12:00 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Interview & Psychological Tests > Interview

Interview The objective of the Interview is to assess one's personality and leadership skills.The knowledge has already been tested in the written phase.Candidates can Post all related queries here

Old Friday, March 06, 2015

Wheeler is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Artemis View Post
Hello again, Friends and Foes!

As promised, here is the remaining part of my interview.

The one and only Mr. Wajid Rana- "So if we take you in PSP, till which rank do you think you can make with the attitude you have?" asked with a very witty smile.
I said, "Sir I have this friend of mine in PSP and some time back he was advising me- 'Don't go for police, you are a girl- kabhi tumhain DPO nhi lagain gae!' But the thing is there is nothing that I want to do in police and I can't do it being an ASP. And I think this is what makes police department very unique that you have so much margin to deliver. The very day I start my career, I will be in charge of a police station where a number of people will be coming everyday with their grievances, if I can play my part in bring justice to those who have been wronged with, I think that would suffice for me.
I am not joining to reform the whole department. It's not even something I am aiming at. And I have seen people when they are ASPs they say we don't have much power we will do something when we become SPs or SSPs, then they say when we become DIGs, then they become IGs and then they just retire without ever having done anything!"
(God! I really enjoyed not having any IG in panel this year, or I would have been thrown out of the room straight away after this answer- if not before)

He said, "Okay let's come to your hobbies, kick-boxing and kungfu! Why do you have so much aggression in your personality?"
I kinda laughed and said,"It has nothing to do with aggression, I was interested in martial arts and kick-boxing was the only kind of MA for which regular classes were being offered for girls here. And kung-fu is very slow, it has routines you have to do over and over again. Then I think I told him somelife history of my instructor, why I joined his club, what makes it unique, why wasn't I comfortable in any other clubs I visited.
Anyhow we came back to kick-boxing and I said ' but now when I am learning it, I really like it. I come back with sore muscles and it feels good. Because this is how you know that you are growing- you are pushing your limits!
(It was like saying- you suspect I am kinda psycho, let me just prove it! )

Anyhow he said, "You know what, we should take you in police and send you to Karachi!"
Now you people say I was non-serious, had I been non-serious I would have said- Wouldn't you love to see me neck and neck with gangs in Karachi, and then a Hollywood thriller could be based on my life (a short-lived one!)
But I didn't say that, instead I said, "Sir I would like to start my career form Baluchistan!" I never doubted for a second in my interview that I didn't have all the attention of the panel but that was the point I could see Lehri Sahab visibly turning, it was like- Did someone mentioned Baluchistan here?'

Anyhow I went on explaining that I have had my childhood in Quetta, how I feel connection to that land and fantasy that. But this preference has more to do with professional reasons. "people tell me - 'don't ever opt for Baluchisatn- wahan se wapis nhi ao ge' And I say if I do come back I will make some cop! " Then I explained that saying "Owing to security state in that region conditions are very tough for police. The officers work there while having continuous life threats and even attempts on their life . That's a lot of pressure to take. And they have to deal with LJ and sectarian militants. If I go there in start of my career and survive that working environment then serving in Punjab afterward or in any other place would be nothing for me!"
(And then you people know what Ma'am added to this about Punjab police by the end of interview, that was hilarious! )
I am running out of smileys limit for one post so let's take a break. Some mod will merge the posts anyway. This is what they are for! They too should feel useful!

@mods
You know I am kidding, right?

Yeah I have never considered me over-confident as a very thoughtful and new found brother of mine labelled me, but at some level I do think over-confidence is what makes a CSP. CSPs in Pak have a history of being known for their over-confidence.

About the friendly and open conversation, I think it is essential-communication is always two way. So to perform well you have to make yourself comfortable in that environment and at the same time you have to retain the level of interest of the panel in your interview. Keeping it light helped otherwise it builds a lot of pressure. And I think Mr. Wajid Rana was really helping me keeping it light!
Even Ma'am Batool she is very open and concerned, always. She asks very informal questions at times.
Sorry for commenting on your interview ,but I just could not help it when I saw your response to the question about your preferred place of first posting.

Having lived in Quetta you should know that 5% of Balochistan is A area which is manned by police.The rest-95%- ia B area which is under the control of FC and Balochistan Levies.So police does not have a considerable role to play there.FC is in the driving seat there.On the other hand, Karachi - in view of its volatile law and order situation- arguably provides the ideal environment for a PSP officer to show his mettle.Even KPK police is facing far greater challenges than Balochistan police.Sorry but your answer was naive.

