12:40 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Tips and Experience Sharing

Tips and Experience Sharing Your unique experience and tips can be highly valuable to thousands of them who plan to appear for exams this year or in the future years.You can share your experiences and golden tips with us.

Old Saturday, October 26, 2013

faith786 is on a distinguished road
Smile sir ware wolf guidance

sir,
thanks a lot ,1st I was so satisfied with it ,but since I read posts ,I lost my confidence, but just as u said ,the same think suggested my mom ,since morning I was much confused again , thanks a lot for you guidance,
sir could u plz suggest the books for botany and physcology?
41st CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2012 Merit no. 273Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Werewolf will become famous soon enoughWerewolf will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by faith786 View Post
sir,
thanks a lot ,1st I was so satisfied with it ,but since I read posts ,I lost my confidence, but just as u said ,the same think suggested my mom ,since morning I was much confused again , thanks a lot for you guidance,
my pleasure.

Brother, for botany i don't know any book, but i would suggest you to first go through FPSC's syllabus and a couple of past papers, then download books from internet and study accordingly. You will find awesome books on net for this subject.

for psychology books and other stuff, visit following thread.
http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners...aspirants.html
Czar

Thanked 4,064 Times in 1,854 Posts
Arain007 has a brilliant futureArain007 has a brilliant futureArain007 has a brilliant futureArain007 has a brilliant futureArain007 has a brilliant futureArain007 has a brilliant futureArain007 has a brilliant futureArain007 has a brilliant futureArain007 has a brilliant futureArain007 has a brilliant futureArain007 has a brilliant future

Aoa sir,

hope u r in the pink of health,sir im from interior sindh,i have no prper guidance due to absecnce of any senior or academy, i want to be suggested abt sub selection, my back ground is science ,i was opting botany bcoz its my favourite ,but since last night i read too many posts and threads that fpsc donot give good marks ,and also read that they dont show intrst in reading while marking,so what do u suggest ?
I m going to opt:

Islamic h and culture
public admin
journalism/or sindhi want to opt it but im afraid bcoz my sindhi writing is wrost.

Plz suggest as soon as possible,as i can submit the form

with
rgdx and respect
thanks a lot sir for your kind reply , sir what do u say abt my botany question?
sir,
Avoid use of "Netspeak" or other "cute" grammar or spelling (For example: writing "R U a woman?" instead of "Are You a woman?").

Kindly read and follow Forum Rules
faith786 (Saturday, October 26, 2013)

rafia syed is on a distinguished road

Kindly check my optional
Accounting & auditing
arabic
stats+punjabi or pure maths

The Shah Ends will become famous soon enough

Werewolf!
Brother if we have to write an essay on some ''Quotes'' sort of topics, then is it ok to first explain briefly what the quote really means, then after that by relating it to an example which better suits the given quote and taking that single ''wide spread'' example towards the end of the essay? then in the end drawing a conclusion.
Now tell me, is this approach towards Quote type essays fair enough? if not then how to tackle such type of essays, any suggestions?
Like for example the topic is ''If gold rust what shall the iron do'', now what would be the best approach to write an essay on this quote?
41st CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2012 Merit no. 273Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Originally Posted by rafia syed View Post
Kindly check my optional
Accounting & auditing
arabic
stats+punjabi or pure maths
your combo is good, but opt Pure Maths in place of stat:+Punjabi only if you can tackle it and feel at home with mathematics. No doubt it is a rewarding subject, but it could be equally harmful if you got stuck during exams

Originally Posted by The Shah Ends View Post
Werewolf!
Brother if we have to write an essay on some ''Quotes'' sort of topics, then is it ok to first explain briefly what the quote really means, then after that by relating it to an example which better suits the given quote and taking that single ''wide spread'' example towards the end of the essay? then in the end drawing a conclusion.
Now tell me, is this approach towards Quote type essays fair enough? if not then how to tackle such type of essays, any suggestions?
Like for example the topic is ''If gold rust what shall the iron do'', now what would be the best approach to write an essay on this quote?
Dear,
firstly, go for such topic during essay paper only if there is no better choice left for you.

your strategy is good, but let me enhance it,
1. yes, you should first define the topic, but don't waste too much time and words on defining it.
2. don't go with just 1 example however widespread it be. because it wont be sufficing that huge essay unless you repeat your points, which would be suicidal.

the best trick to tackle such topics is,
1. You must know the exact core-meaning of that proverb,
2. you must know some real life examples related to it,
3. this point is very important, you must have a good reservoir of quotations and proverbs closer in meaning to that which you selected. they will kick-start you again wherever you feel like getting short of stuff.. you just quote them in the mid and start elaborating them with reference to the original proverb.. this will keep you on until the end inshaAllah.

