03:01 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions Please read the posts before posting the queries.

Old Monday, March 12, 2007

Fawad Ali is on a distinguished road
Default How to improve vocabulary.

i m fawad ali, i m planning to appear in css examz, so can anybody guide me what is the best source of improving vocab?which is commonly used in all parts of exam (from written to interview).i m planning to take sociology, journalism, indo pak history, constitutional law and business adminstration so i want ur opinion regarding these subjects.
Fawad ali

amy has a spectacular aura aboutamy has a spectacular aura about

dear, Fawad first of all best of luck for ur css studies.
for increasing vocabuarly u can check these useful tips.

http://www.cssforum.com.pk/compulsor...ng-skills.html

http://www.cssforum.com.pk/compulsor...ocabulary.html

And ur combination of optionals subjects is pretty good.ur three subjects matches with mine that is Ido-Pak history, journalism and sociology.by taking Indo-Pak. history u will be well versed with Pak.Affairs also and journalism is a subject which can be prepared in just 15 days if u dedicate those 15 days only for it. i had sociology during my graduation and its very easy subject and helpful also in essay writting.
For guadiance and books for sociology check this

http://www.cssforum.com.pk/general/o...sociology.html

for const.Law
http://www.cssforum.com.pk/general/o...sociology.html

this forum is full of tips, experience and guidance.........first u should go thorugh its threads regarding guidance and books selection .
i hope it would be of great help to u.

take care.
good luck

Last edited by amy; Monday, March 12, 2007 at 11:12 AM.

thankyou for ur reply and do u have any information regarding C Law and B Admin?i have taken these subjects bcz i got undergraduation degree in BBA n i m doing master of business and commerce from University of western sydney,so INSHALLAH after successful completion of my masters next year then i will attempt that css exam.can u guide me which section should i start slowly i mean optional or compulsory??

u are most welcome dear.
well i dont have any information regarding cons.law and buissnes admin.but if u had undergraduate with above two subects then u must well versed with these and u should opt for it.
and u should start from compulsory subjects it would be beneficial for u becoz it improves ur english skills and it would also helps in increasing ur vocabualry..................so should start from compulsory.
best of luck.
regards,
Old Tuesday, March 13, 2007

Assalam-o-alaikum
can anyone tell me from which subject should i start with in compulsory....?
Old Tuesday, March 13, 2007

walikum salam
dear, first of all u should start with reading newspapers daily, DAWN is recomended (make it a habit). start writting on minor topics and paragraph writing ,go through idioms, composition use tactics to increase ur vocab.
try to build up ur knowledge as much as u can, improve ur english (2-3 months would be enough for this)...............U need to current with affairs.try to analyze things and statements,..............whatever topic u will take, study it thoroughly and remember one thing cramming is not going to help u in any way.
daily give atleast an hour to english .
always keep a dictionary with u at the time of studying and never ever ignore a single word which is new for u.
dont loose ur concentration............ok
.............so Fawad r u ready????
i think it would be a good start.

best of luck to u
regards,
Amy.

Last edited by amy; Tuesday, March 13, 2007 at 12:59 PM.
Old Friday, March 30, 2007

saleemprofessor is on a distinguished road
Arrow How to Improve Writing Skills?

By actually copying the sentences on your note book from articles of the 'DAWN'. During copying, Learn the art of punctuation, use of suitable words, maximum points ina single sentence, and accepted rules of Grammar.

Last edited by Last Island; Friday, March 30, 2007 at 07:23 PM.
Old Tuesday, February 05, 2013

sameer chaudhry is on a distinguished road

Try to learn new word in story schema. you will not forget any time

nadiamughal is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Abdullah ktk View Post
Dear all senior members kindly help me in this regard. I feel that I do not have sufficient vocabulary and appropriate expressions. Sometimes I do have good ideas in mind but find my expressions inadequate to express them. I tried to note down each new word, on my notebook, that I found by reading or listening( with sentences) but I forget them and couldn't use them when I write an essay.

I will be waiting for your response
Read dawn newspaper on daily basis and read as much as you can.After the throrough reading rewrite in your own words by practising you can rid of this difficulty and expression will b eloquent. without much reading you will struck with the same difficulty. Memorise the sober words dont think about heavy vocab will make your expression more good.
Abdullah ktk (Tuesday, February 05, 2013), bluntman (Tuesday, February 05, 2013)
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2012- Roll No  14130

Ali Raza Abbass is on a distinguished road

You guys can get conventional pieces of advice from anyone who is eloquent and a good English writer. But here i want to share a method which i devised and and helped me a lot. Anyone of you might get benefit from it.

This is a simple and easy method. Let me explain it.

Just make a list of common expressions and look up two/three/four of their alternate words in thesaurus. Once you do this, start replacing common words with those you noted down from thesaurus. here is the example:

Common expressions
: Replacement

Anger : ire, fury, wrath
Happiness : joy, felicity, gaiety
Sadness : grief, melancholy, distress
Astonishment : awe, wonder, bemusement

and the list goes on. all these expressions are common and are used in daily life. so replacing them with unconventional words would make you stand out from the rest and adorn your writing with a lively flavor.
Don't try cram and use the words which are difficult and spoken/written scarcely. try to have a diverse but understandable vocab.

I hope i was of some help to you guys.

Regards!
The Following User Says Thank You to Ali Raza Abbass For This Useful Post:
Abdullah ktk (Tuesday, February 05, 2013)

vocabulary booster