And as regards your statement ke DIG ban ke sochtay hain ke IG ban ke kuch kareinge..what generalization and stereotyping!!.maybe this is apt for a drawing room discussion about police but definitely not a mature answer to give in the CSS interview.
The Following User Says Thank You to Wheeler For This Useful Post:
daniyalahmed (Friday, March 06, 2015)

Artemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to all

Anyhow he said, "You wrote in your sentence completion that girls are ............. CHARMING!"
I went hahaha and we was like he is trying not to laugh!
I said "Sir about girls being charming Marilyn Monroe said..' he cut me short, I couldn't finish. He said something and I tried saying again ' As I was saying, Marilyn Monroe said..." I had attention of Ma'am and general Shb but Wajid Rana was in a hurry to go to China, so he didn't let me complete again and said, " I want your comments on how China is trying to deal with this charm?" then he named a policy I haven't heard of and the name was not self-explanatory so I couldn't guess.
I said, "Sir I can not comment on that since I haven't heard of it before. What I can tell is how India is........." Again he didn't let me complete. I wanted to take him to Sarhi and Jeans debate in India but he was like ' No no you have had your share of directing the interview!'

Then he asked Ibn e Khaldun from Sociology. Then another response form Psychological. I just explained.

Then dams, Kalabagh, hurdles in building kala bagh. That was like rapid fire. I was allowed a one liner in response. He would ask, get my very first response and move to another. Some more I can't remember, but all general.

Yeah I remember another very funny question, sorry the question is not funny the answer makes it- he said, "Is food insecurity a problem for Pakistan?" I said, "Yes! we have 1/3rd population living beyond poverty line, it obviously is our problem". He said, "It has nothing to do with poverty." I said, "But you have to buy food!" And we both laughed. I laughed because I knew if it has nothing to do with poverty how stupid my response would be, and he laughed because he can't deny that! You can't buy food if you don't have money- that simple.

Then Lehri Shb asked about Levies and some other questions. I can not remember them now but they were not that difficult.

It was good. It was not all fun. As chairman asked very serious questions and gave me real tough time, about policing, militancy, terrorism. Madam even directly asked about Peshawar tragedy. Wajid Rana finally gave me a break.

Anyhow chairman thanked me I thanked him and the panel. And Wajid Rana said, "If you do not get PSP, try being a detective instead." I smiled and said "Sir I will consider that." I am not sure where that was coming from but I have a slight idea. During psychological group activities they were calling the candidates at 'random'. I somehow figured the pattern (obviously because I was not interested in speeches being delivered, had better things to do- patterns to crack! ) . It was like you divide the group in 2 and you call a certain position from first half and the same from second half then there was a pattern for the first half too. So when it was my turn, even before the psychologist called my allotted number, I was all set to go! He gave me expression like- what!!!! But he obviously couldn't tell me I was wrong.

So it might be that or something else from my profile.

Anyhow I said, "Sir regarding that I have qualified the written exam for ministry of defense and I have just given the interview for that post as well, last week. So let's see "
Madam said, "How did it go, are you getting that job?"
I said," Ma'am it was just last week, so I will have to wait for the result."

She said, "If you get an offer for police and an offer from them as well, which one will you take?"
I said, " Ma'am that interview last week was a rather awkward one, because somehow I ended up telling them how much I want to be in PSP! So afterward it was inconvenient for me and for them as well. "

Since the overall environment was very informal by that time, I took the opportunity and said to Wajid Rana " And Sir about those psychological responses, I just have very tough routine these days, a full time job and a degree as well. I don't get much sleep. The day before psychological I could hardly sleep an hour. I was very sleepy that day so part of what I wrote might not have made any sense. "
He was like, "No no, I was just asking, it's nothing!" It was like saying 'na na mera bacha pareshan nhi hona! We will judge you anyway, though. '

We thanked each-other again and I left!
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Artemis For This Useful Post:
Antalpur (Saturday, March 28, 2015), daniyalahmed (Friday, March 06, 2015), Fahad M Mirza (Friday, March 06, 2015), imranazeem (Saturday, March 21, 2015), mazhar mehmood (Saturday, March 07, 2015)
43rd CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 140

Fahad M Mirza is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Artemis View Post
Hello again, Friends and Foes!

As promised, here is the remaining part of my interview. .......
@Artemis:

Now that was one lively interview... No wonder you were relaxed and smiling when you came out... InshAllah all will be great this year, as for once am sure that you and @daniyalahmed will be among the top scorers in interviews... I do hope and pray we discuss these days in the CSA, inshAllah... Best of luck and wishes...

