Thursday, May 09, 2024
05:47 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Jobs & Scholarships > Scholarships

Old Monday, July 16, 2012

Simba is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by NOUMAN View Post
@simba
jee m studying in china,experience is so far so gud......start may thora language ka barrier tha but by the time passes one can over come dat....actually now its been like one year here almost and i am falling in love with china....but start may her nai jaga pay problem huta hai....that was a generally speaking overview,if you have a particular question you can ask please......
Thank you so much brother.

Aap kiss city and university mein ho?

I was informed through email that CSC has placed me at DUFE in Dalian city for PhD Marketing. Whatever I have searched, I found out that DUFE (full form Dongbei university of finance and economics) is ranked among top 5 business schools in China. My mode of education would be English instead of Chinese...

Do you think its a good offer.. or Should I try for some other country ... People in Pakistan have common perception that China offers low quality, short lived products.. hence the quality of education might also be questionable..

Old Tuesday, July 17, 2012

lailajafri is on a distinguished road

The IPC person told me that they will pay 500$ to PhD scholar and 300$ to master student along with the scholarship amount given by the Chinese Government. But presently they do not have funds for that.

Last year, they signed the bonds on the same conditions. have not you singed that bond?
what is your medium of education there?
How much amount China govt is paying you? Is it sufficient?
Can we work there also or is it not allowed?

Please help me in this regard. As these things are important to make decision regrading accepting scholarship and going to China.

NOUMAN is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by lailajafri View Post
The IPC person told me that they will pay 500$ to PhD scholar and 300$ to master student along with the scholarship amount given by the Chinese Government. But presently they do not have funds for that.

Last year, they signed the bonds on the same conditions. have not you singed that bond?
what is your medium of education there?
How much amount China govt is paying you? Is it sufficient?
Can we work there also or is it not allowed?

Please help me in this regard. As these things are important to make decision regrading accepting scholarship and going to China.
@laila Jafri I hope these questions are for me...
1-Yes i had signed that bond but still no money
2-English
3-I am in masters so CSC is giving me 1700 RMB and believe me its more then enough.I am living in one of the expensive city i.e Beijing but come on that depends on how you manage.
4-You can find some jobs like teaching kids English etc but a professional job you cannot do on student visa.Ok let me put this more frankly if i spend my scholarship with full ash and khula hath type even then at the end of the month i can save money.So money is enough if you are alone.

For me coming to china was like i dint have anyother choice at that time......so everyone has his or her own decision criteria.Which university they gave you admission in??what is your major??and what else choice you have except this schlaorship???

Originally Posted by Simba View Post
Thank you so much brother.

Aap kiss city and university mein ho?

I was informed through email that CSC has placed me at DUFE in Dalian city for PhD Marketing. Whatever I have searched, I found out that DUFE (full form Dongbei university of finance and economics) is ranked among top 5 business schools in China. My mode of education would be English instead of Chinese...

Do you think its a good offer.. or Should I try for some other country ... People in Pakistan have common perception that China offers low quality, short lived products.. hence the quality of education might also be questionable..

@Simba
1-I am in beijing
2-When i was coming here i heard the same from people but for me it doesnt matter because people are always there to criticize.Besides that i dint have any choice at that time but to avail this opportunity and believe me so far i have no regrets.
3-As far as quality of education is concerened yar i can say that after spending almost 1 year here my conclusion is Pak is 1000 years back.like i dint even know how to start a research and yahan k graduates yea sab school level say seekh k atay hen......
besides that i will not potray a glorious picture because everyone has his own experience and the way through which he sees the things.i will suggest you to think that what other option you have besides this?jobs hen nahi in pak,,schlorship bhi luck say milta hai....so think what you have else with you......
and no need to thanx i have experienced the same when i was coming so feel free to ask anysort of questions.

Last edited by Amna; Tuesday, July 17, 2012 at 12:49 PM. Reason: merged/chain posts

Default @ nouman

Thanks a lot.
Yes the questions were from you.
thanks you answered these.

