10:47 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Banking & Finance > Banking Jobs > State Bank of Pakistan

Old Tuesday, November 27, 2012

musmanhussain will become famous soon enough

friends d nt put your efforts down,take honsala.
gk kisi book sa nai atta daily newspaper parna sa atta hai.
IQ part just sense use krna ke bte hai.
Math ka liya 8,9 or 10 th class ka questions be dakha karo,so many questions without logic hoty hain.English jise correction or vocabulory tek hai they r best.

Galian is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Aceeph View Post
Hello dear friends,

Let's talk about the Junior Officers; recruitment test to be held on December 23rd. Please share the sources where you are studying from, especially general knowledge.

Thank you
Yes, me appearing in the test too, I think the verbal section will be similar to that of the GAT general one
The Following User Says Thank You to Galian For This Useful Post:
Aceeph (Tuesday, November 27, 2012)

Maven is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by musmanhussain View Post
friends d nt put your efforts down,take honsala.
gk kisi book sa nai atta daily newspaper parna sa atta hai.
IQ part just sense use krna ke bte hai.
Math ka liya 8,9 or 10 th class ka questions be dakha karo,so many questions without logic hoty hain.English jise correction or vocabulory tek hai they r best.
GK is of two types. Current GK and fixed GK for current GK u can read newspapers magazines etc but for fixed gk which includes history, facts figures etc etc it is better to have a good book.

sidra siyal is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Maven View Post
Preston boys College GOR Colony and in Excellence College Latifabad no 6.
Dear , was calculator allowed? and also,I want to know that how many marks are required to pass the test, I read certain candidates comment saying,got 61 marks still unqualified,what am I missing ??

Aceeph is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by saba sd View Post
hi all i was disqualified from sbots because i lost one extra mark in gk but i have cleared YPIP so here are my suggestions for all:

sbots gk was entirely different than the one we saw in ypip. in gk many of the questions were really *general*.. all you needed was to have a good search on national flowers, national currencies, state emblems, when different search engines were launched, info on instruments etc.... in YPIP we dint have a single question of this sort.. mostly were sports related and the rest belonged to economy. on purely estimation based, i advice u all to prepare from both point of views. if u people say i will upload things that i noted down during my prep for ypip. they dint help me because koi question SBOTS type aya hi nae but it might help you.... keep a good search on recent books.. there is definitely one question on it.. u must know the names of all people who won any of the sports title in 2012. besides u need to know the nobel prize winners and their work as well. there isnt a hard and fast rule for securing good marks in GK but surely u need to study hard. keep on searching and reading. u might not memorize it compelety.. kabhi kabhi ek bar parha hua b yad reh jata hai... i will also upload links of gk that i have saved... also see past papers of css current affairs. u wud know the type of questions that constitute "general knowledge".. lastly i recommend u all to do maths portion first and english at the end. kyu k english is intehai bakwas. koi grammatical rule nae uska. its just common sense that works there. jo time reh jae wo eng ko de dena. but do maths first. maths is not very technical. just the basic formulas. u must know the areas and perimeters of all types of geometric shapes. baqi it is onle time management. koi aisa question ho ga k which value is the largest etc jis mai sirf u need a min to ponder on every option tou jitna skun se maths kro utna acha hai... never make the mistake of doing maths portion at the end. if u need any other help u can always ask me. i will try to guide u all in the best possible way. NTS exam is a test of luck rather than knowledge and intelligence. i wish u all the very best.
That was indeed very helpful. Please do share all the links you deem neccessary. Also, please share with us your work, for it is quite valuable as you've done so well in both SBOTS and YPIP. Looking forward to be further enlightened.

One more question, please clarify the 'expected' verbal portion of the forthcoming test. Some say it will be different from SBOTS and YPIP. If yes, what will be the new format of verbal portion like? Will it include vocabulary, more analogies? More importantly, will it include ANALYTICAL REASONING questions?

