12:08 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Datesheets and Results > Previous CSS Results and Datesheets > CSS 2010 Exam

Old Monday, February 15, 2010

Hunain is on a distinguished road
Default Question regarding Hand Writing.

Dear fellows, I wanted to ask a few questions regarding hand-writing in the exam.

1) If writing is small, less space is taken and hence forth, less pages are used, does that have a negative impact on the examiner? The number of pages i.e.

2) If the answer to the above question is yes, then should we practice to write in such as manner as to fill up more space?

3) How much does spacing between the lines matter?

4) Sometimes a line or two get crooked, is that excusable? or does that count negatively?

5) Most importantly, what is the level of flexibility shown in the hand-writing style? I am sure some people do not have excellent writing style, in superficial terms, can we get away with that?

Another question I wanted to ask was regarding Headings and Sub-headings, should we number the headings or just put a bullet point before every heading and sub-heading respectively?

Answers would be greatly appreciated.

zash will become famous soon enough
Default I think writing has not so much impact

Dear Hunain

Although writing has some impact................but not so much. As far as my experience is concerned, it matters a little.
38th CTP (CTG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit  579

fidamah will become famous soon enough

1) If writing is small, less space is taken and hence forth, less pages are used, does that have a negative impact on the examiner? The number of pages i.e.

No

2) If the answer to the above question is yes, then should we practice to write in such as manner as to fill up more space?
NA

Don't target number of pages. Target the number of maximum ideas and authentic points.
4) Sometimes a line or two get crooked, is that excusable? or does that count negatively?
Try to avoid it.
5) Most importantly, what is the level of flexibility shown in the hand-writing style? I am sure some people do not have excellent writing style, in superficial terms, can we get away with that?
Legibile hand writting is ok. Don't write like the prescription of doctors but at the same time examiner doesn't expect from you a caligraphic style.
Another question I wanted to ask was regarding Headings and Sub-headings, should we number the headings or just put a bullet point before every heading and sub-heading respectively?
Headings and sub headings are very useful. It depends upon your ease how do you feel it. Numbering or bullet point or arrow style. No hard and fast rule for this. Generally, numbering is easy for the reader to recap and assign you marks with little effort.

Old Tuesday, February 16, 2010
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: AppreciationDiligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 2,264 Times in 1,100 Posts
Muhammad T S Awan has a brilliant futureMuhammad T S Awan has a brilliant futureMuhammad T S Awan has a brilliant futureMuhammad T S Awan has a brilliant futureMuhammad T S Awan has a brilliant futureMuhammad T S Awan has a brilliant futureMuhammad T S Awan has a brilliant futureMuhammad T S Awan has a brilliant futureMuhammad T S Awan has a brilliant futureMuhammad T S Awan has a brilliant futureMuhammad T S Awan has a brilliant future

Hunain hope you are doing good and your preparation is fine... Well my view/comments on your quaries are as under;

1) If writing is small, less space is taken and hence forth, less pages are used, does that have a negative impact on the examiner? The number of pages.

Number of pages does'nt matter but material matters a lot. You must not write tooo small or too large, you may like to have medium pace handwritting.

You need to practice to write in ligible manner so that the examiner can read easily. If examiner is facilitated, he will be happy and he may give you one extra mark per question, which means at least five marks per paper and for 12 papers you may have 50 to 60 extra marks..

That will be a blank paper sheet without lines and you may adjust spacing so that both above and down lines do not mix/jumble up and the examiner can read it easily. there is no hard and fast rule for line spacing, neither you can have a measuring ruler to measure the spacing

If such a thing happens once or twice in whole paper thn its not a big issue but in case you are having following this practice thn it may be a problem for you. You must try to facilitate the examiner so that he can read between the lines easily and if he gets happy by your expression thn he may give you good marks...

yes you can get away with it provided examiner can read your examiner. if it becomes difficuilt for him to read thn definitely he wont be giving you marks.

In my thinking putting a bullet point will be good enough instead of putting numbers.
Fading Glimpse (Tuesday, February 16, 2010), floydian (Tuesday, February 16, 2010)

Hunain is on a distinguished road

Thanks alot fellow members

@Tabassum bhai - Jee, tayari is okay, Allah ka fazal, I have read everything, but seems like I remember nothing, haha...

I am practicing writing these days, to get in the flow. Please pray.

If any other members want to add their input, please do so, thank you everyone.
Muhammad T S Awan (Tuesday, February 16, 2010)

Ayesha Mahmood will become famous soon enoughAyesha Mahmood will become famous soon enough

The senior members have guided u and also all the other members very well. I would like to add that if ur handwriting is small i.e u write small letters then don't try to make it the large one. Instead try to increase space between the two words so that it can b read without any difficulty.

39th CTP (PSP)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2010 - Merit 222

floydian is a name known to allfloydian is a name known to allfloydian is a name known to allfloydian is a name known to allfloydian is a name known to allfloydian is a name known to all

I was wondering if I could take along a blank page (horizontally lined) and use it in papers. Is that allowed ?

regards,
floydian
PMS - S&GAD
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: Css 2010 - Roll no 5865PMS / PCS Award: Serving PMS / PCS (BS 17) officers are eligible only. - Issue reason: 2011 - Merit No. 43

rishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nice

Originally Posted by floydian View Post
I was wondering if I could take along a blank page (horizontally lined) and use it in papers. Is that allowed ?

regards,
floydian
hahaha no never dear as far as i know
39th CTP (PSP)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2010 - Merit 222

floydian is a name known to allfloydian is a name known to allfloydian is a name known to allfloydian is a name known to allfloydian is a name known to allfloydian is a name known to all

Originally Posted by rishzzz View Post
hahaha no never dear as far as i know
But try karnay mai kya harj hai ? what do you say ?
38th CTP (PAAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit 187

salman sial is on a distinguished road

No dear u cnt use tht type of pages.as far as hand writing is considered all these que are of secondary importance,the focus shud b on the clearity of ideas,quality content written in expressive manner hvng gööd command on language in which u r opting the paper.okz.tc.
You can kill a man,but not an idea".

handwriting