Wednesday, May 08, 2024
06:37 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Datesheets and Results > Previous CSS Results and Datesheets > CSS 2008 Exam

Old Wednesday, April 22, 2009
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - Merit 120

Adil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really nice

@ Asif Rao:

I'm sorry dear, I didn't read the last line in which you queried about my preferences. My first choice is PSP. And I will get it. What are your preferences?

@ Mumtaz Hayat Maneka:

Sir, I wish you all the best for allocations. I pray that you get what you want. I also know of a few guys who had high scores in written but lagged behind in interview.

For example, this guy Sajid Ali Baloch 107th - the Sindh (U) Topper - has got 693 marks in written and only 137 in interview. Similarly, Liaquat Ali Bhatti 39th (3rd in Sindh) had 714 marks in written but only 148 in interview.

Actually this range of interview mark isn't really that bad. I know one guy who got only 109 in interview.

Anyway, Liaquat admits that he committed mistakes during the interview and he wasn't expecting more than that. I just wanted to know how do others feel about their interview scores?

The Following User Says Thank You to Adil Memon For This Useful Post:
Mumtaz Hayat Maneka (Thursday, April 23, 2009)
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no. 2638Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 3,870 Times in 1,441 Posts
Raz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant future

@Adil Memon:

What went wrong with your Indo-Pak, PA, and CA papers?
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - Merit 63Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

leopard has a spectacular aura aboutleopard has a spectacular aura aboutleopard has a spectacular aura about
Default just common sense....

Originally Posted by Chauhdary12
Assalm-u-Alaikum to alll members

@ leopard
@ Adil Memon

Congratulations.
Will you please share your essay topic that you wrote. As you have scored MASHA ALLAH excellent marks in essay paper, plz tell how many pages you wrote? whether you touched 2500 to 3000 words as required in paper?
And kindly tell whether a person should write/mention the word OUTLINE before writing outline in essay, and likely the words "Introduction" and "conlusion" inside the outline?

thanks brother for appreciating the marks in essay!!!
I attempted "Global warming. a fact or a fiction

actually i attribute my good score to following points:
1. prepare some key contemporary topics those are in media.
2. prepare striking quotations from leading politicians or figures that are involved in that topic.
3. prepare facts & figures. just cram them
4. make diagrams and elaborate your points with map diagrams if possible....
5. highlight different aspects of the topic for example in this topic i discussed the economic impact (economic depression etc), political impact (kyoto protocol etc), geographical and climatic impact ( Sudan crisis etc) and social and cultural impact of global warming....
6. at the end critical analysis is very important. discuss what will happen if no action will be taken or the situation is allowed to proceed at its own. and then discuss what can be a viable solution...

regarding the outline... do right headings, subheadings and quotations and start & end the essay with your ultimate verdict... be very specific about your views....
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to leopard For This Useful Post:
Chauhdary12 (Wednesday, April 22, 2009), geefarid (Monday, January 24, 2011), Purab Sarhan (Saturday, May 16, 2009)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - Merit 120

Adil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really nice

Assalm-u-Alaikum to alll members

@ leopard
@ Adil Memon

Congratulations.
Will you please share your essay topic that you wrote. As you have scored MASHA ALLAH excellent marks in essay paper, plz tell how many pages you wrote? whether you touched 2500 to 3000 words as required in paper?
And kindly tell whether a person should write/mention the word OUTLINE before writing outline in essay, and likely the words "Introduction" and "conlusion" inside the outline?
@ Chauhdary12:

Sir - thank you very much for congratulating me. I am honoured.

My essay exam is a very interesting and inspiring story which everyone must know. I will share it once the allocations are out. Please wait till then.

Meanwhile I will answer your queries.

- I wrote on "Peace is the essence of our religion"
- I wrote about 17 pages in 2:30 hours which must be 3000 words atleast.
- Yes, I wrote that word. No need to be that paranoid about these small things.
- I didn't write 'introduction' or 'conclusion' in outline.