Regards to all of you

saba sd is on a distinguished road

here is a bit of material that can help u solve the "fixed" general knowledge questions.. i remind u all again k it depends on the type of format. in SBOTS questions were mostly from fixed category whereas in YPIP they were mostly contemporary.. u hav to prepare yourself for both.. sports section is very important.... search it thoroughly... waise i don think test wud be difficult this time

http://www.knowledgebase-script.com/...ticle-424.html
http://www.onlinegkguide.com/2008/09...cies-in-world/

the link given below contains a huge amount of information.surely u cant study all of it but go through important sections e.g. instruments etc
http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optio...tives-all.html

here is some random information which is very accurate and uptodate as i collected it during my prep for YPIP

LEADERS OF IMP ORGANIZATIONS
UNICEF..... Anthony Lake
UNESCO...... Irina Bokova
UNHCR........ antonio Guteno
WHO...... Margaret Chim
ARAB LEAGUE....... nabil elaraby
ASEAN...... Surin Pitsuwan
EU...... herman Van
NAM...... Mahmud Ahmadinejad
NATO..... Anders Forg
SCO..... Bolat Nurgaliyev
WTO... Pascal Lamy
ADB.....Haruhiko Kuroda
IMF....Christine Lagarde
WORLD BANK....Jim Yong
FIFA.....SEpp Blattan
International Olympic Committee..... Jacques Rogge
International Cricket Council.... Alan Isaac

CEOs
GOOGLE.... Larry Page
yahoo..... Marrisa Major
apple.... Tim Cook
Microsoft.... Steve Ballmer
Facebook.... Mark Zuckerberg

Some random questions

1.capital of zimbabwe? harare
2.tehrir square is in which country? egypt
3 canton is city of which country? China
4 origin of lake niLe? Lake victoria
5 biggest hydel power generating plant in which country? china
6 christopher columbus belonged to which county? italy
7 pythagorus belonged to which country? greece
8 isaac newton belonged to which country? england
9 railway service started in india?
10 mount everest named after everet was a?
11 meaning of defacto? Actual
12 meaning of faux pas? Going by rules
13 meaing of carte blanche? Full powers
14 coldest planet? pluto
15 planet with shortest day? jupiter
16 tolstoy wrote which book? War and peace
17 russian revolution started in which month? feb
18 russia launched its space mission to moon in 1957. tell the date?
19 secretary general of uno belongs to which country? South korea
20 international court of justice sits in? hague
21circumference of earth? 40000
22 deepest point of pacific ocean? Mariana trench
23 captain of pakistan's team which beat england in 1954? Hafeez kardar
24 book of allama iqbal which was in persian but was tranlated into urdu on great demand? Bang e dara
25 landlocked country? uganda
26 father of obama belongs to? kenya
27 chile shares longest coastal border with? pacific
28 theory of special relativity? einstein
29 law of heridity? darwin
30 isaac newton gave which theory? Laws of motion
31 strait between malaysia and indonesia? Strait of mallaca
32 which strait seperates spain and morrocco? Strait of gibralatr
33 turnip is a kind of root?
34 paediatrics means? Care of children
35 longest river in which continent? africa
36 lowari pass joins? Dir and citral
37 mountain kilimanjaro in which country? tanzania
38 when first international flight from pakistan? 1995
39 who and imf came into being in result of which agreement? Bretton woods conference
40 which device which is when pressed encode word on screen is? keyboard
41 which company has more cash than USA? apple
42 gdp growth rate of pakistan?
43 part of agriculture in gdp of pkaistan?
44 how much senate increased debt limit of usa government?
45 parliament of israel? knesset
46 pakistan won first olympic medal?
47 Abdus salam recieved noble prize? 1979
48 who invented dynamite? Alfred Nobel
49 father of modern science? Hugo Gernsback
50 civilisation of babylon was in which country?iraq
51 mayanmar's old name was? burma
52 number of muslims died in badr? 14
53 atmosphere layer nearest to earth? troposphere
54 brightest planet? venus
55 shape of miLkyway? spiral
56 al qanun fil tib was written by? Bu ali sina
57 alchemy was written by? Jabbar bin hayyan
58 head quarter of wto? geneva
59 time computer takes to reach its data is called? Access time
60 who wrote book indian muslims? William hnter
61 primeminsiter at the time when ayub took over? Malik feroz khan
62 name the person not present in first cabinet of pakistan?
63 38th parallel is a border between? North and south korea
64 which river has blind dolphin? ganges
65 special envoy of USA to Afghanistan n Pakistan?
66 bashar al asad of syria belongs to which sect? shia
67 name of indian atomic operation? Smiling budha
68 asian drama written by? Gunnar Myrdal
69 koljik pass connects which cities? Quetta and chaman
70 cheapest source of energy? hydel
71 which player twice won grand slam? Rod laver
72 point farthest from karachi on coastal highway? gwadar
73 highest rank in airforce? Air commodrae
74 railway started in india? 1651
75 beman airways belong to? bangladesh
76 percentage of oxygen in earth's atmosphere? 20%
77 the process of sun heating the earth? isolation
78 time taken by sun light to reach earth? 8 mins
79 mixture of metals is called? alloy
80 insuLin is produced by? pancreas
81 which of them was not present in management of punjab when british took over?
82 Binghazi is city of? libya
83 fifth pillar means? treachery
84 when christians conquest Granada? 1492

