11:12 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Compulsory Subjects > Essay

Old Thursday, February 14, 2013

Ainuddin Kibzai is just really niceAinuddin Kibzai is just really niceAinuddin Kibzai is just really niceAinuddin Kibzai is just really nice
Smile Essay Phobia

A PROMISE:
I promise that after reading this article of mine, you will find Essay paper as the easiest one to attempt. InshaAllah.
I'm writing this article in reference to the request from several friends and CSS aspirants. I hope that it serves the motive to its utmost capability.Essay, to me, is the simplest of things when it comes to CSS in particular. I can swear that I have only written two detailed essays and that too in the CSS examination. Apart from that, I have never written any detailed essay whatsoever. I used to go through the outlines made by others and then practised making my own as well. I always entered the examination hall with utter confidence without any fear of Essay at all.In 2011, I attempted the essay, " What are the hurdles in our way to becoming a truly independent state?".And in 2012, I opted the essay, " A Critical Analysis of Education Systems in Pakistan ".
Kindly, keep in mind the following points whenever you are to take up any essay.
SELECTION OF TOPIC:
This is what matters the most particularly for essay writing.1. Never go for an anticipated essay. Because that must have been prepared by several other aspirants as well. Your good essay that could easily fetch you passing marks will be made to look mediocre in comparison to a very good essay that must have passed through examiner's mind.2. Try and select the topic that is the simplest one to attempt, Kindly avoid essays on Economy, Women Issues and on Literature.
MATERIAL:
I have come across several aspirants who are deeply concerned regarding the material required for essay writing.For God's sake, aap ne jo baqi 10 subjects ( papers ) study kiye hain kya unka material kam hai?????Remember that Essay is all about improvisation of the knowledge you have acquired from other 10 papers. It is all about fitting in what is relevant.I swear that the essays I passed I didn't use even a single data or figure. One might object that the Essay relating Education must have been flooded with data. But I swear that I didn't write even a single one.
AREAS OF FOCUS:
INTRODUCTION:-
Keep it very very simple by writing a simple beginning. In 2 to 3 sentences, try and make a build-up to the thesis statement.After the build up, give your stance about the Essay in the form of a sentence known as THESIS STATEMENT.And a short summary of the OUTLINE is given after the Thesis Statement. Thus the Introducation is completed.
HISTORICAL PERSPECTIVE:
This is the most important and often the most neglected portion of any essay.For example, if the Essay about Importance of Education comes then kindly take a start from Hazrat Shah Waliullah, Sir Syed Ahmed Khan, Shaikh Ahmed Sirhndi, Inception of Pakistan and then end up on current scenario.You may well start from the Holy Prophet ( S.A.W.W) signifying the importance of education.Here, you can easily fit in your knowledge of Pakistan Affairs, Islamiay, Islamic History, and even other subjects.
EXAMINER'S PSYCHE:
Now the question arises about facilitating the examier when he reads the rest of the essay.Well, since you have not written the HEADING for each paragraph therefore, examiner will have to know that himself as what's written in the paragraph.Don't force the examiner to be compelled to read your complete paragraph in order to know as what it is all about.Your first sentence of the paragraph which is known as TOPIC SENTENCE clearly shows what the paragraph is about.For instance, the sentence " Low salaries of the government employees have been a major factor behind corruption"This sentence clearly tells that your paragraph is about the LOw Salary as a cause of Corruption. Thus, you have facilitated the examiner and eventually he will facilitate you as well. The topnis sentence follows the examples to prove your Topic Sentence.After the detail, re-quote the topic sentence but in different words.For example, " One of the key factors for the prevalence of corruption is low salaries.
NUMBER OF WORDS:
to be truly speaking, the number of words don't matter at all.I hardly wrote 1100 to 1200 words in my first essay and merely 1300 in the second essay.
A REQUEST:
Plz, plz plz, keep things simple and don't make things complicted and disturbing either for yourself or for the examiner.
Ainu.
aafia (Tuesday, February 19, 2013), abdul rehman3 (Thursday, February 14, 2013), amna rafiq (Friday, February 15, 2013), BALOCHISTAN (Friday, February 15, 2013), bl chughtai (Saturday, February 16, 2013), dany k (Thursday, February 14, 2013), dms664 (Friday, February 15, 2013), fairy zainab (Thursday, February 14, 2013), hamsafer (Thursday, February 14, 2013), heyuayesha (Saturday, February 16, 2013), Mahvish Shahid (Friday, February 15, 2013), Man Jaanbazam (Friday, February 22, 2013), mangat1 (Thursday, February 14, 2013), Maryam Ali (Thursday, February 14, 2013), mohsanfiaz (Thursday, February 14, 2013), Mr noAttitude (Thursday, February 14, 2013), Nicodemius (Saturday, February 23, 2013), prestigious (Friday, February 15, 2013), quratulain syed (Thursday, February 14, 2013), rozeb70 (Thursday, February 14, 2013), sajid667 (Monday, February 18, 2013), Sarmad Ehsan (Thursday, February 14, 2013), seher bano (Thursday, February 14, 2013), soft953 (Thursday, February 14, 2013), SYEDA SABAHAT (Saturday, February 16, 2013), Taimoor Gondal (Thursday, February 14, 2013), The warrior (Friday, February 15, 2013), Waqas77 (Thursday, February 14, 2013), waqasshah (Thursday, February 14, 2013), zabee8 (Friday, February 22, 2013), zazu (Monday, June 03, 2013)

