04:01 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Tips and Experience Sharing

Tips and Experience Sharing Your unique experience and tips can be highly valuable to thousands of them who plan to appear for exams this year or in the future years.You can share your experiences and golden tips with us.

Old Monday, January 07, 2008

Raja4u is on a distinguished road
Thumbs down Why many candidates fail in CSS

Dear i want to share some knowledge with all of you , which is quite usfull to know before appearing for CSS.
you should have knowledge that year by year the number of students passing ratio is declining, the example is before us that this year 294 students cleared written and interview is still remaining but the quota provided by Government is 264 seats, some of my friends objected it as Devolution plan but if i do not think this because, few years back the cnadidates were very competitive and only limited people were aware of CSS, but now days everyone who is in intermediate knows about CSS and the majority of candidates from different fields come and appear in examination without their capability for doing it or not.
i took a generally survey of mark sheets of this year 2007, and i was astonished to see the candidates obtaining more than 700 marks are failed in English , and in my opinion 90% the candidates fail in Engliush Essay and Composition, we can easily guess that the failing candidates lack in Encglish skills.
reading and getting remebered any subject is not problem, but the main problem is to explore in terms of Essay and Composition.
i want to suggest all my friends to keep their eyes on Essay and Composition specially if they want to be successful.
i gave you a practicle example of this, one of my friend doing LLB , i would not call his name because i do not want to humiliate him , he attempted 2007 CSS without any preparation and failed because if we generally view CSS papers, we can answer the questions without any preparation but CSS needs some exploring and Broad minded answers rather than short answers.
the aim of my this post was not to discourage or criticize mt friends who could not succeed but to aware them the defects where to focus, if anyone get hurting by this, i beg pardone from him/her/
Wish you best of Luck
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Raja4u For This Useful Post:
khan_mcs@hotmail.com (Saturday, January 19, 2008), Mohammad Ahmed Kassi (Friday, January 11, 2008)
Old Monday, January 07, 2008
39th CTP (PAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2010 Merit 5

Asifr is on a distinguished road

Just to emend:Mr., the passing Figure of CSS candidates this year has been 194 rather than 294.
The Following User Says Thank You to Asifr For This Useful Post:
Raja4u (Monday, January 07, 2008)
Old Tuesday, January 08, 2008

Raja4u is on a distinguished road

my friend i will be very happy to be keep in touch with you, if you have any querry or any confusion, do not hesitate to contact me.
wish you best of luck.

Last edited by Sureshlasi; Saturday, January 12, 2008 at 01:05 AM.
Old Tuesday, January 08, 2008
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CSS 2007 - Roll no 1634

drfarrukhmalik is on a distinguished road

@Raja4U and all:

This post is very usefull indeed and I want to share my experience. In my first attempt in 2006 I was not able to make it and the culprit was English essay though I was equally good in written skills when I appeared in 2006. Latter I 2007 I passed the exam and I would say my written skills in English were no better than what I had in 2006. The difference I feel in both my attempts was of my understanding of the requirement for Essay. In 2006, my style of writing was lucid, I realized this mistake of mine and practiced writing with the aim of clearing CSS where essay ought to stay in set limits. The essays in CSS should stay in academic style that can appeal the old professors around who are examiners.

Persistence is Victory!
Old Wednesday, January 09, 2008
G R E N A D E
Moderator: Ribbon awarded to moderators of the forum - Issue reason: Khushal  moderates General ChatMedal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Appreciation

Khushal has a spectacular aura aboutKhushal has a spectacular aura about

Sorry i didn't read the OP but the answer to Why many(nearly all) candidates fail in CSS is plain and simple. CSS provides more attraction and what someone from outside sees is the protocol the CSP gets, but on the inside of the life of a CSP its only him and the GOD knows how he has to cope and manage things and working madly for hours and hours. So the attraction is sighted by people(most of which are more attracted towards the Attractions and neglecting the hard work, knowledge you need to go through to obtain it) and just to try the heck of it, they'll pop up in a CSS examination.

Result: The percentage of passing candidates is always in the 0.00something percent of the Total.

Moral: If you're a CSS aspirant, try the best you can and Let GOD be with ya!