My outline was in sentence form. Each outline sentence formed the beginning sentence of the corresponding paragraph in my essay. The sentence was constructed so as to carry the summary of the entire paragraph.

- I owe my essay score to the fantastic examples, quotations and islamic verses that I had read in an essay on "Islamophobia" written in Imtiaz Shahid's Comtemporary Affairs Volume 5? just a few days before exam.

Originally Posted by Raz
@Adil Memon:

What went wrong with your Indo-Pak, PA, and CA papers?
Raz: That's a very sensitive question. :P

In CA exam, I couldn't attempt half part of my last question on "strategic depth" due to time shortage. But with whatever I could write, I tried my best to make it conspicuous to the examiner that I knew the answer.

I have seen the scores of others in PA and Indo Pak History. More or less everyone has been given the same scores. There are a few exceptions though.

At my end, there was no problem. I found them very easy. But I attempted them as rashly as I attempted all my other exams.

Last edited by Last Island; Wednesday, April 22, 2009 at 09:56 PM. Reason: Posts merged
The Following User Says Thank You to Adil Memon For This Useful Post:
Chauhdary12 (Wednesday, April 22, 2009)

Chauhdary12 will become famous soon enoughChauhdary12 will become famous soon enough

Assalam-u-Alaikum
Thank you vey much Mr. leopard & Mr. Adil Memon

@ leopard
A little part of my question is still unanswered Sir, i.e., kindly tell whether a person should write/mention the word OUTLINE before writing outline in essay, and likely the words "Introduction" and "conlusion" inside the outline?

And you said in your post that
4. make diagrams and elaborate your points with map diagrams if possible....
this is really a new thing for me that we can draw maps and diagrams as well
Old Thursday, April 23, 2009
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - 4th in Sindh UrbanMedal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Arif Rao is a jewel in the roughArif Rao is a jewel in the roughArif Rao is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by Adil Memon
@ Asif Rao:
I'm sorry dear, I didn't read the last line in which you queried about my preferences. My first choice is PSP. And I will get it. What are your preferences?
Dear Adil,

I wish you get what you aimed for.

My preferences are PSP, DMG, CEG, FSP, ITG, PAAS, OMG, MLC, C&TG, RCTG, IG, POSTG.

Lets hope for the best.
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - Merit 63Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

leopard has a spectacular aura aboutleopard has a spectacular aura aboutleopard has a spectacular aura about
Default yes!!! one must write "Synopsis" & "Conclusion"

@ leopard
A little part of my question is still unanswered Sir, i.e., kindly tell whether a person should write/mention the word OUTLINE before writing outline in essay, and likely the words "Introduction" and "conlusion" inside the outline?

And you said in your post that this is really a new thing for me that we can draw maps and diagrams as well

well there are many options of inditing a good essay & therefore one can follow any line of action which suits his writing style. A good way is to avoid 'Trial & Error' learning and take a safe line of action...

Write Heading than A quote;;

than write "OUTLINE or Synopsis"

than start from introduction.... subheadings of introduction and so on....

at the end write CONCLUSION give your verdict and try to contain all the discussion of your essay within this conclusion... this must be a highly super saturated paragraph of your Essay end the essay on an optimistic note after analysing the contemporary situation (as the case may be)

About the diagrams and maps... i think this is the most pertinent way of rationally explaining your views especially on any topic of current affairs or pakistan affairs... e.g. if you are asked to write something about palestine problem... every one will write almost the same thing .... so here you have to distinguish your expression from the other candidates... it is up to your creativity as to how you do it... as for me, i draw political maps and illustrate my point of view... (in geography and in Essay paper i adopted this approach and i got good marks...)
the crux is that nothing is ultimate.... just think how you can positively distinguish from the rest of the lot.....
hope u got the answer?>???? all the best...
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008

