-   Off Topic Lounge (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/off-topic-section/off-topic-lounge/)
-   -   why do people want to become a css officer? (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/off-topic-section/off-topic-lounge/31584-why-do-people-want-become-css-officer.html)

tayyaba Sunday, February 28, 2010 05:52 AM

why do people want to become a css officer?

dear members
i wellcome all of you to answer .( as honestly as possible)
i also wellcome the officer members if any in this forum.(be honest).
thanxs.
i think it will help a lot of ppl understanding our pakistani system in a better way.
and we will also have some idea about the life of these officers.
kyon kay misl mashoor hai kay"har chamkti hovi cheez sona nahin hoti".
aur yeh bhi "mara hova hathi bhi sawa lakh ka hota hai".

so you people r wellcome.

Muhiudin Sunday, February 28, 2010 06:53 AM

some resions

W.salam
CSS officer means some one is competent thats why who has got that job.
mostly people in pakistan do bleave that its not easy to get job unless you have referances..that one of the side of picture if you are compitant you can prove your self by attempting CSS exams ...
now the question is why CSS ....
its because when you are passing CSS exams you can easily get job any where in any department related to your field with good pay and facilities along with an opertunity to sarve the nation.
because when you go throw all these courses you have enough knowladge to support your countary and also to help any organization to grow up with your skills
that all i know about CSS.....
there amy be many other resions....
lets have some answers
thanks ...
Feeamanullah

Sociologist PU Sunday, February 28, 2010 07:53 AM

Every human being has basic needs !
These needs can be divided into two categories according to the theory of NEED GRATIFICATION.
1- Basic needs
2- Social needs
Now basic needs or primary needs are required for the very survival of a human beings like food,water,shelter,clothing and safety etc.
When these needs are fulfilled, the human being looks towards social need or secondery needs, which includes belongingness, respect,authority,recreation etc.
Now the question asked by the poster.
We all adopt a profession that help us in the fullfilment of these needs. The CSS posts gureented that a person will be able to fullfil his/her basic and social needs through this job although with the changing time there are more fields that better fullfil the basic needs of the human beings.

Arbab.Danish Sunday, February 28, 2010 01:11 PM

Yes, agreed with Sociologist, In sociology its better described by fulfillment of basic and social needs, In psychology almost the same thing is described by theory self actualization. The process or feeling in your self that you have done full according to your potential, or you have fulfilled your potential.

One problem in Pakistan is that most people don't follow their potential or talent in studies and hence in profession mostly they follow social pressure (unconsciously). This social pressure makes us biased in selecting our profession. And this is best visible when we come to know that about 99.99 % students of pre-medical who get marks 900 plus do apply for Medical college. Do they all have interest or talent in Medical, nopes its just social pressure, created by social status given to Doctors, and by peers and friends.
Apart from self actualization this social pressure too brings people to CSS.

And there may be also some cases for whom CSS is for fulfilling their basic needs (may be they dont have interest and talent for CSS job but they feel its the most likely place where they can get a job and yes with due respect as well)

rizvan Monday, March 01, 2010 03:01 PM

"to change the system u need to be the part of system"
its v easy to blame politicians and bearocracy to b the cause of poor governance in pakistan buh no1 wants to play his/her part in evolving it..so maybe we cud play our part n evolve it for the betterment by joining civil services...?

amme Monday, March 01, 2010 03:21 PM

each nd everyone want power 2 rule. in odr words dy say dat v need power 2 change environment. bearocracy has power? bt dy join and wanna join in dis regards.

Chosen_One Monday, March 01, 2010 06:18 PM

To be honest, changing system was never my priority. Very objectively said, it was only the recognition from the society that "falan shakhs bara qabil hai" and nothing else.

vortex81 Monday, March 01, 2010 08:19 PM

Vortex

Infact css officer enjoys good place in a society.He has a lot of facilities and opportunties as well.There are two types of people who want to become css officer.Firstly who belong to upper class and others who belong to middle class.Its depends on their mind:angle.

