Tuesday, May 07, 2024
01:06 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Tips and Experience Sharing > Arena of Golden Tips

Old Wednesday, September 21, 2011

farhan1111 is on a distinguished road

'Using the right word at the right time' bro ye book urdu bazar se mil jaye ge ya phr feroze sons ya OUP kind shop se???
The Following User Says Thank You to farhan1111 For This Useful Post:
zumar khan (Thursday, September 22, 2011)

sajjad khan joiya is on a distinguished road
Default Mehnti log mahrumi ka rona nahi rote

Originally Posted by unique psychologist View Post
salam sir...with your due respect sir i m from jhang...there is no proper guide line in my city...............sir i am unable to join any aadmy....sir even no one is here to check my essay...how should i improve this situation . i need advise from you kindly solve my problem
I want to share one story with you. During my college days my teacher used to tell story of a scientist. Once upon a time there was a child whose father used to live in a jungle. That child was fond of study but there was no school over there. He made up his mind that I will study myself. At that time he started studying Bible with his mother. In this way he became able to read books. His father brought some books from city. That child went to jungle and sat under a tree. He requested tree to become his teacher. In this way he learnt two pages from a book and came home. On second day he went to same tree with a stick in his hand. He sat under the same tree and said to himself "How are you and have you learnt your lesson"? He said yes sir. OK then read lesson. He started studying lesson by heart. In the end he noticed that he had made 5 mistakes. He punished himself with stick five times and warned himself, If you made any mistake next time I will punish you. In this way he learnt all the books. Thus his mind started understanding those books. Then he started making research in that jungle and he became a great scientist.
Dear no need to worry. Just continue to read more and more books. Gather more and more knowledge. Inshallah God will help you. We all members on this are available every time to help you in any case. Bye
zumar khan (Thursday, September 22, 2011)

farhan1111 is on a distinguished road

For enhancing vocabulary i have been using Word smart for GRE by The princeton review, preparing 12 new words daily. Is above mentioned book would be suffice?
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2010 - Merit 25Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,898 Times in 694 Posts
Hamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to all

Originally Posted by farhan1111 View Post
'Using the right word at the right time' bro ye book urdu bazar se mil jaye ge ya phr feroze sons ya OUP kind shop se???
Urdu bazar me dhoondein.I got it off an old book shop.

Jamal Malik is on a distinguished road

hamza bhai I've read the whole thread, I found it highly useful and greatly appreciate your efforts. But still I find preparation for the current affairs quite an unchievable task. I've been trying to study current affairs by imtiaz shahid and whatever I read I dont find any relation with the questions asked in the papers and impossible to answer a single objective. Can you please elaborate in detail how you prepared for this paper and what should I do? I've read your posts regarding this paper but still I'm puzzled about this paper.
The Following User Says Thank You to Jamal Malik For This Useful Post:
parhakubacha (Wednesday, September 21, 2011)

Skylimit is on a distinguished road

Hamza, for optionals, is it better to keep one mainstream book for preparation or is it necessary to consult at least 2-3 books for preparing one optional(I have read this by so many senior members over here)..? I have bought 2 books for each optional subject and so far, I did not not find some gigantic difference in the content available in both the books. Moreover, for CA, I am preparing various academies notes as well as newspapers. I hope that's enough along with 3-4 editions of Imtiaz Shahid's "Comtemporary Affairs"

Thanks and regards!
Old Thursday, September 22, 2011
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Best Moderator Award: Awarded for censoring all swearing and keeping posts in order. - Issue reason:

Thanked 2,347 Times in 1,010 Posts
Shooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud of
Default Questions regrading Indo-Pak History.

1)How can we make Indo-Pak history paper II different from Pak-Affairs paper.What approach should be adopted?

2)If we need to do a comparison of two monarchs in History paper,is it necessary to take sides (like in essay) or a diplomatic approach will be better option?

candidguy (Thursday, September 22, 2011)

basitpasha is on a distinguished road

Hamza Salick. Hello

i have a question. my handwriting is not that mature. i write well and clean. is that okay for css examination? or i should make mature like the senior teachers or officers write?
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 54

samighumro is on a distinguished road
Exclamation Assesment

Originally Posted by Hamza Salick View Post
Hey friends,comrades n aspirants..I have cleared the written portion this year n have been teaching CSS classes at KIPS..I will share with u some tips of scoring well in each paper,and some general ones..small things,that can make a big difference..I shall start discussing them paper by paper
ENGLISH PRECISE:
Not many ppl wud know,but passing or failing this paper actually depends on ur passing the Precis itself..if u fail in it n get decent marks in other portions,u most probably wud be declared fail..its not a written rule,rather a custom.so allocate atleast 50-60 mins to the précis alone..I did it at the end of the paper..nw is the question of how to go about it..first make a rough draft..take the 1st four lines of the passage,n try compressing them..use ur own words 99% of the time..replace the passage’s words wid synonyms..u need to do sum thinking for that..thats y u need an hour for précis alone.ok u did the first 4 lines..now go to the second four lines and so on..dis way ull have compressed or summarized the whole passage,in a ruff format..do not quote any direct speech as such.try avoiding examples.try n replace phrases n sentences wid single words if possible.Ok so nw Uv got a rough draft of ur précis.go over it again.see where u can improve it,replace wid better words n expressions..try n build up connections in the patched up parts..precise need not be a beautiful piece of writing;it shud be easily comprehensible simple piece of summary..try n remain within the word limit..dont do it too short or too long..Ull most probably need to make 2 rough drafts b4 writing down a neat one..tip:make the rough drafts not at the back of ur paper,but in the normal sequence..like u write down the questn number of précis,n do all ur rough work under it..crocc it n do the neat one on next page.benefit;the examiner wud be impressed by ur approach.he shall knw uv done it systematically n hve put in a lot of effort in it..after all,u need to impress him don’t u??