Another collection of random information

Biman is the Airline of Bangladesh
Qantas is an airlines of Australia
Lufthansa is the Airline of Germany
Bouraq is the airline of Indonesia
Cathay Pacific is the airline of hong kong
Ariana” is an Airlines of Afghanistan
Asiana is the airline of ... South Korea
Aero float is the airline of Russia.
Transworld Airway (TWA) belongs to USA.

Yuan is the currency of china
Ringgit is the currency unit of
Rupaiyah is the currency unit of Sri Lanka, nepal

SCO was established in 2001, 6 members and 4 observers
RCD was established in 1964, members
World Trade Organisation (WTO) came into being in 1995, members
UNO was established in 1945, 193 members
ADB was established in 1966, members
SAARC was established in 1985, 8 members
ASEAN was established in 1967, 10 members
OIC was established in 1969
ECO was established in 1985

WAFA is the news agency of palestine
APP is the news agency of Pakistan
AP ( Associated Press) is the news agency of the US
AFP is the news agency of France.
Interfax , Novosti is the news agency of Russia. It is the news agency of Ukraine also.
Reuters is the news agency of UK.
PTI , Univarta , Samachar Bharti is the news agency of India.
Xinhua is the news agency of China
Yonhap is the news agency of south Korea
SPA is the news agency of Saudi Arabia
Islamic Republic news Agency is the news agency of Iran
United Press International is the news agency of Us
ANSA is the news agency of Italy
Kyodo is the news agency of Japan
Yediot aharo is the news agency of Israel
Al youm al sabe is the news agency of egypt

Headquarters of UN, UNDP and UNICEF are in New YorK
Headquarters of World Bank and IMF are situated at Washington
Headquarters of UNESCO are situated at Paris
Headquarters of International Court of Justice are situated at The Hague (The Netherlands)
Headquarters of FAO are situated at Rome
Headquarters of World Health Organisation, UNHCR and ILO are at Geneva
Headquarters of Universal Postal Union are at Bern (Switzerland)
Headquarters of IAEA are at Vienna
Headquarters of OIC are situated at Jedda, members 57
Headquarters of SCO are situated at Shanghai
Headquarters of ECO are situated at Tehran, 10 members
Headquarters of South Waziristan are at Wana during summer and Tank during Winter.
Headquarters of North Waziristan are at Miramshah
Headquarters of Khyber Agency are at Landi Kotal

some old and new names

old....................... new
Myanmar.............. Burma
Persia.................. Iran
Holland................. Netherland
Tripoli.................. Libya
Mesopotan............ Iraq

