04:30 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Compulsory Subjects > English (Precis & Composition) > Grammar-Section

Old Saturday, July 13, 2013

danialjavaid is on a distinguished road
Default Correct my sentences please,especially bilal bhai

1.all the burden come on me or to me.. (dont put "fall on" i know it but i want to use it with come).

2.many wrinkles have come to my face or on my face.

3.i gave a slap to his face or on his face.

4.old age is coming to me or on me.
Old Saturday, July 13, 2013

plz reply seniors or bilal bhai.. i am waiting
Old Sunday, July 14, 2013
43rd CTP (PAS)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 13

Thanked 1,551 Times in 674 Posts
Bilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to behold

Originally Posted by danialjavaid View Post
1.all the burden come on me or to me..
If things go wrong, all the burden is on me. (As you said either it takes fall or takes nothing)

2.many wrinkles have come to my face or on my face.
Many wrinkles have appeared on my face.

3.i gave a slap to his face or on his face.
I gave a slap on his face.

As a rule of thumb, either we strike against someone in an active verb sentence such as above, or it is Passive verb sentence, The verb is followed by one preposition: ON
Examples:
He had a hairbreadth escape in the accident and just got a laceration on her arm. (Example of Passive verb)

I hit him on his legs/ribs/elbow etc.

There is one exception to that rule, when striking against someone's face or its individual parts, we can use either in or on.....
Those parts that are somewhat deep means eyes, we use IN.....I gave him a punch in his eyes.

4.old age is coming to me or on me.
Old age is coming on me.

Sorry for being late dear.

P.S: there is a mistake in your subject as well, names always start with capital alphabets, so next time write Bilal not bilal
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Bilal Hassan For This Useful Post:
adeel abdullah (Sunday, July 14, 2013), isha saeed (Sunday, July 14, 2013)

Ahmedmalik is on a distinguished road

Bilal hassan how you are good in grammar please tell me what i do to make my grammar like you.
The Following User Says Thank You to Ahmedmalik For This Useful Post:
isha saeed (Sunday, July 14, 2013)

adeel abdullah is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Ahmedmalik View Post
Bilal hassan how you are good in grammar please tell me what i do to make my grammar like you.
sir, Bilal is is my english teacher on css forum. i regularly follow his posts just to get graps of some new things/tips.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to adeel abdullah For This Useful Post:
Ahmedmalik (Sunday, July 14, 2013), isha saeed (Sunday, July 14, 2013)

Shahidhailian is on a distinguished road

Brother Bilal You are Mba Finance but it seems more that You are Masters in English

Kia yaha khula tazad nahi hai ?
The Following User Says Thank You to Shahidhailian For This Useful Post:

isha saeed has a spectacular aura aboutisha saeed has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by Bilal Hassan View Post
If things go wrong, all the burden is on me. (As you said either it takes fall or takes nothing)

Many wrinkles have appeared on my face.

I gave a slap on his face.

As a rule of thumb, either we strike against someone in an active verb sentence such as above, or it is Passive verb sentence, The verb is followed by one preposition: ON
Examples:
He had a hairbreadth escape in the accident and just got a laceration on her arm. (Example of Passive verb)

I hit him on his legs/ribs/elbow etc.

There is one exception to that rule, when striking against someone's face or its individual parts, we can use either in or on.....
Those parts that are somewhat deep means eyes, we use IN.....I gave him a punch in his eyes.

Old age is coming on me.

Sorry for being late dear.

P.S: there is a mistake in your subject as well, names always start with capital alphabets, so next time write Bilal not bilal
Well done sir.
your English grammar and vocabulary kia baat hai mash ALLAH.
My humble request to you, please start a thread to help mediocre students like me and tell us the befit technique to ameliorate English vocabulary and grammar.
stay happy

Profuse thanks to BIlal Bhai and other members

let me put a few questions to all of you and especially.Ustade Mohtram BILAL BHAI,.

it is mandatory or not that we place "to" after come every time or it can be followed by any preposition suited to the situation...

i have commonly seen that it is said

1.He goes/comes to school .

but can we say that .

2.The rays of sunlight is coming on the earth or to the earth.

