03:53 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Tips and Experience Sharing > Arena of Golden Tips

Old Saturday, May 28, 2011
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2010 - Merit 25Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,898 Times in 694 Posts
Hamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to all
Post Thanx

Thanx everyone for the appreciationInshAllah I will keep on guiding you people as much as I can and 'jitni merii haisiyat he'..I consider my success as a product of all the prayers countless people have been asking for me..So this is my pay back as well as a duty..CSS forum helped me a lot during my exam preparation,so I think I should remain here as much as possible to guide the new aspirants..

Sociology and Indi-Pak history..Well give me a couple of days I got an exam on 1st..I shall update this as soon as possible..keep visiting..Might come in anytime tonight InshAllah...
If anything remember me in ur prayers..k Allah merey kam sidhe kare
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Hamza Salick For This Useful Post:
Attia Farooq (Wednesday, October 10, 2012), Austere (Saturday, June 23, 2012), pisceankhan (Monday, June 23, 2014), Ravian575 (Monday, October 29, 2012), saim n babar (Friday, August 19, 2011), umaira88 (Friday, September 14, 2012)

sajjad khan joiya is on a distinguished road
Default Businesss ads help

Please recommend some good books for business ads and provide preparation strategy and other guidance
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2012- Roll No 13813

andleeb Akhter has a spectacular aura aboutandleeb Akhter has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by hamza_salick86 View Post
That blunder can actually prove to be a fatal one.For years the common practice of the examiner has been to fail the person who fails the Precis.But I hope that practice has changed now.Also I hope that u attempted the precis satisfactorily enough in those 25 minutes.As I said,U should atleast keep aside 45 minutes for the precis.
mainy pallu se bandh li hai ye suggestion

At the least
For P.A,Ikram Rabbani book is good but only in combination with a couple others.Try using 'Trek to Pakistan' by Ahmed Saeed and one other book,preferably one which throws more light on he post partition phase.
I have already posted the things u need to read for Islamiyat.Ooper waali posts parh lia kro merii behn
parh li hein sir g.............

Well,I myself am an MSc student who has to go about writing his MSc dissertation in next 3 months.So u see,I might not have enough time to read everything that u send and check it like an examiner.Still,u can send this stuff on my email ID,and I would try my best to get back in some time regarding them.I can only say that I sha try my best to go through as much of them as I canplease don't mind.
hmmm.......i will post them .....do check them whenever it would be possible
Maps rattne ki technique mujhe khud nahy pata coz me ne nahy ratte kbi.Mujhe ittna interest he maps me k khudi yad hojatey he n Allah has bestowed me with this ability that I can make gegraphical,political and historical sense out of these maps and things.Alhamdulilah.Just take keen interest in the thing ur doing and would start coming to u.InshAllah
thnks........i wish to have mind and observation like you
anymore questions
filhal tu nai.........
And i was asking about your exams which you have mentioned in one of your posts

sajjad khan joiya is on a distinguished road

Thanks Sir..yeah Hailians are the best
I am from Multan too..I was Mohsin Bhutta's classfellow..
Thank Sir. I'm preparing for CSS in Multan these days along with my job. I need your precious guidance. I will contact you on your Email ID for further guidance. Being my college fellow you are source of inspiration and motivation for me. Thanks.
Hamza Salick (Saturday, May 28, 2011)
Old Sunday, May 29, 2011

dicey is on a distinguished road

Yes InshAllah I shall reply to all the queries tomorrow InshAllah as I have an exam in the morning.Kindly pray for me.Regards
still waiting
Old Sunday, May 29, 2011
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2012- Roll No 5644

TheUniter will become famous soon enough

When u have chosen to attempt a topic..first dissect it..how?U have 2 find the ‘key words’ in the topic..like u have a topic named ‘Dialogue is the best course to combat terrorism’..some ppl wont identify the key word in it n start writing an essay on terrorism..result;they ll fail the paper..the key word in this topic iznt terrorism..the examiner has asked u abt whether or not ‘dialogue’ is the best course to combat terrorism..similarly,if uv got a topic ‘Future of democracy in Pakistan’..here the key word u need to identify is not democracy..but the ‘future of democracy’..u have to predict the future using the SWOT(strengths,weaknesses,opportunities,threats) approach..if u do this thing correctly,u mite well have taken a big step twrdz passing this paper..
To be contd..
@ Dear Hamza- I attempted the following essay in CE-2011 and I want you to identify the key word in this topic.