FM 83 is on a distinguished road

@ Dr. MSK, afrms, Tariq Mastoi, Fahad Mumtaz, mobushra:[/B]

You all have relatively good written scores. Still, your interview marks are within the range of 130-150. Do you really think you were unable to express yourself before the panel? Have they been fair to you?[/QUOTE]

my psycological viva was a mess .though it carries no marks but their report is given due weightage.
The Following User Says Thank You to FM 83 For This Useful Post:
Adil Memon (Saturday, May 02, 2009)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,681 Times in 873 Posts
AFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud of
Default @ Adil Memon

Originally Posted by Adil Memon

@ Dr. MSK, afrms, Tariq Mastoi, Fahad Mumtaz, mobushra:

You all have relatively good written scores. Still, your interview marks are within the range of 130-150. Do you really think you were unable to express yourself before the panel? Have they been fair to you?
salam Adil Memon
first of all congratulation on your success.yes you are right my written score is 679,its still at least 20-25 marks short of my expectations.i was devestated to see my marks in composition 43 and in pakistan affairs which was my best paper with 18 mcqs correct i only managed to get 44 .i got only 4 mcqs right in current affairs and got 50.
i prepared indo-pak so well but got 101 ,but when i look at mark sheets ppl have scored really low in this subject.

now comes the interveiw my score is 135 .what went wrong everything went wrong.i had put too much pressure on myself.there was a one week gap b/w psy and int.for one week i locked my self in the room and studied whatever ,i really mean whatever i could. i travelled to Lahore from Multan in early hours of morning and reached the center directly for interveiw.you cannot imagine how bad i was feeling,i was 5th to go to the panel.although i kept myself cool but as i entered the room i was blank.chairman asked to introduce my self which i did but was interrupted ,that was a bad start ,it had a ripple effect on my interveiw.there was one instance i thought when this nightmare will end .it lasted for 22 min.

although i answered their questions but may be my answers were not up to the mark and comprehensive.i wouldhv been very happy to get somewhere b/w 140-145,but then there are candidates with 150-180 but they are lower in merit as to mine.so i am thankful to Allah for whatever i am blessed with,i believe that everything happens for a reason.i'll be happy with any group,my dream was to be a csp officer .
my besy wishes for all css 2008 qualifiers may you get the group you desire Inshallah.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to AFRMS For This Useful Post:
Adil Memon (Saturday, May 02, 2009), Kamran (Friday, April 24, 2009), Mumtaz Hayat Maneka (Friday, April 24, 2009), Raz (Thursday, May 14, 2009)
Old Saturday, May 02, 2009

Default Thank you guys!!

@ Asif Rao;

Dear Asif, you should start celebrating your success in getting PSP. There are three seats of PSP on Sindh(U) and since Mr. Ansari is reportedly for DMG, you'll get one.

All the best. Congratulations in advance. Hope to see you before joining the academy.

@ Fahad Mumtaz:

SIR - Thanks a lot for your prompt response. I wish you all the best. May you get a service group of your choice.

@ afrms;

Thanks dear. Congratulations to you as well. There's no need to feel low as you can always drive solace from the fact that there are many unlucky ones out there in our batch who won't be getting allocated. You atleast have 100% chances of that. Just count how many people have you left behind. Start counting yourself as the first one.

Thank you for giving a detailed description of your interview. It all depends on the day. Like on my psychological test interview, I was shining. However I couldn't impress the interview panel (particularly the Chairman - he asked me all the wrong questions right after I introduced myself). Yet, my resilience took me up. I have got many excuses for poor performance like prolonged illness right before the interview and non-serious attitude towards it.

In any case, I am more than happy about my result. My written marks and overall Pakistan merit are lower than my expectations yet I will get PSP just like the 3rd Position holder in Pakistan. :P

I wish you all the best. See you at the academy.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Adil Memon For This Useful Post:
AFRMS (Saturday, May 02, 2009), Arif Rao (Saturday, May 02, 2009)