08:59 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group VII > Punjabi

Old Wednesday, December 14, 2011

roijen has a spectacular aura aboutroijen has a spectacular aura about
Default How many asha'rs need to be learnt by heart?

are the detail of punjabi works and those ashars given in Soch Vichar, NZ enuff? or we need to consult the original works of poets also. i shall be glad if, mr Usman Khalid, mr Tassawur, and mr Nauman ahmed reply. your help is needed and honoured.

approximately how many pages need to be written to get such an amazing score.
Old Wednesday, December 14, 2011

and inform this as well, attempting a question on short notes is advisable or not, as i have heard we do not get as much marks in attempting short questions as one whole questions. it goes some examiners deduct 02 marks on an attempt come what may even for the best answer so the one 20 marks question gets 18 max, and short notes on 8+8=16 max? is this so. do examiners really have bias?
Old Thursday, December 15, 2011
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 22Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: 2012

Thanked 2,147 Times in 983 Posts
usman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant future

Originally Posted by roijen View Post
are the detail of punjabi works and those ashars given in Soch Vichar, NZ enuff? or we need to consult the original works of poets also. i shall be glad if, mr Usman Khalid, mr Tassawur, and mr Nauman ahmed reply. your help is needed and honoured.

approximately how many pages need to be written to get such an amazing score.
I don’t think you need to consult original works of the poets. The ashars given in Soch Vichar and Nawain Zaviay should be sufficient. Quanitity of ashars depends upon the nature of work of the poet. Some poets like Sharif Kanjahi have long nazams consisting of many verses as incase of ‘jangan mur chirian k chirian, quoman mur bhirian k bhirian...’ and some have short nazams consisting of only two verses like munir Niazi as in case of ‘ghar day makan, apnay e dar tu juray hoay nain ik dujay day naal’.

I think one should memorize ashars from atleast 6,7 nazams/ghazals/ashars of these poets and write these under separate headings. If one can memorize more than this, it will be additive advantage. I wrote 12-15 ashars in each question.

and inform this as well, attempting a question on short notes is advisable or not, as i have heard we do not get as much marks in attempting short questions as one whole questions. it goes some examiners deduct 02 marks on an attempt come what may even for the best answer so the one 20 marks question gets 18 max, and short notes on 8+8=16 max? is this so. do examiners really have bias?
This is not ture. You may off course attempt a short question without any loss of marks/credit.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to usman khalid For This Useful Post:
Raja Nadir Naeem (Saturday, June 23, 2012), roijen (Thursday, December 15, 2011)
40th CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 758

Saladin will become famous soon enough
Default @usman khalid

Dear Usman bhai Assalam u alaikum..
I was trying to catch u on the forum. Now let me tell you who I am. Do you remember that we had our compulsories at govt. girls college shahra-e-liaquat. We used to go for zuhar prayers and tea together during the break. Now you recognize me? well I am really looking forward to meet you. And congrats that you have qualified as well. I need some guidance regarding interview

The Lojic is on a distinguished road

@ usman bhai ...
Poetry Section:
Baba Farid, Bulleh Shah, Sultan Baho, Shah Hussain, Khwaja Ghulam Farid
Taranjun (Ahmad Rahi), Jigraatay (Shareef Kanjahi), Kachay Gharay (Baki Siddiqui)

Prose Section:
Sachi Sarkar (Abdul Hakim Samar)
Hath (Novel) (Dr. Muhammad Bakir)
Tahli day thlay (Drama) (Ashfaque Ahmad)
Khutbat e Iqbal
Moaz e Nosha

Lok Adab & Lok Dastaan
Lok geet; Dhola, Mahia
Heer Ranjha, Sassi Punnu
-------------------------------------
usman bhai, as per your advice i m going to preprae these topics as i have short time . i have punjabi of jahangir cram series by qamar husnain qadri.. it should be enough?? and punjabi ashaar yad krnay ki adat nai mujhe.. minimum kitne yad karoon aur isi book se e??

