Tuesday, April 30, 2024
08:43 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Off Topic Section > Degree Programs and Courses

Old Tuesday, July 31, 2012
44th CTP (PAAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2015 - Merit 160Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason: Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,161 Times in 660 Posts
courageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to behold

Originally Posted by Afshan Riaz View Post
Hi
i want to apply for m.phil english in numl..kindly help me out whthr to choose eng lit or eng ling....n wht type of questions r askd in ling n lit tests...
shall be thankful to u
This totally depends on your aptitude. If you are interested in Literature than you should go for it and if you find Linguistics interesting then you should apply for Linguistics. The difference is also of so-called 'Scope' of both degrees. Some say Linguistics has more scope than Literature. But what I have seen both are of equal importance as the prime concern and focus of both degrees is to join the Lecturer-ship/Professorship. More or less doing MPhil/PhD in Pakistan means you are paving way to be a part of University Faculty. Research trends in Pakistan are well known to all. So, basically after doing MPhil/PhD there are seldom any scholars who seem interested in doing True Research in their respective fields. It is pertinent to mention that MPhil is essentially a Research-Oriented degree, however, recently NUML has included too much stuff in course work. Nonetheless, you have to frame your mind with a researcher's perspective. It would be a totally different experience from Masters, I hope.

If you go through the previous posts of this thread you will get the answer to second part of your question i.e. Type of questions asked for Linguistics and Literature.

Hope this would help.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to courageneverdies For This Useful Post:
faaizaa (Thursday, August 29, 2013), madiha alvi (Thursday, July 04, 2013)
Old Saturday, August 04, 2012

Afshan Riaz is on a distinguished road

Thanks a lot for guiding me....I have applied for english literature as i am interested in that and have a research experience of literature....wont go for linguistics just due to scope cox one cant do research in such a field which does not attract his/her interest.
Regarding literature can u guide me what eras and topics should be covrd firstly as i havent seen this que answer in ur posts...
kindly help me out
thanks again
God bless u
The Following User Says Thank You to Afshan Riaz For This Useful Post:
faaizaa (Thursday, August 29, 2013)
Old Saturday, August 04, 2012
44th CTP (PAAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2015 - Merit 160Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason: Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

courageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to behold

Originally Posted by Afshan Riaz View Post
Regarding literature can u guide me what eras and topics should be covrd firstly as i havent seen this que answer in ur posts...
kindly help me out
thanks again
God bless u
The questions asked in MPhil English Literature entrance test during the previous semester were:

1. The 20th Century Novel: characteristics and prevalent themes.
2. The 18th Century drama: characteristics and prevalent themes.
3. Romantic Poetry: characteristics and prevalent themes.

I think you should cover these topics as well as the basics of the other important eras like Victorian poetry and drama, Post War Literature, Modernist literature and some movements like Colonialism/Post-colonialism, symbolism, Hellenism, Realism, Transcendentalism, etc. You might also be asked some Literary terms, so you should think about preparing some important Literary Terms too.

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to courageneverdies For This Useful Post:
Afshan Riaz (Saturday, August 11, 2012), faaizaa (Thursday, August 29, 2013), madiha alvi (Thursday, July 04, 2013), Tooba Malik (Sunday, August 05, 2012)
Old Wednesday, August 08, 2012

Tooba Malik has a spectacular aura aboutTooba Malik has a spectacular aura aboutTooba Malik has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by courageneverdies View Post
The questions asked in MPhil English Literature entrance test during the previous semester were:

1. The 20th Century Novel: characteristics and prevalent themes.
2. The 18th Century drama: characteristics and prevalent themes.
3. Romantic Poetry: characteristics and prevalent themes.

I think you should cover these topics as well as the basics of the other important eras like Victorian poetry and drama, Post War Literature, Modernist literature and some movements like Colonialism/Post-colonialism, symbolism, Hellenism, Realism, Transcendentalism, etc. You might also be asked some Literary terms, so you should think about preparing some important Literary Terms too.

brother would you tell me how many questions will be in test and how many we are to attempt?
The Following User Says Thank You to Tooba Malik For This Useful Post:
faaizaa (Thursday, August 29, 2013)
Old Wednesday, August 08, 2012
44th CTP (PAAS)

