09:13 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Tips and Experience Sharing > Arena of Golden Tips

Old Tuesday, August 07, 2012

Ahmed Faisal has a spectacular aura aboutAhmed Faisal has a spectacular aura about

Mano g, i read dawn on daily basis. In addition, i read current affairs (monthly) by safdar mehmood coupled with Press review (a current affair monthly as well). infect, these journals plus dawn take my approximately 3 hours. However, a reliable person told me that i need not read these journals, excluding dawn, till the three months in the exams are left. what do you say?
"Our Lord, give us the good in this world and the good in the hereafter." (Al-Qur'an, 2:201).
Old Tuesday, August 07, 2012

satti is on a distinguished road

AOA!
@mano g please need your recommendation about sociology,islamic history and culture,islamiyat compulsory, books.Which is best one and share with us which you studied for css as you have good marks.I feel that books selection is very important and confusing step in css as it is very 1st step.Also that notes are necessary for the preparation or just book study is enough.
Old Wednesday, August 08, 2012

Shumaila Rana is on a distinguished road

Mano G!
Thanxxx a lot for ur reply...
in shaa ALLAH i wl start the preparation of Essays along with optionals v soon...
kindly do remember me in ur prayers...
Stay blessed n happy ever!!!
mano g (Wednesday, August 08, 2012)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 51

Thanked 1,424 Times in 486 Posts
mano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to behold

Originally Posted by Ahmed Faisal View Post
Mano g, i read dawn on daily basis. In addition, i read current affairs (monthly) by safdar mehmood coupled with Press review (a current affair monthly as well). infect, these journals plus dawn take my approximately 3 hours. However, a reliable person told me that i need not read these journals, excluding dawn, till the three months in the exams are left. what do you say?
In my opinion, you are doing a good job but if you think that 3 hours are not suitable for current affairs according to your schedule and you need to reduce this time in order to give more time to other subjects then you may restrict yourself to Dawn, but otherwise if you can still manage other subjects excluding these three hours, then no need of leaving this practice, it will help you in several aspects. Secondly, i will agree to the point that three months prior to exams is the right time to focus on supporting journals of current affairs.

Originally Posted by satti View Post
AOA!
@mano g please need your recommendation about sociology,islamic history and culture,islamiyat compulsory, books.Which is best one and share with us which you studied for css as you have good marks.I feel that books selection is very important and confusing step in css as it is very 1st step.Also that notes are necessary for the preparation or just book study is enough.
Sociology:Horton n hunt's, J.J Baloch's or Taga's books are generally recommended, all these can be consulted, but I used J.J.Baloch's book and along with that I made my own notes after consulting multiple sources included internet.
Islamic History: M.Arshad's book i used but I is not easily available in the market so you can consult Mazharul Haq's book
Islamiyat:Professor Khurshid's book is good one, and read supporting material as well for example Friday features etc....

Book study should be the starting point but self-made notes are essential.
Ahmed Faisal (Wednesday, August 08, 2012), satti (Thursday, August 09, 2012)

believer4422 is on a distinguished road

aoa
kindly recomend and suggest for one not good enough in english.. . .
how should he move n wht should be the strategy

marwatian is on a distinguished road

salam dear!ist of all million of congrates to u.me was also among the final qualifiers of css 2011 merit no 327 frm kp.if i had not optied for indopak history(disaster)would hav wth u people in csa ths year.i got 620over all in writtern and 197 in interview. bu 84/200 in indo pak turned the table on me.now i want 2 go for css 2013.want 2 chnge indopak wthe sme scorng subject.options wth me r islmc hstry,ghography,britsh,european history,amercn hstry+pblc ad..whch one wll u sugest fr me ...my natral inclinatn s towrd histry..spedclly islamc..but could go fR anothr EXPERMNT becs indopak was my passion wch killd me nd the end.me an engineer by professn.also hav strtd workng in a govt dept so dosnt havtht much time as afresh cndidt hav..
The Following User Says Thank You to marwatian For This Useful Post:
VetDoctor (Thursday, August 09, 2012)
Old Thursday, August 09, 2012

mani g will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by mano g View Post
For sociology, use internet and explore the questions like drug abuse in Pakistan for recent facts and figures and details, use sociological jargon and try to give your answer in the social perspective!
What do you mean by "sociological jargon," Please elaborate.

