03:06 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Tips and Experience Sharing

Tips and Experience Sharing Your unique experience and tips can be highly valuable to thousands of them who plan to appear for exams this year or in the future years.You can share your experiences and golden tips with us.

Old Monday, November 04, 2013

salmanshahid2002 is on a distinguished road

Biological portion of your EDS notes comprises of almost 200 pages (of the total 393 pages).

Would you please like to share the rationale behind this?

Does it mean Biological portion of eds has more weightage? If no, then I must infer that you are much interested in the very portion of the subject, so you went on writing for pages and pages and completed 200 pages. (Dont consider this inference of mine as a logical one).

Hope you make the situation rather more clear.

And please guide me what should be my strategy for covering the current affairs/ Pak affairs subjects in a short time span. Any book you want to recommend? Also mention what are the main areas to cover. Should we just focus on the important events happened in the current year?
41st CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2012 Merit no. 273Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Werewolf will become famous soon enoughWerewolf will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by muhammad Bilal Baig View Post
Sir im a student of 4th year MBBS ..
So according to my interest i opt these subject, sir please check it.

1) Zoology (200)
2)Psychology (200)
3)Indo-pak (200)
Good subjects
Best of luck

Originally Posted by salmanshahid2002 View Post
Biological portion of your EDS notes comprises of almost 200 pages (of the total 393 pages).

Would you please like to share the rationale behind this?

Does it mean Biological portion of eds has more weightage? If no, then I must infer that you are much interested in the very portion of the subject, so you went on writing for pages and pages and completed 200 pages. (Dont consider this inference of mine as a logical one).

Hope you make the situation rather more clear.

And please guide me what should be my strategy for covering the current affairs/ Pak affairs subjects in a short time span. Any book you want to recommend? Also mention what are the main areas to cover. Should we just focus on the important events happened in the current year?
Dear, don't evaluate weightage according to mere number of pages..
there are many other reasons behind that, one of them is,

As i have written in my 'note to readers' that i have tried my best to make these notes as easy and knowledgeable as possible, so, biological portion, owing to its complex nature, has been enlarged for better understanding for newbies.
etc

Moreover, you are free to skip 100 pages of bio or all 200, according to your free will.

Current Affairs:
current years important events are important no doubt, but don't even skip previous years' important issues.

best way is to read JWT monthly regularly + notes of some good academy in the end.

Pak Affairs:
1. Pre-partition: 1 or 2 sets of good notes.
2. Post partition: individual events according to their importance from internet or anywhere else.

meriyam is on a distinguished road

sir werewolf
firslty i want to thank you for your EDS notes
& i want to ask are these enough? or should i have to consult another book too?
41st CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2012 Merit no. 273Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Originally Posted by meriyam View Post
sir werewolf
firslty i want to thank you for your EDS notes
& i want to ask are these enough? or should i have to consult another book too?
Dear, my notes comprise predominantly of FPSC's given syllabus. however, paper also consist of out of syllabus topics which no one can anticipate; and answering such questions depends mostly on your prior knowledge.. so, the more you study the better
however, if you already have considerable prior knowledge related to EDS, then my notes are more than just enough

Hope this would help
Old Wednesday, November 06, 2013

muhammad Bilal Baig is on a distinguished road

AOA SIR,
I will be very thankful to you for your guidance,it is really helpful..
Sir please suggest me the 1book for compulsory and optional subject ..
I also noted down your links ,which is very help full.
sir i feel that my englisi is not up to the mark,im a student of MBBS 4th year..
Sir please suggust me the good books for,

1) psychology
2) zoology
3) indo-pak
Old Thursday, November 07, 2013

salmanshahid2002 is on a distinguished road
Default Virtual University notes on Pakistan Affairs as a good stuff?

Originally Posted by Werewolf View Post
Good subjects
Best of luck

Dear, don't evaluate weightage according to mere number of pages..
there are many other reasons behind that, one of them is,

As i have written in my 'note to readers' that i have tried my best to make these notes as easy and knowledgeable as possible, so, biological portion, owing to its complex nature, has been enlarged for better understanding for newbies.
etc

Moreover, you are free to skip 100 pages of bio or all 200, according to your free will.

Current Affairs:
current years important events are important no doubt, but don't even skip previous years' important issues.

best way is to read JWT monthly regularly + notes of some good academy in the end.

Pak Affairs:
1. Pre-partition: 1 or 2 sets of good notes.
2. Post partition: individual events according to their importance from internet or anywhere else.
Can I consider Virtual University notes on Pakistan Affairs as a good stuff?
If no, then please mention some good source of notes like Officers/NOA/KIPS etc.

