06:05 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Tips and Experience Sharing

Tips and Experience Sharing Your unique experience and tips can be highly valuable to thousands of them who plan to appear for exams this year or in the future years.You can share your experiences and golden tips with us.

Old Thursday, March 07, 2013

shinning sun is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by zeeshan1001 View Post
The CE-2013 was my last attempt. My life, on the last day of exam, totally changed. I have no more chances to transform my dream into reality. Marked by failures, due to essay, my 3 precious years were ruined. I scored 670 with psychology and geography last year but as soon as I attempted the psycho paper in 2013, I knew my CSS was over. I knew that even if I pass, I wouldn't be able to get allocated. I burnt the mid night oil while staying in hostels for about 2.5 years. Adverse conditions like energy crisis, blazing heat and, financial crisis engulfed me with full intensity. I did things which I would have never otherwise done in my life.

English writing was always my best skill. In fact, it was a skill which pushed me to take this exam. I still remember when I got an A-grade in an English writing course while my whole batch got a D-grade. I still remember then time when my teacher said in front the whole class that she had never checked a paper like that before in her life. I still remember that my writings were given to other students as a sample for good writing. I still remember that I got 4 A grades in 4 English papers of my bachelor degree. Still I failed in English essay, which made me frustrated and confused to what was wrong. I went to all the so called ‘Essay Guru’ teachers so they might highlight the short-comings of my essay. But, they all ended up shaping my outlines one way or another which was of least importance as far as an essay is concerned. Some said skip intro some said skip conclusion which were wild ideas. I knew it because essays are not written without an introduction and conclusion. So, English proved fatal for me.

Ironically, the stigma of failure due to the essay overshadows the whole performance of the candidate. Even parents and close friends are now skeptic about my competency. They have started to think that they might have interpreted my capabilities wrongly. There is no one to explain to them that a person who gets 70 in EDS, 73 in Sociology, 124 in Geography and 140 in Psychology is not at all an incompetent person.

Resultantly, a sense of disgrace is prevailing in my personality. It is difficult to face people who have prayed day and night for my success. I was almost dead when my mother, who happens to be a primary pass, said to me “Tumko mazmoon likhna nae aata?” My career lags far behind those who graduated with me. I lost all my good days of youth in which I could have done something for my family. I could have at least helped them to come out of the crises they were facing. But, I failed to maximum extent.

To cap it all, I did my best but I am totally shattered now. I no more say that English is my best skill. I have also stopped writing my blog and letters to the editors. I feel embarrassed and consequently I lost all my confidence. Now, I am someone who failed the CSS exam. Life will never be the same again.
I don’t say that this is only my story. I just wrote it on part of all those who felt the same. I just wish you all best of luck and pray that you all be successful to achieve your dreams [Aameen]. With heavy heart and shattered hopes I return back to my old life – a life of someone unknown and a life of someone unimportant.
don't loose hope as one should not be disappoint in any case.firstly you should have faith that if you did so much struggle and hard work then it would not gone in vain .further css is not the end of life if somehow you would not pass it or your plannings are not working it means your life is moving according to Allah s will n He is the only one whoz the best planner.so be strong and be brave
madiha alvi (Sunday, September 08, 2013)

Muhmmad Ali Raza is on a distinguished road

ok..if you are confused about analytical and cramming then let me explain you..lets take example of composition question in ce-2013. All the questions were to be derived from paragraph, but i tell you there was not a single question that was answerable from paragraph.this is where cramming fails.. Only an anlytical approach to paragraph could yield you the answer. you can better solve the first two questions of composition at your own. and the approach you use to answer these questions is the approach you are required to prepare for css, you have crammed all the book but the question has nothing to do with the book. it is actually the test of your understanding of the book.this is what called an analytical approach....
good luck ...
The Following User Says Thank You to Muhmmad Ali Raza For This Useful Post:
sweet smile (Thursday, March 07, 2013)