@daniyalahmed:

All the best wishes and prayers for you, bro... As you have written and put down your interview responses, Allah has supported you well before and will support henceforth, inshAllah...

@strategic:

Am all up with good hopes, bro... Although am a bit scared, as it's a natural phenomenon at this stage, but still I believe I have a chance... Thanks for the wishes...
Artemis (Friday, March 06, 2015), daniyalahmed (Friday, March 06, 2015)

Artemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to all

Originally Posted by Fahad M Mirza View Post
@Artemis:
Now that was one lively interview... No wonder you were relaxed and smiling when you came out... InshAllah all will be great this year, as for once am sure that you and @daniyalahmed will be among the top scorers in interviews... I do hope and pray we discuss these days in the CSA, inshAllah... Best of luck and wishes...
Fahad! I was not smiling because of the interview I was smiling because the moment I came out, I recalled what I did before to those poor guys sitting outside. You show up right at time without any margin, you don't have your preference forms, and when asked for not coming half an hour early you go all blah blah blah- "meri gari start nhi hui, mujhe taxi leni pari, aur check post se agay taxi nhi anay date, I had to walk that long and am wearing these heels. You know forget it! I don't even have time to explain. Can I get preference forms? Sorry I made a mistake here can I get another?"
God! I can be so annoying!

And they were so kind they covered it completely, they sent the next candidate before me. This way they bought me time to get everything together and even to get composed before the interview. Had they just sent me then I would have rambled in the interview as well.

About your interview believe me when I tell you, you were born to be in civil service. You, like your father, will make a very refined bureaucrat someday. You are so optimistic and positive in your approach, at times when you were saying things in group discussion I was like, "Does he actually believe that?"

And in the group having 7 girls going to all lengths to criticize women, you were there defending women, it's not something ignorable.

They gave you a tough time because its really hard to believe that someone could be that positive in his approach. So they were testing you. But the thing is you genuinely are!

So you will in sha Allah make a very fine bureaucrat, one of those I love to criticize but I do respect as well because they bring the much needed stability to our country.

P.S. I put some good words for you with psychological panel.

You didn't have PSP as first preference otherwise I would have asked the viva panel as well to stop allocating misogynists to police every year and bring some people like you.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Artemis For This Useful Post:
Antalpur (Saturday, April 11, 2015), daniyalahmed (Friday, March 06, 2015), imranazeem (Saturday, March 21, 2015)
43rd CTP (MLCG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 77

bilalrhd is on a distinguished road
Default Defense of Islamic History

My dear brother raised some questions about Islamic History and Culture which happens to be my subject.
Some of the questions he raised were:

1. GENERIC SUBJECTS WON’T DO US ANY GOOD IN THIS ERA OF COMPARTMENTALIZATION
Specialization does not lead to wisdom. Specialists don’t consider all the aspects of a given scenario. It’s like devoting your entire life to understanding a word without even bothering to read the entire sentence. True wisdom comes only when you have at least rudimentary understanding of important sciences, history, culture, etc. We have been the victims of the policies of specialists.
“The expert knows more and more about less and less until he knows everything about nothing.”
Mahatma Gandhi

2. WHY SHOULD I READ HISTORY, WHEN TIME AND AGAIN IT IS PROVEN THAT HISTORY IS SUBJECTIVE?
All knowledge is subjective. Paulo Freire in Pedagogy of the Oppressed criticizes the modern education system as banking model of education, where the sole responsibility of the teacher is to deposit information into his students. According to him, teacher should not try to force his views on the pupils since his knowledge is not objective.
We can’t abolish any teaching just because some subjects are not objective, can we?

3. HISTORY IS NOT RELEVANT TO OUR SOCIETY
Then why do we read Pakistan Affairs in CSS? Does it also not include questions from Pakistan’s history? And what about a nation that has no respect for it tradition, values and culture? If science produces machines, humanities fill those machines with compassion. After all, we don’t want robots running our country, do we?

4. ANALYTICAL SKILLS WOULD BE MORE RELEVANT/ HISTORY IS CRAM ORIENTED
Let’s examine the following questions from Islamic History and Culture Paper 2013:
Q3. Describe any Two of the following institutions of Islam in the light of teaching of the Holy Prophet (PBUH) and how to put into service at present in the Muslims states?
(a) Judicail System (b) Economic Organism (c) Character building and social order
Q5. Describe the scientific and literary advancement of Abbasid Period and how it can be revived in at present?