Nobel Prize Winners for 2012

Physics....... Serge Haroche, david J Wineland
Chemistry..... Brian Kobilho, Robert Lefkowite
Peace.... EU
Medicine..... Gurdon, Yomonak
Economy..... Alvin, Shapley
(there are spelling mistakes in these names coz m unable to recognize my own handwriting :P)

here are some questions related to science that i took from css thread

01. The planet of the solar system which has maximum numbers of Moon is
a) Jupiter... ans
b) Venus
c) Saturn
d) Uranus
e) None of these

02. Sun is a
a) Planet
b) Comet
c) Satellite
d) Aurora
e) None of these.... ans

03. The age of Solar System is
a) 4.5 billion years... ans
b) 5.5 billion years
c) 6.5 billion years
d) 7.5 billion years
e) None of these

04. A unit of length equal to the average distance between the earth and sun is called
a) Light year
b) Astronomical unit... ans
c) Parsec
d) Parallax
e) None of these

05. An eclipse of the sun occurs when
a) The moon is between the sun and the earth... ans
b) The sun is between the earth and the moon
c) The earth is between the sun and the moon
d) The earth casts its shadow on the moon
e) None of these

06. The ozone layer protects the earth from rays sent by the sun:
a) Ultraviolet rays... ans
b) Infrared rays
c) Gamma rays
d) Radioactive rays
e) None of these

07. The ozone layer is present about 30miles (50km) in atmosphere above earth. The stratum (layer) of atmosphere in which ozone layer lies is called as:
a) Exosphere
b) Mesosphere
c) Stratosphere... ans
d) Ionosphere
e) Troposphere

08. Which rocks are formed by the alteration of pre-existing rocks by great heat or pressure
a) Igneous rocks
b) Sedimentary rocks
c) Metamorphic rocks... ans
d) Acid rocks
e) Basic rocks

09. The most abundant natural Iron oxides are
a) Magnetite and Pyrite
b) Magnetite and Bauxite
c) Hematite and Pyrite
d) Hematite and Magnetite.... ans
e) Hematite and Bauxite

10.The most abundant elements in sea water are
a) Sodium and Potassium
b) Sodium and Calcium
c) Sodium and Chlorine... ans
d) Chlorine and Iodine
e) Magnesium and Sulphur

11. An electric current can produce
a) Chemical effect
b) Magnetic effect
c) Heating effect
d) All of these three.... ans
e) None of these

12. The unit of home electricity energy consumption is:
a) Watt hour
b) Kilowatt hour... ans
c) Joule hour
d) Kilojoule hour
e) None of these

13. The magnet always points in the same direction, if move freely i.e. towards north and south poles, because of:
a) Gravitational field
b) A lot of metals deposits on north and south poles
c) Due to attraction of north pole and repulsion of Western pole
d) Earth is a huge magnet.... ans
e) None of these

14. When sound is reflected from floor, ceiling or a wall , it mixes with the original sound and change its complexion, it is called as
a) Sound
b) Echo
c) Reverberation... ans
d) Noise
e) None of these

15. The speed of sound in dry air at 20°C is about
a) 130 meters per second
b) 230 meters per second
c) 330 meters per second.... ans
d) 430 meters per second
e) None of these

16.The speed of light in vacuum is about
a) 300 Million meters per second... ans
b) 300 Million meters per hour
c) 300 Million kilometers per second
d) 300 Million kilometers per hour
e) None of these

17. The time light takes from Sun to reach Earth is:
a) 8 minutes.... ans
b) 25 minutes
c) 45 minutes
d) 60 minutes
e) None of these