Thank you, dear Mr Usman. It helps.

Stay blessed.
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 22Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: 2012

usman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant future

Originally Posted by The Lojic View Post
@ usman bhai ...
Poetry Section:
Baba Farid, Bulleh Shah, Sultan Baho, Shah Hussain, Khwaja Ghulam Farid
Taranjun (Ahmad Rahi), Jigraatay (Shareef Kanjahi), Kachay Gharay (Baki Siddiqui)

Prose Section:
Sachi Sarkar (Abdul Hakim Samar)
Hath (Novel) (Dr. Muhammad Bakir)
Tahli day thlay (Drama) (Ashfaque Ahmad)
Khutbat e Iqbal
Moaz e Nosha

Lok Adab & Lok Dastaan
Lok geet; Dhola, Mahia
Heer Ranjha, Sassi Punnu
-------------------------------------
usman bhai, as per your advice i m going to preprae these topics as i have short time . i have punjabi of jahangir cram series by qamar husnain qadri.. it should be enough?? and punjabi ashaar yad krnay ki adat nai mujhe.. minimum kitne yad karoon aur isi book se e??
You may also include Hafeez Taaib (naatia shairi), daastaan of Mirza Sahiban. But if you don't have time you may skip the daastaans of Sassi Punnu, Heer Ranjha and Mirza Sahiban. However, its better to just go through the stories (daastaans) atleast once. Yes, it should be enough for attempting the paper.

Memorize atleast 5,6 ashars for reasonable score. However, if you don't memorize this no. of ashars you may even then get 60+ easily but more ashars may definitely boost your score to 80+.
The Following User Says Thank You to usman khalid For This Useful Post:
roijen (Thursday, December 15, 2011)

1, sir punjabi has these main lehja 1.majhi 2.potohari 3. siraiki etc
the write in NZ has used 1st one. can others be included in our attempt.

2. there are urdu words rampant in punjabi now, i think to write pure punjabi is not possible. are such variations acceptable in the paper.
e.g paper setter in 2011 (uploaded by you) has himself used different expressions in Q.3 and q.6 for roshni payo. agr punjabi word na ata ho to urdu word chal sakta hai?

1, sir punjabi has these main lehja 1.majhi 2.potohari 3. siraiki etc
the write in NZ has used 1st one. can others be included in our attempt.

2. there are urdu words rampant in punjabi now, i think to write pure punjabi is not possible. are such variations acceptable in the paper.
e.g paper setter in 2011 (uploaded by you) has himself used different expressions in Q.3 and q.6 for roshni payo. agr punjabi word na ata ho to urdu word chal sakta hai?

aur teesri cheez aik 20 marks k sawal ki kia length honi chahiye ap k nazdeek.
1) Now a days, most writers use free-punjabi style like they use normal/day to day punjabi we speak. You may definitely use the lehja you are most comfortable with. Its better to attempt paper in the same style/lehja. However, you may use other lehjas while discussing other poets whose works are in other lehjas like baki siddiqui who used pothohari lehja. Obviously, ashars of poets are to be written in the original lehja so while writing ashars you can't change. While giving your opinion you may use lehja which is familiar to you.

2) Yes, many candidates opt punjabi with no previous background of Punjabi. They often use urdu words. Also urdu and punjabi have many common words so basically these urdu words are also punjabi words and as I said earlier now a days most authors/writers don't use pure punjabi words in their writings to facilitate common reader. Therefore, you may use urdu words in the paper. However, if you know some pujabi word, do write it in the paper to give a differnt flavour and touch to your paper.

3) It depends upon how much material do you have on a particular question and time at your hand. On average, length of question may vary from 4 to 8 pages. I wrote 5-6 pages for most of the questions. (1 page means 1/4th of a sheet and sheet consists of 4 pages)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to usman khalid For This Useful Post:
roijen (Thursday, December 15, 2011), usaph (Tuesday, April 10, 2012)

so it is all punjabi and its all acceptable.