misbah62 is on a distinguished road

may be its like mba strategy where we taught practical implementation of strategies, understanding of concept is more important rather than cramming.
The Following User Says Thank You to misbah62 For This Useful Post:
stranger498 (Thursday, March 07, 2013)

nathanalgren is on a distinguished road

A.o.a

It was my first attempt but the papers were difficult from the very outset. In my experience one must have good understanding of the subject , high scoring and low scoring is a myth, my cousin is a Csp and he did it with urdu literature as he had good understanding of it. He advised me to opt those subjects in which one has a good understanding so that he can answer anything. I also considered socio an icing on the cake but applied sociology proved an uphill task.
The Following User Says Thank You to nathanalgren For This Useful Post:
Hoodwink (Friday, March 08, 2013)
Old Friday, March 08, 2013

nile is on a distinguished road

@zeeshan

Asalam o alaykum brother

Just read your sad story and i am very much touched by it. Therefore i feel it my responsibility to reply as a muslim brother. I dont want to give you any lecture but just want to share with you some ayahs of the quran:

"And the life of this world is nothing but play and amusement. But far better is the house in the Hereafter for those who are the pious. Will you not then understand?" (6:32)
"...and it may be that you dislike a thing which is good for you and that you like a thing which is bad for you. Allah knows but you do not know."
(2:216)

Lessons from the above ayah:
1- Real test and success is the aakhirah and world and its matters should not be taken too much on the heart.
2- Allah is All Wise and has a better plan for you insha Allah.

Jazak Allah khair. I will pray for you.

Last edited by Arain007; Friday, March 08, 2013 at 10:40 AM. Reason: avoid net speak
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to nile For This Useful Post:
Fazal Muhammad Khan (Monday, September 02, 2013), Lubna Nawab (Saturday, March 09, 2013), madiha alvi (Sunday, September 08, 2013), transition (Friday, March 08, 2013), Urma Waqar (Tuesday, April 16, 2013), Wali Ahad (Friday, March 08, 2013)

transition is on a distinguished road

absolutely right what nile said,,zeeshan bro,you should take it as an experience of life,dont make it whole life,,just move on, as this is life.

Last edited by Z Bokhari; Friday, March 08, 2013 at 06:31 AM. Reason: Net speak

Knights is on a distinguished road

@ Zeeshan

Really touched by your story,have faith in Allah and keep going on with your journey of
life,At least you show that you have the courage to go for Css even after couple of
failures,many people cant even think of that.And i know, the knowledge you gain
during these times,will help you definitely in one way or another..I will pray for
your success.
madiha alvi (Sunday, September 08, 2013)

shakeel ghori is on a distinguished road

The CE-2013 was my last attempt. My life, on the last day of exam, totally changed. I have no more chances to transform my dream into reality. Marked by failures, due to essay, my 3 precious years were ruined. I scored 670 with psychology and geography last year but as soon as I attempted the psycho paper in 2013, I knew my CSS was over. I knew that even if I pass, I wouldn't be able to get allocated. I burnt the mid night oil while staying in hostels for about 2.5 years. Adverse conditions like energy crisis, blazing heat and, financial crisis engulfed me with full intensity. I did things which I would have never otherwise done in my life.

English writing was always my best skill. In fact, it was a skill which pushed me to take this exam. I still remember when I got an A-grade in an English writing course while my whole batch got a D-grade. I still remember then time when my teacher said in front the whole class that she had never checked a paper like that before in her life. I still remember that my writings were given to other students as a sample for good writing. I still remember that I got 4 A grades in 4 English papers of my bachelor degree. Still I failed in English essay, which made me frustrated and confused to what was wrong. I went to all the so called ‘Essay Guru’ teachers so they might highlight the short-comings of my essay. But, they all ended up shaping my outlines one way or another which was of least importance as far as an essay is concerned. Some said skip intro some said skip conclusion which were wild ideas. I knew it because essays are not written without an introduction and conclusion. So, English proved fatal for me.

