02:08 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Compulsory Subjects > English (Precis & Composition) > Grammar-Section

Old Friday, October 23, 2015
45th CTP (IRS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2016 - Merit 135

Meme is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Mashaaal View Post
aamish and meme I am learning a lot from both of you. thanks for that. here is the third part. kindly pinpoint the mistakes.

He or she is a thief.
He or she is the thief.

Certificates are attached herewith.
Attached herewith are the certificates.

She died from cancer.
She died of cancer.

No sooner he left than the storm broke.
No sooner had he left, than the storm broke.

I would sooner quit than to do it.
I would sooner quit than doing it.

Slower you move, greater the time you take.
The slower you move, the greater time you take.

They considered him as a great fool.
They considered him to be a great fool

She was too pleased to hear the news.
She was much pleased to hear the news

He walks as if he is lame.
He walks as if he (was/had been?) lame. ( )

One can learn his lesson if he applies his mind to it.
One can learn his lesson if one applies his mind to it.
Hey,

For the sentence: I would sooner quit than doing it, the correction should be: I would sooner quit than do it. 'Doing it,' does not make sense since the first part of the sentence I would sooner quit is in a different tense.

2) She was too pleased to hear the news.
The correction should be: She was very pleased to hear the news.
Reasoning: Very vs. Much

With adjectives and adverbs in the positive degree i.e. denoting a positive feeling, and with present participles used as adjectives very is used.

Examples:
1) I am very happy to accept your offer [happy: adjective used in positive degree; very is used].
2) He was very greatly impressed by his fluency of language [greatly: adverb in the positive degree: denotes how impressed he was].
3) the book is very amusing [amusing: present participle used as an adjective: describing the book in -ing form].

Also, a few past participles that function as adjectives take very before them: very tired; very pleased. [Source: Exploring the world of English 465].

In this case, pleased is a past participle used as an adjective, but why?

Past participles used as adjectives very often describe mental or emotional states, and therefore have a person or animal as their subject. There is no explicit agent, and often not even an implicit one. [http://english.stackexchange.com/que...and-very-much].

Thus, she was ------pleased, the past participle pleased is being used as an adjective.

Now, much is used before past participles or with adjectives and adverbs in the comparative degree:
1) He is much more intelligent than his brother [more intelligent: adjective in the comparative degree: more denotes comparison].

2) He suffered much more heavily than his friend in this business enterprise [more heavily: adverb in the comparative degree].

3) I thought him looking much altered [altered: past participle of alter]. Source: Exploring the world of English 465

To understand what past and present participles are this link is pretty straightforward: http://staff.washington.edu/marynell...r/partadj.html

Both very and much are used before past participles; the difference in the usage has to do with how the past participle functions, i.e. is it used as an adjective, if yes then use very.

He walks as if he is lame.
Correction: He walks as if he were lame.
Reasoning:
"In English we also use as if to make comparisons. However it has a few distinct characteristics to its use:

1. The verb after AS IF is always in the past subjunctive, no matter what tense the sentence is.

2. If the verb BE directly follows AS IF, we use were for all personal pronouns.

He looks as if he knew the answer.
(The verbs LOOKS indicates this sentence is in the present – but the verb after AS IF – knew - is in the past subjuntive).

She walks as if she were a supermodel.
(The verb after AS IF – be – has been changed to were and not was).

He boarded the airplane as if he were a seasoned traveller.
He spends money as if he owned a bank" (Source: http://www.grammar.cl/Notes/Like_vs_As.htm).

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Meme For This Useful Post:
Aamish Bhatti (Friday, October 23, 2015), Mashaaal (Friday, October 23, 2015)
Old Saturday, October 24, 2015

Aamish Bhatti is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Mashaaal View Post
They considered him as a great fool.

They considered him to be a great fool.
'To be' is never used with verb 'consider'.

Correct sentence should be,

They considered him a great fool.

Mashaal and Meme I would suggest that we solve the sentence correction from past papers here in this thread. We can solve the past papers from 2000 to 2015 in sequence here. In this way we can prepare in short span of time with each others help and sharing of knowledge.
I had planned to prepare on my own but because of this thread now I know that I really need help in preparation. Thanks to both of you or else I would not have known my weakness. Waiting for your reply Meme and Mashaal.

Last edited by Man Jaanbazam; Saturday, October 24, 2015 at 09:22 PM. Reason: merge chain posts
The Following User Says Thank You to Aamish Bhatti For This Useful Post:
Mashaaal (Saturday, October 24, 2015)
45th CTP (IRS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2016 - Merit 135

Originally Posted by Aamish Bhatti View Post
Mashaal and Meme I would suggest that we solve the sentence correction from past papers here in this thread. We can solve the past papers from 2000 to 2015 in sequence here. In this way we can prepare in short span of time with each others help and sharing of knowledge.
I had planned to prepare on my own but because of this thread now I know that I really need help in preparation. Thanks to both of you or else I would not have known my weakness. Waiting for your reply Meme and Mashaal.
Hey,

Sure, I'm up for it. I think it'll help a lot.