ashiq e hussain is on a distinguished road

hello and congratz on ur success and may allah shower his blessing many more
mano g i am aspirant of 2013
as u mentioned the criteria of essay , pak affair
i wanted to know how to attemp a particular question of psychology if he
Q 1 => CRITICALLY EVALUATE THE FREUDS THEORY OF PERSONANILITY AND DEVELOPMENT ?
Q2=> WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN GROUTH , DEVOLOPMENT AND MATURITY ?
Q3=> DESCRIBE AIMS AND OBJECTIVES OF STRUCTALISM AND FUNCTIONALISM ?

JOURNALISM
Q1 => JOURNALISM IS PLAYING VERY SIGNIFICANT ROLE IN THE PREEND DAY SOCIETIES ?PLZ COMMENT ?
Q2 => EVALUATE THE ROLE OF MEDIA IN PAKISTAN
Q3 => DISCUSS THE STATE OF PRESS FREEDOM IN PAKISTAN

SOCIOLOGY
Q1=> IBN E KHALDOON IS KNOW AS FATHER OF SOCIOLOGY ? BRIEFLY DISCUSS HIS CONTRIBUTIONS TO SOCIOLOGY ?
Q2WHAT ARE DIFFERENT THEORIES ABOUT ORIGIN OF SOICIETY ?

MANO G all i want is that how to attemp these subjects , likewise i mentioned some questions .
i would be glad if i would find the way how to answer these subject . . .
KHUSH RAHO G . . .
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 51

Thanked 1,424 Times in 486 Posts
mano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to behold

Originally Posted by believer4422 View Post
aoa
kindly recomend and suggest for one not good enough in english.. . .
how should he move n wht should be the strategy
For improving language skills see the fifth post of the following thread, there is no separate strategy for such aspirants as are weak in English, you would have to prepare for the exam with dedication and side by side keep your focus on improving English.

http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners...uccess-11.html

Originally Posted by marwatian View Post
salam dear!ist of all million of congrates to u.me was also among the final qualifiers of css 2011 merit no 327 frm kp.if i had not optied for indopak history(disaster)would hav wth u people in csa ths year.i got 620over all in writtern and 197 in interview. bu 84/200 in indo pak turned the table on me.now i want 2 go for css 2013.want 2 chnge indopak wthe sme scorng subject.options wth me r islmc hstry,ghography,britsh,european history,amercn hstry+pblc ad..whch one wll u sugest fr me ...my natral inclinatn s towrd histry..spedclly islamc..but could go fR anothr EXPERMNT becs indopak was my passion wch killd me nd the end.me an engineer by professn.also hav strtd workng in a govt dept so dosnt havtht much time as afresh cndidt hav..
First of all let me tell you, that you have very good marks in viva, so you have to focus more on written part, 620 is less score if we see the growing competition, so work on every subject, though I agree with you that opting Indo-pak was a bad decision, in fact it was your bad luck, anyhow for 2013 attempt, I would recommend you to opt Islamic history, the reason is that I myself has studied it as also had an interest in it, it will not prove as an experiment inshaAllah, so go for it, yes it remained low scoring in 2010, but this time and according to observing its previous scoring trend, it is a safe history subject, geography is a technical subject, I will prefer Islamic history over other histories, particularly when one has an interest in it too, best of luck!

Originally Posted by mani g View Post
What do you mean by "sociological jargon," Please elaborate.
Technical terminologies of any particular subject are known as jargons, for example momentum, equilibrium, motion, are the terms we use in physics, chemical bonding, formula, valency are chemistry’s jargons, similarly if we talk about sociology, sociological research, social conflict, social problems, urbanization, social mobility are the terms which can be regarded as sociological jargons.

