06:04 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group V > Gender Studies

Old Sunday, October 18, 2015
45th CTP (FSP)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2016 - Merit 39

hazelnut is on a distinguished road
Default Social construction of gender

Aoa. can anyone please guide me about a source for the topic to me it seems so vast i am realy confused.. if anyone have an idea please share
Old Sunday, October 18, 2015
45th CTP (IRS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2016 - Merit 135

Meme is on a distinguished road

Hey,
The following may be of help to you:
1) google social construction of gender stanford encyclopedia of philosophy: article name would be 'feminist perspectives on sex and gender.'
A second article I'd recommend would be an introduction to gender chapter 1 from the book language and Gender 2nd edition Cambridge Polity Press. It is available online just google search an introduction to gender it'll be the first pdf article in your results.
It provides an in depth discourse on gender socialization.
I'd advise you to read up on gender performativity i.e Judith butler's theory also for that the sage handbook on key gender terms downloadable from bookzz might suffice but it won't be an in depth study, you'll have to look up on it some more.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Meme For This Useful Post:
Abdul Mateen Sindhu (Friday, May 27, 2016), Bookaholic (Sunday, March 06, 2016), hazelnut (Monday, October 19, 2015), Serah (Saturday, October 07, 2017)
Old Monday, October 19, 2015
45th CTP (FSP)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2016 - Merit 39

hey that helped me a lot thank you can you suggest the sources for gender and development please
45th CTP (IRS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2016 - Merit 135

Hey,

You're welcome. For Gender and Development I'd suggest that you get your hands on Naila Kabeer's book, 'Reversed realities,' and read the first 3 chapters, especially the first 2. If you can't find it in hard copy form then it is available on google books, albeit some pages are not shown. Still, it is pretty comprehensive. Or, you could read Caroline Moser's book on Gender and Development, easily available online. It is very detailed and if you do read it I'd suggest you read it selectively since it has a lot of economics jargon.

Also, read the USAID report on the "women development sector, assessing strengths and gaps after 18th amendment Citizens' Commission for Human development" and reports related to development programs in Pakistan focusing on women.

For Gender and Globalization the article 'Gender and Globalization: Female Labor and Women’s Mobilization,' by Valentine M. Moghadam is useful. Google Gender and globalization it should be the 3rd entry in your search results for scholarly articles on gender and globalization.

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Meme For This Useful Post:
Abdul Mateen Sindhu (Friday, May 27, 2016), Bookaholic (Sunday, March 06, 2016), hazelnut (Monday, October 19, 2015), Serah (Saturday, October 07, 2017)
45th CTP (FSP)

will the sources you suggested will cover the colonial and capatalist perspective of gender?
because i could find more or less of other topics but this topic is like non existent
JazakAllah n seriously how do you know so much
Old Tuesday, October 20, 2015
45th CTP (IRS)

Hey,

I forgot about the colonial and capitalist perspectives on gender thank you for pointing it out. For this topic I couldn't find a lot of in depth material; however, I think Chapter 4 of Caroline Moser's book might cover it.

Alternatively, check out 'Feminist Perspectives on Globalization,' in the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. It has a section devoted to post colonial and third world feminisms, transnational feminism which I think is related to capitalist perspectives of Gender. If anybody else has any suggestions, do tell.

As per your last question, I google a lot

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Meme For This Useful Post:
Abdul Mateen Sindhu (Friday, May 27, 2016), hazelnut (Tuesday, October 20, 2015)
Old Tuesday, October 20, 2015

resilient is on a distinguished road

Please help to search relevant material on Gender analysis of development theories
Old Wednesday, October 21, 2015
45th CTP (IRS)

Originally Posted by resilient View Post
Please help to search relevant material on Gender analysis of development theories
Hey,
For an analysis of development theories if you read WID, GAD approaches they do talk about the gendered division of labor, gendered distribution of resources and social reproduction and link them to colonial,pre colonial mindsets of policy makers and the bias in development theories.
The WID approach criticized the exclusion of women in the development processes, for example how the modernization theory reinforced the gendered division of public and private, i.e. that women were suited to the private house hold sphere and men were suited to work.

I'd suggest the following article for a good grasp on the impact of global capitalism in promoting the subordination of women: 'Nimble Fingers Make Cheap Workers': An Analysis of Women's Employment in Third World Export Manufacturing by Diane Elson and Ruth Pearson. It is available online.

I think(I may be wrong) that the gender analysis of development theories (dependency theory, world systems theory, modernization theory) are linked to WID, GAD critiques of development policies that were/ are employed. The gender analysis of these theories has to do with analyzing how they ignore the role of women as productive labor and don't take their reproductive labor into account (the fact that they do domestic labor/ household work).

If anybody has a good article that focuses on analyzing development theories from a gender perspective please provide some information. I have tried my best to answer your question, though I may not be entirely correct.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Meme For This Useful Post:
Abdul Mateen Sindhu (Friday, May 27, 2016), Bookaholic (Sunday, March 06, 2016)
Old Thursday, December 15, 2016

muneebhassan is on a distinguished road

Asslam-o-Alaikum. Kindly if you(hazelnut,meme) feel convenient than i have few questions to ask:
1: Is JWT by Khalid Nawaz G.S book is suitable for Preparation
2: Because we have to attempt four question in GS,can we skip some due to time shortage
3: Some Questions like Status of women in Pak in different sector Like health,either we have to give the detail overview with extensive use of medical terms or its enough, if we mention some major endemic,pak ranking in health sector some social political constraints,suggestion to improve and conclude in General question like current affair.
4:And how much data one should collect for satisfying ones answer and what should be the answer length.
5 Finally how much time you spent in preparation
JazakAllah! Waiting for your kind and quick response.
Old Friday, December 16, 2016
45th CTP (IRS)

Originally Posted by muneebhassan View Post
Asslam-o-Alaikum. Kindly if you(hazelnut,meme) feel convenient than i have few questions to ask:
1: Is JWT by Khalid Nawaz G.S book is suitable for Preparation
2: Because we have to attempt four question in GS,can we skip some due to time shortage
3: Some Questions like Status of women in Pak in different sector Like health,either we have to give the detail overview with extensive use of medical terms or its enough, if we mention some major endemic,pak ranking in health sector some social political constraints,suggestion to improve and conclude in General question like current affair.
4:And how much data one should collect for satisfying ones answer and what should be the answer length.
5 Finally how much time you spent in preparation
JazakAllah! Waiting for your kind and quick response.
Hello,

The book I recommend on the forum extensively is the Sociology of gender by Mary Holmes available on google books and bookzz.org. I did look at the JWT book initially and it is not bad, covers everything but it does not build your foundation in this subject, I think it would be better for revision.

I don't think you should skip questions, practice writing them and doing 4/6 for a good score.

No need to give extensive details, give a good well rounded answer which includes what they need if it asks for the status of women in the health sector, focus on how many women are doctors, do they get access to health services stuff like that. Concluding like the current affairs questions is a good approach, go for it,

As far as data you should know things like how many seats are reserved for women in parliament, gender quota in Pakistan, origins of the women's movement in Pakistan, famous women leaders, famous authors in gender studies, look at the objectives in CE 2016 you'll understand the type of facts to be memorized.

Answer length depends on quality and if you can justify it can range from 4 pages to 6 pages, don't restrict yourself on length

If you have a sociology or psychology background gender will take less time but if you have never studied humanities before and this is a new subject give it at least 3-4 weeks.

Hope this helps.