08:56 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Off Topic Section > Sports and Games

Sports and Games Section reserved for sports’ news, sportsmen’s resources, interviews, playground information, world records, scores and much more.

Old Saturday, February 05, 2011

Glaring is on a distinguished road
Post Three cricketers banned

DOHA: Former captain Salman Butt and fast bowlers Mohammad Amir and Mohammad Asif were banned for at least five years on Saturday after they were found guilty of corruption by an International Cricket Council (ICC) tribunal.

A statement read out at the tribunal said: "The tribunal heard the charges as Aamer agreed to bowl no-balls, and did bowl no-balls and Butt was party to the bowling of those deliberate balls, and the tribunal impose the following sanctions.

"On Butt ten years ineligibility, five years of which are suspended on the condition that he doesn't commit further breaches of the code, and that he participates under the auspices Pakistan Cricket Board in a programme of anti-corruption education.

"On Asif, a sanction of seven years of ineligibility, two years of which are suspended on the condition that he commits no further breach of the code and also participates in an anti-corruption programme.

"On Aamer a sanction of five years ineligibility. No further sanctions are imposed on any player."

The decisions came after a lengthy nine-hour hearing at the Qatar Financial Center, and following much argument after the players' lawyers requested the verdict be adjourned as it could affect the criminal case against the players in London.

The charges relate to alleged incidents during a Test match against England at Lord's last year, when Britain's News of the World newspaper claimed the players were willing to deliberately bowl no-balls.

The newspaper alleged the players, who are currently provisionally suspended from international cricket, had colluded in a spot-fixing betting scam organised by British-based agent Mazhar Majeed.

The members of the tribunal, headed by Michael Beloff, heard the case for six days last month before deferring the announcement on the request of players' lawyers.

Last month Beloff revealed that while Asif and Aamer were absolved of the charges relating to another match, the third Test at The Oval (played before the Lord's match) one charge against Butt remained under investigation.

In a separate development on Friday, British prosecutors charged the three players as well as their agent with corruption offences and summoned them in court on March 17th.

The Pakistan trio have repeatedly denied wrongdoing and had shown confidence of resuming their careers.

The bans on Pakistan players have come just a fortnight before the tenth World Cup starts in the sub-continent, highlighting the difficult times the game of cricket is facing against corruption.

Butt, Aamer and Asif became the first players banned in spot-fixing, the latest innovation in which players obey specific orders during the game pre-arranged with bookmakers.

The players have 21 days to appeal against the sanctions in the Court of Arbitration for Sport, based in Switzerland.
sweetPakistan (Monday, February 07, 2011), unsolved_Mystery (Saturday, February 05, 2011)

Rehan Mehmood is on a distinguished road

Of course a very good decision in every sense and just not a sad news, this is very good news in all manners. These kinds of criminals wants to be representatives of Pakistani people, those pray for them more than own parents, those leave their important works for them, those give respect to them just like goddess, and see what they did. Pakistan government should also ban them to not to come back to this country.

Fnoor is on a distinguished road

Ofcourse this is good and honest decision by ICC, these players should not only charge for spot fixing they also should charge for hurting and disappointing Pakistan's nation. How we guys pray for Pakistan's success in each and every match and these guys do not care even our feelings.

I am sure this will be lesson for all youngsters and existing team players to think twice before commiting anymore fixing...But I cant say this with confidance.
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: Css 2010 - Roll no 5722

Kamran is a name known to allKamran is a name known to allKamran is a name known to allKamran is a name known to allKamran is a name known to allKamran is a name known to all

Originally Posted by Sociologist PU View Post
We pray for their success and they do gambling to get dirty money there.
I second you.Cricketers are considered as national heroes in Pakistan;They are highly paid,get recognition,prestige and honor.And on the other side,They bring bad name to the country.I believe,if charges against these culprits are proved,Govt. of Pakistan should go one step ahead and should put a life time ban for any type of cricket on them.It would be clear cut (zero tolerance for any time of match fixing) message for the rest of the cricketers.

CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 20Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

drvalentino is a name known to alldrvalentino is a name known to alldrvalentino is a name known to alldrvalentino is a name known to alldrvalentino is a name known to alldrvalentino is a name known to all
Exclamation I condemn this decision ocz of following reasons.

everyone should be equal before law...i condemn this condition..they were banned only because of one thing that they are pakistanis...specially monopoly of england,australia and india is behind this decision...can anybody tell me why suresh raina was not banned as he was involved in match fixing...IPL is full of match fixing and everybody knows that...steve waugh was also involved in match fixing...in last IPL ...atleast 27 players and few administrators were involved in match fixing from authentic sources....
In the history of cricket, the first match was fixed in 1817, around 193 years ago, and the first cricket star was banned for life at that time. On the other hand, British officers resorted to spot fixing in order to win a match against a local team in India in 1893......
i dont support this decision because only pakistani players are targeted by clever plans made by them..the only reason behind it that they were afraid of muhammad asif and muhammad amir,s natural talent and skill..they r not capable of that..
now its on u people to judge whether is equality of law or not??????
Old Sunday, February 06, 2011

Exclamation

Originally Posted by drvalentino View Post
everyone should be equal before law...i condemn this condition..they were banned only because of one thing that they are pakistanis...specially monopoly of england,australia and india is behind this decision...can anybody tell me why suresh raina was not banned as he was involved in match fixing...IPL is full of match fixing and everybody knows that...steve waugh was also involved in match fixing...in last IPL ...atleast 27 players and few administrators were involved in match fixing from authentic sources....
In the history of cricket, the first match was fixed in 1817, around 193 years ago, and the first cricket star was banned for life at that time. On the other hand, British officers resorted to spot fixing in order to win a match against a local team in India in 1893......
i dont support this decision because only pakistani players are targeted by clever plans made by them..the only reason behind it that they were afraid of muhammad asif and muhammad amir,s natural talent and skill..they r not capable of that..
now its on u people to judge whether is equality of law or not??????
impressive knowledge/research...

@ all

My dear fellows, are the cricket laws, rules and regulations made only for pakistan?
What about S. Raina's scandal, IPL's scandal etc. regarding match fixing?
I'm not giving any favor to trio players, but what is the reason behind statement of Britain's Crown Prosecution Service about pakistani ternion cricket players, just one day before the ICC's decision?
If Amir, Asif & Salman proved as guilty, than they deserve for this punishment....But the ratio of loss of pakistan cricket is higher than their loss (Because trinity are still millionaires, which is clear from their luxury cars showed in T.V channels )
Big loss for pakistan cricket before world cup 2011....
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: Css 2010 - Roll no 5722

Kamran is a name known to allKamran is a name known to allKamran is a name known to allKamran is a name known to allKamran is a name known to allKamran is a name known to all

m unable to understand why people r so violent.
People aren't violent.They just want their national heroes shouldn't earn bad name for the country by involving themselves in match/spot fixing.The irony is that the banned players aren't even ashamed on what the did.They are just giving statements like.''itni saza ki ummed nae thi''.It shows that they were involved in spot fixing in one way or the other.

my point of view is again the same..if all spot fixing players are banned..pakistani players should also b banned ..but why only paki players.
True,If charges of match/spot fixing against any player are proved,he should be banned irrespective the nationality he has.
2ndly people r saying they r highly paid,they get fame,honour..,,,no one understands this..k how many people join come with a dream of joining pak team but hardly few succeed...they deserve fame...
Yes,They deserve fame,honor and all that stuff.But,They have some responsibilities as well.As a matter of fact,ther are representing whole Pakistani Nation.Thus by involving themselves in some illegal activities,they are just tarnishing the image of Pakistan.
ICC IS hippocrate.
FYI,ICC hasn't awarded punishment to these players.A three member committe was set up to probe this matter.And a per Ahsan Maani,These members are very upright and belong to different countries.
anyhow,paki players should learn a lesson from it...
This decision will surely be beneficial for future cricket of Pakistan.We don't want our coming players to get themselves involved in such type of practices.