Q6. Give an account of the fall and disintegration of the Ottoman Empire and describe its similarities with present Muslim's rule?

Q7. The Muslim civilisation gave a new religious and socio-political order. Give a comparison with New World Order.

Q8. Explain the impact of Mithaq-e-Madina in that divergence living state of society of Medina and how it can be employed now? Discuss.
Can anyone explain to me how is this paper not analytical?

5. WHY SHOULD I WORRY ABOUT THE EVENTS IN TIMBUKTU, WHEN I HAVE OTHER PRESSING ISSUES IN MY OWN HOMELAND?
Those pressing issues are covered in Current affairs and Pakistan Affairs.

6. LOVE FOR MY NATION
There is no way to generate nationalism and patriotism in a nation without teaching it about its rich tradition and culture, and thus developing some national pride. My question is, do they teach patriotism in sciences?

Forgive me for the typing mistakes.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bilalrhd For This Useful Post:
daniyalahmed (Friday, March 06, 2015), gintino (Saturday, March 07, 2015)

Wheeler is on a distinguished road

I once attended a talk by Shehriyar Khan sahab (incumbent PCB Chairman and former Foreign Secretary),and one thing he said has become embedded in my mind : "Always be humble in victory,it keeps you right up there".

I don't think qualifying CSS written should give one the licence to become snobbish - especially when your interview is hackneyed,simplistic,immature and in brazen disregard for etiquette.

Look at Babar Sattar-one of Pakistan's foremost lawyers ; a Rhodes scholar and graduate of Oxford and Harvard,he is an epitome of humility.Respected Dr.Noor ul Ain Fatima,the topper of 2008 CSS exam is also very down to earth.These people did not let their success get into their head,and so should we.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Wheeler For This Useful Post:
imranazeem (Saturday, March 21, 2015), mhz99 (Friday, March 06, 2015)
43rd CTP (PSP)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 27

daniyalahmed is on a distinguished road
Default A stimulating debate

At the outset, I had categorically stated that my purpose is not to provoke an argument. But as always, we have our share of crusaders and defenders that take upon themselves to contort facts just to satisfy their whims. I did not attack Islamic History and Culture, rather I felt that it has a disproportionate weight in selection criteria. It is believed that in the new scheme of things (post reform) all subjects pertaining to history would be reduced to 100 marks. Furthermore, important subjects such as governance and urban planning would be introduced.

Now, let us come to the critique of my post, we will proceed step by step. My motive is thoroughly rational. I am not driven by any desire to "defend" or "safeguard" anything. My desire is to achieve truth.

1. For a nationalist, it is quiet strange to quote M.K. Gandhi who was the greatest adversary of our national goal. It was Gandhi who rejected pleas of Jinnah regarding greater constitutional representation of Muslims within united India. I would rather seek inspiration from my national heroes, rather than quote a person who resisted our national cause. Secondly, specialization is not restricted to humans but in animals too we see division of labor. Ants and bees have social organizations where roles are clearly demarcated. There is a queen, whose reason for existence is to procreate, then there are soldiers who defend ant colonies and finally workers who toil. Even our body is a classic example of division of labor. Even on a cellular level there is a clear cut and distinct appropriation of tasks. The mitochondria, the golgi complex, the ribosomes and the DNA have specialized roles. Human body is the best teacher, we can learn a lot from the ourselves.

The reason for the decay in our institution is that specialists are discouraged. A bureaucrat who is a generalist is running irrigation, school education and archaeology department. Is a person qualified to run these department after clearing CSS with the 'glorified' subjects of Punjabi, Arabic, Islamic History and Forestry? Furthermore, these generalist do not have a career. The keep on switching from one department to another. A lawyer is a lawyer for the rest of his life. An engineer is an engineer for his entire professional life. But our bureaucrats serve in one department for 3 months and then in another for 4 months. Thus generalist paradigm is lethal, no wonder we stand at 146 in human development out of 170 countries. Our literacy rate is at abysmal 60 %, the lowest in the region. I would not go in details because I can furnish example of Henry Ford and other specialists who triggered industrial revolution. I think, this is sufficient for point #1.

