Friday, May 10, 2024
06:19 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Compulsory Subjects > English (Precis & Composition) > Grammar-Section

Old Tuesday, January 31, 2012

danialjavaid is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb Correct me

Which one of the two is correct?
1. I have never read such a good poetry.
2. I have never read such good poetry.
further . if it is possible ,tell me the grammar of (such +adjective+noun).

Thanked 1,992 Times in 631 Posts
zuhaib ahmed has much to be proud ofzuhaib ahmed has much to be proud ofzuhaib ahmed has much to be proud ofzuhaib ahmed has much to be proud ofzuhaib ahmed has much to be proud ofzuhaib ahmed has much to be proud ofzuhaib ahmed has much to be proud ofzuhaib ahmed has much to be proud of

Originally Posted by danialjavaid View Post
Which one of the two is correct?
1. I have never read such a good poetry.
2. I have never read such good poetry.
further . if it is possible ,tell me the grammar of (such +adjective+noun).
I have never read such a good poetry! It's correct one.

There should be an exclamation mark.

Such + Adjective + Noun

Javaid has such a fluent English!

Javiad has such beautiful cats!

Beautiful is an adjective.
Cats is a noun.

Originally Posted by zuhaib ahmed View Post
I have never read such a good poetry! It's correct one.

There should be an exclamation mark.

Such + Adjective + Noun

Javaid has such a fluent English!

Javiad has such beautiful cats!

Beautiful is an adjective.
Cats is a noun.

thanks zohaib for your instant reply .but if we use above sentences without exclamation mark.then, shall we use a/an or not.
Old Wednesday, February 01, 2012

zuhaib ahmed has much to be proud ofzuhaib ahmed has much to be proud ofzuhaib ahmed has much to be proud ofzuhaib ahmed has much to be proud ofzuhaib ahmed has much to be proud ofzuhaib ahmed has much to be proud ofzuhaib ahmed has much to be proud ofzuhaib ahmed has much to be proud of

There can be many uses of SUCH.

Such + Noun

Like:

I have never observed such man.
Javaid has never committed such sin.

Here such means THIS/THAT type of.

If you do not give an adjective before a noun, you can avoid using indefinite article (a/an).

1.(urdu) aisi josh dilane wali shari urdu aur punjabi me mojud nahi.
Such an enthusiastic poetry is not found in Urdu and Punjabi.
as a general rule,indefinite article is not used before an uncountable noun.But, here we use a why?

pureapak is a jewel in the roughpureapak is a jewel in the roughpureapak is a jewel in the rough

poetry is uncountable noun... it should therefore not take article "A"...
so the correct sentence should be the last one.

I have never read such great poetry.

Originally Posted by danialjavaid View Post
1.(urdu) aisi josh dilane wali shari urdu aur punjabi me mojud nahi.
Such an enthusiastic poetry is not found in Urdu and Punjabi.
as a general rule,indefinite article is not used before an uncountable noun.But, here we use a why?
Such an inspiring piece of poetry is found neither in Urdu nor in Punjabi.

this is correct translation dear..

Last edited by Shooting Star; Monday, May 07, 2012 at 01:25 AM.

Such an inspiring poetry is found neither in Urdu nor in Punjabi.

It is also correct on account of an adjective is used before a noun.

Correct me, i can wrong.

There can be many uses of SUCH.

Such + Noun

Like:

I have never observed such man.
Javaid has never committed such sin.

Here such means THIS/THAT type of.

If you do not give an adjective before a noun, you can avoid using indefinite article (a/an).
thanks purepk and zuhaib for your help

but, the above sentences will take articles as both the person and sin are countable.
are these correct then
1.I have never observed such a man.
2.Javaid has never committed such a sin.

pureapak is a jewel in the roughpureapak is a jewel in the roughpureapak is a jewel in the rough

Such + Adjective + Noun
USE

"Such" can be combined with an adjective and a noun to show extremes. This form is often used in exclamations.

Examples:
Don has such a big house! I think it's a little ridiculous.
Shelly has such beautiful eyes! I have never seen that shade of blue before.
USE with "That"

The above form can be combined with "that" to show extremes which lead to certain results. The "that" is usually optional.

Examples:
Don has such a big house that I actually got lost on the way to the bathroom.
Don has such a big house I actually got lost on the way to the bathroom.
Shelly has such beautiful eyes that she got a job as a make-up model.
Shelly has such beautiful eyes she got a job as a make-up model.
NOTE

Remember that without the noun you need to use "so."

Examples:
such beautiful eyes that
so beautiful that
Such + Judgemental Noun
USE

"Such" can also be combined with judgemental nouns for emphasis. This form is often used in exclamations.

Examples:
He is such an idiot! He says the stupidest things.
She is such a genius! We could never do this work without her.
USE with "That"

The above form can be combined with "that" to show certain results. The "that" is usually optional.

Examples:
He is such an idiot that nobody would hire him.
He is such an idiot nobody would hire him.
She is such a genius that they immediately gave her a position at the university.
She is such a genius they immediately gave her a position at the university

Such an inspiring poetry is found neither in Urdu nor in Punjabi.

It is also correct on account of an adjective is used before a noun.

Correct me, i can wrong.
Adjective can not convert a countalbe noun into uncountable and vice versa.
All it has to do is to just qualify the noun not to affect its number,case or gender.

an inspiring poetry....... poetry is uncountable so it goes wrong.
an inspiring piece of poetry .. here piece of poetry is countable so an is rightly placed.

bringing the sentence under your case of argument "Use of adjective before noun"

can we say..... such a big water ? such a small sugar... such a plenty rain.. such a brown hair.. etc !!!!!

if we can....... kindly refer us to some authentic source ..pls