Wednesday, May 29, 2024
01:24 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Other Competitive Examinations > National Accountability Bureau (NAB)

Old Thursday, September 13, 2012

ash90 is on a distinguished road

The contents of the new Ehtisab Bill is not yet made paublic, wait and see:
http://www.thenews.com.pk/Todays-News-8-131688-NAB-law

What is going on with the new accountability law? Parts of the draft are being systematically leaked to the media, and the opposition’s cries of outrage are being registered far and wide. Last week, we heard that a PPP delegation went to see senior PML-N leader Ishaq Dar to discuss the bill but Opposition Leader, Chaudhry Nisar, denies any formal talks were held. According to his account, some PPP leaders barged into Dar’s office and the “decent man” had no choice but to receive them. What is the clamour all about? If the available details of the proposed draft are to be believed, it is indeed a funny document. How else would you describe the provision that corruption charges would not be brought against anyone who acted in “good faith”? In other words, we now have a new word to add to the political lexicon in Pakistan: “corruption in good faith.” The draft in a highly scandalous way suggests that no corruption of the past should be investigated and that it would not cover foreign assets, and only the loot and plunder done after the draft has become a statue should be taken up. The draft also envisages that a corruption case cannot be instituted against any member of a government or bureaucrat after seven years of leaving office. Let’s call this clause the “get out of jail free” clause. Here’s why: as routine process, any sitting government has a tenure of five years and, as is obvious, corrupt bureaucrats or their political masters would ensure that no charges are filed or meaningful investigations initiated during that period. That takes care of five years of the proposed limitation of seven, leaving a mere 24-month period for looters and plunderers to face the music. Judging by the investigating agencies’ performances of the past, that anyone will be brought to the book in such a short time span is putting too much premium on optimism. What’s more, massive government corruption would also not surface in this time span as the Public Accounts Committee and the Auditor General, the two main watchdogs, are already years behind in looking at cases of government transgressions.

In the new draft accountability bill, the fourteen-year prison term has also been halved to seven. This is another puzzling clause. In an age where graft and corruption are causing losses of hundreds of billions of rupees to Pakistan every year, as exposed by Transparency International, is it conceivable that the law is being diluted rather than being made tougher? These are just a few of the many absurdities that the draft has to offer. It is apparent that the drafters of the law are more eager to protect the corrupt than punish them. No wonder the main opposition party, PML-N, has indicated that it will reject the draft out right in the coming days. And what are the ruling party’s motivations for pushing the draft now? Could it be that a government exposed by many international and local watchdogs as being the most corrupt in Pakistan’s history wants to claim credit for bringing in a comprehensive accountability law? If that is the case, it must be said that unfortunately, the only thing this draft is comprehensive on is its focus on creating loopholes that may be exploited on a rainy day. Indeed, given that the issue of the accountability law was put on the back burner for the last four and a half years, the latest flurry of activity seems to be nothing but a political gimmick, or more uncharitably, a desperate attempt by an outgoing regime to cover its tracks.

thedeadman is on a distinguished road

Dear I have called NAB Islamabad and they told me that they have dispatched 'CALL LETTERS' today so it means they have been started from today? What does CALL LETTER mean? Is it interview letter or Appointment letter?

khaqan is on a distinguished road

Really?
we can wait as we are doing from Months...

Nayeeem is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by thedeadman View Post
Dear I have called NAB Islamabad and they told me that they have dispatched 'CALL LETTERS' today so it means they have been started from today? What does CALL LETTER mean? Is it interview letter or Appointment letter?

wakieee? if it is so, then what about result? kya would it be declare or not? and what about rumors that result will take a month or so to proceed further???

authentic news please?

CALL LETTER mean "Invitation", now it could mean either one you think too. But it should be the Interview Letter. May it be true.

Bye the way can you tell us what post did you ask for for which CALL LETTER was the reply?

talpur86 is on a distinguished road

i am getting confused kuch kahty hian result 3 week or lay ga for declaration or kkuch kahaty hain call leter dispatch hogai hain ..sach kiya hay.....

Mnaqi is on a distinguished road

I hope you are not creating any confusion here.

thedeadman is on a distinguished road

I asked about Junior Investigation Officer specifically and not for other posts. The person on the other end said letters have been dispatched. I am in Sindh and I was confused too and I told him that I have not received it yet. Us per us nay kaha k aj se shru hongay dispatch hona. Kia mazak hai NAB walon ki. Kabhi 1 week, kabhi aj!! I am confused like everyone else is. Koi aur please confirm kare k dispatch huay hen letters aur kab tak honge?
Old Friday, September 14, 2012

Storm is on a distinguished road

I asked about Junior Investigation Officer specifically and not for other posts. The person on the other end said letters have been dispatched. I am in Sindh and I was confused too and I told him that I have not received it yet. Us per us nay kaha k aj se shru hongay dispatch hona. Kia mazak hai NAB walon ki. Kabhi 1 week, kabhi aj!! I am confused like everyone else is. Koi aur please confirm kare k dispatch huay hen letters aur kab tak honge?
Did you submit your domicile along with other documents on 4th August? If you didn't do so on 4th August, did NAB give you a phone call asking you to submit it as soon as possible later on?

discussion