2. Which history do we need to study? Is it the history of Philip K. Hitti or is it the history of Syed Ameer Ali or the history of Mazharulhaq? I myself opted for Indo Pakistan history. Tragically, when I read Stanley Lane Pool, he gave a perspective but that perspective was totally antithetical to that of Ishwari Parsad, who in turn was totally different to K. Ali. That's the problem of history, it is not definite. Each people construct their own history. Hence, mostly history is conflicting. Furthermore, historians have limited practical applicability. In a skill driven world, esoteric subjects demand little importance. See, the admission criteria of Harvard, Yale or Stanford. Physical sciences, applied sciences and other definite subjects that can contribute to national cause - all have a high merit. This means society values these subjects dearly. Even in Pakistan, the 'lesser' students opt for these subjects as there are no jobs associated with these disciplines. In the world of IT, where people speculate for future, we are still time warped. To add, we are not sure about the correct or objective version. Then I again ask, what is the efficacy of such subject?

3. I said, Arabic and Persian are not relevant to our society. I never said anything about history. Please re - read the original post.

4. Yeah, I can see the questions but this type of questions have so much subjectivity involved in them. No wonder, many people believe CSS is a game of chance or luck. To begin with there is the subjectivity of the examiner, the subjectivity of the examinee and the subjectivity of the person setting the paper. Is there any research carried out to asses the efficacy of these questions? Do they test these questions for their ability to tap the requisite skill or knowledge objective? The answer is No. Objective questions can be tested and refined. Moreover, they do not involve the whims of the examiner. Furthermore, such long question can be interpreted in a number of manner by the examinee. Are we testing definite knowledge?

5. The PMS current affairs paper of this year had a question, " Aeroflot is the airline of which country?" I am sorry but this question is outright inane. How is aeroflot related to a PMS officer, I fail to understand. In a competitive exam, every mark counts. Is this question justified?

6. Nationalism is not inculcated through a distorted concept of history. First of all we have to create a national narrative, that narrative should be in line with facts and not outlandish. Finally, fact driven, analytical narrative should be taught as opposed to the ragtag version of past we have to contend with.

Finally, I respect my brothers comment. He has a good mind and ability to articulate his ideas. I do not want to reply anymore. Mine were mere suggestion. Furthermore, I would appreciate, if we do not distort the original message. Lastly, we should be strong enough to identify lacunaes. Nothing is perfect, everything can be changed and should be changed for the betterment. Stagnant water does not move, has no urge to change it's direction or shape......that's why it stinks. My goal is not to undermine anyone but it is a humble effort to help us understand more and improve our system.

My best Wishes to all
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to daniyalahmed For This Useful Post:
Antalpur (Saturday, April 11, 2015), bilalrhd (Saturday, March 07, 2015), imranazeem (Saturday, March 21, 2015)
Old Saturday, March 07, 2015
43rd CTP (PSP)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 59

imrancl is on a distinguished road

Pardon me for interruption, can anyone please give us update regarding vacancies. Is the figure of 248 correct or not?
Old Saturday, March 07, 2015
43rd CTP (MLCG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 77

bilalrhd is on a distinguished road
Smile @ daniyalahmed

Brother I re-read your post. Yes you didn't rag Islamic History as much as they ragged Arabic in CE 2015.

I appreciate your quest for truth but I just feel that human subjectivity is being underestimated in our quest for pure objectivity. In our search for a perfect, mechanical world, we are undermining the humanity. We are producing 'cogs' to fit into the machine of the modern industrial world. We are ruining the unique elements of people's personalities, and are turning them into machines, through our industrial educational system.

Science should not be allowed to become a dogma.

After all, have we not seen some of the objective scientific realities change overtime?

P.S. As far as I know you, I didn't expect you will use my quoting Gandhi as a counter argument.

Waiting anxiously for a counter attack
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bilalrhd For This Useful Post:
daniyalahmed (Saturday, March 07, 2015), imranazeem (Saturday, March 21, 2015)
Old Sunday, March 08, 2015
43rd CTP (IRS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 274

amnasharif is on a distinguished road
Default God knows!

One thing i realised as soon as interview ended was that your real self speaks during the interview. So one cannot pretend, or try to be what one is not.

I was asked qs from my own psyc. Assessment. Foreign affairs, international relations, foreign policy of pakistan, trade aggrements, economical aspects of certain trade agreements, geography, US history.

I tried to answer every question, however did say i am sorry i dont know to at least 5-7 question asked about trade agreements. For the life of me i couldnt remember reading about them anywhere! Made a little blunder myself while answering a question asked but rana sb pointed it out, realising his point to be correct i immediately excused myself about it! :p

So now, Its all in Allah's hands. I just really hope i make my parents proud with my css result!

That said, does anyone know when our final result is expected? And how long after the result does a candidate have to wait to be called to CSA for CTP?
Will be grateful for kind reply(ies).

God bless us and protect us all. Amen.