Originally Posted by Tooba Malik View Post
brother would you tell me how many questions will be in test and how many we are to attempt?
I think there would be 2 or 3 questions and you will have to attempt one of 20 marks in one hour time.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to courageneverdies For This Useful Post:
Afshan Riaz (Saturday, August 11, 2012), faaizaa (Thursday, August 29, 2013)
Old Friday, August 30, 2013

sumaira jehanzeb is on a distinguished road

Presently, it's my biggest dream to get enrolled in the m.phil in linguistics program offered at numl main campus.By answering the following, you might make it more probable for me to live my dream:
1] When admissions for the spring semester 2014 are going to be held?
2] what's the respective weightage of the GAT score, entrance test marks and marks obtained in masters?
3] i have done masters in english literature and applied linguistics from numl regional campus peshawar, and I have barely fallen in the first division. Can I hope to get the admission if I do exclusively well on GAT and the entrance test?
all of my queries are specifically addressed to those who are currently enrolled in m.phil lit or ling at numl
The Following User Says Thank You to sumaira jehanzeb For This Useful Post:
faaizaa (Friday, August 30, 2013)
Old Saturday, August 31, 2013
44th CTP (PAAS)

Originally Posted by sumaira jehanzeb View Post
Presently, it's my biggest dream to get enrolled in the m.phil in linguistics program offered at numl main campus.By answering the following, you might make it more probable for me to live my dream:
1] When admissions for the spring semester 2014 are going to be held?
2] what's the respective weightage of the GAT score, entrance test marks and marks obtained in masters?
3] i have done masters in english literature and applied linguistics from numl regional campus peshawar, and I have barely fallen in the first division. Can I hope to get the admission if I do exclusively well on GAT and the entrance test?
all of my queries are specifically addressed to those who are currently enrolled in m.phil lit or ling at numl
1). The next admissions in MPhil English Literature/Linguistics at NUML would be announced in July 2014.

2). GAT General with 50% marks is a prerequisite and has not much weightage. Its just a requirement that everyone applying for MPhil must fulfill. The real weightage is given to your Masters performance, your score in the entrance test and how well you perform in the interview.

3). For semester system the minimum requirement is 60% marks and for annual 45% marks. An excellent score in GAT general mightn't help you but your score in entrance test would.

I have a specific page on Facebook titled "MPhil English Linguistics NUML". You may join that for information and updates regarding this program.

madiha alvi (Friday, October 11, 2013), sumaira jehanzeb (Saturday, August 31, 2013)

@courageneverdies: jazakALLAH khairn a trillion times for giving me such an informative reply. However, your following statement has left me a bit despondent
The next admissions in MPhil English Literature/Linguistics at NUML would be announced in July 2014.
I am told by someone that, unlike some other public-sector universities, NUML gives admissions in MPhil every semester. Isn't this true? Aren't they going to enroll new students for the coming spring semester (around the month of January)? Need your guidance in this regard because I've planned to wait til the next semester for admissions, without getting admission in any other academic program til then.
PS. IN SHA ALLAH, I'll make a facebook account soon to join your page about M.Phil Linguistics at NUML
44th CTP (PAAS)

Originally Posted by sumaira jehanzeb View Post
@courageneverdies: jazakALLAH khairn a trillion times for giving me such an informative reply. However, your following statement has left me a bit despondent
I am told by someone that, unlike some other public-sector universities, NUML gives admissions in MPhil every semester. Isn't this true? Aren't they going to enroll new students for the coming spring semester (around the month of January)? Need your guidance in this regard because I've planned to wait til the next semester for admissions, without getting admission in any other academic program til then.
PS. IN SHA ALLAH, I'll make a facebook account soon to join your page about M.Phil Linguistics at NUML
Sorry to disappoint you but NUML offers admission in MPhil English Literature/Linguistics once a year and NOT in every semester. This is confirmed, as is practiced for three years now.

sumaira jehanzeb (Sunday, September 01, 2013)
Old Sunday, September 01, 2013

Default advice needed regarding admission in TEFL Diploma

I am thinking of getting admission in PGD TEFL. Could anyone on the forum please tell me the relative pros and cons of acquiring the diploma from Allama Iqbal Open University, Peshawar, and from NUML, Peshawar? Please, also tell me whether the Diploma is even worth-acquiring from any institute or not. While replying, plasse, keep in mind that I have done MA English from NUML, Peshawar, and more than 50% of our course contents were Linguistics-oriented.
The Following User Says Thank You to sumaira jehanzeb For This Useful Post:
madiha alvi (Thursday, September 12, 2013)