S_Ranjha Monday, March 01, 2010 08:25 PM

[QUOTE=rizvan;172335][B]"to change the system u need to be the part of system"[/B]
its v easy to blame politicians and bearocracy to b the cause of poor governance in pakistan buh no1 wants to play his/her part in evolving it..so maybe we cud play our part n evolve it for the betterment by joining civil services...?[/QUOTE]

I seriously doubt this highlighted part of ur statement. I mean u dont fight a system by becoming a part of it. U always first reject the system and fight it out by presenting a better one of ur own. Remem the Prophet(P.B.U.H) struggle in Mecca. [B]Did He ever became a part of existing system??? No!!![/B] He categorically said [B]"We are not among you!!" [/B]nd then He proceeded to His mission by replacing the old system by an entirely new one. Take any example from any major revolution n u ll find the same things

Frankenstein of css Monday, March 01, 2010 10:58 PM

My reply

i tell you dead honestly
In Pakistan we dont value service. A teacher , a doctor or a social worker would not have the same status as he would be enjoying it in some civilized and developed country. Here people respect and give respect to those whom they fear.
A person, who has grabbed a job where he would be considered to be a powerfull entity, able to excercise his authority at his whim and caprices would be revered.
We love our villians Our folkmare also usually depicts those fellows who have a touch of negativity in him A bully (Dilla bhati And a modern molla jat) who would be maverick in the society.
Administrative jobs especially DMG , Police , IRS are seen with a kind of adulation. No doctor No engineer No petty professor could castigate his generation old enemy , a nemesis of his family like an ASP , an Ac or a tax collector. These people could make the life of any person a living hell. So Join bureaucracy This attitute unfortunately run deep in the psyche of our traditionalist and feudal society .
As far as Moslow heirarchy of need or Agyrus model Well Every seventeeth grade job according to constitution of pakistan has the same previllage , honour and status as well as nearly the same pay structure.
Can you imagine people in eighteenth or nineteenth scale could opt for a seventeen grade job
A judge a Mphill or a person doing specialization in medicine could opt for civil service in any other country if it were simply the heirarchy of need
Well there is a serious attitude problem in us. There is some thing horribly wrong with this country The way we think The way we behave The way plan our career ( monetary factor ? in what aspect :clap or is there a plenty in doing some thing fishy fishy :confused: )
Please stop revering power The country long left to the ravenousness of old beaurucratic vultures has nothing left in it. We need people who are service oriented A country standing at the cross-roads simply cannot afford another generation of csps thinking at the old lines sooooooooooo,

Sociologist PU Monday, March 01, 2010 11:42 PM

Well said Sir,
It happens only in Pakistan, cuz we are still a semi-tribal society where power of muscle is stronger then power of pen. So the compariosn of Pakistan with the developed nations is not correct in my view.
Anyway, lets see what the other members say.

Surmount Tuesday, March 02, 2010 02:50 AM

[QUOTE=tayyaba;172121]
i also wellcome the officer members if any in this forum.(be honest).
[/QUOTE]

Did you visit the following forum? :))

[URL="http://www.cssforum.com.pk/central-superior-services-examination/css-competitive-examination/13521-prestigious-csps-css-forum.html"][B]Prestigious CSPs of CSS Forum[/B][/URL]

sillent.killer Tuesday, March 02, 2010 01:05 PM

my views

Aslamolekum!!!!!!!!!!!
Become a CSS Officer is not a easy task. for this the student like to become a css froum , some students have intrest in competative exams and some one have there needs acutually people want to become a css officer to ake there society and make there country a develop country, and i also like to become a css officer.

breerah Fatima Tuesday, March 02, 2010 01:09 PM

Why CSS?

Two main reasons;
Inspiration: Qudrat Ullah Shahaab(A great name indead,i m just worthless)
Desire:To judge level of self humbleness at a point that is considered as a peak in civil society of Pakistan.2ndly,to become a CSP(civil servent of Pakistan).3rdly,i would like to quote Archamides(If i found a place to stand in space,i could overturn that world),

In short i want to learn a lesson from this process or project.To live a life beneficial for others!!!!