''Pakistan'' by Anatol lieven'', that you recommended on this forum, is helping me a lot in the field of Pakistan Affairs. Is this book, coupled with some other book of the type, is going to be suffice for me? What is your suggestion? I think this strategy will cover a major portion of Pak Affairs, and for the rest (pre-partition) I will consult some other sources like notes, internet etc.

behzad hussain is on a distinguished road

Brother, Compo worked great for me during papers. however, if it is ruining your notebook then it means that it does not suit your temperament. you better change your brand
Sir can you please send me the EDS notes on my mail?

GuhrHonyTak is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up Thanks for the incredible help.

As Salam u Alaikum, Thanks for the remarkable guidance. I am, in fact, facing paucity of words for your appreciation.

Two queries of mine please:
1. I could not get the 1st of your 3 important tips:

I will write about remaining compulsory papers tomorrow inshaAllah,
but before signing out, i will share with you all 3 very important tips.

1. Choose your pen wisely. it is potential enough to
(a). stimulate your brain to recall forgotten things.
(b). make an "stationary field" in your paper that will keep on impressing and pleasing your examiner.
2. During reading from any source, consulting the dictionary for the meaning of the new words that I encounter first time, slows down my pace of preparations. Not consulting, keeps my vocabulary from flourishing which is essential. How to tackle this?

Best Regards.
41st CTP (OMG)

Originally Posted by muhammad Bilal Baig View Post
AOA SIR,
I will be very thankful to you for your guidance,it is really helpful..
Sir please suggest me the 1book for compulsory and optional subject ..
I also noted down your links ,which is very help full.
sir i feel that my englisi is not up to the mark,im a student of MBBS 4th year..
Sir please suggust me the good books for,

1) psychology
2) zoology
3) indo-pak
Dear, 'not good english' wont hurt you much in CSS, you just have to be capable enough to use your limited 'english' wisely by conveying your idea in simple words. that's the crux of css and that's what required from a CSP.

now, one book for each subject.. huh? you can not oversimplify CSS to this limit. not books, but your strategy matters..
for example, English Essay+C.Affairs could be prepared in just one go. if you read JWT magazine regularly and study notes of C.A in the end (of any renowned academy), your both subjects would be covered material-wise.

don't revolve around 1 book, let the books revolve around you.

Psychology: i have already shared 2 books in my other thread, study them selectively.
Indo-pak and zoology are not my domains and i don't suggest any book until i read from it myself, so, sorry for that.

Originally Posted by salmanshahid2002 View Post
Can I consider Virtual University notes on Pakistan Affairs as a good stuff?
If no, then please mention some good source of notes like Officers/NOA/KIPS etc.

''Pakistan'' by Anatol lieven'', that you recommended on this forum, is helping me a lot in the field of Pakistan Affairs. Is this book, coupled with some other book of the type, is going to be suffice for me? What is your suggestion? I think this strategy will cover a major portion of Pak Affairs, and for the rest (pre-partition) I will consult some other sources like notes, internet etc.
VU notes or any other notes are good as long as they cover the syllabus and opt any set according to your own taste. just make sure that your notes also include quotations etc with every topic.

Anatol Lieven's book is enough for post-partition section of the subject, it will also help you a lot in your interview inshaAllah.

Originally Posted by behzad hussain View Post
Sir can you please send me the EDS notes on my mail?
Not possible, owing to their size. i have tried already.

Originally Posted by GuhrHonyTak View Post
As Salam u Alaikum, Thanks for the remarkable guidance. I am, in fact, facing paucity of words for your appreciation.

Two queries of mine please:
1. I could not get the 1st of your 3 important tips:

2. During reading from any source, consulting the dictionary for the meaning of the new words that I encounter first time, slows down my pace of preparations. Not consulting, keeps my vocabulary from flourishing which is essential. How to tackle this?

Best Regards.
your first query could be best answered with this quotation:
"truth of an idea can never be proven"

so, don't demand explanation, just follow what i said and you will get the answer yourself

your 2nd question:
me too felt this lag while consulting dictionary (hard copy), so i installed "encarta encylopedia" in my laptop which comes with dictionary as well, it's fast and awesome one. i used it and this saved my time. try it.

Shuiab Ahmed is on a distinguished road

Asalam Alaikum Respected Sir.....

kindly guide me, how can i improve english written expression. Moreover i have been writting on daily basis. The tragedy is that i hailed from remote area, having no access to any english teacher to review my written expression.
Seniors kindly guide me how to sail the ship without captain.......
Waiting for your valuable suggestions...............
The Following User Says Thank You to Shuiab Ahmed For This Useful Post:
isha saeed (Thursday, November 07, 2013)