rozeb70 is on a distinguished road

hi,
thnx alot for writing this article..as exams are approaching so fast and essay THE NIGHTMARE fr candidates including me and essay is spoiling my time mangemnt fr other subjctz also.....
now much relaxed after reading ur post.stay blessd and plz rmember in dua..
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rozeb70 For This Useful Post:
Ainuddin Kibzai (Thursday, February 14, 2013), sajid667 (Monday, February 18, 2013)

hamsafer is on a distinguished road

good effort thanx brother for your mOral support
The Following User Says Thank You to hamsafer For This Useful Post:
Ainuddin Kibzai (Thursday, February 14, 2013)

Waqas77 is on a distinguished road

THanks alot ainu brother,

I cannot express how much i'm feeling relax now.
I only want to give my little input if you don't mind at all....
As i had learned that start of my essay MUST BE bombastic, In a sense, that i need to put the crux of topic in one or two sentences without providing formal introduction.
Do you agree ?
The Following User Says Thank You to Waqas77 For This Useful Post:
Ainuddin Kibzai (Thursday, February 14, 2013)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Best Moderator Award: Awarded for censoring all swearing and keeping posts in order. - Issue reason:

Thanked 2,347 Times in 1,010 Posts
Shooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud of

Originally Posted by Ainuddin Kibzai View Post
SELECTION OF TOPIC:
Kindly avoid essays on Economy, Women Issues and on Literature.
This does not look like a valid point to me.

One should choose the topic one feels comfortable with, be it a literary one, current affairs related or any other. Read the given statements (topics),if you cannot fully understand the statement,never ever try to attempt that essay. Your simple essay can be tolerated but not an out of context one.

dms664 (Friday, February 15, 2013), Raz (Thursday, February 14, 2013), seher bano (Thursday, February 14, 2013), zabee8 (Friday, February 22, 2013)

seher bano will become famous soon enough

I second to shooting star. I am business graduate, if I come across essay on economy how can I avoid that essay, so everybody has their own specialization and command. Simply, attempt those essay which facilitate you the most.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to seher bano For This Useful Post:
dms664 (Friday, February 15, 2013), Raz (Thursday, February 14, 2013)

Hassan Ahmed Shah is on a distinguished road

Bro, thanks for your motivating words!. Please tell us about your Essay Score in both attempts...

headache is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by seher bano View Post
I second to shooting star. I am business graduate, if I come across essay on economy how can I avoid that essay, so everybody has their own specialization and command. Simply, attempt those essay which facilitate you the most.
yes agreed,one must find a sunday topic for him that one can elaborate easily