Presently I do not know whether I have this scholarship or not. I will only be in a position to share the university name and other options in hand when the result will be declared.

I will definitely seek your opinion.
My area is Mass communication. I selected Peking University. Do you think is it a good choice?

Simba is on a distinguished road

@ Noman

You are very right brother. I just completed my MBA, and there are a few jobs opportunities, and even those demand a solid recommendation.

There are few concerns, I would like your input on them.

* My teachers etc suggested me to go for PhD in a well renowned institute, but I didn't get admission in a well renowned university in China, though it is said to be among top 5 business schools. Rest HEC scholarships are so unpredictable. People selected in last years batch are still not informed about their placement. Other scholarships to countries like Turkey, doesn't cover accommodation expenses, which implies that one has to be dependent on family.
So it means that to do PhD on a scholarship, China is only reasonable option available even if university given is not top notch. Humm??

* Even If I complete my PhD from China, what are the job prospects in Pakistan. As common perception in Pakistan is that China offers inferior products. So our chances to find jobs in institutes like LUMS, NUST, IBA, QAU etc would be minimal. Humm?

Baaqi questions baad mein

Default @NOUMAN, Simba and others

I also wish to be part of some prestigious institution after doing PhD.
Will China's PhD contribute in this regard?

Thanks a lot.
Yes the questions were from you.
thanks you answered these.

Presently I do not know whether I have this scholarship or not. I will only be in a position to share the university name and other options in hand when the result will be declared.

I will definitely seek your opinion.
My area is Mass communication. I selected Peking University. Do you think is it a good choice?
oh beijing university.....i wish ap ka admission hu jay yahan and ap aa k khud experience karain k what actually is BU...mam log tarastay hen people all around the world are studying there.i have seen girls and guys from England,russia,denmark,finland u name it....BU ka merit buht high huta hai Allah karay ap ka admission hu jay.Indeed it is a good choice.
Baki mam rizk yani k job us ki gaurentee kaun day sakta hai wo tu Allah k zimmay hai all we can do is struggle......one thing i am sure the exposure which you will have in BU will teach you alot in your life.....baki i said it before eveyone has his own criteria.i had a professional degree dint get a job...a whole year i was struggling to get a job but pakistan may moun nahi lagaya kisi nay so i had to come here.....mass communication ka kia scope hai i have no idea you know better.....ap choices daikhain apni k ap k pass kia hai and then make a decision.....

Default @nouman

Thanks A lot.
Are you in Peking University?

Originally Posted by Simba View Post
@ Noman

You are very right brother. I just completed my MBA, and there are a few jobs opportunities, and even those demand a solid recommendation.

There are few concerns, I would like your input on them.

* My teachers etc suggested me to go for PhD in a well renowned institute, but I didn't get admission in a well renowned university in China, though it is said to be among top 5 business schools. Rest HEC scholarships are so unpredictable. People selected in last years batch are still not informed about their placement. Other scholarships to countries like Turkey, doesn't cover accommodation expenses, which implies that one has to be dependent on family.
So it means that to do PhD on a scholarship, China is only reasonable option available even if university given is not top notch. Humm??

* Even If I complete my PhD from China, what are the job prospects in Pakistan. As common perception in Pakistan is that China offers inferior products. So our chances to find jobs in institutes like LUMS, NUST, IBA, QAU etc would be minimal. Humm?

Baaqi questions baad mein
lol the first question?you answered it yourself if you have a better option go for it and if not then instead of searching go to China you can search sitting there too....
regarding your second question i dont know how to answer because i am not a long term planning like jub time aya ga daikha jay ga sort of a creature......i am myself not sure that what i am gonna do when back to pakistan but i am not tensed because ab bhi tu kha hee raha hoon agay bhi allah malik hai.......
The Following User Says Thank You to NOUMAN For This Useful Post:
Simba (Wednesday, July 18, 2012)

Thanks A lot.
Are you in Peking University?
no i am not but i wish if i il get a chance i il go for PHd from there.