IN THIS COUNTRY REASON DOES NOT APPLY TO ANYTHING.
Old Sunday, May 29, 2011
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2010 - Merit 25Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason:

Hamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to all

Originally Posted by TheUniter View Post
@ Dear Hamza- I attempted the following essay in CE-2011 and I want you to identify the key word in this topic.

IN THIS COUNTRY REASON DOES NOT APPLY TO ANYTHING.
Hmmmm thats a pretty tough essay u did..There are no specific key words in this topic,because the entire topic is a single statement..But one thing u have to make sure is that the examples u use,the factors u discuss and the dynamics u identify should be native to Pakistan i.e they should be real life examples from Pakistan.Concentrate on the words 'THIS COUNTRY'..
Old Sunday, May 29, 2011
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2012- Roll No 5644

TheUniter will become famous soon enough

Hmmmm thats a pretty tough essay u did..There are no specific key words in this topic,because the entire topic is a single statement..But one thing u have to make sure is that the examples u use,the factors u discuss and the dynamics u identify should be native to Pakistan i.e they should be real life examples from Pakistan.Concentrate on the words 'THIS COUNTRY'..
You are right dear. But plz look at the following outlines and the introduction which i actually wrote in the exam. Are these acceptable?

In this country reason does not apply to anything.

Outlines:

1.Introduction
2.Background
3.Present scenario
4.Causes:
i.Lack of accountability
ii.Lack of education
iii.Weak judiciary
iv.Feudalism
v.American intervention
5.Effects
7.Recommendation:
i.Promotion of accountability
ii.Promotion of education
iii.Streghthening judiciary
iv.Eliminating feudalism
v.Getting rid of the u.s intervention.
8.Conclusion.

In our country, numerous incidents have taken place from time to time but reasons of the majority of these incidents have not become known. People suffered at the hands of politicians and foreigners but they did not come to know why they underwent such sufferings.Nobody even dared to ask the resons. Eventually anybody asked the reasons, his voice was suppressed.There are many causes for this plight in pakistan but most important of them are lack of accountablity, lack of education,weak judiciary, feudalism and american intervention.Such situation has inflicted innumerable miseries upon people of pakistan. However, one need not be hopeless.There are ways out of such helpless situation. We can get rid of the unpalatable scenario by promoting accounability and education,streghtheneng judiciary, eliminating feudalism and by avoiding American intervention.
Attia Farooq (Wednesday, October 10, 2012), mntunio (Saturday, October 29, 2011)
Old Sunday, May 29, 2011