The Following User Says Thank You to Meme For This Useful Post:
Aamish Bhatti (Saturday, October 24, 2015)
44th CTP (IRS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2015 - Merit 162

Mashaaal is on a distinguished road

i have already solved a number of pastpapers during my preparation for ce15 , so it will not be a problem for me to share that material here. lets complete all these sentences first and then move to past papers please.
i would like to add one thing that i have cleared the screening test for assistant director IB and now i have to appear in the English descriptive test soon. so after completing the practice for corrections, i would be seeking help FROM BOTH OF YOU (meme and aamish)in narrations. hope it will not bother you

i am working on fifth and sixth part, will post that till evening.

@aamish
We saw much less films than last years.
(We saw much less films this year than the last year.
Ye tukka mara hai...)

i think the correct sentence will be like..
we saw much less films than that of last year.
(meme ...check it)

[QUOTE=Aamish Bhatti;874974]

I only did do two sums.

i only did two sums.
the correct sentence can be?
i did only two sums.

Last edited by Man Jaanbazam; Saturday, October 24, 2015 at 09:23 PM. Reason: merge chain posts
The Following User Says Thank You to Mashaaal For This Useful Post:
Aamish Bhatti (Saturday, October 24, 2015)

Thanked 1,290 Times in 783 Posts
exclusively has a spectacular aura aboutexclusively has a spectacular aura aboutexclusively has a spectacular aura about

Thanks for sharing productive websites, though some of the sentences are not being rectified. I liked the websites you shared. Thanks dear.
44th CTP (IRS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2015 - Merit 162

Lightbulb fifth part

meme and aamish please have a look at these sentences.
fifth part

They found that the ship is leaking.
They found that the ship was leaking.

He was arrested under the charge of stealing.
He was arrested for stealing.

He is sitting besides his mother.
He is sitting beside his mother.

nice a man I have never seen.
I have never seen such a nice man.

Faisalabad is Manchester of Pakistan.
Faisalabad is the Manchester of Pakistan

The gold is more costly than the silver.
The gold is costlier than silver.

He is a man of words.
he is a man of his words.

What is this book's price?
what is the price of this book.

His hairs have turned white.
his hair has turned white

Either he or I are right.
Either he or I am right.
exclusively (Saturday, October 24, 2015)
45th CTP (IRS)

Slower you move, greater the time you take.
The slower you move, the greater time you take.
Hey,

I missed an error in this correction; It should be: The slower you move, the more time you take.
Reasoning: greater vs. More
More is used for countable and uncountable nouns whereas greater is used when the noun in question is a number: the area of georgia is greater than the area of pennsylvania.
Here area is a noun which denotes a number.
Source: http://magoosh.com/gmat/2012/gmat-co...less-vs-fewer/

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Meme For This Useful Post:
Aamish Bhatti (Saturday, October 24, 2015), exclusively (Saturday, October 24, 2015), Mashaaal (Saturday, October 24, 2015)

Thanked 1,290 Times in 783 Posts
exclusively has a spectacular aura aboutexclusively has a spectacular aura aboutexclusively has a spectacular aura about

I met him prior than his departure for Karachi.
I met him prior to his departure for Karachi.

He is the ablest and efficient teacher.
He is the most ablest and efficient teacher.

They did their duty should be rewarded.
Their done duty should be rewarded.

It is no doubt that the man is dead.
It is no doubt that the man is died.

I doubt that he will come.
I have doubt whether/if he will come.

No sooner he left than the storm broke.
No sooner had he left than the storm broke.

He likes me reading the novel.
He likes my reading the novel.

I asked him what he ate.
I asked him about what he ate.

He ran as fast as he could run.
He ran as fast as he could.

I said it in his face.
I said it on his face.

Thanks for starting such a productive practice, I have been victim of this particular subject twice. So guys, I am here with you too to sail our journey on same boat to cross this aag ka dariya. I am very bad at composition, please check my attempts too

He made three goals in the last match.
He scored three goals in the last match.

When Amjad or his brother visits us we are delighted.
When Amjad or his brother visits us we become delighted.

He asked me where I came from.
He asked me from where I came.

There is little to do in such a hopeless case as this.
There is little to do in such a helpless case as this.

He always had hatred against inefficiency.
He always has hatred against inefficiency.

You ought to have treated him you equal.
You should have treated him equal.

