03:48 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Compulsory Subjects > Essay

Old Monday, May 26, 2014

samreenz is on a distinguished road
Default Help Required in Essay

Aslam o alaikum Moderators and Other Candidates.

I am Samreen, lecturer in NED University of Engineering and also planning to make my first and final attempt for CSS 2015. Besides that, I am also preparing my self for SPSC CCE. I have a little problem, as most of the job oriented candidates, of time shortage for preparation. One of my friend recommend me this site for guidance and preparation. I have gone through some of the contents of the web portal and apart from certain odds I find it beneficial and useful for my preparation. Due to my job nature and family responsibilities I couldn't be able to join English teacher. What I think is to put my materiel here for evaluation and positive criticism. Just to begin with, I put the timeline of an essay "Energy crises in Pakistan - Causes and Remedies". Can any senior member guide me the positive and negative points in the time line! I would be very thankful. It's my first attempt on the forum, so I am very excited about the comments. Regards.

Energy crises in Pakistan - Causes & Remedies

1. Introduction
2. Issue of energy in Pakistan
3. Fundamentals of energy resources
A. Hydro Power
B. Oil & Gas
C. Nuclear Power
4. Causes of energy crises
A. Massive difference in demand & supply
B. Absence of mega infrastructures
C. Aging of existing system
D. Exploitation of energy resources
E. Inefficient usage & Line losses
F. Absence of alternate energy resources
G. Corruption & Quality of Governance
H. Circular debt

5. Effects on society
A. Human Effects
B. Economic affects

6. Remedies
A. Energy conservation
B. Public awareness campaign & role of media
C. Use of alternate energy resources (wind, coal, solar, tidal, bio gas)
D. Need of national and provincial energy policy (Especially after 18th Amendment when constitution allows provinces to invest in alternate energy projects)
E. Regional Cooperation (IP pipeline)
F. Effective Governance
G. Invest on mega infrastructures

7. Conclusion

In addition, I want to know in case of energy crises should we take all forms of energy crises i.e. CNG, Petrol, Electricity or only stuck to electricity!
Old Monday, May 26, 2014

Maidah shaikh is on a distinguished road

Asalam u alaikum , Dear i read your outlines , kindly reshuffle your introduction part , its very random , the thing is that you should write outlines in a systematic and logical manner . And also your outlines show that you have not highlighted the main reasons behind increasing energy issue in Pakistan .
Old Monday, May 26, 2014

I put it in the intro section and define thoroughly in the difference between demand and supply section. Because the essay is about causes and remedies so I didn't make it the part of main theme. Of course there are many like increase in population, urbanization, industrial and agricultural purpose, use of massive electric appliances. But should it include in the essay!
Old Monday, May 26, 2014
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2010 - Roll no 6884

qamar abbas ranjha will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by samreenz View Post
Aslam o alaikum Moderators and Other Candidates.

I am Samreen, lecturer in NED University of Engineering and also planning to make my first and final attempt for CSS 2015. Besides that, I am also preparing my self for SPSC CCE. I have a little problem, as most of the job oriented candidates, of time shortage for preparation. One of my friend recommend me this site for guidance and preparation. I have gone through some of the contents of the web portal and apart from certain odds I find it beneficial and useful for my preparation. Due to my job nature and family responsibilities I couldn't be able to join English teacher. What I think is to put my materiel here for evaluation and positive criticism. Just to begin with, I put the timeline of an essay "Energy crises in Pakistan - Causes and Remedies". Can any senior member guide me the positive and negative points in the time line! I would be very thankful. It's my first attempt on the forum, so I am very excited about the comments. Regards.

Energy crises in Pakistan - Causes & Remedies

1. Introduction
2. Issue of energy in Pakistan
3. Fundamentals of energy resources
A. Hydro Power
B. Oil & Gas
C. Nuclear Power
4. Causes of energy crises
A. Massive difference in demand & supply
B. Absence of mega infrastructures
C. Aging of existing system
D. Exploitation of energy resources
E. Inefficient usage & Line losses
F. Absence of alternate energy resources
G. Corruption & Quality of Governance
H. Circular debt

5. Effects on society
A. Human Effects
B. Economic affects

6. Remedies
A. Energy conservation
B. Public awareness campaign & role of media
C. Use of alternate energy resources (wind, coal, solar, tidal, bio gas)
D. Need of national and provincial energy policy (Especially after 18th Amendment when constitution allows provinces to invest in alternate energy projects)
E. Regional Cooperation (IP pipeline)
F. Effective Governance
G. Invest on mega infrastructures

7. Conclusion

In addition, I want to know in case of energy crises should we take all forms of energy crises i.e. CNG, Petrol, Electricity or only stuck to electricity!
First of all I shall appreciate you that at first attempt you made good outlines.Almost all the aspects of energy crisis you have covered.You have also used beautifully minimum words in outlines instead of making them loaded with awkward detail. Yet these outlines are not those one which may throw you out of boundaries of danger of failing in essay.If you write an essay on the base of these outlines,your essay will be still at risk in examiners point of view .
however, there is always room for improvement.Just focus on intro.Delete outlines of no.2 and 3.In place of them you should write "relevance of energy with development process" Or "enrgy_ a life line to progress ant prosperity"
Also you can write"Extreme shortage of energy".In place of causes of crisis you may write "factors contributing to....
In causes at first mention"utter failure of Mussarraf regime to install new generation plants"
At second mention "enigma of circular debt" instaed of putting it in the end..Add more powerful and energetic outlines in remedies..Gone are the days when examiners used to give marks to outdated outlines
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to qamar abbas ranjha For This Useful Post:
fawadh87 (Thursday, May 29, 2014), samreenz (Monday, May 26, 2014)
Old Monday, May 26, 2014