18. Light from Sun travels a distance before it reaches Earth:
a) 50 Million Km
b) 100 Million Km
c) 150 Million Km... ans
d) 200 Million Km
e) None of these

19. The most suitable thermometer for measuring the boiling point of water is:
a) Mercury thermometer... ans
b) Alcohol thermometer
c) Bimetallic thermometer
d) Liquid crystal thermometer
e) None of these

20. The density of water is greatest at:
a) 32°C
b) 0°C
c) 4°C... ans
d) 100°C
e) None of these

21.Which one of the following statements is true:
a) Gases do not conduct heat
b) The best conductors are non-metals
c) Conduction currents occur only in liquids
d) A vacuum can not conduct heat
e) None of the statements is true.... ans

22. Ice can be changed to water by:
a) Adding more water molecules
b) Changing the motion of the water molecules... ans
c) Rearranging the atoms in water molecules
d) Destroying the atoms in water molecules
e) None of these

23. The building blocks of elements are called:
a) Atoms.... ans
b) Molecules
c) Compounds
d) Isotopes
e) None of these

24. Boiling of an egg is a change which is:
a) Physical
b) Chemical... ans
c) Physiological
d) Morphological
e) None of these

I have not applied for this job but i hope that this information helps u in your prep, i dont guarantee it though... i have also collected name of parliaments, national games, national emblems, national flowers of famous countries. u all can search it very easily rather i suppose u would have done it by now. still, if any of u need it i will type it here. if there is any other question u can ask me... and please pray for my GD and PI i wish u all best of luck again kyu k as i said in my previous post is mai luck hi kam ati hai :P
The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to saba sd For This Useful Post:
Aceeph (Tuesday, November 27, 2012), aliaqat (Tuesday, November 27, 2012), Ashfaq Memon (Tuesday, November 27, 2012), azhar0032 (Tuesday, November 27, 2012), Harshyy (Monday, December 03, 2012), khan (Tuesday, November 27, 2012), leoo (Thursday, December 20, 2012), musmanhussain (Thursday, November 29, 2012), sidra siyal (Tuesday, November 27, 2012), student (Monday, December 03, 2012), TheWaqas (Wednesday, November 28, 2012), vivacious (Wednesday, November 28, 2012)

saba sd is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Aceeph View Post
That was indeed very helpful. Please do share all the links you deem neccessary. Also, please share with us your work, for it is quite valuable as you've done so well in both SBOTS and YPIP. Looking forward to be further enlightened.

One more question, please clarify the 'expected' verbal portion of the forthcoming test. Some say it will be different from SBOTS and YPIP. If yes, what will be the new format of verbal portion like? Will it include vocabulary, more analogies? More importantly, will it include ANALYTICAL REASONING questions?

Regards to all of you
i have shared some of my work, hope it helps you. and as regard verbal section m not sure yet. NTS will upload sample paper a week before as it always does. it will clarify your question. after seeing the sample paper you will be clear on how to prepare eng section. if there are analogies and antonyms type stuff i will upload the link which is the best guide for such questions. and if it is based on SBOTS and YPIP format, take my word that u dont need to prepare at allll.... bilkul b xrurat nae time waste krne ki. us mai hota hi guess work hai no matter how much u prepare. give that time to maths and GK.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to saba sd For This Useful Post:
Aceeph (Tuesday, November 27, 2012), Harshyy (Monday, December 03, 2012)

aliaqat is on a distinguished road
Default plz shr

Agar kisi ny ye book purchase ki hy tu plz sylabus shar kary

Last edited by Shooting Star; Tuesday, November 27, 2012 at 05:11 PM. Reason: Official links are allowed Only

gulu is on a distinguished road

smart brain gat by dogar

gulu is on a distinguished road

Solution can be provided to my email address also
thanks to anyone who solve these

My email id is
*********@yahoo.com

Last edited by Shooting Star; Tuesday, November 27, 2012 at 05:43 PM. Reason: share contact info through your profile only.