p.s: random bs from a bachelor's student but i spoke the truth!
Old Wednesday, January 09, 2008

abidusman is an unknown quantity at this point

main khuda ki kasam khaa kar keh sakta hoon,, keh CSS KEH WRITTEN EXAM MAIN ALMOST 99 % TRANSPERANCY AUR INTEGRITY rahi hai during the tenure of major general kiyani till 2005 and he was most disgracefully ousted by general musharaf and shaukat aziz at not having submitted to their whims and cronyisam .it was most agonising to observe as an independant and impartial pakistani. but current chairman general hamid though may not be that much imppecable as general kiyani was to friends and foes alike still upholding marit by and large. my dear mr trostky,, when css was conducted under political govt, there were anomolies and curry favours of very very manifest magnitude. CSS ke exams musharaf ke door main sab se transparent rahain hain ab tak aap khawa kuch bhi kahu magar haqiqat haqiqat he hai.but musharaf did shamefull injustice to major general kiyani.i myself took exam of css in 2006 without iota of preperation just to see for what it is. i didn,t read single book of whatsoever subject of CSS and i was not sure to pass even in single subject of CSS AS ALL I did is to write gossips in each and every paper but stil i passed most of papers and passed english composition paper as well which was then said to be most difficult in the history of css and I never galvanise myself in to any kind of practice of it ever before . my only attitudw have been to cultivate the mastery of english through self-study and never do any written practice which took its toll on the essay paper where i made awfull spelling mistakes and also didn,t cite anything from encyclopadia, history , litrature, philosophy and other fact and figures. remember i inspire only an out and out urdu medium background and even at intermediat level my english was pitiable , i wrote just palin gossips in essay paper. yar first of all we must take english with the attitude of mind and cultivate quite an intelectual enterprise at it and coextend it with written calibre, if so i beleive it would be extremely rare that one fail twice in any paper of english. most of all just try to cut corners in this endavour and take it as a courtesan of success and get on it with short and formula type recipies even for years and asssidously and astutely. last but not the least if you cast your eye at the provintial supirior services where so far politiscians and pliant civil servants have had sawy through subtle devices, affairs are even worst than you can imagine. wholesome seats are sold or gifted. for godsake dont defame pak army with such a misplaced knowledge and facts at least on this issue. balke dua karoo ke hamaish unbending and unwavering scrupulous general hi hamesh public service commissions both fedral and provintial ko lead karain. because they really defy the pressure and take head on high and might who are always out there to get there desired results one way or other

another facor was that my speed was terribly slow i coudn,t write more than 1.5 sheet in 35 minutes and there had been woefull lack of coherency . i am now adressing all these shortcommings with multi-prong aproach

Last edited by Last Island; Thursday, January 10, 2008 at 06:56 PM.
Old Thursday, January 10, 2008
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: AppreciationBest Moderator Award: Awarded for censoring all swearing and keeping posts in order. - Issue reason: Best ModGold Medal: Awarded to those members with  maximum number of  reputation points. - Issue reason: For the year 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: 2008Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason: More than 5 years of dedicated servicesModerator: Ribbon awarded to moderators of the forum - Issue reason:

Last Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardom

Every person has its own flaws and shortcomings. This thread is meant to discuss them and to share tips to overcome all those weaknesses and imperfections.

Try to be RELEVANT and STOP blaming Military and Intellignesia for everything.

All the irrelevant posts under this thread have been removed and will be deleted if found again.

STUBBORN MEMBERS WILL SUFFER.
Old Saturday, January 12, 2008
sibtainafzaal

why candidates fail in css:

1. when reading instead of focusing on content,candidates say that they feel sleepy and waste time (that happened to me as well)

2. they keep on collecting material and books till the last end but dont read them because there is no time left.

3. some of them read so much that information overload happens.

4. some just read and say they have prepared it, but if they are told to write, they are blank.

5. they develop reading skill but not writing speed,

6. time management is not taken seriously, spending 1 hour on one question and missing one question because of no time in paper is not going to generate enough marks as 2 small answers in 1 hour, finishing and attempting all questions in 3 hours............

minhas is on a distinguished road

what would you guys say about someone who secured a distinction in english in her o and a levels, teaches english at masters level, and in 2006 unfortunately fails in essay paper while her marks in comprehension were 62 and then in 2007 fails in comprehension while her marks in essay were 70. is this bad luck, bad english or pathetic checking and marking????

i forgot to add that she had english literature in her optionals in which she passed with flying colours but at the same time her comprehension paper was failed by three marks....isn't this completely confidence shattering

Last edited by Sureshlasi; Saturday, January 12, 2008 at 04:12 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to minhas For This Useful Post:
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: AppreciationBest Moderator Award: Awarded for censoring all swearing and keeping posts in order. - Issue reason: Best ModGold Medal: Awarded to those members with  maximum number of  reputation points. - Issue reason: For the year 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: 2008Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason: More than 5 years of dedicated servicesModerator: Ribbon awarded to moderators of the forum - Issue reason:

Last Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardom

i forgot to add that she had English literature in her optionals in which she passed with flying colours but at the same time her comprehension paper was failed by three marks....isn't this completely confidence shattering
Never confuse "English Literature" with "English language". There is a hell of difference between them. Literature is all about making comparisons and connections between all sorts of literary and cultural realms. It does not deal with 'language'. Though language plays a great part yet it is not judged while checking literature papers as it is assessed in Composition papers.

Last edited by Last Island; Saturday, January 12, 2008 at 09:06 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Last Island For This Useful Post:
amy (Monday, January 14, 2008)