FareedSheikh Tuesday, March 02, 2010 02:32 PM

u cant have satisfaction with money
there are somethings in life which can giv u satisfaction as some one here qouated in his signature satisfaction is death or like this
i agree with taht
m curently doing job getting handsome packahe
but dont knw wats drvigin me crazy to get appear in hav somthign remarkable result inshalah

there are somtime many thing untold which u can xpress btu u can only show

i appeared in 2007 n failed in one but now in 2011
inshall by the Grace of Allah i wil do somthing

c y tc feamanalagh

Frankenstein of css Tuesday, March 02, 2010 03:55 PM

Prestigious csps

well sir about qudrat ullah sahab He wrote very intresting things about the conduct of csps in the field. Please read the chapter regarding the first meeting of General yayha khan ,after his successfull coup, with the so honourable bureaucrates.
The obsequity shown by the sycophant as narated by qudrat ullah shahab.
There were many honest people but none of them lived in the utopia that css is the only way to serve this nation the all commented that it was way difficult to work honstly in this cadre. Teachers , engineers , scientists , artisits and intellectuals they make the essence of society Not a bureaucratic Big Wig
This mentality i must say only exists in this forum. The amount of corruption our rvenue department has . The kind of atrociites our police do ( Cheera , chittar and other most deplorable ways of torture) Please come out of the garb of hypocracy Every pakistani knows what kind of bussiness is being run in CSS.
We are currently at 143 rd no on HDI We are the most backward nation in this region in terms of heath and education So please if you are still been able to rever the current setup for its pathatic performance you can do so. But you cannot deny the facts
Make a commitment that you would be a clean person once you go in this mess But fantasazing people by giving them visions of a lalas land is not the rational thing by any means. Preparing people to strife for a better future for the country not for them selves. if you are service oriented then you are sacrificing your today for the tomorrow of others. For god sake it is now nearly 63 years of listening to the same old chanting and chattering that we are the most magnificent country and becoming a brown Sahab is the only and surest way to REACH THE TOP :sick
Please respect our nation We are a nation of farmers Be proud of it majority of my country man are poor share their misery Empathise their feeling A country whose establishment is being runned upon the foreign aid cannot afford the paraphernalia of old steel frame work of india

FarQaLeeT Tuesday, March 02, 2010 11:26 PM

i

i truly want to serve my people , i daily pray to God to help me in this regard so that i may serve my people in excellent way otherwise bureaucracy is nothing for me.

i can earn more than 100 times from my dad's business.

so please you all pray for me.

Fading Glimpse Wednesday, March 03, 2010 01:03 AM

its the only way to serve

i think its the only way to best serve our people and country. i really wana do something for my country and i 'll Inshallah... (if i get chance:))) but its our duty to be honest....
be pakistani
love Pakistan

Perhar Wednesday, March 03, 2010 01:12 PM

I am very much sad to read the reply of Frankenstein of css, and have come to know that what thinking our CSP officers have. They find their offices powerful as they can take revenge from anyone and can make the life of any person a living hell. Even it can be the thinking of our society but I think our CSS officers should not and must not have such thinking as we are an extremist and illiterate society.
I ask if you have the same mentality, then why do you study alot and gain knowledge, then qualify the tough competition of CSS, afterwards govt. invests alot on your training, from the money got from the people? It is usually thought that CSPs are the cream of talent of the nation, but alas this cream has not become successful to bring any positive change in our society. Who are responsible of corruption? These are our officers.
They only give privileges to their families only and try to pressurize others. They do never understand that they are inducted to serve the people and not to harass them. Believe you me, if you have work in any of the department, then first of all you cannot approach their officers, if by chance you appear before any of the officer, he will deal you in very cold and rude manner that you will get afraid. And the subordinates of CSP officers do not concentrate on their work but they only concentrate on the mode of their officers. They always keep on asking from the PA of the officer "Saa'b ka mode kesa ha?" Our Police officers are not competent enough to counter terrorism, to end robbery and dacoity, our Income tax department cannot collect complete Tax from people, Corrupts and Anti Corruption have friendly links, our Foreign Services have never become successful to introduce us as dependable and reputed nation in international community. If you see any of the department, you will find lack of discipline and success. It is because our CSPs only concentrate how to grip and deal the people and they do not concentrate on their actual services and targets.
I think if you want to make the life of any person a living hell then become a dacoit, kidnapper or robber because it is the best way to tease anyone.

