-   Arena of Golden Tips (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/tips-experience-sharing/arena-golden-tips/)
-   -   Arif Awan (DMG) 40th Common: My story of CSS (Aspire and Achieve) (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/tips-experience-sharing/arena-golden-tips/66302-arif-awan-dmg-40th-common-my-story-css-aspire-achieve.html)

ArifAwan Saturday, July 28, 2012 02:45 AM

[QUOTE=munim nazir;459175]sir, arif i,m new aspirant for css 2013, i have done m.a political science. i,m confused in selecting subjects till yet i have decided public add, sociology and journalism but what should i opt in british history vs indon pak and international law vs international relation.[/QUOTE]

Indo-Pak history is under the cloud so British history is preferable. International law has a a short course and repetitive questions while IR is a broader subject with extensive scope. So IL will be better I guess...

[QUOTE=urfa khan;459178]congratulations bro on ur success.
i need a help and guidance frm you that how to clear precis nd composition paper what should be the strategy nd every one use to say for css smart study is required what does it mean? can u plz elaborate this smart study procedure. Also i want to know that making ur own notes is beneficial when 6 months are left for exam........
regardz[/QUOTE]

One Essay and one precis per week...that makes 25 essays and 25 precis in 6 months! The calculation is simple. But get it checked by a good English teacher in your locality.

Get hold of past papers and try to solve as many as you can in given time. Smart study means preparation in light of Past papers.

As far as making notes are concerned, I leave that to your discretion. I had a short span of preparation so i would use highlighter and made outlines for some important questions.

[QUOTE=asmarrz;459172]Congratulation brother.. :)

Could you guide me how to answer particular question in a paper with respect to the sociology paper of 2011? and how long a particular answer should be...[/QUOTE]

It will be difficult for me to revisit old papers but as a general rule, Give introduction (back ground), salient features, recommendations, conclusions sort of headings while attempting a question. If it is about the contributions of a sociologist, a short history of his life should precede the main body of question. Use catchy words for headings.

Ahmed Faisal Saturday, July 28, 2012 03:29 AM

Bro, What these abbreviations stand for DSS, ISS, SASSI's??? kindly elaborate?

ArifAwan Saturday, July 28, 2012 03:31 AM

[QUOTE=Ahmed Faisal;459202]Bro, What these abbreviations stand for DSS, ISS, SASSI's??? kindly elaborate?[/QUOTE]

[B]DSS[/B] = Defense and Strategic Studies
[B]SASSI[/B]= South Asian Strategic Stability Institute
[B]ISS[/B] = Institute of Strategic Studies

Asif3531 Saturday, July 28, 2012 04:54 AM

Arif bro, Kindly tell us the future of Islamic History. I generally dont believe in scoring trend but some senior members do believe in scoring trend. I covered Psychology part1 and Islamic history part 1 as well but i found Islamic history too much interesting and easy. How you see the future of Islamic history and psychology?

09020293 Saturday, July 28, 2012 05:36 AM

[QUOTE=ArifAwan;459203][B]DSS[/B] = Defense and Strategic Studies
[B]SASSI[/B]= South Asian Strategic Stability Institute
[B]ISS[/B] = Institute of Strategic Studies[/QUOte]

Thank you for the advice . i would appreciate if you may share the links for websites you mentioned about DSS etc .

farhan1111 Saturday, July 28, 2012 12:14 PM

Being a resident of a small city( Attock), i am facing difficulties in finding CSS-oriented english teacher. There are many but their ignorance of current affairs makes me skeptic. what you suggest may i consult English teacher devoid of knowledge of contemporary issues.

ArifAwan Saturday, July 28, 2012 01:11 PM

[QUOTE]Arif bro, Kindly tell us the future of Islamic History. I generally dont believe in scoring trend but some senior members do believe in scoring trend. I covered Psychology part1 and Islamic history part 1 as well but i found Islamic history too much interesting and easy. How you see the future of Islamic history and psychology?[/QUOTE]

It will be difficult for me to predict their future but generally, they are high scoring subjects. And Inshallah they will not disappoint you. I loved reading Islamic history and probably this was the subject I started my preparation with.

[QUOTE] Thank you for the advice . i would appreciate if you may share the links for websites you mentioned about DSS etc[/QUOTE]

[B]ISSI [/B]
[url]http://www.issi.org.pk/[/url]

[B]Jinnah Institute[/B]
[url]http://jinnah-institute.org/[/url]

[B]SASSI[/B]
[url]http://www.sassi.org/[/url]

[QUOTE]Being a resident of a small city( Attock), i am facing difficulties in finding CSS-oriented english teacher. There are many but their ignorance of current affairs makes me skeptic. what you suggest may i consult English teacher devoid of knowledge of contemporary issues.[/QUOTE]

Still, you can get help in English grammar and composition. Besides, not every essay is current affairs oriented!

ArifAwan Saturday, July 28, 2012 04:35 PM

@ All

I have started this thread after quite a few requests on Facebook to share my experience. It is difficult to reply to every Facebook message personally (for which i apologize) therefore, I will be referring to this thread for any query. As cssforum was my academy for preparation, I would love to contribute my knowledge InshAllah !

locong Saturday, July 28, 2012 05:11 PM

Dear Arif . How do you think Islamic History paper needs to be attempted? Do i have to give headings or quotations?

Shooting Star Saturday, July 28, 2012 05:31 PM

[B]@All[/B]

Hit [URL="http://www.cssforum.com.pk/editpost.php?do=editpost&p=459411"][/URL] [URL="http://www.cssforum.com.pk/post_thanks.php?do=post_thanks_add&p=459411&securitytoken=1343478577-79fa3bd46d8c89515e286a07662e29a2a6a62384"][IMG]http://www.cssforum.com.pk/images/buttons/post_thanks.gif[/IMG][/URL] button to appreciate the efforts of other members instead of making Appreciation and Thanks posts.Any such posts will be deleted without any explanation.

07:04 PM (GMT +5)