hope this would help

Brother let me tell you what exact approach is in my mind about attempting this essay.
Gold here gives a meaning of purity honesty, simply something like a role model, and rusting is dishonesty or duplicity etc, the last word iron is a thing more vulnerable to duplicity. So you can say if a pure and honest thing can foul then what about the more vulnerable thing.
So if i take Saudi Arabia as an example for gold, Pakistan and rest of the muslim states as an example for iron considering that they are more vulnerable to dishonesty and duplicity. Now, if i write about Saudi Arabia that once it was a role model for the islamic states to follow, as religiously it is an important state/kingdom for the muslims, and then i go on explaining it by writing about past and current events, like how its constitution is based on Quran only etc, and then to prove that ''how Gold rust'', i.e how it gave money to US for attacking Syria, how is it playing its part in Sectarian Violence and how it avoids to come forward and help in solving the problems of other muslim states(as for the muslim world it is a role model), but it is now being rusting.
Further going towards the other half of the quote ''what will the iron do''. i will explain it by giving examples of the said vulnerable muslim states, that if Saudi Arab ''the model of muslim states'' is being like this(as said above) then what is the blame on such vulnerable countries or what to expect from them.
In the end i will conclude simply, that saudi arabia being model of muslim states is degrading its standard so the countries more vulnerable will definitely move more towards degradation of standards.(Conclusion is not complete i just wanted to give a hint about how will i conclude).
Now please brother guide me, whether this approach is better or still i have to look for more things to include?
41st CTP (OMG)

Brother let me tell you what exact approach is in my mind about attempting this essay.
Gold here gives a meaning of purity honesty, simply something like a role model, and rusting is dishonesty or duplicity etc, the last word iron is a thing more vulnerable to duplicity. So you can say if a pure and honest thing can foul then what about the more vulnerable thing.
So if i take Saudi Arabia as an example for gold, Pakistan and rest of the muslim states as an example for iron considering that they are more vulnerable to dishonesty and duplicity. Now, if i write about Saudi Arabia that once it was a role model for the islamic states to follow, as religiously it is an important state/kingdom for the muslims, and then i go on explaining it by writing about past and current events, like how its constitution is based on Quran only etc, and then to prove that ''how Gold rust'', i.e how it gave money to US for attacking Syria, how is it playing its part in Sectarian Violence and how it avoids to come forward and help in solving the problems of other muslim states(as for the muslim world it is a role model), but it is now being rusting.
Further going towards the other half of the quote ''what will the iron do''. i will explain it by giving examples of the said vulnerable muslim states, that if Saudi Arab ''the model of muslim states'' is being like this(as said above) then what is the blame on such vulnerable countries or what to expect from them.
In the end i will conclude simply, that saudi arabia being model of muslim states is degrading its standard so the countries more vulnerable will definitely move more towards degradation of standards.(Conclusion is not complete i just wanted to give a hint about how will i conclude).
Now please brother guide me, whether this approach is better or still i have to look for more things to include?
Ohk, i understood,
Brother, the meaning you extracted is wonderful and the way you conveyed it is appreciable, but you introduced loopholes in your interpretation.. let me explain you how,

See, your essay would be fine but your mindset might harm you for many reasons,
1. How come you bestowed Saudi with a role model status and other muslim countries as prone to corruption? this could be interpreted as stereotypy.
2. How come you are so convinced that Saudi paid US for attacking Syria? is there any established proof for that? may be you are right, but only unofficially!
3. This essay could not be ended with happy note, because you have indeed blamed real countries for being evil, corrupt and prone to corruption.

Your way is right, but your example is suicidal.

let me tell you,
be more general rather than specific,
a better example would be that of talibans and so-called standard-holders of Islam, who, misrepresent Islam by spreading terror in the name of Islam which is known for its inclination towards peace. Then you may proceed towards conservative Mullahs, who deny woman of her many basic rights which even Islam allows her etc.

OR

You can be even more general, like, involve all the religions of the world.
you can easily establish that all the major religions of the world focus on peace in their teachings, but even then, their standard-holders kill their counterparts out of unawareness and conservatism.. you can give many examples in this regard. People kill in the name of their religions and the same religions prevent them from killing each other..

After elaborating any of the above examples in the context of "GOLD" you can say that the people who are supposed to be spreading peace and awareness around the world in a humble way, if they resort to violence, then what can be expected from those (IRON) who are not so religious..!!!

Got it?
this would be more neutral essay comprising awareness element. it would be like an eye-opener. You would be appreciating all the religions for being peace-oriented and you would be rightly criticizing those who misinterpret their religion. a very good theme

my essay on topic "Religions and World Peace" in following forum would help you a lot material-wise
http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners...aspirants.html

Hope this would help

Last edited by Werewolf; Saturday, October 26, 2013 at 11:12 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Werewolf For This Useful Post:
The Shah Ends (Saturday, October 26, 2013)

Very well explained brother.
So from your post kept in mind some good points like:
1)In each essay i have to quote some solid examples officially known to everyone not those examples which are in everyday editorials of different newspapers.
2) i should be more general in giving examples then considering a single country or person in the whole essay.
3) giving more examples.
41st CTP (OMG)

Very well explained brother.
So from your post kept in mind some good points like:
1)In each essay i have to quote some solid examples officially known to everyone not those examples which are in everyday editorials of different newspapers.
2) i should be more general in giving examples then considering a single country or person in the whole essay.
3) giving more examples.
You got it right, just missed 1 important point,

you should focus on the positive side of everything and try to conclude it with a happy note.

Good luck