Sociologist PU Wednesday, March 03, 2010 06:41 PM

@ parher
Sir, i think u have misunderstood the message contained in the post of Frankenstan of CSS. He is critical of the behaviour of his colleagues in the same line as u did, but in other words ..........and it is very bold of him.
Again, i would say the CSPs are not imported from another society and they belong to this very society which is corrupt/illeterate and contained a feudal/tribal mentality, where family and baradri comes first rather then merit.(sorry, me belong to this society as well )
When u become a clog of the bureuacratic structure, you unconciously adopt their sub-culture and youe ideals fizzals away in the thin air of sychophancy and leg-pulling. BUT THERE ARE ALWAYS EXCEPTIONS ! And these people bring change and are rememberd in history.
Best wishes.

Perhar Wednesday, March 03, 2010 07:11 PM

Sir I have not misunderstood it, and I am mentioning the mentality of CSPs in general.

Omer Tuesday, March 16, 2010 09:54 AM

The charm, prestige and power associated with civil services is the major reason for candidates to go for it. But two things are also of major concern here (based on actual practice).

1 - One would not be able to change one's financial standing in civil service till he reached an age of 60 (retirement). Given the current inflation rates and price hikes the civil services hardly provides survival in the society though one can live from hand to mounth all the time.

2 - One is so much busy in day to day affairs of business that he has to sacrifice his family/personal life. He can facilitate the relatives and friends but cannot find ample time to live with his own parents, family and kids.

[I]Comments will be welcomed.[/I]

aniya warraich Sunday, March 21, 2010 04:50 PM

confused!

hi...just recently i got a chance to "listen to" what csp's have to say...they tempt people or students like this:

csp gives you power, prestige, it gives you money with respect...it makes you rich bla bla...this has puzzled me,my perception became more obscure..i used to think there is much more than money, power..there is much more than authority and the temptation to enjoy it....i dunno how can a csp lure any other person to this very "noble cause" of earning respect and becoming authoritative when some one cant find depth in their statements...statements seem so shallow..so shallow...people seem so unattractive..(or may be it only appears to me like this :) )
help required...

Omer Sunday, March 21, 2010 09:28 PM

Can't make u rich..........!!

Maha Khan Sunday, March 21, 2010 11:13 PM

i want to get Power,prestige and money:)thats why my aim in lyf is to be a csp officer...so...HUM Aram ki talaash mein BEARAAM rehte hain:pipe

fidamah Sunday, March 21, 2010 11:17 PM

I need power and money.

zash Monday, March 22, 2010 07:02 PM

Only authority nohing else

Sb dil behlaney ki baten hn
Rare are people who strive to serve the nation
Very rare who see good salary here becuse you may have 5 times more salary than CSS officer in private sector by same struggle
Mojaority of the CSS aspirants seek for Authority, Authority only
A passion to rule, a sense of superiority, a tempt of dignity, looking beyond the limits.
See how many candidates each year are given a chance to bring positive change in Pakistan..........so where is the change??
Every one dissolves him/herself in the prevailing system instead of changing the system itself. No one cares if so only to sustain the authority.

MUHAMMAD ADIL HAROON Monday, March 22, 2010 10:13 PM

@Zash
i strongly with him......this fact is true.......sorry to say but there r rare cases where candidates try to bring the change in pakistan.....

Nek Muhammad Tuesday, March 23, 2010 11:44 AM

Self-Interest

[B][FONT="Comic Sans MS"]Most of the people want money and power that’s why they want to join CSS; they have nothing to do with poor people, prosperity of country and service of nation.[/FONT][/B]

Omer Tuesday, March 23, 2010 12:54 PM

Civil service does not necessarily bring money with it.