He enjoys the most worldwide reputation.
He earns the most worldwide reputation.

The boy who was promoted, he was my brother.
The boy who was promoted, ismy brother.

He availed of the opportunity.
He availed of his opportunity.

I would sooner quit than to do it.
I would sooner quit than doing it.

He is M.A. while his friend is B.A.
He is masters while his fiend is bachelor.

He has been died today.
(I think it is correct sentence)

He is hardly hit by the bank's failure.
He is hardly hit by the bankrupt.

This is another side of the question.
This is another part of the question.

The debate was now coming to a close.
The debate is coming to the conclusion now.

He ran three hundred meters race.
He ran a three hundred meters race.

My tooth is paining very badly.
My tooth is paining badly.

Najma eats like Salma does.
Najma eats like/similar to Salma does.

He has lit up the fire of reform.
He has lit up the reform.

I did not know that honesty was the best policy.
I did not know whether honesty was the best policy.

Originally Posted by Meme View Post
Hey,

I missed an error in this correction; It should be: The slower you move, the more time you take.
Reasoning: greater vs. More
More is used for countable and uncountable nouns whereas greater is used when the noun in question is a number: the area of georgia is greater than the area of pennsylvania.
Here area is a noun which denotes a number.
Source: http://magoosh.com/gmat/2012/gmat-co...less-vs-fewer/

Meme the way you have been guiding, I appreciate your commendable efforts. Please check my attempts actively. As I am going to attempt the rest of the corrections now.

Last edited by Man Jaanbazam; Saturday, October 24, 2015 at 09:26 PM.
45th CTP (IRS)

For goodness' sake leave me alone.

She is more intelligent between the two.

Whom do you want to see?

Let Sabiha and me go there.

We saw much less films this year than the last year.
Ye tukka mara hai...

Between you and me, he is a cheat.

The climate of Multan is better than that of Lahore.

I only did do two sums.

Last part of the book is very difficult.

There is little truth in your statement.
Hey,

Okay so the correction for the sentence: We saw much less films than last years should be: We saw fewer films this year than last year.

Reasoning: fewer vs much less: traditional rule is that few is used for countable nouns or plural nouns and less is used for uncountable nouns or singular nouns.
Examples:

Singular: Less
Candy is . . . less candy
Water is . . . less water
Potato salad is: less potato salad

Plural: Few
M&Ms are . . . fewer M&Ms
Glasses of water are . . . fewer glasses of water
Potatoes are . . . fewer potatoes

Exception to this rule ['Can you count it: Yes: use few; No: use less]
time, money, and weight: all of them are used with less.
[Source:http://www.quickanddirtytips.com/edu...-versus-fewer].

2) She is more intelligent of the two
I am baffled by this one, I can't identify the error.
In Exploring the world of English a similar sentence has been corrected by identifying an error in the use of comparative adjectives;
"Incorrect: From the two he is clever.
Correct: He is the more cleverer of the two.
He is the clever of the two" (451).
Now, using this logic the sentence may be corrected as follows:
She is the more intelligent of the two
Between the two is incorrect, it does not indicate comparison and sounds wrong.

If anyone has a verifiable correction for this sentence [a teacher told you it was correct] please post it. Thanks.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Meme For This Useful Post:
Aamish Bhatti (Sunday, October 25, 2015), Mashaaal (Saturday, October 24, 2015)
44th CTP (IRS)

@exclusively; welcome to the thread. try to follow the rhythm in order to get the best out of it. keep numbering the parts which you attempt.
here are a few mistakes in your corrections;

He is the ablest and efficient teacher.
He is the most ablest and efficient teacher.

most is never used with -est form of adverb or adjective(superlative degree,)
for example "most weakest " is incorrect.... -est form in itself means that its is the most weak one....
and those words which cannot take -est form (for example recentest is no word), then in that case more or most is used before that word, for example more recent, most recent
so in the same way "most ablest" is incorrect.(because ablest is no word, able cannot take the suffix -est)

the correct sentence is;
he is the most able and efficient teacher.

no 2;
It is no doubt that the man is dead.
It is no doubt that the man is died.

"is died" is grammatically incorrect,, with "died" we use 'has' or 'had'.
correct form is;
"there is no doubt that the man is dead"

meme please guide me here...
you siad that the correct form of
We saw much less films than last years
should be:
We saw fewer films this year than last year.

i understood the use of less and few, but i am still not convinced by the correct form.
i think it should be;
we saw fewer films than that of last year.
am i correct?
waiting for your response...

Last edited by Man Jaanbazam; Saturday, October 24, 2015 at 09:29 PM. Reason: merge chain posts
The Following User Says Thank You to Mashaaal For This Useful Post:
exclusively (Saturday, October 24, 2015)