03:58 PM (GMT +5)

Old Sunday, May 29, 2011

Nascent Soul is on a distinguished road
Default Asma Jahngir's Stance on Army - Demand for Accountability

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZlbSy...embedded#at=90

Let us discuss Asma Jahangir's views on the role of Pakistan's Army. She has used very bitter and even abusive words against the army but in my view, this again provides us with a prospective to rethink. Patriotism is not just blind faith and acceptance of policies and status-quo roles. Can we rebuild the roles and responsibilities of our institutions or it is just a propaganda against our institutions planned by India, Israel or America? Have your say?

http://www.youtube.com/v/ZlbSyaCH3C8

Last edited by Last Island; Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 04:09 PM. Reason: code fixed
The Following User Says Thank You to Nascent Soul For This Useful Post:
Malmeena Khan (Monday, May 30, 2011)
Old Sunday, May 29, 2011
PHILOSOPHER

Stunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really nice

I haven't seen the video yet but judging from the subject of your post, if she's asking about accountability of Army .. I think yes, it should be done .. Nothing should be left unaccountable ..

I don't see any propaganda in it .. Even if there is, accountability is a healthy process and should be done .. We should respect our army .. Lekin itna bhi moqaddas nahin banaa dena chahiye unhain k koi pooch gach hi na ho un se aur wo marzi kartay phirain .. We should also find facts about Kargil and other issues .. Because if we don't, these things will keep on happening ..

Regards ..
Old Sunday, May 29, 2011
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2010 - Merit 25Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,898 Times in 694 Posts
Hamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to all

This woman has more courage to come out with the blunt truth than many men..I salute u Asma Jehangeer
imbindas (Sunday, May 29, 2011), Malmeena Khan (Monday, May 30, 2011), Tassawur (Sunday, May 29, 2011)
Old Sunday, May 29, 2011

Sociologist PU is a name known to allSociologist PU is a name known to allSociologist PU is a name known to allSociologist PU is a name known to allSociologist PU is a name known to allSociologist PU is a name known to all

The time has come in our history when many people are changing their views about the army and its role in national affairs.
Old Sunday, May 29, 2011
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2010 - Merit 25Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason:

Hamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to all

Originally Posted by Sociologist PU View Post
The time has come in our history when many people are changing their views about the army and its role in national affairs.
Sir dont u think it is an auspicious time..and one that is pleasantly inevitable now?
Stunner (Sunday, May 29, 2011)
Old Sunday, May 29, 2011

Thanked 1,122 Times in 674 Posts
mhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud of

Originally Posted by Nascent Soul View Post
it is just a propaganda against our institutions planned by India, Israel or America? Have your say?
How can it be that every prominent person of pure Pakistani origin is playing tool in Indian, Israeli or American propagenda machine??? I think those who call current criticism on institutions a foreign propaganda are themselves doing local propaganda , those institutions have prooved they deserve every bit of criticism and accountability and do not deserve sacred status they enjoyed in the past.
Old Sunday, May 29, 2011

polaris will become famous soon enoughpolaris will become famous soon enough

wow what a brave lady!
Hats off
The Following User Says Thank You to polaris For This Useful Post:
Hamza Salick (Sunday, May 29, 2011)
Old Sunday, May 29, 2011

Originally Posted by mhmmdkashif View Post
How can it be that every prominent person of pure Pakistani origin is playing tool in Indian, Israeli or American propagenda machine??? I think those who call current criticism on institutions a foreign propaganda are themselves doing local propaganda , those institutions have prooved they deserve every bit of criticism and accountability and do not deserve sacred status they enjoyed in the past.
Yes.This is just an effort to send us back to that 'deep slumber' we have been so engrossed in..fortunately there are people now who know these shameless tactics and are too wise to be influenced by them...

I think we should name this phenomenon of putting all the blame onto foreign hand and calling such honest people 'ghadaar'...U think the name 'Punjab textbook board Phenomenon' (PTBP) would be appropriate??

Last edited by Rixwan; Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 05:22 PM. Reason: Merged
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Hamza Salick For This Useful Post:
Malmeena Khan (Monday, May 30, 2011), mhmmdkashif (Sunday, May 29, 2011), Stunner (Sunday, May 29, 2011)
Old Sunday, May 29, 2011
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: Css 2010 - Roll no 5722

Kamran is a name known to allKamran is a name known to allKamran is a name known to allKamran is a name known to allKamran is a name known to allKamran is a name known to all

Originally Posted by polaris View Post
wow what a brave lady!
Hats off
Good thing is Mian Nawaz Shareef is not ready to give any leeway to Armed Forces.This time vibrant media,organised civil society coupled with PML(N) would push Armed Forces to play their ONLY role (to defend the country) InshAllah.
Old Sunday, May 29, 2011
PHILOSOPHER

Stunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really nice

Ok .. Now as i have watched the video, somethings need to be addressed here ..

First: There is no doubt about accountability, it should be done ..

She refers to 'corner plots' and blah blah .. I think paying your army good or exceptionally well isn't harmful .. It rather means that they won't be lured by charm of money offered from the outside .. So what we can do is to reform and pay them well enough in monetary terms and all that should be open ..

She refers to Nawaz Sharif .. He was a victim of a coo initiated by a General .. But what about praising an earlier General (Zia ul Haq ) and calling him mard e mujahid .. ? Who breached this very constitution which Musharraf also did ..

Ho ye raha hai k sab apnay apnay puranay ghubaar nikal rahay hain .. Like this lady mentions her father put in jail by an army official ..

I think we should all put our personal differences and grudges aside and move towards a 'Shifaf Ehtesaab' process ..

But having said that .. Phir to ye politicians bhi zad mein aa jaayen ge .. No one is free from corruption here ..

I think all this is gonna continue like this .. Accountability done by politicians and later whenever the army gets an upper-hand another politician will be hanged .. Because, sab aik jaisay hain ..

Allah reham karay bass hamaray haal per ..