-   CSS 2008 Exam (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-datesheets-results/previous-css-results-datesheets/css-2008-exam/)
-   -   DMS of Finally Passed candidates. (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-datesheets-results/previous-css-results-datesheets/css-2008-exam/22273-dms-finally-passed-candidates.html)

smalik Friday, March 27, 2009 08:49 PM

@ Naveed

Hey Naveed!
Can you kindly share your technique for attempting IR questions? 60 is an excellent score. Also if someone could please give some guidance about how to attempt C.LAW and Current Affairs papers.
Any tips will be really appreciated.

reformer Friday, March 27, 2009 09:18 PM

Heartiest Congratulations Lala 1447

Assalam o alaikum lala...
accept my heartiest congratulations on your enviable success. It really is a great source of inspiration for all the aspirants. Your have got excellent marks in all subject but i want to ask about Indo-Pak history. Please mention your numbers in Paper-I and Paper-II seperatly.

I am confused about your 4 months preparation plan. I cant dare to say that its not the case but it doesnt clearly depict your entire preparation. Kindly tell us that was it all you prepared about CSS 2008 or was there some background preparation, like you prepared for CSS 2007 but didnt appeared or something like that. coz it is not easy to understand somebody just preparing for 4 months with a sweet angel looking for your maximum attention (talking about our nephew) + your job in some Hospital and scoring like 144 in Indo-Pak and 60 + in current affairs, essay and composition, infact in all subjects u were brilliant. I hope you will throw light on your entire preparation.

I once again congratulate on your matchless results. May ALLAH always bless you with the best.

Naveed973 Saturday, March 28, 2009 05:12 AM

Ir

@smalik

I followed quite an unconventional route for the IR paper. I did not concentrate on the theoretical or historical aspect of IR.All the questions that i attempted were related to current international affairs .
For the objectives , all i did was to use Wikipedia for one day and solve the last 7 year papers.
I am a voracious reader and have subscribed to a lot of news channels on you tube.Besides that i regularly watched CNN,BBC and FOX for my preparation, ( 2 hours daily)reading helps out a lot too. I believe that one good newspaper with thorough reading is sufficient. I chose DAWN for its balanced editorial policy. For the questions itself , length is critical, ( i know this sounds trivial but it is vitally important) . All questions should be of minimum 8 pages in length, two quotes per question are sufficient, and do the question you know best first, it creates a good impression which can cover up any ensuing follies at your end.

Hope this helps..
Naveed

lala1447 Saturday, March 28, 2009 08:55 AM

My css preparation

Reformer I think that your background knowledge helps a lot in your preparation.I've always had a great interest in history and urdu literature.So when I started preparing for css it was easy.Secondly my speed for reading is very fast MashAllah.

smalik Saturday, March 28, 2009 01:46 PM

Thanks to Naveed

Really appreciate your very detailed reply and trust me it helps alot as I can compare where I went wrong in my attempt. Will inshAllah follow your tips. Just a final question, the average length of my answers was between 12 -14 pages and I have scored really low in each and every subject. Do you think writing lengthy answers works negatively?

Naveed973 Saturday, March 28, 2009 04:17 PM

@smalik

:thinking

Well , the question has to be lengthy without it appearing to the examiner that u are trying to con him(which u actually are).
log 5,6 inch ki margin lagate hain , headings mein bilawaja 3 , 3 lines chor detay hain and writing is unnecessarily big too.This can create a negative impression.so try to avoid these things.

finally ur question is sure to get good marks if u have a good opening.....so please concentrate on ur opening remarks and comments.

Hope that helps.

Naveed

aj khan Saturday, March 28, 2009 10:04 PM

My DMS

roll no 4596
merit no 81

Essay 49
English 53
Gen Knowledge 166
EDS 84
CA 40
Pak Aff 42
Islamiat 50

Public Administration 68
Journalism 80
Zoology 121
Zoology I 61
Zoology II 60
Indo Pak 93
Indo Pak I 44
Indo Pak II 49

Written 680
Viva 158
Total 838

razdar_hai Saturday, March 28, 2009 10:16 PM

@ Smalik

well length of answer is not everything what matters is the material u write and the way u present it so focus on material not on length...best of luck

Red.Hawk Saturday, March 28, 2009 10:39 PM

[QUOTE=aj khan]roll no 4596
merit no 81

Essay 49
English 53
Gen Knowledge 166
EDS 84
CA 40
Pak Aff 42
Islamiat 50

Public Administration 68
Journalism 80
Zoology 121
Zoology I 61
Zoology II 60
Indo Pak 93
Indo Pak I 44
Indo Pak II 49

Written 680
Viva 158
Total 838[/QUOTE]

Please share your study material and paper attemption techniques for Journalism paper...waiting for a helping response

anwaartheravian Saturday, March 28, 2009 11:05 PM

Excellent Geogrophy Marks

[QUOTE=Dr.Gadget]Well , my DMS

English Essay : 56
English Composition : 47
EDS : 73
Current Affairs : 40
Pakistan Affair : 44
Islamiat : 65

British History A : 64
British History B : 56

Sociology : 46
International Relations : 57

Geography A : 80
Geography B : 77

Total in written : 705
Interview : 143 ( It kinda went little off color, but thts ok)

Total : 848
Position overall : 57[/QUOTE]

Plz share your preperation tips for Geography, esp the books from which you prepared.

04:21 PM (GMT +5)