11:25 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Tips and Experience Sharing

Tips and Experience Sharing Your unique experience and tips can be highly valuable to thousands of them who plan to appear for exams this year or in the future years.You can share your experiences and golden tips with us.

Old Friday, March 03, 2006

yasirbajwa is on a distinguished road

Thanks to all specially 36thCommons and Amina for sharing such an important and useful information on the forum.This wil definitely help the new comers like me.
Can anyone please tell me that what should be length of answers specially in USA History paper.

Khuda Hafiz
Old Thursday, February 22, 2007

Bushra Tasleem is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Plz help me

Slam

Dear All
Plz any one tell me that Urdu, Political Science, Indo Pak History are scoring
subject. Bez i already read political science & indo pak History In my Master in political science. bez i head never choose tthat subject u do master in it.
It is right in saying.
Duago 4 u all.
Thanx
Always Think 4 the best! Hope 4 the best! and Prepare yourself 4 the best! To get the best in ur life only “BELIEVE IN ALLAH”. He will definitely respond your request u will succeed.Inshaallah
Old Thursday, February 22, 2007

sonojeee1@yahoo.com is on a distinguished road

@ 36thCommons, Abrar, farooq, seehar

thanks for your tips, really valuable .
Please tell us the complete tips for PMS subjects.

i.e. English, Urdu, Islamiyat, Pak Studies and General Knowledge particularly in PMS Case. I hope it will be helpful for PMS Candidates too
Thnaks in advance.
Old Monday, February 26, 2007
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - Merit 350

Jani Abro is on a distinguished road

@Bushra Tasleem
Political Science and Indo Pak History are my subjects. Both of them are nt not easy but scoring too. U can score as much as 130 in each of them. In my first attempt my score in Political Science and Indo Pak History was 117 and 120 respectively. Now i feel i could get more marks. Lets see what is my score in them this time.
Old Monday, February 26, 2007

minhas is on a distinguished road

can someone plz tell me what format should be used while writing an essay, i mean should we use headings or not, is a brief outline given separately in the beginning, how long should it be? all these things are quite unclear to me.....kindly help me out as i failed only in essay last year n i dont want to fail agian, i havent any access to academies, so someone experienced plz guide me.thanks
Old Friday, March 23, 2007

USMAN MUREED QADRI is on a distinguished road
Question What About That Given On # 15

Originally Posted by 36thCommons
1. Opt for subjects that you have a HIGH apptitude for.Go through the last ten years to help you decide.

2. Practice writing on blank sheets.You'll be given these at the time of the
exam.

3.Preparing notes well in time is a good idea but arranging for already prepared notes is an even better one.

4. Candidates are advised to reserve the last TWO months for revision only,if they hope to sustain any information.

5. Current Affairs should be the last subject prepared.However,this doesn't mean that you become oblivious to it and casually toss the dailys aside.In other words,scanning NEWSPAPERS everyday should become a second nature to you.If pressed on time,issues later than the second last month can be safely ignored as the question papers are prepared atleast a month before the actual exam.The recommended dailies are DAWN and the FRIDAY TIMES.Develop a command over the issues in them cause the latest trend is current affairs oriented papers.Classical examples of this can be seen in the PAKISTAN AFFAIRS,ESSAY,and ISLAMIAT papers of 2005 pasted on another thread.

6.Don't overburden your self with books and material.I know of a batchmate who did and ended up exhausting all three attempts due to this.

7. For the recommended books on the compulsories and optionals,refer to the thread concerned with the issue.

8. Never ignore the last year's paper in this case 2005's papers.Most of the times the MCQ'S,and sometimes the DESCRIPTIVE questions are repeated to test one's indepth knowledge.

9. CSS is all a game of nerves so don't loose them.Take enough sleep but don't loose focus during your preparation and specially during the exams.

10. The exam lasts for maximum 3 hours,with exception to disabled candidates who get extra 15 minutes.DIVIDING and ALLOCATING your time to each question well in advance will be a good idea.Reserve 15 minutes for revision and unexpected disturbances.

11. At the commencement of each exam,devote the first FIVE minutes to read the question paper carefully and completely.Make your choices pragmatically.

12. At times the question is cunningly divided in 2,3 and even 4 parts,sometimes to test your knowledge and at others,just your nerves. Marks are reserved for each part of the question so ensure that you know the answer to each part before you select a question.

E.g: "What are POLITICAL PARTIES?Discuss various theories on their origin and elucidate their functions.Do you think the political parties in Pakistan are loyal to their constitutions?

13. "Basically educational in character,the Aligarh Movement was not devoid of political objectives". Discuss.
This type of question is called a JUSTIFICATION.It must be divided into 2 parts.The first providing data in support of it's being EDUCATIONAL in character and the second OPINING with SOLID arguments whether the Aligarh Movement was political or not.

14. A CSS candidate's answers are expected to depict more QUALITY than QUANTITY.Your answers should be well worded and written neatly but with the minimum possible margin between lines.The examiner can always see through an attempt to use extensive space and this might be encouraged in INTERMEDIATE but not CSS.

15. Avoid any political leanings in your answers.It's best to agree with your examiner unless you have strong arguments to support your case.But don't disagree just to prove your potence. Your delibarations should be mature.

