start preparation of all these three subjects separately and there is no EDS paper anymore it is now General Science & Ability paper and it will contain science related MCQs and the General Ability part too will have MCQs because Analytical Reasoning usually is in MCQs form.

So stop speculating, because time is short and don't wait for any announcement from FPSC to make it clear that these three subjects are separated now because every change that FPSC introduced in Rules, earlier, was never announced separately it was included in Rules that we aspirants never touch.

One such example is of failing optional rendered many aspirants fail in written exam starting from CE-13...

Earlier, failing only compulsory subject rendered one fail and failing optional was never rendered as failing exam its marks were excluded and if the candidate had scored above 600 after excluding marks of failed optional subject, he was rendered pass in written but in CE-13 they made a slight change of word "and" that was replaced in place of "OR" that rendered many candidates failed even after passing all compulsory subjects.

Rules for CE-16 will be published in either last week of September or 1st week of October, till then prepare for these subjects separately.

JazakAllah
musmanhussain (Wednesday, May 20, 2015), wasxxm (Friday, May 22, 2015)
Old Tuesday, May 26, 2015

musmanhussain will become famous soon enough

I read on jwt group on facebook that fpsc revised the previous policy of marks regarding GK subjects.A candidate who obtained 120 marks in Gk papers will be considered quailified.
Anum Zara (Tuesday, May 26, 2015)