Default History Subjects

Originally Posted by dicey View Post
still waiting
I myself am a student of Indian History,so I know better about it.I do not know much about the nature of other histories,but I would try to help every history student out by giving a general outline for the preparation of History.
First things first,histories are always lengthy subjects with an intimidating amount of course(with th exception of US history,jise me subject manta hi nahy hun)..But do not get intimidated.Chip away at this subject slowly,and in the end you would have done pretty well.Atleast in my case,Indo-Pak history was my strongest suite and I was absolutely in love with this subject.
Use books which don't only give conventional knowledge of history,but also the analysis about it.For Indo-Pak history,use K.Ali books 1&2,Sohail Bhatti and ONE book from a foreign writer(Ishwari Prasad,Lanepoolee,Majumdar)..
2nd most important thing:Make your own notes.History can't be prepared without making ur own notes.I do ot say make detailed notes.NO.details are there in the books,highlight them.Just make short notes.Use bullets.Consult the past papers before making notes.See what kind of questions are asked about a particular monarch or event in history.Make notes according to those questions.I will elucidate this with an example.Consider you are making notes about Muhammad bin Tughluq(B.History students please substitute any of ur monarchs e.g henry VI and his reforms etc instead of this).You should make notes about these subtopics about him:
1.His reforms;why did they go wrong(all 5 of them)
2.MBT as a man ahead of his time
3.MBT;a man of two extremes.There is Barani's statement about him that I dont exactly remember which implies that he was a split personality.Question often comes about it.
Similarly,if it is Alauddin Khilji,U would do the price control system,administrative reforms,his deccan policy,revenue reforms etc.
Another VERY IMPORTANT thing is to make ur views about every king and his policies.They may be negative,they may be positive,and they may be a combination of these two.But whatever view u decide to keep,have very strong points for it so as to prove it and justify it.As a rule of thumb,and to stay on the safe side,I would say that 'Indo Pak history mein koi badshah bura nahy tha.Hur badshah ko kisi tarah justify kurne ki koshish kro.K.Ali book does this well'.Try to be positive,optimistic and have a balanced approach when answering the question about any monarch and his policies.
So back to notes now,add quotes about every King and the important dates in ur notes.Go over them again and again.People always wonder how do candidates seem to remember all the dates etc and the obnoxious names of places and people.Honestly speaking,I am very bad in ratta.If I was good in it I would have scored above 950 in FScbut I revised my notes and these dates,names and places so much that in the end I had on my fingertips things such as the year Malik Kafoor captured Dwarsamudra,and the names of all of Akbar's nauratansSo,it comes with time.
There has been a paradigm shift,in Indo Pak history from 2010.Thats why u have disastrous marks in that paper.But I am sure,a few people would have scored well.Those would be the people who studied history objectively.The change that has come is that history is moving away from being 'Personality based' to 'Event Based'..So someone who has just crammed up important topics would inevitably end up with an 80/200.Study history deeply,and always expect the unexpected in the paper.The group with which I used to study often asked me about why was I doing 'extra topics' like shahjahan,Jehangir and why I was giving a read to the post Aurangzeb phase.I always replied that this is a 'back up' plan.And verily,that back up plan worked.Where people were absolutely bomb-shelled by paper 1,I actually quiet enjoyed doing it Alhamdulilah.I do not say u prepare evry topic,but atleast give a read to every topic.
When attempting the paper,use headings and quotes to elaborate ur answer.But do not overuse them.Always start with a very impressive paragraph,in which u would hit the nail straight on the head.DO NOT forget to give a good,detailed analysis and an impressive conclusion to your answer.
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to Hamza Salick For This Useful Post:
Azch (Sunday, August 07, 2011), blossom (Sunday, May 29, 2011), dicey (Sunday, May 29, 2011), mahamkhan93 (Monday, November 07, 2011), Nida Sehar (Sunday, May 29, 2011), nustian (Thursday, July 14, 2011), Rahat1984 (Wednesday, July 13, 2011), saim n babar (Friday, September 09, 2011), Sheikh M Siddique (Wednesday, January 04, 2012), Shooting Star (Tuesday, June 07, 2011)
Old Sunday, May 29, 2011

Originally Posted by TheUniter View Post
You are right dear. But plz look at the following outlines and the introduction which i actually wrote in the exam. Are these acceptable?

In this country reason does not apply to anything.

Outlines:

1.Introduction
2.Background
3.Present scenario
4.Causes:
i.Lack of accountability
ii.Lack of education
iii.Weak judiciary
iv.Feudalism
v.American intervention
5.Effects
7.Recommendation:
i.Promotion of accountability
ii.Promotion of education
iii.Streghthening judiciary
iv.Eliminating feudalism
v.Getting rid of the u.s intervention.
8.Conclusion.

In our country, numerous incidents have taken place from time to time but reasons of the majority of these incidents have not become known. People suffered at the hands of politicians and foreigners but they did not come to know why they underwent such sufferings.Nobody even dared to ask the resons. Eventually anybody asked the reasons, his voice was suppressed.There are many causes for this plight in pakistan but most important of them are lack of accountablity, lack of education,weak judiciary, feudalism and american intervention.Such situation has inflicted innumerable miseries upon people of pakistan. However, one need not be hopeless.There are ways out of such helpless situation. We can get rid of the unpalatable scenario by promoting accounability and education,streghtheneng judiciary, eliminating feudalism and by avoiding American intervention.
To tell you the truth,it somehow doesn't seem right to me.By 'reason' the examiner means that we do not apply a sense,a methodology to anything.Maybe the essay should have been more around lack of proper planning and the strange decisions taken by our governments.In the causes you should have discussed our ineffective education system,non continuity of democratic process and policies and the lack of accountability.The essay should have given many examples.You have broadly discussed problems faced by Pakistan,but u haven't specifically adhered to and addressed the topic.Having said that,the paper checker is in the best position to judge you.English essay is more about yr usage of english language and format rather than the correct information.This fact might well let u off the hook.Just pray to Allah and hope for the best.Praying to Allah is very important.I have seen people passing the exam on extremely nonsense essays.Yours isn't that bad.Might get u a mark of 40.So pray and hope for the best.
The Following User Says Thank You to Hamza Salick For This Useful Post:
Ravian575 (Monday, October 29, 2012)