Hoodwink is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Ainuddin Kibzai View Post
A PROMISE:
I promise that after reading this article of mine, you will find Essay paper as the easiest one to attempt. InshaAllah.
I'm writing this article in reference to the request from several friends and CSS aspirants. I hope that it serves the motive to its utmost capability.Essay, to me, is the simplest of things when it comes to CSS in particular. I can swear that I have only written two detailed essays and that too in the CSS examination. Apart from that, I have never written any detailed essay whatsoever. I used to go through the outlines made by others and then practised making my own as well. I always entered the examination hall with utter confidence without any fear of Essay at all.In 2011, I attempted the essay, " What are the hurdles in our way to becoming a truly independent state?".And in 2012, I opted the essay, " A Critical Analysis of Education Systems in Pakistan ".
Kindly, keep in mind the following points whenever you are to take up any essay.
SELECTION OF TOPIC:
This is what matters the most particularly for essay writing.1. Never go for an anticipated essay. Because that must have been prepared by several other aspirants as well. Your good essay that could easily fetch you passing marks will be made to look mediocre in comparison to a very good essay that must have passed through examiner's mind.2. Try and select the topic that is the simplest one to attempt, Kindly avoid essays on Economy, Women Issues and on Literature.
MATERIAL:
I have come across several aspirants who are deeply concerned regarding the material required for essay writing.For God's sake, aap ne jo baqi 10 subjects ( papers ) study kiye hain kya unka material kam hai?????Remember that Essay is all about improvisation of the knowledge you have acquired from other 10 papers. It is all about fitting in what is relevant.I swear that the essays I passed I didn't use even a single data or figure. One might object that the Essay relating Education must have been flooded with data. But I swear that I didn't write even a single one.
AREAS OF FOCUS:
INTRODUCTION:-
Keep it very very simple by writing a simple beginning. In 2 to 3 sentences, try and make a build-up to the thesis statement.After the build up, give your stance about the Essay in the form of a sentence known as THESIS STATEMENT.And a short summary of the OUTLINE is given after the Thesis Statement. Thus the Introducation is completed.
HISTORICAL PERSPECTIVE:
This is the most important and often the most neglected portion of any essay.For example, if the Essay about Importance of Education comes then kindly take a start from Hazrat Shah Waliullah, Sir Syed Ahmed Khan, Shaikh Ahmed Sirhndi, Inception of Pakistan and then end up on current scenario.You may well start from the Holy Prophet ( S.A.W.W) signifying the importance of education.Here, you can easily fit in your knowledge of Pakistan Affairs, Islamiay, Islamic History, and even other subjects.
EXAMINER'S PSYCHE:
Now the question arises about facilitating the examier when he reads the rest of the essay.Well, since you have not written the HEADING for each paragraph therefore, examiner will have to know that himself as what's written in the paragraph.Don't force the examiner to be compelled to read your complete paragraph in order to know as what it is all about.Your first sentence of the paragraph which is known as TOPIC SENTENCE clearly shows what the paragraph is about.For instance, the sentence " Low salaries of the government employees have been a major factor behind corruption"This sentence clearly tells that your paragraph is about the LOw Salary as a cause of Corruption. Thus, you have facilitated the examiner and eventually he will facilitate you as well. The topnis sentence follows the examples to prove your Topic Sentence.After the detail, re-quote the topic sentence but in different words.For example, " One of the key factors for the prevalence of corruption is low salaries.
NUMBER OF WORDS:
to be truly speaking, the number of words don't matter at all.I hardly wrote 1100 to 1200 words in my first essay and merely 1300 in the second essay.
A REQUEST:
Plz, plz plz, keep things simple and don't make things complicted and disturbing either for yourself or for the examiner.
Ainu.
what was your result after writing a essay of 110 and 1300 words ?

Ainuddin Kibzai is just really niceAinuddin Kibzai is just really niceAinuddin Kibzai is just really niceAinuddin Kibzai is just really nice

Brother Shooting Star.
I would not suggest opting Essay relating Women because the aspirant will have to keep his approach very neutral. He should be neither too Conservative nor too Liberal.
Therefore, better play safe. :-)
The Essay relating Economy is quite a risky one as well since you would require lots of facts and figures along with update data.
Again, play safe. :-)
And the Essay regarding Literature is risky since Literature has been quite a low scoring subject throughout Pakistan. I myself am Masters in English Literature. Still, I can't either opt Literary Essay or English Literature as an optional subject.
And my post was basically intended to shun the butterflies in the stomachs of the aspirant regarding Essay. :-)
I believe in simplifying things along with following the basics. :-)

Brother. I was able to pass the Essay in both the attempts though with less marks.
I only stumbled in General Knowledge by merely 3 marks.
Furthermore, I score 64 in English Precis and Composition in 2012.

I'm just a simple teacher. :-)
I'm not an expert. Because an expert is a person who tells you a simple thing in a complicated manner in order to make you think that the confusion is your own fault. :-)
Simplicity holds the key. :-)
Ainu. :-)

Last edited by Shooting Star; Thursday, February 14, 2013 at 08:45 PM. Reason: merged
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Ainuddin Kibzai For This Useful Post:
anam047 (Tuesday, February 19, 2013), dms664 (Friday, February 15, 2013), Mahvish Shahid (Friday, February 15, 2013), rozeb70 (Friday, February 15, 2013), seher bano (Thursday, February 14, 2013), Waqas77 (Friday, February 15, 2013)