Than you Qamar Abbas Sahab for the comments. Apart from other comments and criticism on the outline. I want to know aren't we follow apolitical approach in our essay? I mean isn't it better to use "incapacity of successive regimes to generate energy schemes" rather than criticizing Musharraf or Zardari?
Old Tuesday, May 27, 2014

Maidah shaikh is on a distinguished road

Pakistan never had and would never never have energy shortage issue if there were no wrong policies of energy in 90's , which were based on imported oil run plants plus that policy helped Circular debt as well to crop up , that's where the main issue started , then binding of Pakistan with World Bank to not to install any energy plants other than oil based , and also binding that Pakistan will not explores other means of energy generation for next ten years , which handicapped successive governments , plus its also a fault of successive governments of not installing new and cheaper plants , plus at home the economic issue has also contributed toward energy issue ( you can not buy oil because you are short of money ) . There all factors are so interconnected that the writer may need to be extra cautious while explaining , because these causes needs to be explained one by one and in logical manner .

Thank you
The Following User Says Thank You to Maidah shaikh For This Useful Post:
samreenz (Wednesday, May 28, 2014)
Old Tuesday, May 27, 2014
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2010 - Roll no 6884

qamar abbas ranjha will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by samreenz View Post
Than you Qamar Abbas Sahab for the comments. Apart from other comments and criticism on the outline. I want to know aren't we follow apolitical approach in our essay? I mean isn't it better to use "incapacity of successive regimes to generate energy schemes" rather than criticizing Musharraf or Zardari?
Yes,Your one is also appropriate.Actaually energy crisis started in last days of Musharraf but mentioning it with out name is good strategy.In effects of crisis you could mention "socio-politico and economic effects" making your outline more comprehensive.
In remedial measures You should add Short term, medium term and long term strategies with subheadings
The Following User Says Thank You to qamar abbas ranjha For This Useful Post:
samreenz (Wednesday, May 28, 2014)
Old Wednesday, May 28, 2014

I have written some of the excerpts of energy issue in Pakistan. That is not the whole topic but just an intro. Would any one kindly evaluate critically.

Energy Crises in Pakistan – Causes, Effects and Remedies

Now a days the word that is most audible everywhere is crisis and not just one crisis but multiple one o.e. crises. Energy shortage is surely one of them besides many others. Day after day, the energy equation is getting complex at national and domestic level. The previous governments are being accused of neglecting energy sector and present one are being pushed to present quick and grand solutions.

With recent economic growth of past decade, the energy needs of the country are growing more rapidly than new energy general capacity. Urbanisation, growing population, rapid industrial growth along with other socio=economic development factors lead to the increase in demand of energy. Pakistan is consuming all of its domestically produced natural gas and is making plan to construct pipelines to import gas from neighbouring countries. Domestically explored oil is not sufficient to meet energy requirements of the country and import of oil as well as other refined petroleum products from Middle East is growing steadily. Daily black outs are disturbing commercial life in the cities and majority of the rural population, without access to national grid and other modern energy sources, demand to built more power plants are getting louder every month. Long stand of queues of auto mobiles and pubic vehicles outside gas stations tell us the severity of problem.

If we have a look on power generation infrastructure in Pakistan then we can easily bifurcate in to sources i.e. renewable and non renewable sources. Renewable energy sources contain hydropower, tidal power, wind and solar energy. They are called renewable sources because they replenished in a short period of time. Day after day, the sun shines, the wind blows and the rivers flow. They are found abundant in nature to produce energy. Thermal power plants generate roughly two-third of the country’s electricity. The potentials of some mega infrastructures are:
  1. Tarbela Dam – 3478 Mega Watt
  2. Ghazi Brotha Dam – 1450 Mega Watt
  3. Mangla Dam – 1000 Mega Watt
  4. Warsak Dam – 240 Mega Watt.
Old Wednesday, May 28, 2014
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: AppreciationDiligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 2,264 Times in 1,100 Posts
Muhammad T S Awan has a brilliant futureMuhammad T S Awan has a brilliant futureMuhammad T S Awan has a brilliant futureMuhammad T S Awan has a brilliant futureMuhammad T S Awan has a brilliant futureMuhammad T S Awan has a brilliant futureMuhammad T S Awan has a brilliant futureMuhammad T S Awan has a brilliant futureMuhammad T S Awan has a brilliant futureMuhammad T S Awan has a brilliant futureMuhammad T S Awan has a brilliant future

Your first attempt is impressive. You can improve it by reading different sources of information. A couple of years back, I had tried to write on the topic and you can find it at this link http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compu...-pakistan.html Hope it may be helpful for you.

Mazhar Ali Khokhar (Wednesday, May 28, 2014), samreenz (Wednesday, May 28, 2014)
Old Thursday, May 29, 2014

Sir thank you very much for your kind help. I read your post already. Sir can you give some remarks on 2/3 paragraphs of introduction of the topic that I mentioned just earlier.