04:08 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Interview & Psychological Tests > Interview

Interview The objective of the Interview is to assess one's personality and leadership skills.The knowledge has already been tested in the written phase.Candidates can Post all related queries here

Old Wednesday, February 18, 2015

Artemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to all

Originally Posted by revival View Post
And how you do know for a fact that written score this year is low? Any source/news?
That's no-brainer. Check the thread of DMCs of non-qualifiers, if you still do not believe compare it with previous years, or try to see the general scoring trend in common optional subjects for CE 2014 in the same thread.
The Following User Says Thank You to Artemis For This Useful Post:
revival (Thursday, February 26, 2015)
Old Wednesday, February 25, 2015
43rd CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 140

Fahad M Mirza is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Artemis View Post
@Fahad
Don't worry. You did well in interview last time and you will do good this time too.
They gave you a tough time and that's a good sign. Mine was more like either they had already allocated me so they were not putting much effort in the interview or they knew I can never make it to allocation, so they thought let's have some fun out of this interview, anyway.

They suggested things like 'We should take you in police and send you to Karachi.' And I was like 'No I would like to start my career from Balochsitan'. (If wishes were horses!)

I don know what would be the out come but it was a fun indeed. Mr. Wajid Rana even suggested me to consider being a detective if I do not get allocated. He even asked me how far I think I can make in police with the attitude I have.

P.S. I am the one interviewed right before you.

Apologies for replying very late, Artemis...

Very grateful for the prayers and wishes, and inshAllah you'll definitely get allocated in your desired group (as it can be reflected from interview experience), by Grace of Allah Almighty, inshAllah...

Mr. Wajid Rana really soaked out all the blood from my brain, but he surely is the one I would love to take lessons from, especially on International Law and Current Affairs... If Allah permits, we may get learn from him once we enter the Academy (Allah Willing)...

Cheers, and all the very best...
Old Wednesday, February 25, 2015
43rd CTP (PCS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 57

useyour name is on a distinguished road

Artemis they finished off interviewing for Multan, on Feb 13. People hadn't been sharing their "unique" experiences probably as many of them were about to appear in the forthcoming exams of 2015, so might be the delay. Kudos to your patience as it must have been eons since you guys were interviewed in Islamabad phase 1.
Secondly, could you please give your valuable comments on how important is the interview duration(based on your previous experience). I presume the average interviewing time was 15 to 20 mins !
Old Thursday, February 26, 2015
43rd CTP (PCS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 57

Originally Posted by Wheeler View Post
It seems that this year's interviews will yield low score as compared to previous years.
Hiya, what is your sound justification/rationale for your stated analysis?? I think, getting to know from the experiences of candidates presently, and on the information I gathered of the candidates, who were interviewed the last year, this year there wouldn't be wider discrepancies in the interview scores: With few exceptions,it's going to be a neck-to-neck competition as far as interview scores are concerned and the written scores would remain the dominant factor this time.
There is another presupposition to my aforesaid formulation: Majority of the interviewed candidates have had almost the good interview experiences and the QDR( question drop rate) of Wajid Rana Sb has remained 4 to 5. So the interview minus Wajid rana sb's inquisitory is not big an ordeal, although am reserved in making this generalization.

Artemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to all

Originally Posted by Fahad M Mirza View Post
Apologies for replying very late, Artemis...

Very grateful for the prayers and wishes, and inshAllah you'll definitely get allocated in your desired group (as it can be reflected from interview experience), by Grace of Allah Almighty, inshAllah...

Mr. Wajid Rana really soaked out all the blood from my brain, but he surely is the one I would love to take lessons from, especially on International Law and Current Affairs... If Allah permits, we may get learn from him once we enter the Academy (Allah Willing)...

Cheers, and all the very best...
Hey Fahad! I was hoping to write to you but couldn't find your email in the profile. And I can not included mine in profile either, once I did and had to delete the account.
Anyhow if you can, my email is ms.(my first name)@yahoo.com

Thanks for your wishes and as rumor has it there are quite some seats this time. I hope we all get our desired groups and I hope to see you in CSA.

Originally Posted by useyour name View Post
Kudos to your patience as it must have been eons since you guys were interviewed in Islamabad phase 1.
Add to this being abroad and the boredom multiples many many times. Now I am planning to write my whole interview anyway, if no more interviews are shared.

Secondly, could you please give your valuable comments on how important is the interview duration(based on your previous experience). I presume the average interviewing time was 15 to 20 mins !
I have no idea, could be either way.
Fahad M Mirza (Friday, February 27, 2015)
43rd CTP (FSP)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 126

revival is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Artemis View Post
That's no-brainer. Check the thread of DMCs of non-qualifiers, if you still do not believe compare it with previous years, or try to see the general scoring trend in common optional subjects for CE 2014 in the same thread.
It is quite a brainer for a dull mind like me. I mean I don't get it. Based on the trend of non-qualifiers you're making an inference about the marks of qualifiers? How can this correlation be positively proved? Its perplexing, agan for a dull mind like mine.
43rd CTP (PCS)

It is quite a brainer for a dull mind like me. I mean I don't get it. Based on the trend of non-qualifiers you're making an inference about the marks of qualifiers? How can this correlation be positively proved? Its perplexing, agan for a dull mind like mine.
It is no rocket-science to infer the general scoring trend from the DMCs of the non-qualifiers. Remember, there would be a great lot there who might have fallen short of 1,2,3,4,5 marks to be able to get onto this side of the line-of-demarcation as the qualified ones are. What that suggests is the fact that neither all the qualifiers might have 'perfect ceiling scores' nor all the unsuccessful would have necessarily scored poorly. Miracles do happen, and they are exceptions. So, it is saner to make opinion, based on the existing facts & general scoring trends
The Following User Says Thank You to useyour name For This Useful Post:
Artemis (Thursday, February 26, 2015)
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2014

Gypsified will become famous soon enoughGypsified will become famous soon enough

I entered the room expecting cordial welcomes and smiles but all of them were bent over some stuff looking busy. Everyone seemed perfectly serious, almost bored. General sahib gestured me to the chair before I could greet anyone. So I said a maryal sa salam and helped myself.