Kamran
The Following User Says Thank You to Kamran For This Useful Post:
unsolved_Mystery (Monday, February 07, 2011)

Originally Posted by Kamran View Post
People aren't violent.They just want their national heroes shouldn't earn bad name for the country by involving themselves in match/spot fixing.The irony is that the banned players aren't even ashamed on what the did.They are just giving statements like.''itni saza ki ummed nae thi''.It shows that they were involved in spot fixing in one way or the other.

True,If charges of match/spot fixing against any player are proved,he should be banned irrespective the nationality he has.

Yes,They deserve fame,honor and all that stuff.But,They have some responsibilities as well.As a matter of fact,ther are representing whole Pakistani Nation.Thus by involving themselves in some illegal activities,they are just tarnishing the image of Pakistan.

FYI,ICC hasn't awarded punishment to these players.A three member committe was set up to probe this matter.And a per Ahsan Maani,These members are very upright and belong to different countries.

This decision will surely be beneficial for future cricket of Pakistan.We don't want our coming players to get themselves involved in such type of practices.

Kamran
Kamran bhai, drvalentino just wants to highlight the real problem, Why only Pakistani cricketers awarded by this punishment?
Where was the Strict Laws, Rules & Regulations of ICC, When Australian cricketers (Shane Warn & Mark Wah) were proved guilty on the charge of providing information regarding Season and Pitch to a Book-Maker named John for Money? Australian Cricket Board fined them just a minor amount as punishment.
Where were the three (Honest) members' committee of ICC, when Harshal Gibz,Henary Williams, Marlin Sameul awarded by just Minor Punishments in Spot Cricket Match Fixing?
What is the progress of ICC about S.Raina & IPL's corruption charges?

I admit, if trio Pakistani players are guilty than they deserve for this punishment, but why only Pakistani players? Does the Laws and Investigation process of ICC not applicable to Aus,RSA, India etc.?

If Amir, Asif and Salman deserve the major punishment, than above mentioned all players deserve the same penalization, in this regard ICC has shown dissimulating behavior.
drvalentino (Monday, February 07, 2011)
Old Monday, February 07, 2011

sweetPakistan is on a distinguished road

Very good decision.dont think they are pakistanis.thats wy this decision is implemented.first of all they are corrupt ,not onliy corrupt they sold the dignity of sweet pakistan.they are representing us.we all become happy while watching pakistan match.mother of this nation pray that they come back home with cup.children feel them slef as one of thier best profile in cricket team.

if we all feel happy to see them unnited in cricket ground agaisnt anyy tea.we pray for our tea.
then what goes of them not to even thinking about how they are trying to sell the dignity of pakistan.just for few million.

ye to acha hy ye cricket team main hain socho ye ager kisi or department mai hoty to ye chor to pakistan ko hi baich daity paisoo k liy..
The Following User Says Thank You to sweetPakistan For This Useful Post:
unsolved_Mystery (Monday, February 07, 2011)
Old Monday, February 07, 2011

farasat_ali will become famous soon enoughfarasat_ali will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Glaring View Post
impressive knowledge/research...

@ all

My dear fellows, are the cricket laws, rules and regulations made only for pakistan?
What about S. Raina's scandal, IPL's scandal etc. regarding match fixing?
I'm not giving any favor to trio players, but what is the reason behind statement of Britain's Crown Prosecution Service about pakistani ternion cricket players, just one day before the ICC's decision?
If Amir, Asif & Salman proved as guilty, than they deserve for this punishment....But the ratio of loss of pakistan cricket is higher than their loss (Because trinity are still millionaires, which is clear from their luxury cars showed in T.V channels )
Big loss for pakistan cricket before world cup 2011....
Leave this that this rule for Pakistani, leave raina's concern as well. We have no concern with that. The question is that why they did this. if they are getting 2.5 Lacs per month, 3 lacs for one match and enjoyment as well then why they did that kind of deeds. They deserved for this. So dear leave this all kind of foolish talk that this is for Pakistani. Why we give chance to others that they criticize on us. We have to change ourself. If you are ok then no one can fire you.
They must banned for whole life.
This is not a big lost. Agar Allah Paak nay chaha tu hum zaror jeetain gay agar wohi nahi chay ga tu how can we win?
Like 20 20 worldcup. First we lost and 2nd we won.