Sunday, May 05, 2024
02:50 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Tips and Experience Sharing

Tips and Experience Sharing Your unique experience and tips can be highly valuable to thousands of them who plan to appear for exams this year or in the future years.You can share your experiences and golden tips with us.

Old Saturday, October 05, 2013
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: AppreciationBest Moderator Award: Awarded for censoring all swearing and keeping posts in order. - Issue reason: Best ModGold Medal: Awarded to those members with  maximum number of  reputation points. - Issue reason: For the year 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: 2008Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason: More than 5 years of dedicated servicesModerator: Ribbon awarded to moderators of the forum - Issue reason:

Last Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardom

Originally Posted by Raat ka musafir View Post
Sir need your guidance regarding books, journalism, sociology, international law, Arabic and Punjabi... how to prepare current affair
Read all of his posts first.
Old Saturday, October 05, 2013

Jaffer Zaidi is on a distinguished road

Sir please suggest me some subjects for css exams as i am from commerce background and also tell me you prepare on your own or join an academy or a coaching center if join please tell me where to find one in karachi and also tell me which occupation group you are in thanks
The Following User Says Thank You to Jaffer Zaidi For This Useful Post:
Werewolf (Monday, October 07, 2013)
Old Monday, October 07, 2013

Qasim Mahmood is on a distinguished road

Thanks, Sir,
i follow your instructions regarding time table (10 days to each subject), it really works and i made a minor change in it which is to concentrate for one hour per day on grammar/ precis as i feel that i am a little bit weak on this end.
Sir, i need your kind opinion on developing analytic approach as CSS-2013 papers are mostly based on such approach. Please suggest some points on it...
41st CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2012 Merit no. 273Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Werewolf will become famous soon enoughWerewolf will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Qasim Mahmood View Post
Thanks, Sir,
i follow your instructions regarding time table (10 days to each subject), it really works and i made a minor change in it which is to concentrate for one hour per day on grammar/ precis as i feel that i am a little bit weak on this end.
Sir, i need your kind opinion on developing analytic approach as CSS-2013 papers are mostly based on such approach. Please suggest some points on it...
Your minor change is good one.

dear, you can develop analytic approach if you consider yourself as an examiner.
let me elaborate,
for every question, consider as if that question is asked by you from someone, now the things that you would expect from him are collectively known as your analytic approach.
now, if there is no question involved, you are reading a text, lets say, some story, then consider yourself a part of that story, now, the things that you will experience and judge are collectively your analytic approach

Analytic approach is actually your analysis on any issue, for that the essential thing is, you think for yourself

hope this would help

aneeqawaheed is on a distinguished road
Default help regarding selection of group priorities for registration for css

Sir were wolf can you please guide me regarding giving preference to group selection for registration keeping in view mine liking towards office managment group on 2 prefrence and police services at 3 position.....
41st CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2012 Merit no. 273Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Originally Posted by aneeqawaheed View Post
Sir were wolf can you please guide me regarding giving preference to group selection for registration keeping in view mine liking towards office managment group on 2 prefrence and police services at 3 position.....
Dear, all the groups have their own advantages and disadvantages, overall they all are good. it's just that some people love more authority and public appearances keeping aside their demerits, while others prefer to work behind the curtains and with no good authority.
It depends from person to person, but it's a common notion that DMG, POLICE, FSP are considered superior to others. this is just because majority of aspirants want to enjoy more power and authority etc.

but, i would suggest you to prefer any group depending upon your nature.
for example,
2 proverbs:
"with authority comes responsibility, and with responsibility comes accountability"
and
"Power tends to corrupt and absolute power corrupts absolutely, all great men are often always bad men"

I love OMG for my own reasons,
1. I don't like to get transferred from place to place frequently.
2. I don't want much public appearance, because that would compel me to do fake promises with my subjects from time to time just to calm them down and just to cover the mess done by corrupt politicians.
3. I don't want much authority, because i know that i will sacrifice my family's time in fulfilling its responsibilities.
4. I prefer simple life.
5. I don't want to get abused behind my back by my unhappy subjects for no fault of mine.
6. I don't want my relatives and friends to come to me in want of some undue favour.. because i wont do that and ultimately i will ruin my relations.
7. I want to do my job in Pakistan, living with my parents and family.
etc etc...

so, opt according to your own wants, not according to what others want from you, because in the end you will be left all alone with your occupational group.

anything else?
Old Tuesday, October 08, 2013

Maryam Aijaz is on a distinguished road
Default Optional Confusion

Assalam-o-alaikum
kindly look at my optional subject I am confused in my optional selection
I have done MBA HRM I have decided 3 subjects
1. Indo-pak History
2. Sociology
3. Business admin
4. ???????
I am thinking to opt Psychology or Geography. which will be better ?

in institute i had a special class by a CSS topper he is a international debater
he said, "divide your marks instead to opt subjects of 200 marks try to attempt different subjects of 100 marks, as I have opted just 1 subject of 200 marks that was psychology, (he said) the reason behind that the answer sheet of paper I & paper II check by the same examiner".

so what should i do, should I make another combination of optional 100 marks subjects along with only one 200 marks subject ?
Kindly guide me & also give me your comments about my optional combination.
41st CTP (OMG)

Originally Posted by Maryam Aijaz View Post
Assalam-o-alaikum
kindly look at my optional subject I am confused in my optional selection
I have done MBA HRM I have decided 3 subjects
1. Indo-pak History
2. Sociology
3. Business admin
4. ???????
I am thinking to opt Psychology or Geography. which will be better ?

in institute i had a special class by a CSS topper he is a international debater
he said, "divide your marks instead to opt subjects of 200 marks try to attempt different subjects of 100 marks, as I have opted just 1 subject of 200 marks that was psychology, (he said) the reason behind that the answer sheet of paper I & paper II check by the same examiner".

so what should i do, should I make another combination of optional 100 marks subjects along with only one 200 marks subject ?
Kindly guide me & also give me your comments about my optional combination.
Walaikum Salam,
Dear, as you would never know that who is going to check your respective subject either a strict examiner or a lenient one, so this is a lame justification to opt 100 marks subjects rather than 200 marks.

rather, you just have to see which subject is going good irrespective of marks it contains.

however, i would suggest you to go for 200 marks subject if it is scoring, because in that, you would not have to change the tuning of your brain twice and you will study both the parts in a single go. it will also help you to avoid mingling up of numerous different subjects in your brain.

Psycho is an awesome subject if you are inclined towards it and if you are a concept-oriented person. i love psycho, i prepared it all alone in just 30 days, and i scored 150 marks, though i expected more, yet they satiated me.

Sociology can not be relied upon now.. change it with your regional language or journalism. but the regional language is better.

Indopak is good, it will help you in pak affairs too, you can get good marks in it if you know where and how to hit

Business ad is good, but if you are a business type, then why don't you go for accounting and auditing (200), its scoring. if not, then ok

and if you are still left with 200 marks gap, then you may go for psychology, it is good. but don't go for geography at this stage, as it is a lengthy subject.

anything else?

Maryam Aijaz is on a distinguished road

But I have selected sociology in PCS too
41st CTP (OMG)

Originally Posted by Maryam Aijaz View Post
But I have selected sociology in PCS too
If you really feel easy with it, then you may go for it, but PCS and CSS both have different temperaments..

however, you sound quite confident.. you may go for it
just remember, hit the examiner on hots pots..