10:13 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group I > International Relations

International Relations Notes on IR

Old Thursday, March 19, 2009

dr.atifrana is a jewel in the roughdr.atifrana is a jewel in the roughdr.atifrana is a jewel in the rough

All CSS qualifiers, and members who r good in IR are requested to share their tips regarding this subject.

CSPs where are you, we need your help.KINDLY SHARE YOUR TIPS.

Last edited by Aarwaa; Monday, May 18, 2009 at 03:36 PM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to dr.atifrana For This Useful Post:
AshA (Wednesday, August 05, 2009), Muni_18 (Saturday, August 08, 2009), Shafqatkhattak (Saturday, August 01, 2009)
Old Saturday, March 21, 2009

Nonno Hussain is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by dr.atifrana
AOA, CSPs where are you, we need your help.KINDLY SHARE YOUR TIPS.
im not a css qualifier(aspiring to b one) but i've done my masters in IR so i can share wut i think is necessary..
1.for those who havent studies IR before need to understand the theoretical part first as nothing comes out of context...
2.for any issue u have to know the background like if u r talking about palestine issue in present context for that u have to have knowledge of past events as well...so that u can give elaborations from past events as well...
3 try to read books of the authors that r objective or in other words unbiased and u have to build ur opinon in the similar manner i.e. objectivity must b there,
4 my teachers told me not to build up ur opinions by merely reading newspapers or watching talkshows..becoz she said they can differentiate between papers given only by listeneing tv shows and papers by student having sound background of issues..

i hope these will help u out..
baqi aainda k shumaray main
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to Nonno Hussain For This Useful Post:
AshA (Wednesday, August 05, 2009), dr.atifrana (Saturday, March 21, 2009), iamcalledasad (Friday, April 10, 2009), Muni_18 (Saturday, August 08, 2009), Mystichina (Saturday, March 21, 2009), shapar (Wednesday, November 04, 2009), sonia shamroze (Wednesday, July 08, 2009), sunlight (Sunday, May 17, 2009)

dr.atifrana is a jewel in the roughdr.atifrana is a jewel in the roughdr.atifrana is a jewel in the rough

@Nonno Hussain
thank you dear for the help.I have one more query abot books.Can you suggest me one book for the theoretical part that is to the point and easy to digest, other then Parkash chander.

rgds

Tahir Mehmood Shahzad is on a distinguished road
Default IR Help needed

seniors plz help me out regarding the IR Subject ...

Last edited by Aarwaa; Monday, May 18, 2009 at 03:37 PM.

mariam_ji is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up hi

although i m not senior , bt i hav done MA in I.R
so m agree wd Nonno Hussain
the book of Parkash chandar is good for it, there is another book wich u can access n that is "A STUDY OF INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS" by Dr.Sultan Khan.one thing i would like to mention here that I.R is realy a vast field there will b hardly any book wich comprise the whole of its sylabus.
N I.R is about ur analytical approach,u must know facts n figures to have ur own analysis, try to be impartial n try to discuss the issues on both national and international levels.
dr.atifrana (Saturday, March 21, 2009), Nayab123 (Wednesday, March 25, 2009), shapar (Wednesday, November 04, 2009), sunlight (Sunday, May 17, 2009)

Nonno Hussain is on a distinguished road

as far as books r concerned,frankly speaking my teachers didnt recommend to read sultan khan...but im not stopping to read...
u can read International relations by Palmer and perkins...it starts from treaty of west phalia and is usually recommended in initial years of IR just to clear concepts..and its easy to digest as well
secondly u can also get penguin dictionaly of IR and i tell u its the best where u can get everything in concise form..different IR specific terminologies are also there with their meanings
Dr. atif rana dont worry about it, it's not that difficult as it seems from course outlineand read newspaper to keep urself updated and try to evaluate from news article the way of writing..we were told how to read an article n reading between the lines...

all the best ...
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Nonno Hussain For This Useful Post:
dr.atifrana (Sunday, March 22, 2009), mariam_ji (Sunday, March 22, 2009), Muni_18 (Saturday, August 08, 2009), Nayab123 (Wednesday, March 25, 2009), sunlight (Sunday, May 17, 2009)
Old Sunday, May 17, 2009

ineXorable is on a distinguished road
Smile @ Nonno & Mariam

Salaams,

I don't have any background in the field of international relations, but I find it pretty interesting. As you guys have done your masters in IR, can you kindly tell me whether it is better to opt for IR or International Law. I mean from what I have read about international relations it looks pretty time consuming for a subject of 100 marks. One has to do loads and loads of reading.

The thing is that I am doing Indo-Pak History and Economics as well and they themselves are lengthy subjects. So your help required, do you think I would be able to prepare WELL for all these subjects ? Or is it better to opt for international law instead, just to be on the safe side.

Regards and Best of Luck
Old Sunday, May 17, 2009

Originally Posted by ineXorable
Salaams,

I don't have any background in the field of international relations, but I find it pretty interesting. As you guys have done your masters in IR, can you kindly tell me whether it is better to opt for IR or International Law. I mean from what I have read about international relations it looks pretty time consuming for a subject of 100 marks. One has to do loads and loads of reading.

The thing is that I am doing Indo-Pak History and Economics as well and they themselves are lengthy subjects. So your help required, do you think I would be able to prepare WELL for all these subjects ? Or is it better to opt for international law instead, just to be on the safe side.

Regards and Best of Luck
Dear, although I am not a masters degree holder in the field of IR, but I love this subject.This is a some what tricky subject, but if you know the basic concepts and have interest in every day events in international politics then you will find it helping in other subjects too.I have started a thread ,you may find it helpful in this regard.
the thread is
http://www.cssforum.com.pk/central-s...tml#post120764

rgds
The Following User Says Thank You to dr.atifrana For This Useful Post:
ineXorable (Sunday, May 17, 2009)
Old Sunday, May 17, 2009
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - 4th in Sindh UrbanMedal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Arif Rao is a jewel in the roughArif Rao is a jewel in the roughArif Rao is a jewel in the rough

I also opted for I.R. in CSS-2008, without having any background in it, due to obvious reasons like my interest in IR. Also its relevance with C.A. and P.A. papers.

I found it an interesting subject and scoring as well and I would advise more ppl that if they also find it interesting, they should go for it.
ineXorable (Sunday, May 17, 2009), sunlight (Sunday, May 17, 2009)
Old Sunday, May 17, 2009

ineXorable is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up @ Arif Rao

Salaam,

You scored 60 in international relations. Can you please let us know how you prepared for your exam?

If you could kindly answer the following questions it would be really helpful:
  • Which books did you use ?
  • Which Journals/Magazines did u read in order to stay up to date ?
  • How did you attempt the questions i.e. the technique you used when writing your answer.

Oh and did you consider international law as well ? Because from what I have seen, 2 candidates who opted for international law (Nadeem Abbas 66, Crankshaft 71) scored relatively higher. And that is what is confusing me. Should I opt for international relations or international law, As it all comes down to getting better marks in the end, doesn't it ?
sunlight (Sunday, May 17, 2009)