Now to comprehensionppl will tell u to first read comprehension in detail a couple of tymz n blah blah blah..bollocks!U dont have tym for dis..Ill say,read the questions first..read em twice..n now start reading the comprehensn passage..whenever u stumble across an answer to the questions(that u read in the start)underline it,or better still,write it down..then go further along..this way less time wud be consumed n by the tym u end reading the passage,ull have answers to all but 1 or 2 of the questions..y dis??coz answers to 1 or 2 questions isnt given there in the passage at all..U have to read between the lines for them..deduce them from the information given..they are concealed sumwhere,n they r the ones that differentiate b/w a gud candidate n an average one..U can see this trend in the past paperz as well..
Dear Hamza,I appeared in CSS2011 n waiting for the result. I did my precie in this pattern, 1st i read the passage twice n thrice,then prepared a rough draft. Again, i was disatisfied and made two more rough drafts on the back of the paper. Then, i came to final passage and wrote it inside the paper in a neat & clean way. It took my 1hr and plus time to do this whole exercise and get a satisfactory solution to the passage.
Now, i jus wana know that was i did it in proper way as you suggest?
Old Friday, September 23, 2011
40th CTP (FSP)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2012 Merit 101

Thanked 1,691 Times in 640 Posts
Roshan wadhwani is a glorious beacon of lightRoshan wadhwani is a glorious beacon of lightRoshan wadhwani is a glorious beacon of lightRoshan wadhwani is a glorious beacon of lightRoshan wadhwani is a glorious beacon of light

Sir kindly help me improving my precis..thanking in advance

ORIGINAL PASSAGE: (126 words)

It is not luck but labour that makes men. Luck says an American writer, is ever waiting for something to turn up: labour with keen eye and strong will always turns up something. Luck lies in bed and wishes the postman would bring him news of a legacy; labour turns out at six and with busy pen and ringing hammer lays the foundation of a competence. Luck whines; labour watches. Luck relies on chance; labour on character. Luck slips downwards to self-indulgence; labour strides upwards and aspires to independence. The conviction, therefore, is extending that diligence is the mother of good luck: in other words, that a man’s success in life will be proportionate to his efforts, to his industry, to his attention to small things.

PRECIS:

It is diligence not luck that guides men to their destiny. Determined and committed people do not rely on luck and expect things to happen for them instead they themselves make everything possible by their dedicated efforts. Luck drags men to decadence while hard work makes people self-confident. Diligent people believe that hard work breeds luck and success depends on their effort.

HEADING: DILIGENCE IS THE MOTHER OF GOOD LUCK.

ORIGINAL PASSAGE: (283 words)

In this world of human affairs there is no worse nuisance than a boy at the age of fourteen. He is neither ornamental nor useful. It is impossible to shower affection on him as on a little boy; and he is always getting in the way. If he talks with a childish lisp he is called a baby, and if he answers in a grown-up way he is called impertinent. In fact any talk at all from him is resented. Then he is at the unattractive, growing age. He grows out of his clothes with indecent haste; his voice grows hoarse and breaks and quavers; his face grows suddenly angular and unsightly. It is easy to excuse the shortcomings of early childhood but it is hard to tolerate even unavoidable lapses in a boy of fourteen. The lad himself becomes painfully self-conscious. When he talks with elderly people he is either unduly forward, or else so unduly shy that he appears ashamed of his very existence.

Yet it is at this very age when in his heart of hearts a young lad craves for recognition and love; and he becomes the devoted slave of one who shows him consideration. But none dare openly love him, for that would be regarded as undue indulgence and therefore bad for the boy. So what with scolding and chiding, he becomes very much like a stray dog that has lost his master.

For a boy of fourteen his own home is the only paradise. To live in a strange house with strange people is little short of torture, while the height of bliss is to receive the kind looks of women and never to be slighted by them.

PRECIS: (103 words)

A boy at the age of fourteen passes through apparent changes. He experiences sudden and peculiar physical, vocal and facial changes. These changes make him feel unappealing and insecure. He can behave and talk neither childlike nor elderly. He is rebuked in both forms. Nevertheless, it is the age when he yearns for acknowledgement and affection. He becomes inclined to those who pay attention to him. But he is admonished by everyone to save him from distracting and wandering. He almost feels lonely at this age. Despite that, he is affectionately attached to his home which he considers a utopia and avoids unfamiliarity.

HEADING: A BOY AT THE AGE OF FOURTEEN

Last edited by Hamza Salick; Saturday, September 24, 2011 at 01:09 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Roshan wadhwani For This Useful Post:
Zoha (Tuesday, April 01, 2014)