16. Last but not the least,with the exception to the ESSAY paper,your answers should ideally confirm to the following chronological order:

(a)----- INTRODUCTION
(In a few terse lines,it should contain an answer to the question asked

(b)-----EXPLANATION
(Witholds the main body of the answer.The answer proceeding the explanation paragraph should be divided into subheadings,the more the merrier but must hold relevance)

(c)-----CRITICISM/APPRAISAL/CRITICAL ANALYSIS/CANDIDATES OPINION
(Justify here whether you agree or disagree,your observations and suggestions on the topic)
E.g:Whether the Devolution Plan is a success or failure.If failure,why...if successful then why again...Suggest measures to improve it also.This will reveal mature mental processes)

(d)-----CONCLUSION
(Make logical dedutions and close your question here)

NT:This is a feeble attempt to share my observations with you as i made them during the CSS exam and certainly not an exhaustive list of rules to remember.Any addition will be appreciated.

Thanx for such a healthy & useful information for the new commers but it would be pleasure for me to know about that given in step 15.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to USMAN MUREED QADRI For This Useful Post:
sksaqi (Sunday, May 05, 2013), The Manager (Friday, May 07, 2010)
Old Sunday, October 07, 2007

Rashidkureshi is on a distinguished road
Question Optional Subjects?

Thanks everyone for good guidance, please help me about the optional subjects should I get the following combination:

Political Scicence
International Relations
Marchantile Law
Geography
or
Sociology

Any sort of cooment is welcomed
Old Tuesday, April 22, 2008

hadee is on a distinguished road

thanks to you all for these valuable information.i think if i go to some one for these tips he will ask for fee but you people are really serving the young talent in a true spirit.
i am a new user. i have done masters in public administration and specialization in human resource management, now preparing css also doing job but it is not too much hectic.

hadee
Old Thursday, July 24, 2008

haiderimam2008 is on a distinguished road
Default any one with applied maths?? any tips plz

aoa all

i have been trying to find anyone with who appeared with applied maths.. plz tell me abt it.. i want suggestions and tips about this subject.. especially books to be followed..in paper 2 especially

Kindly help.
Old Wednesday, November 16, 2011

Mazhar Ali Khokhar will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by shahid seehar View Post
AoA,wisegirl particularly n the forum in general,
Thank u very much wisegirl for apprising me of my overlooking the basic essence of the question raised by Mr.Saaz,a respecable member.Nevatheless i believe that even a school-going kid in Pakistan would know the difference B/W a blank sheet and a lined/marginalized one..Well,when the members like me write anything on this augustus forum,they invariably assume that the readers/CSS aspirants would at least be knowing these basics i.e blank sheet/lined sheet/marginalized sheet,and the readers would at the minimum be in their graduation or off their intermediates...
Moreover,if u had also politely overlooked my inadequate voluntary effort,you would definitely have spared your honour of calling somebody in public Sloppy..Anyways,i never mind such trivia...
As for your breaking the news here that all the CSS aspirants need to pose as average-minded,despite being excellent-minded ones, and not be opinionated at all,i flatly object to it...of course, for the better cause of all the members, as me myself is one of them...
Coz,
The people ambitious of becoming CSPs must know even before preparing for CSS that the beaurocracy in Pakistan, or anywhere in the world, is like a well-interacted machine which runs our country & the CSS is the only mode whereby you can become a part of that system in Pakistan.Given the toughness of the CSS exam, we have forums like this and, no doubt,every Tom,Dick & Harry or any Tomboy in Pakistan is never able to join this system or become a part of this machine,which is in fact the soul of my beloved Pakistan..Had it been so,God forbid,.......
The Beaurocracy in all essence all over the world means toeing the line unflinchingly...Having perfect command over the language of beaurocracy i.e English in case of us,never ever means that you are desperately needed to join the system..Attempting CSS & then joining Beaurocracy & then working superbly therein requires far more than only knowing the language of beaurocracy...Of course,it requires superb,above-average,excellent minds who can filfull the commands of their superiors perfectly in the shape of perfect subordinates..
The Rules of becoming a good subordiante CSP officer are given below:
Rule No.1:Always believe that your boss is right.
Rule No.2:If u have any objections,simply keep silent.
Rule No.3:Just believe that your boss is right.
Remember 1 thing,ALWAYS SALUTE THE RISING SUN...this is the basic motto which we inherited along with this beaurocracy system....
If somebody blindly believes that he/she is superior to civil services,he/she better go for some private sector..It only in p;rivate sector that somebody can be rewarded for his/her due objections to his/her boss...but never in public services of ours...
So,advising the excellent-minded CSS aspirants here to pose like average-minded and below is like to ask them to ruin their ambitions with their very hands...they should better pose with like what qualities Allah Almighty has so graciously bestowed them with...
How would u ever be able to join any system with a pre-carved out approach that"Yahan ka system he hay kharab"...
If you nevertheless believe that you are superior to superior services,then better try to become a politician...this is the only way whereby you can prove the deficiencies of this system and change it altogether.....
And finally become the leader of this nation instead of a public servant.....
Wish ya all the gud luck in the world....
Mr Shahid,
I want to share sth with u, u said in bureaucratic rule "boss is always right" n not to say " yahan ka system he kharab he". I strongly agree with u if I did not have sth in the name of conscience in my body. U said that always obey the boss. Ur all the arguments are always right and surely these are the basic rules of democracy but my question is that do u think we should stick to the old system of bureaucracy which is corrupt. As a member of the system how can we change the system, how can we purify the system from impurities like bribe nepotism etc.If we should let the system as it is or we should try to make it better n pure n better if yes than how?
I m really very sorry if I dishearten u.
The Following User Says Thank You to Mazhar Ali Khokhar For This Useful Post:
muhammadsaadvirk (Sunday, June 24, 2018)