For money, one should go to private sector.

abari Tuesday, March 23, 2010 01:00 PM

i want authority so that i can be an example for the corrupt society and make things with my own way,the way of truth,the way of light,the way of prosperity.

[B] zash![/B]
u r right in some context.
but one can achieve onez goal of change the corrupt system with sincerity,with hard work.constant laboring is the important thing for this cause.
remember:those who surrender themselves infront of privailing system or can not fight against opposed winds they can never ever gain their goal

The Manager Tuesday, March 23, 2010 01:35 PM

To Be A CSP......

1-Its a human nature to be influencial in the society... And And civil

beaurocracy provides u the strength of the desire to be influencial....

2- If someone wants to help the country in true means he strives to be a CSP officer... And the same is the case with me.

Elegant Virgo Tuesday, March 23, 2010 01:58 PM

well sometimes its for prestage, sumtimes 4 power sumtimes 4 money bt its not always the same. as far as i am concerned its more than all that 4 me bcz 4 me its my dad's wish and i want to be the proud of my dad:)

SikanderHayat007 Tuesday, March 23, 2010 03:19 PM

Well To be a CSP,the most essential ingredients are enthusiasm,passion,vitality
and an obdurate spirit to succeed no matter how daunting the circumstances may be.

A CSP is not just a civil servant he is also the eyes of the government.He should be conversant with what is happening in the country in economic,political,social,cultural and professional spheres.He should know demography,geography,languages,castes,technical advancements etc.

With great power comes responsibility.I have given CE-2009,and CE-2010 attempt.Since early days of awareness i have identified that some people are made specifically for certain professions.They bequeath all their energies and knowledge to those professions.These are the people who are running the system whether it is hot or cold,peace or war.

I have dedicated my life for this cause.I aspire to join government of Pakistan and make contribution that is worth contentment.

To become a CSP for petty gains or power is not the end.The end is collective pride that as a nation we are capable to solve the knotty tangle of governance and administration.There cannot be a profession more rewarding than CSS.

Sikander

Nek Muhammad Tuesday, March 23, 2010 03:53 PM

@omer

[B][FONT="Comic Sans MS"]For private sector you have to invest lot of many in order to benefit from it, its not easy for a common person, it requires talent as well as money, where as for civil service one should be talented money is not needed.[/FONT][/B]

Omer Tuesday, March 23, 2010 04:15 PM

@ Nek

It is not the case bro. Pvt sector require intelligence. MNCs regard their useful resources and reward them with money. Pvt sector is at least less corrupt than govt deptts.

Well, i was suggesting that if one has to get money he should adopt some other profession that civil service.

Nek Muhammad Tuesday, March 23, 2010 05:05 PM

@omer

[B][FONT="Comic Sans MS"]Agreed bro, definitely for private sector intelligence (talent) is required, as I mentioned in my previous post. But I want to say that a common person can not easily get entry in pvt sector, so civil service is good platform for them.[/FONT][/B]

S_Ranjha Tuesday, March 23, 2010 05:52 PM

well Allah(s.w.t) has bestowed me with enough money for any of my desire so dun need money. Courtesy to my family background i already have enough power that a CSP might have( talking in terms of influential power other than official duties assigned) n i thank Him countless for all this

So my aim to be a CSP rests on two things

1st is the thing that if u r to do ur duty with full honesty n commitment then for me a CSP'z job is the most challenging one given our socio-economic conditions nd i love challenges that make me set new limits for myself.

2nd is my dad wish. Although he never really forced me but after all he has done for me over the years i just cant think of not paying any heed to his reasonable desire

wind Tuesday, March 23, 2010 06:15 PM

[COLOR="DarkGreen"][B]My purpose is to serve my Motherland [/B][/COLOR]:8:

zash Tuesday, March 23, 2010 08:01 PM

Nice Thougts

@ S. Ranjha, @ Wind

Dear
Your have got true spirit and devotion, I appreciate it
May Allah almighty help you in fulfillment of your spirits.
And one thing I must quote here is that doing your duty honestly, while ignoring others doing wrong does not serves the purpose. So you must have also corrective steps as well.

10:40 PM (GMT +5)