05:35 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Compulsory Subjects > English (Precis & Composition)

Old Monday, January 09, 2006

Maximum Mirage is on a distinguished road
Default Correct Sentences

He is a coward.
Paris is as famous a city as London.
Look up for this word in the dictionary.
Open up the knot.
I made him stand.
Each of us has a pen.
She was named Nida.
He writes in blue ink.
Of what are u talking about?
Isaid it in his face.
I want to borrow your book.

N Danyal , your logics n explanations for the incorrect sentences are pretty correct. kindly check these sentences out n let us know the incorrect sentences with explanations.
thxxxx.
Old Monday, January 09, 2006
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - Merit 120

Adil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really nice

Hello guys.

I am extremely sorry to tell you that I had to edit my last thread to rectify the most basic mistakes (even a fool won't make), which were committed by me owing to hurry.

I hope you guys understand and don't object it!

Adil Memon
Police Service of Pakistan (P.S.P)
37th Common Training Program
Old Tuesday, January 10, 2006
35th Common
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Medal of AppreciationCSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: roll#2764.....am 4th from Sindh Rural

Danyal is on a distinguished road

3.Look up this word in the dictionary.
4.Unknit the knot.
5.I made him stand.
6.Each one of us have a pen.
7.She was named Nida.
9.What are you talikng about?

well, brothers... i m not sure about 10th and 11th....Mirage may be right..

regards,
Abdullah

untie the knot
i said it to his face
what are you talking of?
each of us has a pen.(i'm not sure about this)
look up this word in the dictionary?(danyal's)

rest all is correct
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - Merit 120

Adil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really nice

1.He is a coward.
2.Paris city is as famous as London.
3.Look up for this word in the dictionary.
4.Untie the knot.
5.I made him stand.
6.Each of us has a pen.
7.She was named Nida.
8.He writes in blue ink.
9.What you are talking about/of?
10.I said it on his face.
11.I want you to lend me your book.

(The exercise is completed without peeping into the previous answers. Please rectify the mistakes.)

Adil Memon
Old Thursday, January 12, 2006

Next exercise form my side.

1. It's seven twenty o'clock.
2. Your coat is broken.
3. Susan didn't make a fault anyway.
4. Would you mind posting this letter for me ? Yes, certainly.
5. He becomes better.
6. We'll have a hearing test tomorrow.
7. I recommend you to take a long vacation.
8. The last bus leaves at eleven o'clock. It's about eleven now, Hurry up!
9. It was still bright outside.

Adil Memon
Old Saturday, January 14, 2006
35th Common
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Medal of AppreciationCSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: roll#2764.....am 4th from Sindh Rural

Danyal is on a distinguished road

1. It's seven twenty.
2.Your coat is tattered/worn off/cast-off.( but still not sure)
3.Susan didn't make any fault.
4.Would you mind posting this letter for me?No, certainly not.
5.He(may) become better./ He has become better.
6.We'll have an audition tomorrow.
7.I recommend you take a long vacation.
8.The last bus leaves at 11 o'clock. It's already eleven now , Hurry up!
9.It was still bright outside.(either the sentence is correct or, if corrected, it will take shape like..) it is still bright outside.

PS. brother Adil .....u have given a very tricky test ...keep it up..
Abdullah

1. It's twenty past seven.
2.( Same as bro danyal)
3. Susan didn't make any fault .(danyal)
4. Would you mind posting this letter for me ? Yes, surely.
5. He is becoming/getting better.(not sure)
6. (Same as bro dayal)
7. I recommend you a long vacation.
8. The last bus leaves at 11 o'clock. It's already eleven now; Hurry up!(danyal)
9. It was still bright outside. (no idea)

NB: Adil acha nahi kia tum nein

1. It's seven twenty.
2. Your coat is torn.
3. Susan didn't make a mistake anyway.
4. Would you mind mailing this letter for me ? Of course not. OR ( Not at all )
5. He got better.
6. We'll have a listening test tomorow.
7. I recommend that you take a long vacation.
8. The last bus leaves at eleven o'clock. It's nearly ( almost ) eleven now, Hurry up!

9. It was still light outside.

I copied the test and answer key from a website. Incase anybody has objections to the corrections i've posted, let's discuss them.

Adil Memon

The next drill.

1. Come to here.
2. Common students in US don't wear a uniform.
3. Who cooked this salad ?
4. Different from me, she is proficient in English.
5. Little children are difficult to understand that.
6. Don't step on the grass.
7. I get my salary twice a month.
8. Would you like a drink ?
9. Let me examine your pulse.
10. I have no exercise talent.
11. Don't expect me too much.
12. I know his face.
13. I forget my hat in the house.
14. Lend me some money, for instance 500 dollars, Lin.
15. I have a free time.
16. The sun rises from the East.
17. The thief got in from the window.

Adil Memon