Originally Posted by ashiq e hussain View Post
hello and congratz on ur success and may allah shower his blessing many more
mano g i am aspirant of 2013
as u mentioned the criteria of essay , pak affair
i wanted to know how to attemp a particular question of psychology if he

JOURNALISM
Q1 => JOURNALISM IS PLAYING VERY SIGNIFICANT ROLE IN THE PREEND DAY SOCIETIES ?PLZ COMMENT ?

SOCIOLOGY
Q1=> IBN E KHALDOON IS KNOW AS FATHER OF SOCIOLOGY ? BRIEFLY DISCUSS HIS CONTRIBUTIONS TO SOCIOLOGY ?

MANO G all i want is that how to attemp these subjects , likewise i mentioned some questions .
i would be glad if i would find the way how to answer these subject . . .
KHUSH RAHO G . . .
It will not be possible to attempt these questions in detail here, but I can guide you how to go about these questions, keeping in view their subject relevance, then you will be able to understand that how to handle a question in these specific subjects,

Now, see in this question you have to ‘’critically evaluate’’ all the theories of Freud both for personality and development, due to limitation of time you have to remain focused on the background, theory, examples, psychological perspective, pros and cons and comparative analysis with theories of similar nature and at the end the status of that theory in psychology, whether it is obsolete or practical etc.

In this question, simply compare these three concepts, as these are very much interrelated topics, so make headings and try to focus on similarities and differences, because there are only a few differences among them so you have to compensate this question with technique, give definitions, examples, range of age (for example growth and maturity are not life time processes as compare to development), how to differentiate, types (for example maturity has no demarcated type but growth and development have, for example physiological, social, psychological etc)

These are two school of thoughts of psychology, first of all avoid selecting such questions in which you need to present your answer like a pure psychologist, because these all are broad topics and those who don’t have a background of psychology, can’t justify it properly, until and unless it is not attempted in an unusual way, but if you have no other option, you have to write in details about both of these topics, apparently aims and objectives are required, but keeping in view the sensitivity of the nature of question, you have to cover every aspect of these two school of thoughts, including background, name of psychologist who introduced this concept, features, examples, aims, objectives, positive and negative points, similarities and differences between both, status in psychology, a kind of thesis you have to present in a summarized form.

JOURNALISM

Aspects in which journalism is playing role in today’s world, it includes everything satring from personal to social life. Journalism, it’s evolution from primitive to modern form, modern society vs modern journalism, need of the hour, propaganda, news dissemination, in this question every aspect topic of journalism is to be included which is playing positive or negative role in societies, etc this question can take three hours, but again be comprehensive.

This question has similar nature as the above one, but here the term journalism has been replaced with media and societies have been replaced with the specific society i.e Pakistan, you have to start from 1947 till date. Again not a good option if other feasible questions are available, it is easy yet time taking question.

From 1947 till date, as you have to compare press freedom under different rules, including democracy vs dictatorship, then also you have to mention some of the press freedom rules, PEMRA etc….

SOCIOLOGY

You have to cover every angle of Ibne Khaldun’s life which has any importance in sociology, no need of mentioning his role in history, or other fields, be focused on sociology and also prove that he is rightly regarded as the father of sociology.

In this question you have to present synopsis that how this term evolved and who were the contributors(sociologists), this question is same as the question of school of thoughts in psychology, it’s a question of sociology student at master level so go for some other option if available.

good luck!
sonia5 (Saturday, August 25, 2012), student (Saturday, September 15, 2012), Waqas77 (Sunday, September 09, 2012), Zoha (Wednesday, April 02, 2014)

marwatian is on a distinguished road

tnx a lot u hav hlpd me n removng sme of my confusion.u know 130 in islamic instead of 84 in indopak would hav kept me in dmg in kp..tht why subject selctn becme a real game..sme pepl sugest phsychology.how u found tht?..if u hav to opt betwen psychlgy nd islmc hstory whch one wuld u go for?speclly wth engineerng(techncl backgroun)...sorry i m askng in ths way becs u hav opted both..u know bettr abut its topics..study..time consumption nd in the end reward..