3.his entire criticism is coming towards me or on me... how cam we determine the appropriate preposition after it.

4.happiness came to his face or on his face.

5.success came to my life or into my life.

6..come on the table or to the table.

7.the ball came into the middle line or to the middle line or in the middle line.

plz Bilal Bhai explain it to in detail.these are very confusions roam in my mind...

reply a bit early.
The Following User Says Thank You to danialjavaid For This Useful Post:
Old Monday, July 15, 2013
43rd CTP (PAS)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 13

Thanked 1,551 Times in 674 Posts
Bilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to behold

Originally Posted by Ahmedmalik View Post
Brother as far as i am concerned, i have endeavored hard to get invincible prowess at this language, I would dedicate huge encomiums to my father who himself being illiterate, inculcated in me the zeal to learn that language and Thanks to almighty Allah whoi helped me. I have been to petty govt schools so after Allah's help this is the result of my own hard work....How you can ace that language is an ambiguous question, tell me whether you want to learn English as a language or want to do it for the sake of CSS only? Tell me so that i can help you accordingly.....
Originally Posted by adeel abdullah View Post
sir, Bilal is is my english teacher on css forum. i regularly follow his posts just to get graps of some new things/tips.
Thanks Adeel, I'm humbled. I want my students to shine like stars, so endeavour hard and make me proud of you. ....Any help you need, i'm around.
Originally Posted by Shahidhailian View Post
Brother Bilal You are Mba Finance but it seems more that You are Masters in English Kia yaha khula tazad nahi hai ?
Sir Tazad to apki baton mein hy....First thing, I'm MBA (Marketing) not finance, Second thing, MA English does not mean you are good at English language.....Still tazad to hy...wese Shahid bhai one must be multidimensional...

Originally Posted by isha saeed View Post
Well done sir.
your English grammar and vocabulary kia baat hai mash ALLAH.
My humble request to you, please start a thread to help mediocre students like me and tell us the befit technique to ameliorate English vocabulary and grammar.
stay happy
Thanks a lot Isha, Why don't you take such an initiative? I'm there to help you in every way Insha Allah.

Profuse thanks to BIlal Bhai and other members

let me put a few questions to all of you and especially.Ustade Mohtram BILAL BHAI,.

it is mandatory or not that we place "to" after come every time or it can be followed by any preposition suited to the situation...

i have commonly seen that it is said

1.He goes/comes to school .

but can we say that .
2.The rays of sunlight is coming on the earth or to the earth.
The rays of sunlight is wrong.....The rays of SUN are coming on Earth....(These are coming from above the horizon so ON will be used)
3.his entire criticism is coming towards me or on[/COLOR] me... how cam we determine the appropriate.
[COLOR="DarkRed"][B]Dear why don't you get yourself entangled in the ambiguities of Prepositions? You can get the job done very nicely without the prepositions.....You can say, "I am the target of his criticism"/ "His criticism always falls on me"
4.happiness came to his face or on his face.
He became happy....Simple...However It is "Happiness came on his face"
5.success came to my life or into my life.
I became successful...Simple....
6..come on the table or to the table.
It is a matter of context, if the person is gonna join you on the table,,,ON would be used...if you are mere calling you near the table around you, TO is appropriate....
7.the ball came into the middle line or to the middle line or in the middle line.
None of them...On the middle line...

It is not necessary that Come is always followed by TO...rather there are only few instances when it is used in such a way....It is really a matter of context, in some contexts come is followed by To but in others it is not....Consider the Phrasal verbs...come across means meeting incidently.....Come around means change your opinion and get agree with someone....etc...so it is largely a matter of context...about prepositions, there are no concrete rules in English grammar, you learn them either by experience or by trial and error.....Also try to use appropriate words by clearing the overall sense of the sentences....
The Following User Says Thank You to Bilal Hassan For This Useful Post:
isha saeed (Monday, July 15, 2013)
Old Monday, July 15, 2013

Ahmedmalik is on a distinguished road

Sir @bilal: i want to be good in english language and make also good for css. i try my damndest to tackle it i derailed because of no proper guidance.