Tuesday, May 14, 2024
07:14 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Tips and Experience Sharing

Tips and Experience Sharing Your unique experience and tips can be highly valuable to thousands of them who plan to appear for exams this year or in the future years.You can share your experiences and golden tips with us.

Old Thursday, October 10, 2013

The Shah Ends will become famous soon enough

@Werewolf
Brother! would you like to share your marks of each subject plus viva's marks as well?
Actually i have noticed that Engineers are not really appreciated in vivas, i have seen no one with Engineering background who have crossed 180 in viva...
41st CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2012 Merit no. 273Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Werewolf will become famous soon enoughWerewolf will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by The Shah Ends View Post
@Werewolf
Brother! would you like to share your marks of each subject plus viva's marks as well?
Actually i have noticed that Engineers are not really appreciated in vivas, i have seen no one with Engineering background who have crossed 180 in viva...
i got 166 marks in viva, actually brother, engineers are not rhetoric..

if i tell you my experience of viva, you would say that i have got these 166 for free

I did not prepare a single word for viva, i just knew what i studied during written preparation + i never touch newspaper..
i was lucky that they were asking me general questions..
like, why i consider ayub khan responsible for the debacle of bengal?
etc ..

i was not so persuasive at answering their academic questions, but i tackled their other questions gently,

1 guy asked me "from where did you prepare your viva?"

i answered "sir actually i did not prepare my viva altogether"

he said "but gentleman you look quite prepared"

i replied "sir, if you really think so.......
then thank you ... but i really did not prepare anything"

then they all laughed at once, and one of them said "ok why you did not prepare?"

i answered "actually sir, the only thing i have learnt about viva is being natural, and if i had prepared things for viva, that would have made me artificial"

then they applauded me..

Then they asked, "do you read newspapers?"
i said "no, but i do read world times magazines sometimes"

then Sir Asif Hayaat said in frank mood, "gentleman why are you perspiring?"

i said "sir it's too hot here"

then he said "but gentleman your district is even hotter than lahore"

i was stunned at first, but abruptly i answered "actually sir, in Mari Petroleum Company, there is no loadshedding "

he again laughed and said "very good answer "

only these things earned me whatever marks i scored, otherwise, i was just so and so in academic question

The Shah Ends will become famous soon enough

Thats really very interesting brother, so you have enjoyed your viva rather than being tensed, and 166 is a very good score for an Engineer, Thank you brother for your such a detailed reply.

zainab janjua is on a distinguished road
Exclamation

AOA.sir WereWolf . I have done my graduation in Commerce.And currently pursuing MBS as a private candidate. Now intend to appear in CSS Competitive Examination. But I'm confused, which subjects should I opt in Optional Subjects Category. In this context, you are requested to kindly suggest me optional subjects according to my educational background.and i also have short time for preparation. kindly help me out.

ANUM DAHAR is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Werewolf View Post
Yes you can leave them on choice.
These chapters are not even included in FPSC's syllabus of psychology.

From paper B you can leave last chapter i.e. Industry, on choice. (this is not my official advice )
rest of them are important. they will help you in MCQs too.

Psychology's chapter 1 i.e schools of thought of psychology is not in those books which i suggested you in this thread, but i made its notes during my time. i can provide anyone its soft copy on demand.

They will take some time to get scanned, i am scanning them myself with my old scanner (very slow), a tiresome process. around 500 pages..
till then, study other subjects.. or study EDS from other sources.

regards.
Thanks sir, please forward me your notes of school of thoughts, please take my email address from my profile. Thanks

Last edited by Arain007; Thursday, October 10, 2013 at 09:06 PM. Reason: merged
***CAPTAIN HOPE***
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Moderator: Ribbon awarded to moderators of the forum - Issue reason:

Muhammad Ali Chaudhry is a jewel in the roughMuhammad Ali Chaudhry is a jewel in the roughMuhammad Ali Chaudhry is a jewel in the rough

Sir , from where u studied

Criminal Psychology and Industrial psychology .

saja is on a distinguished road

Thank you my dear,

your subjects are good, but if you replace sociology with your regional language that will make your combination awesome

you are just 18 and you have a good exposure of CSS, you are a lucky man.
i first time heard of CSS when i was 21
inshaAllah you will do great, just be focused

good luck
Sir your opinion about Journalism, If i replace it with Sociology

Sir respect your suggestion on replacing sociology with Regional Language but after saw the 12 year past paper, syllabus of Journalism and regional language(Sindhi) and Subject Analysis on both the subjects i am comfortable with JOURNALISM
Sir your view....
41st CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2012 Merit no. 273Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Werewolf will become famous soon enoughWerewolf will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by zainab janjua View Post
AOA.sir WereWolf . I have done my graduation in Commerce.And currently pursuing MBS as a private candidate. Now intend to appear in CSS Competitive Examination. But I'm confused, which subjects should I opt in Optional Subjects Category. In this context, you are requested to kindly suggest me optional subjects according to my educational background.and i also have short time for preparation. kindly help me out.
Dear if you could tackle auditing and auditing (200) then consider it because it is a scoring subject, if not, then go for Public administration (100) from the same group, it is scoring too.
your 2nd subjects should be statistics(100), that would be easy for you being a commerce student.
3rd, opt your regional language.

as you are left with quite short time then you should go for indopak history (200), because it almost covers pakistan affairs too.

for your remaining subjects, consider any the following short subjects,

1. journalism (100)
2. sociology (100)
3. psychology (200)
4. international law (100)

Originally Posted by The Shah Ends View Post
Thats really very interesting brother, so you have enjoyed your viva rather than being tensed, and 166 is a very good score for an Engineer, Thank you brother for your such a detailed reply.
no problem,
brother, actually, being tensed is better than being over-confident, but the best is being genuine and normal.

Originally Posted by Muhammad Ali Chaudhry View Post
Sir , from where u studied

Criminal Psychology and Industrial psychology .
actually i did not.
i left them both + many more topics on choice. but only after some calculations

Originally Posted by saja View Post
Sir your opinion about Journalism, If i replace it with Sociology

Sir respect your suggestion on replacing sociology with Regional Language but after saw the 12 year past paper, syllabus of Journalism and regional language(Sindhi) and Subject Analysis on both the subjects i am comfortable with JOURNALISM
Sir your view....
if you are comfortable with journalism, then go for it, it is better and more stable than sociology.
Old Friday, October 11, 2013

n0m!! is on a distinguished road
Default @Werewolf

Sir i am ACCA and looking to go for this combination need your valued suggestion .
Accounting & Auditing.
Psychology.(Only started this subjects prepration.)
Sociology.
Forestry.( Have not finalised it but friend suggested me to pick it up as he said its easy to cover and good for revision as it will take less time )

Sir would really appreciate your suggestion and advice.
Old Friday, October 11, 2013
***CAPTAIN HOPE***
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Moderator: Ribbon awarded to moderators of the forum - Issue reason:

Muhammad Ali Chaudhry is a jewel in the roughMuhammad Ali Chaudhry is a jewel in the roughMuhammad Ali Chaudhry is a jewel in the rough

actually i did not.
i left them both + many more topics on choice. but only after some calculations

Sir , Calculations :O ?