General sahib asked me about my preferences and then wanted to know who my inspiration was for CSS. Then came the turn of miss Batool who asked me a question about the change in the national narrative about the Peshawar incident. That went well. Then she asked me what the responsibilities of UN peacekeeping missions are. Finally, who deploys those tropes? I had no idea about the last one. (UN Security Council does)

So far it was not bad. Then came Wajid Raha and started firing questions. His questions about what’s going on in the Middle East and would Saudi Arabia change its policies of supporting radicalism after King Abdullah both went well. But then he asked me three questions from philosophy and I dropped them all. Then a question from European History. Dropped. After that, it was quite a downhill.

“What are PIGS countries”
“I’m sorry PIGS countries sir?”
“Yes.”
“I’m sorry sir I don’t know.”
“You’ve never heard of this acronym in newspapers or anywhere?”
“No sir, I don’t think I have.”
“These are the South European countries of Portugal, Italy, Greece, and Spain. What’s going on there?”
“They’re having this austerity problem and the north wants them to...” (cut off for the next question)

The next question was about some part of Pakistan’s constitution and I dropped that as well. He looked at Lehri sahib in a the-dude-is-hopeless manner.

Lehri sahib he asked me two questions. I dropped them both.

“What is 1UN.”
Since even my farishtas didn’t know what this 1UN was, I just said sorry.
“Okay what’s the difference between a federation and a confederation?”
“I’m not sure sir, sorry.”

Lehri sahib looked at General sahab which to me seemed like throw-him-out looks. General sahib said thanks in the same nonchalant way and I walked out. The first thought I had after coming out of the room was “fail ho gaey!”. Whether that happens or not, the interview was quite a slaughter. It was hardly 10-12 minutes. And contrary to the popular belief, I did not get any cordial welcomes and smiles. It was serious business.
The Following User Says Thank You to Gypsified For This Useful Post:
waqas izhar (Wednesday, March 04, 2015)

I mean I don't get it. Based on the trend of non-qualifiers you're making an inference about the marks of qualifiers? How can this correlation be positively proved? Its perplexing, agan for a dull mind like mine.
Scoring trends mainly come from optional and qualifiers non-qualifiers are decided by compulsory. If you do not agree with that, I also said compare them with marks of non-qualifiers of previous years. I think that co-relation can be established.
revival (Thursday, March 05, 2015)
43rd CTP (PCS)

Originally Posted by Gypsified View Post
I entered the room expecting cordial welcomes and smiles but all of them were bent over some stuff looking busy. Everyone seemed perfectly serious, almost bored. General sahib gestured me to the chair before I could greet anyone. So I said a maryal sa salam and helped myself.

General sahib asked me about my preferences and then wanted to know who my inspiration was for CSS. Then came the turn of miss Batool who asked me a question about the change in the national narrative about the Peshawar incident. That went well. Then she asked me what the responsibilities of UN peacekeeping missions are. Finally, who deploys those tropes? I had no idea about the last one. (UN Security Council does)

So far it was not bad. Then came Wajid Raha and started firing questions. His questions about what’s going on in the Middle East and would Saudi Arabia change its policies of supporting radicalism after King Abdullah both went well. But then he asked me three questions from philosophy and I dropped them all. Then a question from European History. Dropped. After that, it was quite a downhill.

“What are PIGS countries”
“I’m sorry PIGS countries sir?”
“Yes.”
“I’m sorry sir I don’t know.”
“You’ve never heard of this acronym in newspapers or anywhere?”
“No sir, I don’t think I have.”
“These are the South European countries of Portugal, Italy, Greece, and Spain. What’s going on there?”
“They’re having this austerity problem and the north wants them to...” (cut off for the next question)

The next question was about some part of Pakistan’s constitution and I dropped that as well. He looked at Lehri sahib in a the-dude-is-hopeless manner.

Lehri sahib he asked me two questions. I dropped them both.

“What is 1UN.”
Since even my farishtas didn’t know what this 1UN was, I just said sorry.
“Okay what’s the difference between a federation and a confederation?”
“I’m not sure sir, sorry.”

Lehri sahib looked at General sahab which to me seemed like throw-him-out looks. General sahib said thanks in the same nonchalant way and I walked out. The first thought I had after coming out of the room was “fail ho gaey!”. Whether that happens or not, the interview was quite a slaughter. It was hardly 10-12 minutes. And contrary to the popular belief, I did not get any cordial welcomes and smiles. It was serious business.
Dear hopeless, one must not giveup hoping against hope. A few good scorers of 2012, 2013 told me that they had almost shell-shocking interview experiences, but the final results revealed the entirely opposite picture. Same holds for a few who were excessively exuberant, but couldn't get scorers as anticipated. We precisely do not know their barometers of assessment.It is a jigsaw puzzle: how assortment of our fragments fit into the whole picture is now to be determined by sheer luck. Donot be oblivious to the dominating/hefty influences of Suitability criterion, written scores, psychological assessment.Hope you would pass in flying colors.
The Following User Says Thank You to useyour name For This Useful Post:
Gypsified (Thursday, February 26, 2015)