Ironically, the stigma of failure due to the essay overshadows the whole performance of the candidate. Even parents and close friends are now skeptic about my competency. They have started to think that they might have interpreted my capabilities wrongly. There is no one to explain to them that a person who gets 70 in EDS, 73 in Sociology, 124 in Geography and 140 in Psychology is not at all an incompetent person.

Resultantly, a sense of disgrace is prevailing in my personality. It is difficult to face people who have prayed day and night for my success. I was almost dead when my mother, who happens to be a primary pass, said to me “Tumko mazmoon likhna nae aata?” My career lags far behind those who graduated with me. I lost all my good days of youth in which I could have done something for my family. I could have at least helped them to come out of the crises they were facing. But, I failed to maximum extent.

To cap it all, I did my best but I am totally shattered now. I no more say that English is my best skill. I have also stopped writing my blog and letters to the editors. I feel embarrassed and consequently I lost all my confidence. Now, I am someone who failed the CSS exam. Life will never be the same again.
I don’t say that this is only my story. I just wrote it on part of all those who felt the same. I just wish you all best of luck and pray that you all be successful to achieve your dreams [Aameen]. With heavy heart and shattered hopes I return back to my old life – a life of someone unknown and a life of someone unimportant.
I wonder that you have attempted C.E-2013 whose result is yet to come; and you have yourself reached to decide that your failure in essay or in any other subject is inevitable. Allah says: "Tum mujh say jaisa ghuman rakho gay may tumhay waisa atta karoon ga". So dear, why so much frustration? why shouldn't you just hope and pray for the best. Your previous failures-- as I will not call them failure, for you have done a marvellous job, it was just predestined--do not have any relation with your this attepmt. This time, inshAllah you will succeed with flying colours.

It goes without saying that your writing is outstanding and praiseworthy. You have a tendency to draw a picture of your ideas in words. With such exceptional skills, you are having all capabilities to achieve something worthy in your life. What you need is to stop paying heed on your surroundings such as what others are thinking about you and so forth; and just converge your whole energy to do something remarkable for yourself, for your family and dears, and for your country. I know these things such as to advise others to overcome negative emotions seem easy to be described in words, but to apply them practically is the real test of one's personality. I believe you can.

Css is not an end of life. 'Sitaron say aagay jahan or bhi hain'. I pray that may you achieve success in your this attempt. But, God forbid, if something otherwise happens, you should have a heart of courage to tolerate the realigy and to put still more efforts to raise high in your life.

Believe me, I am considering myself novice in giving advice to a mature person like you. But after reading your comments on this thread I thought it necessary to express my views in regard to yours. I just want to say: "Jo yekeen ki raah per nikal parry unhay manzilon ne panah di, jinnhe waswasson ne dara dya wo qadam qadam per behak gaye".

May Allah lead you to success.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to shakeel ghori For This Useful Post:
AyaanAslam (Monday, April 15, 2013), Irum Siddiqui (Friday, March 08, 2013), Lubna Nawab (Saturday, March 09, 2013)

Hoodwink is on a distinguished road

brother ! no doubt , it is flawed process of evaluation. I think FPCS must look for competent examiner to evaluate and assess competent persons. They are unaware of the fact that how badly their flawed examination system is causing distress among confident and competent youth. Brother zeeshan ! as far as exam 2013 is concerned , all the papers were not different from Psychology. Constitutional law, international law , acccounting and many other subjects were real disaster in 2013.
secnondly , only those people worry about their result who correctly interprete questions and try to produce the relevent and concise answer. those who just see topic sentence of the question and start writting whatever in their minds happily come out of examination hall. Results sift them from thr formers.
Dont worry Mr. fida hussain failed 2 times topped in third attempt.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Hoodwink For This Useful Post:
madiha alvi (Sunday, September 08, 2013), nile (Friday, March 08, 2013)

umair qamar is on a distinguished road

brother before opting psychology do check this yr paper, psychology has not remained same as in good old days,